ad-header-top

2008 The Wisconsin Fear Grounds Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

26 total reviews. Showing 3 of 15 on this page (12 filtered).

Page 1 | 2

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by HauntedScuba after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

We got there before the crowd so we were in the first group to go through. We purchased all 3 attractions. I like how they continue you through to the next haunted house when you buy more than one house instead of making you wait in the long line again.
The First 2 haunted houses are very similar. The rooms are pristine and decorated in such a manor you feel like you are in the setting. They do a great job of moving you through the scene so you experience the entire room. The actors keep in character and try to get everyone in the group, not just the screamers. There were some similar sets from last year, but they are good sets. I love the exit, it makes a non claustrophobic person, claustrophobic!

The 3rd house is more for effect than scare. The 3-D paint inside is awesome to say the least! The actors are quick to respond to the friendly banter I made and we had a fun dialogue going on. Only suggestion in the last house was get a real chain saw or none at all. The "toy" chainsaw they had was really lame.

This was Haunted House 3-4-5 for us this season. It took us 30 minutes to go through all 3.

Summary

All 3 are obviously professional Haunted Attractions put together very well. If you are interested in scare only, go to the first 2 if you also care about effects splurge for the 3rd.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by btweezy414 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have been attending this haunt for about the last 3 or 4 years now and it is truly amazing how they seem to be steeping up their game and improving year over year. After attending a very poor cornfield maze the week before, myself and a group of friends decided to visit this Haunt to get the season moving again. We arrived at the place at around 6:50ish. There were already a good number of people before us there. We stood in line for tickets for maybe 5 minutes. We then went into their covered waiting area which was a huge tent. They had the visitors sorted into rows of about 30-40 people. A worker told us which row to stand in, so after about 20 minutes or so of waiting, it was time for our row to step up(*Note* while waiting in line there was various ghouls and evil clowns scaring the living daylights of some young attendees, which really set the mood). We where sent in with out group of 4 and as you enter the first house is very much set up like an old haunted mansion, with a ghoul up top dangling a baby doll from a string at you on at the entrance, just a great start. I don’t want to give too much away, but the inside of the first house had some of the most detailed and nicely hidden creatures I have every seen. The details that go into these rooms are above and beyond anything around. The actors where very into their jobs and did a great job of making you jump or scream.

After we exited the first house there was about a 5 min break so they could properly make sure that the groups didn’t catch other. The waiting area in-between houses were set up and themed greatly so it would break the mood.

We then entered the second house, and it sums this one up, it’s darker and uses strobe lights very nicely. They even had a green type of laser strobe light which gave a great effect on the creatures as they seem to pop up and then out of view. The scares are still top notch in this house and you won’t be disappointed. Especially at the way you have to exit the 2nd house.

We then had another 10 minute break before entereing the 3rd and 3-d haunted fun house. Before entering the house you are given a pair of 3-d glasses. Once inside it is amazing as the artwork and colors jump off the wall due the effects. The house lacked live actors but was just overall visually amazing!

Summary

Overall took a bout an 1 hour to make it thru all 3. For $25.00 how could you go wrong, worth every penny. Also keep the wristband on and you can go again Nov.1st for half price! I highly recommend this house!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wisconsin Feargrounds was awesome once again! They have three haunted houses all on one property and all of them just blew me away. They have the space and they know how to use it. There is little to no dead time between the scenes. They just keep giving you scare after scare.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this is very easy to find, it is located right off of the highway.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area was located inside of a heated tent which is extremely nice with these cold Wisconsin Octobers. There are also many actors walking around creeping up on people while they stood in line. It also looked like they had activities to do while you waited in line like a big jump house, but since I got there at 11pm they were already taking it down.

Actors' Performance


The actors' were absolutely incredible. They knew their parts very well and always stayed in character. They also were very unique with their scenes. The best one is probably the guy in the library!!!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets of this haunt were awesome. They were creepy and scary just by themselves. They used props that were very realistic. Also the sewing machine for skin was amazing!!

Length


The length of this haunt was probably about 20 minutes to go through each haunt. That's over an hour of entertainment, with just about no dead time between the scenes.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment was the scene with the air compressed tarps. As you are walking the ceiling gets lower giving you the clausterphobic feeling which leads to my favorite thing haunts are incorporating this year, but I'm not going to give it all away.

Summary

Overall, Wisconsin Feargrounds did an awesome job once again. I would recommend this to anyone 15 and over.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by SpiketheSonicDog after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I'm very impressed with this attraction! The haunts were detailed to the max and the acting was outstanding. A professionally operated event that provides frightening entertainment. I've toured 100+ haunts and this is one of the top haunted attractions in the country.

Summary

The Wisconsin Feargrounds is a must see haunted attraction.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ChadSavage after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Every year I get together with a group of haunted house enthusiasts and we road trip from Michigan, Indiana and Chicago to check out haunted houses in Wisconsin. We hit the Wisconsin Feargrounds late-ish on a Friday night. There was a good crowd, clearly having a good time and getting the cr*p scared out of them by the que line entertainers (Yay Havoc and Granny! Yay Weird Guy In A Jumpsuit!).

The haunts themselves are stellar, from every perspective. Haunted houses haven't scared me since I worked in one 20 years ago*, so while everybody else is screaming and cringing, I really look at set design and decoration, props, lighting, listen to the sound design, see how the actors interact with the patrons, all the technical stuff - I can't help it. What I saw was an incredible attention to detail in the room designs, props and lighting. I saw actors who really ran the gamut of interaction - some were extremely in your face and caustic; others went for a more disturbing approach by completely ignoring you and just acting absolutely (and realistically) insane. I found the latter genuinely creepy - it was like being in a confined space with real psychotic person; you weren't sure what might set him/her off. There's also a great mix of surprises, jump-scares, and a few great slow burns that let you build some suspense and anticipation.

While Morgan Manor and Morgana's Torment employ a great deal of darkness and subtlety, Freaky's Funhouse is the opposite - dayglow 3D! We had a great time marvelling at the great and, at times, truly disturbing artwork, and being weirded out by the various implementations of the 3D effects. The clown selling Human Pot Pies (They're Chicken Lickin' Good!) was a gas and had us all laughing.

The real testament to all 3 haunted houses was my immediate desire to walk right back through them all, to see the things I missed the first time - I can't think of a better way to spend a cold October night!

*My Fear Factor rating is based on the reactions of the people around me, who all seemed gleefully terrified.

Summary

High quality sets, decor, lighting and acting make the Wisconsin Feargrounds a must-see attraction this season!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by louiscyphre (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Geez, I was just a little disappointed; I mean, obviously they've worked very hard on their haunt again this year, and maybe we were there on an off-night, but...having attended Morgan Manor two years ago and being impressed with the imagination, characterization, and overall creativity and execution of the place, I had high expectations for the three haunted houses of Wisconsin Feargrounds...and they were good, but just not mind-blowingly cool.  There are three houses in all, including a 3-D Funhouse where you have to wear 3-D glasses to get the full effect, which sounds really cool, is really cool at first, but by the end, just kind of cool.  It feels to me like they were trying to do too much this time, and stretched the contents of one Grade-A+ Haunted House into three Grade-B+ Haunts.  So, I guess, it takes more time to cover the whole thing, but the effect is eventually diluted, and, to be honest, I was kind of tired of it all by the end of the third haunt.  It also felt like stretching the haunts out over three locations led to less ghouls, as we noticed a number of the same ghouls having to cut through and be used in multiple rooms and scenes.  I dunno, It felt like there were some budget cuts or something, less ghouls ultimately doing more work; maybe they should unionize. 

Actually, I hope all that doesn't sound too negative; we did have a really good time overall, and there are some scenes in here which are amazing -- one in particular, involving having to work your way through an increasingly narrowing rubbery space, with the walls and ceiling actually drooping down onto you more and more as you advance and it seems to be getting harder to breathe and which actually kind of panicked several members of our group, was an incredibly original scene; everyone in my group talked this up for the 45 minute ride home, so hats off to whoever thought that up -- we need more of you!  Oh, and there is a potted plant that isn't what it seems...and some of the 3-D illustrations in the Funhouse were super-cool.  I mean, a 3-D painting of a malevolent Winnie the Pooh holding a bloody butcher's knife aloft is in its own orbit of cool. 

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find, just follow directions on the website, right off 90/94, in the Waukesha Fairgrounds (hence the pun).  Tons of parking, including actual restrooms and not just porta-potties, which was a big hit with the ladies.  The Haunt is in several buildings on the grounds. 

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Very efficient, they line you up in various columns and let subsequent groups in individually.  There's a lot to do while waiting, they have various crowd-distractor games to watch or participate in like that Gladiator thing where two opponents stand on padded posts and try to knock each other off with padded Darth Maulish double-sided sticks.  And it looked like they had some kind of bouncy-boxing thing, too; I wasn't sure if these cost money to do or not (it got kind of confusing).  There were some nicely-made-up ghouls walking around menacing the people in line.  Oh, and the waiting area is in a heated tent, so it was quite comfortable. 

Actors' Performance


Performances were good, some scenes had some really great little storylines developing (shout out due to the Librarian Ghoul!), and there was one ragged-y guy wandering around who kept yelling that he "just wants to see (my) wife and children!" who was really great, 'cause that's a very different approach to unnerving the customers; someone should ask him what happened....  I also liked the clown who was looking for "Chuckie!" in the 3-D Funhouse; sometimes you would hear him calling this out from other rooms and it would rhythmically line up with the weird music in the Funhouse for a cool effect.  I also liked that the urinator on the toilet apologizes for peeing on you (!).  It doesn't cost anything to be polite. 

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Well, there's a lot of hanging stuff that you have to duck, and lots and lots of smelly hemp rope used.  Actually, there's a space where there are all these human heads (severed human heads!) hanging all over and blocking your way, and when you knock into one, it hits a bunch of the others, and then you've got yourself a hallway of swinging human heads on strings to get through, which is even more awkward than it sounds.  There is also lots of fog and strobes and lasers in various rooms, used to varying effect.  And, as above, the 3-D Funhouse is quite cool, but seemed a little lacking in ghouls and scares when we went through; can I just put in another call to stop over-monsterizing clowns?  A clown is creepy and scary all by itself, people, it doesn't need blood-red eyes and dripping fangs and a hook hand and bat wings and a stupid chainsaw.  Just make it a clown!

The giant 3-D illustrations on the walls of the 3-D Funhouse are pretty much a must-see, though they range from boring, overly-fangy horror movie stereotypes ( see above) to cool and creative perversions of childhood iconography. 

Length


Excellent, each house took about 15-20 minutes to go through, and we never ran into other groups, so pacing was really good. 

Crowd Control


As above, very well-done, you wait in columns and they let you in a column at a time.  They also sold concessions outside near the ticket space. 

Most Memorable Moment


I have to say, having a whole rubbery passage close in on you while also slowly dropping down on you was a bit like being swallowed; never experienced that before!

Summary

Overall, I had too-high expectations for this one; on its own merits, well-done, but not as creative or engaging as I had seen in the past.  Stretching over three haunts dilutes the overall effect, and I would suggest tightening this up in the future.  Was still a lot of fun, and you should probably see what a 3-D Funhouse looks like, anyway.  And beware the potted plant!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ToTheMax after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I was very impressed by what I saw at this place, it was pretty sweet. I'm really not a fan of haunted houses because they just aren't scary. To be honest the only reason I went through this one was because my girlfriend wanted to go and I thought it would be pretty funny to see her freak out. I have to say that this haunted house is different than any I've been to before because it actually made me jump. Most that I've been to have just been dark room after dark room with little 12 year old kids dressed in black roaring at me and that stuff just aint scary. The people in this haunted house actually put in effort and tried to scare you. For the most part most of the actors were really creepy. We only decided to go though the first house Morgan Manor and I'm kinda kicking myself for not paying the little bit extra to go through the other two houses. I plan on going back to see if they are as good as the first one.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by tosoarforever after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Halloweeen is the best time of the year,Especially when you get to go to haunted houses. Wisconsin Feargrounds was absolutely the scariest and greatest haunted attraction(s) to attend this year. From the minute I went there I knew these were professional haunts. Everything was well organized from the ticket booths to the wait lines to the haunts. Don't let the calm manner fool you. Inside people were screaming and terrified of the living dead and other beings that lurked within the dark walls. Morgan Manor was so detailed with the perfect setting for a haunted mansion. As you moved through the numerous rooms there were scares from every direction and the actors were so in character, it gave you the chills and wondered if you were going to make it out. Next you went through another maze until you got to Torment, which was eerie in itself. The rooms were exactly what you expected, dark, filled with fog and terrifying shapes and living things; Many times there were things you did not expect! You could tell that many lost souls screamed from the depths of beyond as you made your way through the halls and rooms. There was that one room.....I can't describe it...you will have to go through yourself. After Torment you went to Freaky's which you could hear the not so pleasant carnival music ringing throughout the haunt. While I was in line, a girl came out stating that she had wet herself because of a particular scare. This only made the excitement that much better waiting to go in. The 3-D effects were completely amazing with the blacklights and glasses. I have never seen anything like it. Freaky's was filled with sinister clowns that made you never want to go to a circus again. The haunt was the best 3-D I have seen. Truly these people knew what they are doing in all 3 haunts. They gave scares and entertainment throughout.

Summary

I can't believe how affordable this is to go to all three haunts. You can't find better quality and price for the night of terror and fun. If you don't go to any other haunts I recommend going to this one. The actors, props, design, scares and management could not be better. A Must See!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by PillowFight after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

over all it was an awesome haunt.. the first one is the ever classic morgan manor. i have attened befor and found to very well done. This year stepd it up a notch and was far scarier then last year. The guys in the first room made us jump. They almost made my baby sister pee herself.
Second house was torment much more creepy then manor. The girl crawling out of the coffins makes me think ok the ring. also the guy in the cages was very crazy and out there. also found myself getting lost in the stobes and the room with the pillars.
Freaky's fun house was entertaining and the art work was awesome.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by mikeyz2527 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

after taking a roadtrip from chicago and witnessing some of the best shows in the country i must say The Feargrounds really impressed me. From the makeup to the increadable acting. some of this stuff was really disturbing and is up there with the best in the midwest. id recomend seeing it twice!!

Summary

right there with the best

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by TommyBoy after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dude seriously if you are to go to a haunted house this year, you only need to go to Wisconsin Feargrounds.......they have 3 there!!

my buddies and i have been going to haunted houses for as long as we can remember and there is nothing freakier, scarier, or AMAZING as these three...you are out of your mind if you donot check it out!!

Makeup, props, sets, EVERYTHING is so rediculously awsome, you can't pass it up.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Kleigh after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have been to a many haunted houses in my time, and I do have to say in the past few years I have gone to Morgan Manor, it has grown so much. Actors get better every year, the additonal houses are beyond fantastic, and to top it off...their sets are so well done you would think you're on a movie set. Every actor was original, creative and never told me to "GET OUT!!". I really do not like that when they yell that to you!! These guys took scaring us to a new level...I LOVED IT!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by widowmaker after attending on Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

These houses ROCKED!!! First of all I have to complement on all of the details that were put into the houses. The owner(s) must really have some kind of imagination!!! Manor has the look as if once upon a time it was a beautiful house, then it turned EVIL! I'd love to describe it but I don't want to give it away. As for torment, the name speaks for its self. This house is very horrific with many different scares and a lot of them are at unexpected times! If you can survive the first two houses you end up at freakys. This house will change your entire outlook about clowns. This place really is freaky. Everything looks as if it's coming at you and not to mention the lighting was awesome!!!

Summary

I'd have to say I think the feargrounds are the best. The actors truly become part of the entire seen. This place does go really well with the story line. If you can, read the story about manor on the website and you'll see for yourself that this place really gives the creepy feeling that we're all hoping to see!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by DeannaWitchypoo after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Last weekend we took a road trip to visit some Wisconsin haunts. First on our stops was Wisconsin Feargrounds- nightmares4u.com -Morgan Manor, Morganas Torment and Freakys Funhouse.

They were exceptional. Having attended last year, we found the ambience to be better this year than last--Morgan Manor and Morganna's Torment were better 'aged' with a true abandoned/lived in look.
The sets were awesome, with lots of detail & realism. The actors were good, none of them so much as said Boo or RAWR. Each actor knew their parts & scenes well, & more than a few had very witty & eloquent quips thrown in for entertainment outside of the scares.
The costumes, makeup, and characters were all well suited for the sets. The haunts were huge, and it seemed to take close to a half hour to go through each haunt.
The new 3-d Haunt, Freaky's Fun House was the best we've ever seen as far as artwork and sets--very well done. It was nice to see not only the walls painted with amazing art, but the ceilings & many times the floor, as well, were covered with the dizzying paints.
Many other *3D haunts* out there do not integrate actors well into these scenes, but Wisconson Feargrounds makes it work seamlessly.
As an added bonus, it was about the most perfect weather you could ask for in October.

Summary

While some haunts just have *bonus* haunts thrown in for extra fee, Wisconson Feargrounds is one of the few that makes it truly worth buying the extra tickets to go through all 3 haunts.
A great value for a night of entertainment.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by MKellman after attending on Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The three haunts are very well done with excellent attention to detail. The actors do a great job and are unpredictable.

Summary

We had a great time!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




August 17th, 2019 8:13 p.m. CDT 1.9