ad-header-top

2011 The Wisconsin Fear Grounds Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

13 total reviews. Showing 13 of 13 on this page.

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by spookshow babe (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It's hard to write a review when you are left speechless! Where do I try to begin...
I remember many years ago, when Splatter Haus was considered one of the best and scariest haunted houses in the area, and at that time, it was very true- however, over the years  they have lost that title and I truly feel that The Wisconsin Feargrounds has taken it! I remember going to this haunt years ago when it was just The Darkness and later when it became Morgan Manner. Even it's first year it was very impressive, with detailed sets, props and great make up/actors. As years went on you could see the passion they had for giving haunted house enthusiasts a whole new fun and yet scary experience. It has been wonderful watching this haunted house grow over the years and become the masterpiece in real horror and fun that it is now!  It deserves being voted #1 two years in a row, as one of the greatest haunted attractions in the Midwest. You can tell they put a ton of effort and thought into there attraction and it will leave you speechless!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Pretty easy to find, just look for the brightly lit expo center, there is a sign, however is wasn't lit, so be sure to watch for it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is covered which is nice in case of rain or a windy night. They had plenty of great monsters working the waiting area to scare people and keep them entertained. They literally seemed to come out of nowhere at times scaring even the guys in line trying to play it cool.

Actors' Performance


The best I have seen in a haunt this year. They do an amazing job of scaring you by the "bait and switch" method.. there are plenty of monsters EVERYWHERE in the haunted house, not just in rooms, so they really do a great job of catching you off guard. I love that the females didn't just scream in my ear, I really hate that in haunted houses, these actresses actually acted and had wonderfully creepy things to say. Another thing I loved was that there was one or two that would keep reappearing in other rooms which really threw me off guard.. how did they get there? Did I see them before? Did I back track? It was such a great method!!!!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and props, again, the best I have seen in a haunted house yet! They were incredibly detailed and felt very real, they did such a great job of taking you out of reality and into there twisted world.  The make up effects on all the actors were very quality, using foam latex, contacts, high quality masks and wonderful costumes that you wont find  at a Halloween store, they all looked amazing and not of this world. They could just stand there and creep you out by there appearance alone! Some of the props in the 3rd haunted house were so gross and realistic looking I did not want to touch them, but had to in order to pass through the hall.

Length


I did all three, and you really should to! They were all very, very good and for all three is took about an hour to get through them, not counting the lines.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was great. The monsters kept people entertained, and we never bumped into another group while in the haunts. Also, they kept the groups small which was really nice and everyone was kept within there groups as well.

Most Memorable Moment


The whole thing was memorable. But my most memorable moment I won't share for the reason being that I want you to experience it without expecting it, that would ruin it. Another moment is less of a giveaway... All the actors inside were GREAT, but the ones who followed us around were exceptional. They really freaked you out after a while because it felt like they were really following YOU and never going to leave.. they followed all the way though all three haunted houses from the very start while waiting in line! I think maybe they had several actors in the same costume to achieve this, but either way it was really creepy! Made you feel like they were stalking you... I loved it!

Summary

This is hands down the best haunted house here and if you are a big fan of haunted houses, being scared, adventurous, or just looking for something fun and scary to do for Halloween you NEED to go to this one, you will NOT be let down! I will say that it is more expensive than most haunted houses, but you honestly get your moneys worth and then some! Another thing you may want to consider, is this one IS scary so I really don't think children should attend this haunted house, it is more suitable for late teens and adults.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by btweezy414 after attending on Monday, October 24, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

On Saturday night myself and 4 friends had the chance to visit what I call Wisconsin’s would must see haunted attraction of the year. We arrived around 7:10pm to find an already busy site. They had a great grasp on crowd control from the moment you get in line to buy tickets. They had a designated line for those who purchased their tickets ahead of time online (Which by the way was a great deal with the early special only costing $20 for all 3 houses) and another line with a worker in the front that when you reached her she would then separate you into one of 3 ticket booth window lines. Once we paid, we received a very neat collector’s coin which would be used for getting you into line, and also a wristband for those who are doing all 3 haunts. The line took us about 1 hour to make it thru, but there was plenty from the actors who made sure you visit everyone in line, to TV with different events happening leading up to the haunt.

We started with Morgan Manor, which I would describe as a whole as the much more detail oriented (in regards to the sets) house. Each room, you stepped in gave you the complete feeling that you where actually in this setting for that moment. I think the house could have used a few more actors and surprises to scare the guest, but it was still enjoyable and had our group on the edge of their toes.

Next up was Morgana’s Torment, which is very much a touchy feely house. By that I mean be prepared to walk thru lots of spaces that challenge you to find your way thru the dark, while being squeezed by different objects. We had a group ahead of us that even joined our group as they got lost in the plastic pipe maze in the beginning. This house will push you to the limit, and don’t take your guard down for too long, as this house is not actor free.

Finally we have the Unstable the haunted barn, which is a very well done countryside massacre. The farmers and other creatures are not very happy to in the barn, and they want you to join in on the misery. As you push thru the animal parts and other farm related objects, the surprises, keep you guessing from all angles.

Best part of the haunt: In the barn when the actors heard someone say the name of a lady in are group named Cassie, they seemed to almost pass it on, so that when we continued to other parts of the barn, the farmers all knew her name and kept asking “Where’s Cassie?”.

Finding the event was very easy if you follow the instructions via their website or use a GPS. They also have it mentioned on the Waukesha Expo Center sign.

The event cost $30 the night of or $20 for those who purchased tickets online under the early bird special. This is a great deal considering it is for 3 houses and last around 45 minutes to an hour.

Summary

Overall, even if you only have time for one haunt this year, make it the Wisconsin Fear Grounds, you won’t be disappointed.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by lazysmurf97 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I went to the Wisconsin Fear Grounds with 5 friends on a Saturday night. We were excited for a scary and good time and we were not disappointed! Everyone was really friendly and went out of their way to help us.  Unfortunately, due to time constraints in our group, we were only able to visit 1 haunted house, Morgan's Manor.  I would recommend going to all 3 to get the full experience.  We got the fast passes, which were amazing. I highly recommend getting them. We basically had no wait time once we got our wrist bands. They gave us an awesome coin to enter the haunt, which we all wanted to keep but couldn't.  Once we entered the haunt, time seemed to fly. We were not disappointed with the sets or the actors. 

Signage / Visibility / Location


It was very easy to find. We used a GPS and it took us right there. We did see a large sign on the road to help us. We were coming from Madison, so every bit of signage helped!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Luckily we were able to get fast passes otherwise the wait would have been about 90 minutes. I would recommend getting one. The ticket line was intimidating  but it moved really fast so don't worry.  We didn't really have any line entertainment until we reached the front.

Actors' Performance


The actor's did a good job. The gentleman at  the front of the line stayed in character very well.  I wish there were more actor's but the ones who were there were enjoyable.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This was very well decorated haunt. Not too much blood and gore, but lots to look at.  Each room had a theme and it was decorated accordingly.

Length


As I mentioned, we were only able to do 1 of the 3 haunted houses. It took us about 15 minutes to do the whole thing once we were inside. 

Crowd Control


Very good crowd control! There were lines and ropes directing you where to go. There were several ticket windows available to make the line go faster. You are able to purchase advance tickets online if you don't want to wait in the ticket line. We saw lots of people taking advantage of this option.

Most Memorable Moment


For us, there were really two memorable moments.  When you first walk into haunt there are some figures that you assume are animatronics. That is, until they try to chase you!  The second moment is along the same lines. There is a chair. That is all I will say so I don't ruin the surprise!

Summary

I would definitely recommend going to the Wisconsin Feargounds. It is worth the wait and the drive.  There is food and drink available if you are hungry.  Everyone is really friendly and helpful to guide you on your way to enjoyment.  Once inside, expect to be frightened!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I have attended this event in the past and continue to be impressed with the production.

I will detail some specifics of the haunt in the effects section, but I want to be careful not to foreshadow too much of what you will experience at the Fear Grounds.

The Fear Grounds is one of the more highly decorated attractions in the State, and rightfully so.

I attend a lot of Halloween productions around the nation and the Fear Grounds presents on a high level.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The Fear Grounds are located on the grounds of the Waukesha Expo Center.

Follow signage to the Expo Center to your destination.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The Fear Ground wait area is a covered barn, of sorts. You will wait in corrals before being sent in small groups to enter the attraction.

Actors will visit you along your way as you wait.

There is a snack trailer at the Fear Grounds, as well.

Expect long wait times. This is a popular attraction.

Actors' Performance


Comparatively speaking, the actors at the Fear Grounds give you quite an inspired performance.

They make efforts to attend to the guests and interact in attempts to scare and startle.

Dialogue is witty and we were impressed with the make up and characterizations of the performers.

The presentations were quite polished.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Morgan Manor in particular is very elaborate and highly detailed. Try to be sure to look about you when you visit to appreciate the efforts of the producers.

Morgana's Torment presents an extensive series of mazes to confuse and disorient the guests. This makes for a distinctive, different and challenging Halloween experience.

Unstable is probably the most interactive with the actors and their dialogue is amusing. The theme of this haunt is redneck, hillbilly country life and you will pass through numerous sets where you will get to experience their chores, first hand.

Length


Completing all three attractions at the Feargrounds took us about an hour.

Be sure to allow ample time for your visit.

Crowd Control


Crowds at this attraction can get quite large.

Crowds are moved through a series of corrals before being led into the attractions in small groups.

Law enforcement is present on site, as well.

Most Memorable Moment


I have a hard time thinking of one particular moment to highlight as I enjoyed all of my time at the Fear Grounds.

If I were forced to pick a highlight, I would say the entire passage through Morgan Manor.

I appreciate detail and the entire route through the Manor provided much to attend to, which just increased the startle values for me since there is so much to notice.

Summary

The Feargrounds is rather expensive compared to its peers, but it provides a high caliber entertainment experience and three separate attractions for the price of your admission. This is a highly recommended stop for Halloween enthusiasts. This is certainly one of the premier haunts too experience, if you can. It may be too intense for young visitors.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Kstar after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My friends and I went out to this one again, and although it was CRAZY BUSY, we had a BLAST!! These guys have not dissapointed us in the past, and yet again we were amazed with how they keep coming up with new ways to scare us!! All three of the houses were fantasticly desgined, phenominal detail, and the actors are non stop!!

Summary

Morgan Manor: An old decrepid manor with incredible detail, and actors who are EVERYWHERE!! Everytime you left one actor, there was another one creeping right up to you. They all have different ways to scare us. Completly original!! Each of the rooms are decorated in a fantastic and creepy way, to where you actually feel as though you are in an old manor. Loved every twist and turn!!

Morgan's Torment: This is a steller one to go through!! It's so dark, and they have you turned around six different ways, when you think you have it figured out and are almost out, you are trapped and turned around yet again!! Not to menation all of their actors just don't quit!!!! The guy climbing the walls was just pure insanity, I have not screamed like that since I was a kid.

Unstable: From the moment you entered the barn, till the time you left, it smelled like a barn of rotting death. The rooms in there matched the smell. All different kinds of hillbillies there to jump out at you, snaral, scream at you the whole way!! The incredable detail that has gone in to this one is so amazing, and the actors know how to use each and every little area to maximize they way they scare you.

Just pure AMAZING!!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by scardiepants after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

WOW! I went to this haunt 2 years ago and was impressed back then, but it seems as if the whole place had morphed into one giant living entity ready to scare the daylights out of you.

I loved this place the first time I went, it was super scary. This year was 1,000 times better! I was freaked out the moment I walked into the waiting area. The first haunted house was very creepy to me. The actors kept saying the oddest things to us. Near the end we couldn't walk fast enough to get out. The second house was uber-scary, super dark and twisted. The lead person in our group couldn't figure out which way to go, and you could tell the actors really enjoyed scaring us. The third house was set up like a barn, lots of animals and all of the actors were like hillbillies, which is completely different than the first 2 houses they have.

Summary

All said and done, these haunted houses are completely worth the money. Our group had so much fun, I would maybe consider coming back before Halloween is over with a different group of my friends.
What a great experience!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ghostfan after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I attended these haunted houses last year and had a great time so I was excited to bring a group of friends to check it out this year. We were definitely glad we went! They kicked it up a notch this year with the three haunted houses. Each one seems longer, and they were entertaining the whole way through. Some of the monsters were funny and some were scary.

Summary

As a Halloween enthusiast, I highly recommend attending the Wisconsin Feargrounds. The scares kept coming, and it is worth the $30.00!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by lilone2 after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

One of the scariest haunted houses I have ever been to. I was there on the night they opened, as more of a dare from friends. The actors in the houses seemed to be brushing off their skills since it was opening night, but that didn't stop me from being really scared. The actors did a great job making me cover my face into my friends shoulder. The best acting was in the first haunted house, but that didn't stop the other two from working really hard. The fact that there are three houses for the price of one is sweet, and I had a $5 coupon from an applebees which made it even better! All three of the houses were totally different, each giving a totally different scare. The first one was very classic haunted house, where you feel like you go through a house with all of the classic moments, although very classic in feel there are some really cool effects, and the theme was very cool and stayed through. The second house was more scares on your senses which was my favorite! The third house was all acting and gross out scares, made me regret my dinner a bit, but it was cool to see never the less! People should see this, it is a good night of entertainment, laughs, and screams. These people are really good and what they do, and work really hard for it.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review


Welcome to Wisconsin Feargrounds were all your nightmares come true. From ghoulish beasts, to crazy hillbillies, this haunt has it all. Wisconsin Feargrounds has consistently remained one of America's and Wisconsin's top haunted attractions. I now can see why.



This was actually my first year at this haunt and I was excited from the get-go. Although this haunt may appear over the top a lot of time and energy went into throwing you into a very twisted and dark world. I was incredibly impressed by the scenes, props, and special effects. Even if you "don't get scared" this is a haunt just to check out for incredible attention to detail, fun obstacles, traps, and passageways.



What is also amazing are this haunt's prices. When some single haunts are charging 15 to 20 dollars for entry, Wisconsin Feargrounds has 3 (yes three) haunted houses available for only 30 dollars. That is surprising in and of itself without even being inside the houses yet. Being able to walk through a different world, while being scared by professionals...that is what I call a deal.



Now on to the nitty gritty. How were the haunted houses? Well let's break them down.



Morgan Manor


This is your "classic" haunt. Morgan Manor leads you through a once proud mansion that has now been corrupted by evil. Morgan Manor uses some of the classic haunted house tricks and scares. All the actors were top notch and stayed in character throughout. This house was fun and the scenes were absolutely amazing, detailed, and realistic. If this is the only house you do it will still be a fun night.



Morgana's Torment


I'll be honest I did not know what this house was. This house is full of obstacles. From pitch black corridors, to walls that squeeze you tight, to disorienting lighting effects, I never knew where I was. I only knew I had to keep going forward. The actors use this confusing labyrinth to their advantage and made some great scares. Just the mere fact of being "lost" and constantly turned around is enough to frighten some people. Morgana's Torment is quite simply a really twisted version of a fun house.



Unstable


I don't know what was scarier in this haunt. The crazed hillbilly farm hands running around or some of the aromas that I smelled inside of Unstable. Again the attention to detail by this haunt operator is shown quite well. There is no question that you are in a stable from sight AND smell. This winding and twisting haunt provides for some really good scares especially as, you alone, try to figure out what is just an empty stable and what is the actual path through the barn. This haunt was fun, and the actors really put there all into forming a world right out of a horror film. A word of advice...hold you nose at Unstable's hillbilly restroom and, oh yes, give Bezel my regards.

Actors' Performance


5 out of 5. There were times that I wish the actor would of not just talked to me but was rather lying in wait to scare me, but from the actors that talk to the actors that scare, this haunted house will feel as real as it gets.

Summary

If you are looking for a full night of scares, for a great price, Wisconsin Feargrounds is the place to go. Everything is done professionally and, even if you don't get scared, you will be impressed by this haunt.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by owlie after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

WOW! Every year this haunted house gets better. All three have been improved from last year and the level of detail still amazes me.

I totally agree with Haunted Attraction Magazine, this is the #1 "Must See" haunted house in America, you MUST go there!

Don't bring your kids under 10, this haunt is way too scary!

Summary

Gets better every year, must see!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ntothep after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This year's haunts are even more detailed than last year. I love that they don't sit back and rest on being a great haunt, they add more and change things up. This year's is the best I've ever seen! With three haunts it's at least a hour of thrills and I personally loved Torment the best. The detail in the other two haunts and scares is ridiculous but the surprises don't stop in Torment. Just crazy cool! They earned every bit of that number one ranking. Loved it!!!

Summary

Great haunt, great scares. Something different in each haunt but all three for the price is a great value and well worth the run out to the Waukesha Expo Grounds. Great haunt!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Robinson90 after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunted house never fails to amaze me, we go every year and they get me every single time! I suggest this place to everyone I know, you won't be disappointed. If you aren't screaming you're laughing, it was such a great time

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by wodill after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Had a great time. while waiting in line, we were randonly chosen and given a free Pizza Hut pizza to eat while in line !!! How great is that!!! We also meet the owner of the haunt while in line, and talked to him and a little about their operation. The lines moved very fast. The haunt has great detail as always and awesome actors! ... thats why we keep going back.

Summary

well worth checking out!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




August 23rd, 2019 11:13 p.m. CDT 1.9