ad-header-top

2006 The Wisconsin Fear Grounds Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

36 total reviews. Showing 6 of 15 on this page (9 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by lysergicerberus after attending on Saturday, October 28, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The event is located at the Waukesha Expo Center. If you know Waukesha at all, you'll find it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area is definately different. Now, I didn't experience the full impact of the wait area, because our group had vip passes and skipped the line. However, I heard plenty of screams coming from the corral area where visitors were caged in and attacked by actors. Very cool.

Most Unique

The wait area was unique. The scenes were very realistic and well done. I had heard that before attending and was not let down.

Actors' Performance

Boy, they love to scream at you. It's creepy. They singled me out of the group, which was fun. The actors are witty and passionately love to scare you.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

Definately a good time and worth the admission cost. Not the absolute scariest event for me this year, but the quality is spectacular. Oh yeah, if it looks fake, it probably isn't.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by kiwilime after attending on Saturday, October 28, 2006 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The signs are small but the driver had directions and I knew the area somewhat.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Normal line nothing special, they did however have the in a good order!! I can't say the same for other haunts I've been to.

Most Unique

I really loved the entrance to the house, and the first couple of rooms with the paintings. I thought all of the rooms were pretty cool though.

Actors' Performance

Hard to say because there were so many people going through at once. But they seemed decent but not as great as people have been saying.

Appropriate For

10

Summary

I was pretty disappointed. After reading all the reviews on here I honestly thought it was going to be great! The stall in the begining is nowhere near as awesome as everyone made it sound. I read that they had actors scaring you inside which didn't happen we were in there with 5 other people just bored for about 5 minutes. Also they send in WAY too many people at once. First of all, we were a group of 5 and they sent in a group of 6 with us, We were cathing up to the group ahead and a group was catching up to the group behind us. At some point I'd say there were almost 20 of us trying to get through at once, which pretty much ruins it. Other than that, it was decent. It is worth the money and the wait, the props/designs are awesome and you can certainly tell they put a lot of time and money into it. I am still however a bit disppointed. People hype it up too much.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by feliciad_06 after attending on Saturday, October 28, 2006 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We got lost and had to ask for directions at a gas station, but I am really bad with directions so it was probably our fault we got lost. It wasn't that hard to get to once we figured it out.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wair area wasn't very entertaining. It didn't seem like it took that long to get in because the line was moving pretty fast. Being locked up in the little holding pens was kind of boring because nothing happened. I think they quit scaring people in the cages shortly before we got in there because all of the sudden we just stopped hearing screams coming from there.

Most Unique

The most unique thing was probably the decorations along the walls. Especially the one with all the skeletons and stuff. I found myself admiring many of the decorations.

Actors' Performance

They asked alot of weird questions. One of the girls basically kissed me, her face was touching my face the whole time and she wouldn't get out of my face and kept asking "wanna play"? I didn't really find any of them very scary because they all asked weird questions that made me be like "what???". But there was also two guys in front of us that gave away everything that was coming up and the actors didn't really try to scare us.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Overall, I was scared only once. This is because I went and saw texas chainsaw massacre a few weeks ago and I heard a chainsaw and ran for my life. Other than that, I didn't find it all that entertaining. The actors didn't really seem to be trying to scare us though, we just sort of walked by most of them and said "hey". I wasn't all that impressed. I scare very very easily too and for me not to get scared says something.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by smplfecrazzzi after attending on Saturday, October 21, 2006 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Morgan Manor; for me at least; was easy to locate. But I have been living in Waukesha for my whole life; and I know where the expo center is. They directions were nicely worded though.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I would suggest for EVERYONE to buy tickets ONLINE! We did that and we detoured having to wait the addition 20-30 minutes to buy the tickets there. The wait was still awhile though. It was in one of the horse barns/type things with a covered roof but open sides. A little chilly so I suggest wearing some warm clothes if it is a chilly evening. You also have to wait in a horse cell before entering. I thought that was kinda lame but it sorta got everyone pumped.

Most Unique

I thought the costumes and makeup was the best along with all the decorations. I can only imagine how much time they had to of been preparing for!

Actors' Performance

They actors were OK. They didn't relaly target me or my group because we weren't really screaming and running away. They normally target the weak ones. But the makeup was cool and it was really interesting to see the different makeup and techniques.

Appropriate For

11-12+

Summary

If you have problems with strobe lights/fog I would suggest not going. Almost every room has either strobe lights or fog; and it can really tripp some people out I know. The makeup and costumes are really amazing and some rooms you walk into show your breath from all the effects. It was really fun and I hope everyone enjoys it!! :D

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Courtney after attending on Friday, October 20, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We knew exactly where we were going so it was easy for us to find and there were little signs along the way.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We rilly didnt have to wait to get our tickets and go in line, i think for both it took like 10 minutes, we got there at the right time. There was a little food stand out by the ticket line where u could get stuff.

Most Unique

Putting us in the horse pens to wait. That was a rilly cool idea. I think all of the haunt was pretty unique. But i would have to say the "nursery" was one of the weirdest and scariest.

Actors' Performance

The actors were rilly good. I was rilly impressed. I screamed almost through the whole thing. Maybe thats y all of them seemed to go after me and my friend. But anyways, they were rilly good, very impressive and believable. The only mix up they had was at the beginning when one of the actors couldn't close our gate on the horse pen but they made it out to be scary.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

This was a great haunt and worth every dollar. Me and my friend didn't even no if we were going to make it through the whole thing without losing our voice. It was great.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by dirkadirka after attending on Saturday, October 21, 2006 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Should be easy to find. We got lost, but it was our fault. Its in the fairgrounds.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We waited indoors. The line was probably 100 people deep, but we only waited 25 minutes. It was pretty dark, and there were no actors, but it was late. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get to wait in the horse pens, but the house made up for that.

Most Unique

The time and money that went into the rooms is obvious. Great detail. There are some very memorable rooms. We kept running into the group in front of us, but they were slowing down to take it all in.

Actors' Performance

They did an unbelievable job. The timing was great, and many of them had things to say or unique ways to scare. No two scares were the same. The costumes were spectacular as well. They had great makeup and hand made suits and contact lenses as opposed to masks.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

Just seeing the fact that there are two pages of positive reviews on this haunt should be a good indication.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by tap1987 after attending on Saturday, October 21, 2006 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was easy to find, being located at the Waukesha fair grounds.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The line was extremely long, and we ended up having to wait outside (in the rain) for about 20 minutes. There was no entertainment while we were waiting.

Most Unique

I liked the skeleton room. You could tell they had a lot of work into it.

Actors' Performance

Poor. I was hit on numerous times by the same guy. A girl was yelling "Can I suck on your toes" which is neither scary nor funny. Just plain out stupid. Another one went up and kept touching a group member, and when we told him to stop he poked him more times in the arm. For the most part, the actors just got RIGHT up in your face...which i did not find scary whatsoever.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

I have heard a lot of people talking about how great Morgan Manor is, but I left feeling disgusted. I did not get scared once. We were left with the feeling of "thats it?". The quality of the haunt was there, you could tell a lot of time and money went into the structure and decor of the haunt...but the actors were terrible. Maybe next year they can pay more attention to the actors, and making sure they know what they are doing!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by bunnehop after attending on Thursday, October 19, 2006 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Some signage not too hard to find. Just follow the expo center signs.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None, but there was no line either.

Most Unique

Glowing pumpkin faces.

Actors' Performance

Well played, all stayed in character. One girl told me friend she smelt like bananas?

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

Overall ok didn't really get scared. Needed more actors and less props.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by draculasmistress after attending on Sunday, October 15, 2006 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There was not a sign per say for the haunt itself, but the Expo sign was easy to see and find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We waited no time at all. Being a Sunday we went right in. People were very friendly.

Most Unique

All their personal and haunt effects were top notch and done very well. Also crawling actors were the best feature, very creepy.

Actors' Performance

The actors did a fantastic job. They kept out of sight until the right moments. They also never broke character.

Appropriate For

Mature 14 and up

Summary

I liked that they asked when it was over if you liked it and if you enjoyed yourself.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by MissLiss after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The directions were VERY easy to follow! We went to mapquest and put in the address and found it SUPER easy!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait? What wait? The event starts at 7:00pm, and we got there at 6:30-6:45, and we waited for 10min. max. First they put us in a line. Then we got moved to holding pens used for the cattle during the fair. While in the pens for around 7-9 min., about 5 actors would distract you and make you uneasy. They can open the pen, but you can't. One of the clowns came in and I screamed "bloody murder!!!" (but that's just me)

Most Unique

After you come out, there's an actor that waits for you and chases you around the parking lot with a HUGE knife! its curvy, not straight..my friend dropped her jacket. Thank goodness that guy didn't come after me! I WOULD'VE been one of the ones that peed their pants! (eww) I also thought that the holding pens were fun.It kept you suspecting when the actors would come in and freak you outt!!!!!!! I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND GOING HERE IF YOUR A TEENAGER AND WANA HOLD YOUR HUNNY CUZ THEY'RE SCREAMINN LIKE THERES NO 2MORO!!!

Actors' Performance

I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND GOING HERE IF YOUR A TEENAGER AND WANA HOLD YOUR HUNNY CUZ THEY'RE SCREAMINN LIKE THERES NO TOMORROW!!! The whole thing took about 45min., (including the wait). The actors were WONDERFUL!! They follow you around..even CRAWL after you...(you'll see what I mean when you go there...trust me) One of them ran after my friend and I with a butcher knife, and we didn't know it. We were tooo busy screaming our heads off! Trust me..you'll have tooo much fun! (ohh..but some of the actors didn't brush that teeth that morning..soooo..ECHH!!)But I'd give the whole thing a 10 outta 10 for the whole performance!!!

Appropriate For

15+ (to me)

Summary

I know this might not help that much, but my friend and I just go to scare ourselves. I hung onto my father the entire time...yet, I always do, so, if you're around 13 and 14, and you just LOVE to go to haunted houses, but get scared outta ur pants to everyone you go to, then you'll LOVE this one! I was TERRIFIED!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i couldn't really speak when I got out because I was screaming the whole time! FLIPPIN GOOO!!!!!!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by halloweencupcake16 after attending on Sunday, October 15, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage wasn't very necessary. Easy to get to. Directions easy to follow from this website.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We didn't even have to wait! The waiting area was covered though. No snacks for sale.

Most Unique

The most unique is that some places were pith blak. Others had such bad vision due to strobe lights and other lights, that you could not see any actor approach you. Awesome lighting.

Actors' Performance

They were AWESOME!!! By far one of the best houses I have been to! Just when you think its over....BAM! Actors were very scary and there were many of them.

Appropriate For

13 and up

Summary

I would suggest this to anyone. Just remember, they love screamers!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by vegasbound365 after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The location is not hard to find & the directions located on www.hauntedwisconsin.com and the haunts website are good. Also, mapquest is useful as well. It is located next to the Waukesha airport. There is a big sign for the Waukesha Expo center & that is the location of Morgan Manor. Follow the little signs in the parking lot and look for the group of cars.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Dress appropriately for those chilly October evenings. The wait area is semi-outside; it is covered, but open. The evening of this review, the temperature was a chilly 35 degrees. I suggest purchasing the Scream Pass. This pass well worth the additional cost for a couple of reasons: 1. If it is chilly outside and you do not want to face the elements; 2. If you want to visit another haunt that same evening, this pass will save you time especially if there are LONG lines. Manor House does a good job entertaining the waiting guests with wandering ghouls that REALLY play the part! There were at least 4 or 5 scare-actors that were entertaining the guests. The costumes and makeup of these scare-actors were AWESOME!

Most Unique

What surprised me most was the quality of the costumes and makeup. These were not simply masks that were just slid on; they were full-blown, well-made costumes that were very detailed. The costumes were very unique and it must have taken them a lot of preparation time to just get the costumes and makeup done. Additionally, there were not repeat characters. Some haunts will have two of this character, two of that. Not Morgan Manor! Each character was unique in its own right and each character went out of their way to give a good performance.

Actors' Performance

The scare-actors were really into character and did not break character at all. You will definitely see some unique characters and not the usual cloaked creatures. Again, the performance was VERY good; many LOVED the smell of fear and would follow you and follow you and follow you. . . Not much else can be said I was impressed by ALL of the actors performances.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

One of the most interesting and worth while parts of this haunted house is the waiting area. After the initial wait and entertainment of the scare actors, you are ushered into some holding cages. While in these waiting cages, the scare actors come into each cage and interact with you. After this, you are lead into the entrance where the actors continue their performances.

This haunted house is quite interesting; the props are not as detailed as some that I have seen, but the performance and the uniqueness of this house more than compensates for this.

The size of the haunt is also a plus. It took us about 20 minutes to complete the house.

One thing about this house was that is was very popular, which means it was very busy. There were times in the house when we were in a line of people and were just walking along. This took away the intimacy of the haunted house because you were sometimes standing there, scooting along with other people. When the first people in line got approached by the scare actors, it took away the surprise for the rest.

Also, for those of you that suffer from coulrophobia (the fear of clowns), I would rate this a 2-clown haunt, meaning there were 2 clowns present.

All in all, this was a very good haunted house, with very good actors and props. Get the Scream Pass because as we enter the end of October, you will be VERY happy that you purchased it!!!

Happy Hauntings!

Johnny

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by pinkangel after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Couldn't see it from road... needed more lighting or signs!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Decent, cold, but sheltered!

Actors' Performance

They looked like they knew what they were doing and exactally what they needed to do to keep us enteianted

Appropriate For

13 +

Summary

It wasn't very scary...

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by xxxblackvelvetxxx after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The place was easy to find because there was so much traffic going on in the parking lot and there was a big ticket booth and herse in the front.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The waiting area was huge and there was so much commotion going on beyond it that it kept everyone interested. Every once in a while one of the actors would be peeking through and scaring people, so it wasn't as boring as most lines. Beyond the ropes they divide the groups and lock us in cages which I thought was a great idea to just kind of bring in a claustraphobia scare right off the beginning.

Most Unique

There were a few rooms that you could tell had a lot of money put into them for instance there was room full of body parts and soom of them moved. It was very eerie looking and different.

Actors' Performance

The actors were decent, nothing real out of the ordinary. I think a lot of them don't realize that they can go farther before they reach the boundary of a customer's space to scare people. They didn't use many props around them to their advantage to make each room interesting and different, but in place of that there was more decorations to make up for some of the lack of acting. I appreciated seeing more make up than masks though because it shows that more work went into it then costumes. I also appreciated seeing flexible actors who didn't just hide and walk around but actually crawled around.

Appropriate For

13 and up

Summary

It was decent but I still think the more the actors the better the scare. If there is too much of a lag between scenery and scare it wrecks the whole mood. I'd be interested in going another year just to see the change and possible improvements

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by louiscyphre after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find from I-94, in the Waukesha Expo Grounds, plenty of parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There's a little trailer selling treats and stuff, lots of area to mill about in. Waiting area proper is a series of cattle runners in a covered barn building. Basic ghouls in the waiting area, chainsaws, etc. When you finally get ready to enter the house, entrance looks great, though.

Most Unique

The Venture-Bros-looking floating giant skull which appears to be projected on the wall, or is it floating in the middle of the room, or is it right in front of you? And they seriously have the coolest changing portraits I have ever seen sprinkled through some of the more "haunted mansion"-y rooms.

Actors' Performance

Acting was uniformly Spectacular with a Sweet capital "S" inside the house; this is a serious haunt with serious ghouls, actors look great, are convincing, spooky, and game for interaction -- kudos to the eye-rolling little girl in the nursery, the kids behind the portraits, and the bunch of spooks in the coffin room. They also did a good job of paying attention to what you were doing and playing off that ("You think this is funny? This is not funny."), and saved up some scares for those in the middle or end of the group, as opposed to letting the people in the front of the line have all the surprises.

Appropriate For

Probably skews a little older, the disorientation of many rooms could get pretty intense. I did feel like there wasn't as much boring gore as in a typical haunt, though.

Summary

Someone clearly spent a great deal of money on this haunt, and it shows; very slick and professional-looking with high attention to detail in many scenes, while also not appearing soul-less or just there to grind its audience through as fast as possible. I and my companions had the impression that there were many details we likely missed due to not being able to take it all in at once. Great misdirection, some nice foreshadowing of ghouls/scares to come, some unification of theme running through the haunt (various rooms in a mansion, basement, crypt, mausoleum, etc), lots of disorientation with fog machines, well-placed strobes, etc, sometimes too much, actually. Also felt like you got many more actual scenes, versus dark maze time, than a usual haunt. Liked the smelly little homage to the "sloth" scene from "Se7en," too. Overall a terrific haunted house, acting, details, presentation, and scare factor very impressive.

HOT TIP: When you reach what appears to be the end, you will see two "Exit" signs separated by a short hallway; it appeared that if you went through them, you actually exited the haunt, but if you skip them and move down the hallway, there are a couple more spaces to experience before you find yourself exiting the haunt for good.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




August 17th, 2019 1:10 p.m. CDT 1.9