ad-header-top

2009 The Wisconsin Fear Grounds Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

31 total reviews. Showing 10 of 15 on this page (5 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by FleshEater02 after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was a solid haunted house overall. We got speed passes and jumped the line which was great. Our group was divided on the haunted experience that was 2 and 3, but we all liked Unstable the best. The actors made it so fun. They had listened to us calling out to eachother and then pursued us calling our names. The actors made this was one so great.

Summary

Each haunted house is themed, different from the others. We got scared and it was fun. Liked Unstable the best. Felt we were pushed through a bit quickly, didn't get to enjoy the effects as much as we would have liked and sometimes its fun to get a little lost. Would go again. Its a good scare.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by scaredstiff after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I attended HauntCon back in April and toured the facility during the convention and I thought it was quite the set up then. Going to it during the October season, I did not think that much was going to change...BUT I WAS DEAD WRONG! The actors were amazing through out the whole 3 areas that we attended. (Side Bar: If you do one you must do all three...it is quite the production)
The detail to attention, 1.)while standing in line, and getting scared, to the first corralled area, getting scared, to the entrance to all three attractions (getting scared), was absolutely awesome! (Did I mention getting SCARED!) This was one Haunt that I will go to year after year to gaze in horrific glory. I was in amazement that there were hardly any masks, all real faces, real facial expressions and real eyes staring you down. I specifically appreciated the one actor that got up right in your face (inches away) that seemed like he had just popped a breath mint, no bad breath, that was a plus! This was like an amusement park of horror and the price, fitting to the park theme. I was concerned about spending $30 for all three but not after going through it. It was well worth my money and would do it again in a heartbeat, or at least the ones that skipped a few times after being scared. Great job Timmer, you and your crew of everyone involved deserve a pat on the back. Keep the Twinkies, HoHo's, and Ding Dongs on that silver platter, they will come in handy sometime!(haha)

Summary

Great Experience for anyone and everyone. Well thought out and planned. Great timing of the actors. This is an excellent production for anyone wanting a memorable moment for attending a Halloween Attraction. Will see you guys next year! Good Luck this last weekend...KNOCK 'EM DEAD!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by tripletranch after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Well, this was the second of two haunts we were able to visit this year and we ( all 14 of us ) were glad we made the drive from Stoughton and took the time to check them out. This is a very well managed, thought out and executed haunt from beginning to end and we had no problem finding it ( follow the directions ). These people all love what they do and they do it very well. From the moment you enter the wait line until you hit the parking lot after the three haunts ( and I suggest you see all three) they have tons of creey characters with great costumes and makeup to play your minds. The scenes are well thought out and highly detailed. The scares will come from every direction and the effects (lights, sounds and pneumatics) work un unison with what the actors will put you through. We did all three events and I don't know how you couldn't. All have a different theme, and all had lots of actors to make your adventure quite interesting and eventful. We loved the characterizations here and each haunt took us between 15 - 25 minutes depending on if you were lucky enough to get lost where you would find yourself tormented even longer. Not hard to get split from your group even when you are holding on to each other and hey, watch out in the dark when you reach around to find your way. You never know what you will find LOL !

Summary

We had a great time. Well worth the drive and a great value if you see all three. They had concessions on site and plenty of restroom facilities. ( Use them before you enter ! )
After we were done with our tours our group of 14 got back together and concluded: This was Awesome !
Met the owner (Kevin was it ???) Just kidding LOL !!! but hey, great Guy, great place, and well worth the visit. We'll be back. We'll make the time.
Thanks everyone for a great time !!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by mountaindewriter after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is definitely the best event I have been to. Each of the houses is a thrill ride in and of itself and all together they make for a terrifying event. All the actors are really into selling their characters. This is a must go to for anyone who wants to be scared

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by golden2849 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I'm not the type to be scared or impressed by haunted houses but the Wisconsin Fear Grounds was definitely the exception to this rule. I went into all of houses and each one was excellent. I particularly found Morgana Manor to be excellently acted and well set up. I would recommend Wisconsin Fear Grounds to anyone looking to have a good time.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by zackistheman after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Not scary at all. I just walked through it and didn't get scared once. In my entire group of 14 people, no one liked it. All 3 of the haunted houses are very short; they each take you about 5-10 minutes to get through. Which isn't worth it because you wait an hour and a half in line. They send you in imediatly after another group, so the entire time in the haunted house you are running into groups ahead of you. I wasted my 30 dollars. I would pay 10 dollars at most for this.

Summary

A complete rip off.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wisconsin Fear Grounds, what a treat this was!  Three haunts in one, all three completely different.  Our night began with a little confusion, as the grounds have many areas , and not all of them are haunt related!  We arrived only to discover we went to the wrong area.  This was totally our fault as there were signs directing us to the haunt, that we missed.  Once we finally made it to the right area, things ran smoothly.  Tickets and concessions along with port-o-pottys are readily available.  We got our tickets and headed into a short waiting area.  The line wasn't too ling and was entertaining due to a television that was running a loop of one of the hallways in the haunt.  You could see, thanks to night vision, some visitors being scared, some to the point of falling!  Next, we were herded up like cattle and lead to a pen, where I can only guess houses cows during the fair season.  The pen was entertaining because just when you thought it was just another waiting area, out come some ghouls to get you!  They were great, smelling us and telling my girlfriend she had gone bad!  After the pen, we were led to the first of three haunts...

Morgan Manor:  Manor was great, reminiscent of haunts I attended as a child, relying heavily on props and ambiance to scare you.  There were few actors in here, but the decoration and effort they had to put in payed off.  Loud sounds, darkness, and ghoulish props made manor very fun and creepy.  This haunt lasted about 10-15 minutes, after we exited, there was a path that led to the next haunt...

Morgans Torment:  Torment was the best of the three haunts.  Torment  utilizes darkness, which is always my favorite feature of a haunt.  The best part of the house was the vinyl balloonish material on the walls and ceiling to give you that claustrophobic feeling as you have to SQUEEZE your way though these hallways.  It was great!  I have experienced this before, but my girlfriend had never, and it totally blew her mind!  There were a few actors in this house, which played there parts very well, separating us from the rest of the group to add an additional scare to those who fear abandonment! 

Unstable:  Unstable was a the most actor friendly of the three houses.  You are first greeted by a tall goat man, who talks similar to Jim Breuer's "Goat Boy" character on SNL, he was a laugh riot, very funny.  This haunt was very much like walking though an insane asylum, lots of crazies, and creepy rednecks!  The actors were very into what they were doing and committed, no pun intended, to spooking you out!   

Signage / Visibility / Location


There were signs, but small ones, simillar to candidate signs on lawns, if it is dark, you may miss them.  Once you find your way though, you can't miss it!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Line was good, filled with a loop of haunt highlights and actors.

Actors' Performance


The actors were dedicated to spooking you, none of them seemed like they were ready to retire for the night, which is always my pet peave at haunts.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The set and all props and FX were top notch.  You can tell they spend a ton putting this thing together, and it pays off in the end.

Length


Each house is about 15 minutes long, so plan on spending a good hour to an hour and a half if you count lines.

Crowd Control


Everything was orderly, the lines were roped off so no stragglers!

Most Memorable Moment


Ballooned hallways were the best!

Summary

Definately worth the time and money, Wisconsin Fear Grounds is three haunts that have something for everyone!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 16, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

This reviewer had never attended this event before, however, had heard good things about it and the producers of this project did not disappoint.



If attending all three attractions, the order of progression of what you will see is Morgan Manor, Morgana's Torment and Unstable.



Morgan Manor is a fairly elaborate house featuring a walk through a library, wine cellar and various other rooms full of actors waiting to meet you. Conditions are dim and hazy, but one can make out the dimentions of the rooms and see most of the actors approaching.



Morgana's Torment is essentially a series of darkened mazes to negotiate that involve passing through several inflated air bag enclosures and a hallway with a lazer light effect. You will hear from actors, but they tend not to appear.



Unstable is a walk through various stables, tool sheds, slaughterhouse/smokehouse where you will come upon actors working at their various crafts who become annoyed at your presence and make that known to you.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Once you get to the Waukesha Co. fairgrounds, it is simple to find your way to the well lit main entrance. The haunts are at the extreme North end of the parking lot. Signage is posted along the fencelines of the fairgrounds and they were not lit. There are no signs to the event from the highway, so you must first know your way to the fairgrounds to locate the event.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The initial wait places you in several lines seperated by snow fence and you are then moved to horse pens to await your call into the attractions. The waiting areas are covered, but chilly. Dress accordingly.

While you wait, expect to be visited by actors who will enter your pen through the gate or climb over the walls to greet you. Their presence and interaction help to pass the time time as you wait to be called to the houses.

Closed circuit TV shows tape delay footage of people going through the attraction prior to when you are led to the horse pens.

Actors' Performance


The actors throughout this attraction gave a very, very invested presentation, bordering on over the top. Morgan Manor was extremely well staffed with actors who approach you on foot and on all fours. Beware.

If you find yourself disoriented while negotiating the exhibits in Morgan Manor or Unstable, follow the actors who will subtly direct you to the exit of the various rooms, etc.

During my visit, I was well impressed with the investment the actors took in trying to startle and engage the visitors. Comparivitely, this was a strength of this haunt.

Look out for actors approaching you on foot, on all fours and even occasionally from above.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Morgan Manor is well appointed with props, however, is dimly lit so it is sometimes difficult to appreciate the details. Clearly, great effort was put into the decoration of this haunt, however.

Morgana's Torment is reliant on maze strategies and is lightly staffed. The maze effects of Morgana are a diversification from typical haunts, however.

Unstable is also well stocked with table top and hanging props that the actors are using to enhance their performances.

Length


Morgan Manor took approximately 15 to 20 minutes to complete and my party attempted to walk at a slow pace.

Morgana's Torment was completed in about 10 minutes and would be somewhat disorienting to those unfamiliar with how to address inflatable bag tunnels. It is lightly staffed and reliant upon dark maze negotiations and sensory deprivation.

Unstable took about 15 minutes to complete and is a fairly open air concept attraction in a barn, thus is easier to follow if one looks up for perspective when confused/disoriented.

Crowd Control


The crowd was light during my visit, however, there were more than adequate staff to route visitors and there was a police presence of at least three officers.

There are staff in-between each of the three attractions to route and organize guests and there are also portable toilet facilites available along the way, which is a well thought out convenience.

Most Memorable Moment


Morgan Manor, in general, stood out as the star of the three exhibits during my visit. It was overflowing with engaging actors bent on trying to interact and startle. The home is full of props to attempt to give it the feel of an old manor home and the designers were successful at approximating that. During your visit, you will have cause to walk through a smoldering fireplace, which was an imaginitive twist. You are also greeted with an eerily lit fountain while approaching the entrance to Morgan Manor, which sets the table for what you are about to experience.

Summary

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds is a very well done and polished event. It offers three options at one location to entice its guests. The amount of actors and their investment in their performances make this a memorable and recommended experience.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Arrival to the haunt was effortless, all the directions were excellent and we made it there quickly.  Once there, make sure that you follow the smaller signs to the correct parking area, because there are more than one parking areas and we originally ended up in the wrong one.  Not the haunts fault, we did not follow the signs, we just saw a bunch of people and followed them.  This would have been great if we wanted to attend the high school dance that was going on, but we ended up going back to the car and going to the correct area by following the signs.

Once there it is very easily labeled, there is a ticket area, concessions, and bathrooms all right away when you walk up.  They have a cool hearse decorated in the parking lot.  We walked up to buy our tickets and were warmly greeted on a cool night.  We were given our wristbands and some instructions on how it will work and we were on our way.

Once in line, the first wait was about 10 minutes and they have a television showing highlights of some of the best scares they have created.  You can watch several people so scared they fall over or grab onto one another.  It is pretty funny, but just because you watch the feed does not mean you will not jump at the same place-I did.  At the front of the line they take your group and lock you up in a horse pen.  There are ghouls walking around and popping up heckling you.  They let you out of your pen and into the first haunt, Morgan Manor.  This haunt is about 15 minutes long and full of props that are everywhere.  The details in this haunt are very impressive.  I love looking at all the different scenes.  The props and decorations are definitely the highlight of this haunt.  There are fewer actors in this haunt and it relies more on sounds and sights to create the eerie feelings.

Next, after what was really at most a five minute wait, we entered Morgana's Torment.  This was my favorite of the three houses.  It is pitch black and you can see nothing.  They have some great terrain effects like foam bags that you have to push through to get to the next room.  Really panic inducing for anyone who has claustrophobia.  There were several actors who called out from inside the darkness.  They also work to seperate your groups so you are isolated.  This totally freaked me out, to the point, where I was almost on the verge of tears.  Wow, tears-way to go!

Finally, when you finish Morgana's Torment you head to the newest of the Wisconsin Feargrounds attraction, Unstable.  While you are in line you are greeted by one of the greatest creatures I have seen so far.  He is approximately 10 ft tall and has horns and makes a baa noise.  It is hilarious.  Once inside you are subject to tons of live actors, most of them seemingly insane.  My favorite character was a chap who seemed to be part chicken and part man.  He had some of the funniest one liners I have heard all season and really got up in your face.

Overall, a great set-up, extremely fun, well executed, and definitely worth the trip!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find.  Follow the directions and you will arrive directly at the fair grounds.  Once there make sure you do pay attention to the smaller signs that guide you to the correct parking lots because my friends and I were almost ready to attend a party of some type held in another building.  

Actors' Performance


Actors at this haunt are awesome, they are funny, scary, on-task, and in character.  One of my favorites was a guy that was dressed up like a chicken-man.  He was hilarious, in our faces, and all around entertaining.

Length


Approximately 15 minutes per haunt for a total of 45 minutes if you  choose to attend all three: Morgan Manor, Morgana's Tourment, and Unstable.

Crowd Control


Well controlled, there were police and several workers around to help out with any concerns.  There was also roped lines and rails to guide lines.

Most Memorable Moment


When my group was split apart from me and I started calling out to them in complete darkness and the actors heard one of my friends say my name.  Then all the actors started whispering my name and gathering around me, blocking the way towards my friends.  I will tell you honestly, I was feeling serious panic!  Great job!

Summary

This haunt is one you should not miss, I loved the intensity of Morgana's Torment, and the crazies in the all new Unstable.  Fun, Fun, Fun, and also frightening!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by cartdaddy after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

I thought is was more funny than scary... nobody in my group even screamed for that matter and we went with someone that is affarid of haunted house.. scenes were not that good. pretty much walking though dark hallways the whole... not worth the time or money. in my eyes.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by sparky19 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

WOW! What a thrill. It is a must to go through all three haunts. Each one is uniquely scarey and entertaining! The actors were spectacular - we loved the make-up and costumes - and each person had their own personal touch. I would highly recommend the Wisconsin Feargrounds to anyone wishing to be freaked for fun!! We will be back again next year.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by luebke5830 after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

hands down the past haunted house that I have been to so far this. Actors never broke charctor and were really into what they were doing. If you are only going to 1 house I would make it this one.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by beezers after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt is fantastic. All three houses keep up jumping, they don't let up at all. The rooms and mazes have so much detail, you could go to this one twice and not see the same thing each time. The acting crew was great. They just keep coming from out of no where. The make up and costomes really do everything up right. Even the in door waiting area is well done with actors flying into the cages they have. Some of them don't even bother to use the doors. Morgan Manor is the classic haunted mansion and is pretty long, Torment was shorter but made up with lots of scares in a short period, Unstable was real wickedly sick. They do things better left unsaid. IT is thier new house and it really rocks with more scares than you would expect.

Summary

This haunt is the must see haunt. It puts most of the haunts in the area in a lower class. The price is up there but when you consider there are three great house here the price is lower than going to three different locations and waiting in three different lines. You can also dwonload a coupon from the internet and gets lots off the price. Scares per dollar, this one is the best. IF you are only going to one haunted house this year make it this one.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Meecee after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

AWESOME! So happy we chose to come here. It was our first time and we will be back! It is worth the money to do all 3 of the houses! (Get the coupon from thier website to save money). The last one (UNSTABLE) was the scariest for us and also the most fun. The people were IN character and had great costumes AND had great timing to scare us! TWO THUMBS UP!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Ozzie_19 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I had not been to a haunted house in maybe 10 years -- it had been so long I barely remembered the last one I had been to. But there will be no forgetting the Wisconsin Fear Grounds. From the moment we walked into the first stall to the time we walked out of 'Unstable' there was terror at every turn. The actors were tremendous, popping out of quiet spaces or sneaking up on you without you know, and their costumes and makeup were very professional. The sets were elaborate, way more so than I expected. In fact, I wish I had gone through the haunts slower to really enjoy all the work put into them. The second of the three haunts, 'Torment', was downright freaky.

Summary

I am certainly not a haunt enthusiast and had no idea how elaborate a production they have become. Wisconsin Feargrounds made me want to come back for more.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




August 17th, 2019 8:04 a.m. CDT 1.9