2021 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

28 total reviews. Showing 12 of 13 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1 | 2

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

Bedlam of Berlin/Welcome to Hell

by HauntEnthusiast after attending on Friday, October 15, 2021 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

When we got to the haunt, there was a creepy actor with a chainsaw waiting in the street for us. He was hands down one of the best actors. We seemed to be the first group to arrive. This haunt sort of has a mystic feeling if you read about the paranormal findings from the past. The building provides quite the opportunity for an amazing haunt. Price wise, they were right up there with other pro haunts. We went through both haunts. I'd say that they were short on actors when we were there, but most of the actors really sell their part. I like that the actors interact with you, not just jump out, scream, then off to the next room! They have a nice amount of animitronics and realistic props to go along with the actors. Going through, you go up and down multiple levels, which is a neat experience too.

Summary

Overall, I'd say that this is a haunt to take a first time haunted house attendee, or your younger children who are scared just at the thought of a haunt.

View all Bedlam of Berlin/Welcome to Hell reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

Skully's Terror Haunted House

by JennHughes after attending on Friday, October 15, 2021 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Well worth the money. For a first year haunt.. Not bad at all. Hoping they return next year bigger and better. Glad I made the drive there. Went to other haunts that cost more and were less impressive... The actors were awesome... Great job!

Summary

Check them out

View all Skully's Terror Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

Skully's Terror Haunted House

by Ptyloch after attending on Friday, October 15, 2021 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

A very good up and coming haunted house organized well and very friendly people running it we had a very good time and will recommend to our friends.

View all Skully's Terror Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

A Walk of Terror

by KaylieGesky after attending on Thursday, October 14, 2021 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Was not worth the $15. Took about 12 minutes to walk through and even caught up to the group in front of us.Haunted house is not very scary (and it was even a black out night).

View all A Walk of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by PaigeBerrier (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2021 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

After a horrible and unwanted year off from haunts, I was so excited to head out to Dominion of Terror (DOT) this past Friday! For years now it has been one of my all-time favorite haunts in Wisconsin: it's three stories are chock full of surprises and scares, and I absolutely love the work they do for their community as a non-profit, volunteer-run haunt.

I went Friday at around 8:00 PM with a group of 4 total, and we elected for the speedpasses, which brought us quickly into the interior portion of the line. It was a pretty busy night but we were able to get in in about 30 minutes, which was absolutely fine with us and well worth the additional cost. DOT also has a great waiting area that is both indoors and outdoors, with a concession stand near the tickets and two other little gift areas with fun stuff to buy. They did a good job with their spacing and the majority of the time we didn't encounter any other groups inside the haunt.

DOT is a huge haunt, with three stories full of differently themed rooms and areas, ranging from creepy doctors, rednecks, weird dolls, and so much more. I love the variety in themes as well as room styles - some are mazes or trick areas, others tight corridors, and in general it just keeps you guessing. I experienced several good jump scares and there are lots of spooky sets to look at. All of the actors are super committed as well, although I did think they could benefit from just a few more. Overall, a definite favorite that always brings the fear and of course, the fun.

Signage / Visibility / Location


DOT is more visible than ever with a big, lighted sign on top of their factory-like building. Ticket and waitings areas are clearly visible, as is parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


I think they do a great job of this at DOT - as I mentioned, the waiting area has several opportunities for shopping and is both outdoors and indoors in case of weather. They have ample staff around to clear things up for the guests and of course, actors doing their thing!

Actors' Performance


I thought they did a great job and were super committed to their roles - I also love how there always seems to be such a variety in the types of people acting, from kids to older people. I thought there were a few areas that seemed like they could use some more people, but overall they did an awesome job.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


They do an AWESOME job of sets and props at DOT - each room is really intricate and unique, with a new layout and path every year. I look forward to seeing what new things they come up with year after year - really creative.

Length


This haunt is nice and long - 3 stories, dozens of rooms, and tons of different areas. It took us about 30 minutes to get through.

Crowd Control


Good - they had good control over the timing and the group sizes.

Most Memorable Moment


The tight corridor with the shrouded figures - they did a similar thing a few years ago and it freaked me out just as much this year!

Summary

An amazing haunt that is always worth the money and time - I really enjoy every visit I've made to them over the years and love the heart they put into the haunt!

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

Spooks on Spurr's Mansion of Misery & Forest of Freaks

by majorXpsycho (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2021 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my first adventure to Spooks on Spurr's Mansion & Forest of Freaks and it is officially one of my favorites! There are many things to love about this attraction, but I will do my best to keep them separate. You will need a GPS to find this one and the closest "big city" is Appleton at about 30 minutes away and Green Bay about 45 minutes. I am so glad I went out on a limb and made the drive to find this hidden gem.

The second you step out of your vehicle (the walkway to the ticket booth has surprises and a short mazes) until you return, it is non-stop entertainment. For just $5, you can come listen to the live bands, enjoy a huge selection of treats (with an on site bar and ATM) and hang out around the HUGE bonfire. As soon as we purchased our tickets, we were given numbers on the back and allowed to enjoy the entertainment until they called our number to enter the Mansion. This was the first time I WANTED to wait because the band and food was excellent! Alas, our number was called quickly and we headed to the Mansion entrance. The setting of the Mansion is in an 1842 old brick farmhouse, which is enough without the props to make your skin crawl! We were paired up with another group and consistently warned that the actors WILL touch you! The house did not disappoint as it incorporated many different phobia's and a lot of jump scares. Expect actors to grab you, floors to move and walls to come in on you. The sets were unique and very well executed with no common theme other then making sure you feel uncomfortable. The house was about 18 minutes in length and had no down time. Plenty of actors fill the rooms and halls and there are even plenty of animatronics strategically placed. You can not miss the giant slide that brings you to the exit and back to the main entertainment area.

Next, we jumped aboard a trailer pulled by a tractor over flame lit bridges to the "Forest of Freaks". The haunted forest has been around longer then the house, so it is natural that it was slightly superior to the house. It is not your typical "trail" through a woods, it has far more props and sets/scenes then any haunted trail I have personally ever been too. There is no down time in the Forest, and the actors can also "touch you" (and they will) throughout. I will not pretend that I wasn't scared, I shrieked a lot throughout the Forest. Crowd control in the forest was excellent and the actors always remained in character. It took us about 15 minutes to make it through to the end. We were so happy to board the tractor back to the main area, so we could catch our breath!

In Summary, I highly recommend this attraction to anyone looking for an evening of haunted fun! Live entertainment, excellent food selection, onsite bar, haunted woods and it is all topped off with a creepy 1800's mansion as its backdrop. If you don't mind being touched and want some really good scares, make sure to add Spooks on Spurr to your list!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Not a lot of signage until you are close. Use your GPS!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Excellent! 5 Stars for fun. There were plenty of ghouls wandering the property and the entertainment is so good that you don't even mind waiting until your number is called.

Actors' Performance


Excellent! Kids are some of the best actors and they did an amazing job!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


There are a lot of different scenes/props and special effects throughout BOTH attractions. Expect the unexpected and then some!

Length


About 18 minutes in the mansion and 15 in the forest!

Crowd Control


We never ran into any other groups.

Most Memorable Moment


I can not share or it would give it away!

Summary

I highly recommend this attraction to anyone looking for an evening of haunted fun! Live entertainment, excellent food selection, onsite bar, haunted woods and it is all topped off with a creepy 1800's mansion as its backdrop. If you don't mind being touched and want some really good scares, make sure to add Spooks on Spurr to your list!

View all Spooks on Spurr's Mansion of Misery & Forest of Freaks reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

A Walk of Terror

by Mmgraves1792 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2021 at about 10:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

To all those fellow spooky season lovers out there, this haunt is a great way to get the party started. After an easy in and out parking situation, you are then greeted with an aroma of funnel cakes & donuts and a ghoul or two trying to scare you. The line for the haunt is outdoors, but there are adult beverages to enjoy while you wait, along with a very entertaining balloon animal maker. It’s only 15$ to go through the haunt which is totally reasonable. The only thing we felt missing from the entry to the haunt was creepy music and other spooky decor (a fog machine or flickering lights were a few of the suggestions we had).

The haunt itself is self-guided & you go through it with the group you came with. Prior to entry, you sign a waiver that does allow soft touch by the characters. We felt this really upped the scare factor! There are several blackout hallways throughout the haunt and several jump scares as well. We thought the addition of more props would add to the haunted experience, as well as more hidden doorways/windows for characters to surprise you. We recommend trying to capture as many phobias as possible throughout the haunt (claustrophobia, getting buried alive, snakes/spiders, etc…) You're bound to scare everyone if you do! In addition, adding the classic horror villains is always a golden ticket. Everyone loves a good Pennywise, Michael Meyers, Freddy, & Jason. That being said, the cast and crew did a phenomenal job getting a few screams from us and this is a place we would recommend to anyone.

Finally, we’d like to mention the truly unique and selfless addition to this haunt that we don’t usually see with other places. The owners are donating the first $10,000 of their sales to charity. This is a truly amazing thing that should draw you out to see this haunt regardless of anything else. The owners are awesome, too, and very personable. This is easily a haunt we will come back to every year.

View all A Walk of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

Camp Tapawingo Haunted Voyage

by Kpotter22 after attending on Sunday, October 10, 2021 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great place to start the year with a great haunt it was very scary had a great time.

View all Camp Tapawingo Haunted Voyage reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

Spooks on Spurr's Mansion of Misery & Forest of Freaks

by lwalske after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2021 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Great night of fun! Bonfire, live music and awesome haunted house!

View all Spooks on Spurr's Mansion of Misery & Forest of Freaks reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

Warriors Haunted Asylum

by morgansos87 after attending on Friday, October 8, 2021 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great haunted house. I was terrified the entire time. The actors kept my heart rate up. I would recommend this haunted house to everyone.

Summary

I loved it

View all Warriors Haunted Asylum reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

Skully's Terror Haunted House

by Ben after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2021 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

OMG!!!! Hands down the best I've seen. I can't believe it's a first year haunt.

View all Skully's Terror Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

Skully's Terror Haunted House

by stonedspider after attending on Friday, October 8, 2021 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

it was pretty scary, some parts had me screaming my head off lmao!!

Summary

i couldn't let go of my friend i was hanging onto her for dear life i swear LOL. but there were a few parts where we kinda got lost and couldn't see that well and with the fog it was hard to breathe even since my friend has asthma. but it was super fun and we had a great night. i got an application to sign up so i can be a part of it and help out, i love scaring people. it was kind of short though uy went by really fast. i was told it will be bigger with more people next year which i look forward to. epic night.

View all Skully's Terror Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2021 season rather than the current season.

Evil Falls House of Tormented Souls

by majorXpsycho (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2021 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Deep in the Northwoods of Wisconsin you will find the town of Eagle River, one of the most popular destinations in the fall. Known for festivals and beautiful fall colors, this town also hosts one of the best (and only) haunted attractions in the area! This was our first visit to the House of Tormented Souls and we were surprised to find such a thrilling haunt in the area. The House of Tormented Souls is located in the heart of Eagle River and is hard to miss, but when night falls there is very little signage! At first glance, this haunted attraction looked small, but we were surprised at how much bigger it was inside. The wait is outside with a few snack options, but there is a gas station with restrooms and plenty of treats across the street. You are sent in with just your group no matter how small and they wait until the previous group is through before sending you in. This does result in a longer wait then normal, but I would rather wait a little longer for a better experience. The actors within the House of Tormented Souls are volunteers, but we were surprised at how many there were and they always stayed in character. Every inch of the attraction was meticulously designed and there was no "down time" from start until finish. The heart pounding, non-stop action made the attraction feel a lot longer then the 10 minutes is took us to go through. There is a good mix of jump scares and theatrical acting with a lot of moments where you may find yourself lost. The best part is the use of lasers to draw your eyes away from where the ghouls might be lurking. Some come from above and below in places you typically would not expect. If you keep your eyes open long enough, you will be able to catch some horror movie related props too! In summary, I recommend traveling to this area in the fall and making The House of Tormented Souls one of your after dark adventures! It is affordable, intense and not an "all night" attraction so you have plenty of time for bonfires and apple cider after.

Signage / Visibility / Location


We only saw a sign on the building. It is located in the heart of downtown in the small town of Eagle River so it is fairly easy to find once you are there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There are multiple ghouls traveling along the line outside and traditional Halloween music playing. Popcorn was available to purchase, but bathrooms and more snacks/drinks are right across the street at the gas station (they have a ton of goodies there).

Actors' Performance


A lot of actors! We expected there to be a lot of "dead space" because of how early it was in the season, but this haunt was filled with actors. In addition, they were volunteers, but you could not tell. Every actor stayed in character and provided a lot of screams!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Every inch of this location was meticulously designed. Lasers and light fog are used throughout in a great manner and there are no random dark hallways to walk through. You can expect no down time from start to finish.

Length


I was shocked when I looked at the time. Almost exactly 10 minutes start to finish, but because of their use of space and lack of down time I swear it felt more like 20 minutes.

Crowd Control


The excel in this area. You go in with your group only (even if there are only 2) and they do not send the next group in until the prior is almost out.

Most Memorable Moment


There is a big baby!

Summary

In summary, I recommend traveling to this area in the fall and making The House of Tormented Souls one of your after dark adventures! It is affordable, intense and not an "all night" attraction so you have plenty of time for bonfires and apple cider after. Very fun and look forward to returning in the future!

View all Evil Falls House of Tormented Souls reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2

Previous Reviews:

2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002

May 23rd, 2024 12:14 a.m. CDT 24.08