ad-header-a
ad-header-b

2018 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

110 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Revenge

by wm (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 5, 2018 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was the opening night in the second year for Revenge, and the first year that I’ve attended it. It’s always exciting going to a new haunt for the first time! Located in Sobieski, it feels like you’re in the middle of nowhere. Don’t blink or you will miss it… it comes up fast!

This also is the first time this haunt has been reviewed on Haunted Wisconsin! I’ve been to haunts in the past that have been in barns, and for the most part they are short and lackluster. Don’t let the fact that Revenge is in a barn fool you. This barn is HUGE, and the folks that put this on are NOT messing around.

This is a dark maze in a very old barn. Throw in some creepy sets, eerie sound effects, creatures and you have Revenge. There were several times it felt like we were at a dead end. Then the dread starts setting in that you are stuck in a dark maze with things all around you!

Signage / Visibility / Location


There are some nice signs, but it's on a county road so it comes up fast. I love that it's not too far out but it FEELS like you're far away. Nobody around to hear your screams!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There is plenty of parking, and a small wait area within the barn before you go into the haunt. While you wait, there’s different graphic horror scenes playing and a few creatures that wander around. There’s also a nice concessions area. And hey, they have IN-DOOR bathrooms!

Actors' Performance


Some actors were late on scares and others were dead on. We walked into one room to find one of the actors sitting down trying to put on a mask. At first I thought it was part of the skit, but then I realized that we just caught the actor unprepared. Since this was opening night for them, here’s hoping that as the season goes on things really gel and the scares are consistent throughout the experience. The actors that were on their game had us jumping!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


To me, this haunt's strength is their creativity and their use of lighting. They did an amazing job throughout the haunt of using light to their advantage. One minute the light is on and you’re in a room by yourself. Then the light might flicker off and when it’s back on, you’re face to face with a nightmare!

Length


We went through the entire haunt in about 15 minutes.

Crowd Control


They did a great job with crowd control. They let very small groups go in at a time, which I very much appreciate! There's nothing worse than being loaded in like cattle and only a few get the scare while others just shuffle through. We did not bump into other groups, but we could hear them. In my book, that adds anticipation!

Most Memorable Moment


There was one room that used a strobe like effect and white paper curtains throughout the room. The creature lurking in there got me so good, I head-butted the person behind me. Ouch!

Summary

A good location, great building, and some very creative people! A solid haunt! Looking forward to seeing what the future holds in store for Revenge!

View all Revenge reviews

Comments: (0)

Zombus

by wm (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 5, 2018 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Years ago I reviewed Zombus, and loved every minute of it. I wanted to review them again to see what has changed and to see if they are as good as they were previously? As before, there are many different things to experience at Zombus, so much so that the title is really deceiving and doesn’t shed light on all the great things here. Besides the bus ride where you get to shoot zombies, there’s the Haunted House Trail, the Haunted Laser Tag, and a cool Zombie Carnival under a tent! There are different price point depending on what you want to do. The best value is getting all three big events for $24! The weather was not playing nice and was misting throughout the opening night, so attendance was light. But trust me, this is one haunt you do NOT want to miss!

Haunted House Trail: Your walk starts at a creepy looking house that is stacked with great visuals and scares in each room. My favorite was the kitchen! Your time in the house is short lived, and you’ll breathe a sigh of relief when you’re out in the night air. But then you realize that even more things are lurking in the woods just waiting to meet you… and you long for the creepy house again! In the woods there are moments of bright light in some areas and complete darkness in others. This haunted walk really does have everything: a huge snake, swamp people, a huge walk-in freezer, creatures up high and down low, inside a house and outside in the dark woods, uneven footing, an awesome rope bridge, and probably a few things that my mind has blocked out! Although the Zombus is the ‘headliner’, I enjoyed this walk more than anything so far this season!!! Length – 20 minutes

Haunted Laser Tag: As in previous years, they have a nice laser tag area that contains different forts and obstacles. Nothing really has changed here from previous years, but it’s a fun thing to do between the other events. Length - 15 minutes

Zombus: The Zombus is really what they promote, and it’s always a fun time. You jump on a bus and drive around shooting at zombies. For the most part, this is as it was in previous years, maybe 90% the same. But it’s unlike any other haunted experience in the area and if you’ve never done it, put it on your bucket list! Length - 20 minutes

Zombie Carnival: Something new this year is the carnival! There are several carnival games there with a zombie theme that are a lot of fun. You can purchase tickets to play the different games: Feed The Gargoyles, Zombie Brain Smash, Attacking Zombie Ring Toss, and Angry Raven! Depending on how well you play, you can trade up for different prizes!

And if that’s not your speed, then go crawl up on the bull and see how long you can stay on! There’s also a nice bonfire and waiting area. This haunt again has everything and there really is something for everyone here. This is only about 10 minutes north from Green Bay so don’t miss it!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find! Right off Hwy 41, on an access road 10 miles north of Green Bay. You can't miss it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


When I attended, there were not very many people attending so there was very little wait time. But the wait areas are great with games, a bonfire, snacks, etc..

Actors' Performance


The actors did great in both the Haunted House Trail and the Zombus.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This is one area where they really took things to the next level. They have achieved the perfect combination of live actors and animatronics to maximum effect! And the level of detail is amazing!

Length


See above summery for length of each separate event. You can easily spend all night here!

Crowd Control


There was no crowd when I attended due to the weather, but it looks like they have plenty of space to handle large groups. When I attended years ago it was over an hour wait, and they handled the crowds fine!

Most Memorable Moment


A highlight for me was on the Haunted House Trail. There was what I can only call 'the swamp’. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen anything like it! It’s not water, but it sure does look like it!

Summary

Kudos to the staff and creators, the whole experience is amazing! My only criticism is to start promoting the other aspects of all your work! The Zombus is great and very unique for the area, but your other creations are just as great! If you have not attended this haunt yet, what's your excuse? This should be at the top of your 'must attend' attractions!

View all Zombus reviews

Comments: (0)

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by Spiderwall after attending on Friday, October 5, 2018 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Much better this year! Personally, the best haunt I've ever been to! The spider hallway is hands down the spookiest!

Summary

Wisconsin's best haunt in 2018!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Terror on Rural Street

by PaigeBerrier (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2018 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my fourth year visiting Terror on Rural Street, and it is so amazing to see them continue to top their own creations year after year! TORS is an amazingly intricate, nonprofit haunt that boasts a lovely waiting area, tons of parking, shockingly cheap entry and room after room of true terror! A truly fantastic haunt!

Terror on Rural Street begins in a small town scene, and you are immediately transported in the haunted world, this year, with a confusing maze. While I love the disorienting aspects of mazes, I’ve found they are often hard to control with timing, and unfortunately this was a (minor) issue that followed us throughout the haunt. However, every actor was amazing and “got us” so many times, and I love seeing the new sets and ideas they come up with year after year. There is horror in many veins here – clowns, darkness, prison, dolls – you name it, they’ll find a way to scare you! TORS is a unique, creative haunt with a lot of passion and an intricate twisting halls that always leave me wanting more!

Signage / Visibility / Location


If you know where to go, it’s very easy to get to – you can type it right into google maps. They have an awesome light marquee, but they keep it closer to their parking lot, which is helpful but could be a little more so if it was placed a little closer to the main road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Very good – I really enjoy the wait area here. It is covered with ample seating! This year they had several warm snacks (we had a pretzel) and drinks available, including jello syringe shots and some alcoholic beverages. They also had several actors walking around in this area; I always love the lady with her shopping cart full of creepy toys.

Actors' Performance


We enjoyed a LOT of good jump scares at this haunt. I feel like the actors at TORS are very committed to their roles and really embody the characters with all their dialogue and even the type of moments they employ.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


There were a few issues with timing in a few of the scenes we encountered, but overall the haunt has a great variety of rooms, including a jail, some creepy dolls, and several new mazes this year. We particularly liked one that implemented strobe lights. There was also a room that featured moving walls, which was really unique!

Length


At least 20 minutes. We waited only for a few minutes to go inside, but as I said, it was a very enjoyable wait.

Crowd Control


They have a very good system here of calling up groups by ticket numbers, and don’t seem to mind if people get out of order as they enjoy snacks. It was very well organized!

Most Memorable Moment


TORS is home to a car that scares us every single year!

Summary

Terror on Rural Street is a must see haunt for me year after year, as they are always exploring new ideas creatively and the actors are amazing. You definitely will get scared! You seriously cannot beat the price, location, and general fun of this haunt!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by rodneywhetlow1996 after attending on Tuesday, October 9, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Absolutely awesome haunt. Actors are great props are awesome love all the animatronics. That green guy was pretty cool

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Dwelling Of Despair

by PaigeBerrier (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Tuesday, October 9, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Dwelling of Despair is a great haunt, beginning with a nerve-wracking walk full of scares through the Forest of Fear, and punctuated with tiny, twisting rooms designed to disorient the attendee. I really enjoy the multiple location aspect of this haunt – there are a lot of different scenes that involve being in all sorts of different rooms, including a big metal overpass, the creepy forest, and a final maze that will leave you confused and frustrated. The actors are varied and focus on the characters they are creating, and as a nonprofit, they also use child actors for an extreme creepy effect! They also do a wonderful job with their crowd control and have a nice covered waiting area for their guests!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very visible from the road, with lots of lit up signs leading you to the haunt. It’s also very easy to find through Google maps!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They had a few actors around, but we enjoyed the wait area, which included an awesome photo op spot, snacks and drinks, and two covered bench areas for large crowds in the rain.

Actors' Performance


We really enjoyed the children actors! Another amazing actor was the fellow in the metal room – his lack of speaking was extremely unnerving and he utilized his prop in a very scary way. Some of the rooms had a clearer storyline than others, but overall the actors are committed to their characters and had a variety in what types of creeps they were representing.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Extremely varied with the length of this haunt and the indoor/outdoor aspect. We loved the claustrophobic quarters, one instance with a glass floor, and the beginning of the haunt in the forest alone – really built anticipation!

Length


Nice and long, at least 20 – 30 minutes.

Crowd Control


Awesome, as noted in their wait area. Lots of staff and security on hand and a very clear system of who was next.

Most Memorable Moment


Walking through the forest, or the final maze!

Summary

Dwelling of Despair is a haunt with a little bit of everything – attendees with experience a creepy walk through the woods, claustrophobia, and the frantic feeling of being trapped in a maze with seemingly no end… but for those who escape, you’ll come back year after year! Awesome haunt with lots of variety!

View all Dwelling Of Despair reviews

Comments: (0)

Terror on Rural Street

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2018 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A thick fog began to settle in and a fine mist filled the air as I arrived at Terror on Rural Street. Ahhh, what an eerily perfect way to set the tone as I kicked off my 2018 haunting season! While some may argue that only a duck could enjoy our recent Wisconsin weather, you need not worry about the weather at this particular haunt as Terror on Rural Street comes stocked with several creature feature treats to combat Mother Nature’s unavoidable tricks. Upon arriving, this haunt greeted my tour group of 3 adults and 2 teenagers with a well-lit, paved and spacious parking lot along with a patrolling ghoul which left little doubt that we were in the right place. (No trudging through muddy dim lit fields as you approach the ticket window here.) As an added bonus we were delighted to find that Terror on Rural Street has a heated indoor waiting area with a fully stocked concession stand complete with food, snacks, beverages, beer and Jello-shots. Another nice treat offered by this haunt is the numbering tickets which allow you to wander about as you wait for your tour to begin…no need to stand in a dreadfully long line and count spiders on the wall as you wait here! If you love taking selfies with your brothers and sisters you’ll certainly enjoy the photogenic ghouls wandering about the waiting area who are just dying to photo bomb your shot. This entire haunt is indoor, including the final staging area before you actually enter the haunt….there’s no need to endure that wrath of Mother Nature as she tests your Halloween Spirit.

Here are some of my personal observations about Terror on Rural Street…

SPACIOUS ACCOMODATIONS: My tour group of 5 consisted of 3 adults and 2 teenagers (…all experienced haunt goers….), with the 2 teenagers attending Terror on Rural Street for the first time and 1 adult who has yet to miss a season of Terror on Rural Street. If you have a personal pet peeve as I do of being placed into an over sized tour group and crammed into small rooms, put your mind at ease. Terror at Rural Street’s mystic maze of mind bending sets and corridors easily accommodated our group of 5.

CINEMA QUALITY SETS: This haunt features several Cinema quality sets, many of which are pimped out with a dedicated sound system and special effects you won't find any place else. Portions of this haunt are an interactive style haunt with rooms showcasing a unique theme and a skit performed by volunteer actors. While the actors may be volunteers, the costumes and make-up were professionally done and very realistic. This was most evident in the final pre-tour staging where you receive final instructions before embarking on your tour. While it’s very easy to get distracted by the costumed actors be sure to take note of the keen attention to detail both with the facial make-up/costumes of the actors as well as the staging set as well. This same attention to details persists throughout this entire haunt.

DAZZLING SPECIAL EFFECTS: Admittedly not all of the acting performances knocked my socks off nor did every room send me off screaming to the next. But what Terror on Rural Street lacked with its actors and potential scare factor it more than made up for with its dazzling special effects and elaborate sets. Scares and surprises frequently came from unexpected flashes of brilliant light, dedicated room specific sound systems and a variety of lifelike techno effects

CREATIVE CONCEPTS: Terror on Rural Street continues its strong tradition of being a techno haunt goer’s dream come true! There has never been a year when I have been disappointed with the electrifying showcase of terrifying themes found at the Terror on Rural Street. This year was certainly no exception. If you’re leery of visiting a haunt more than once in a lifetime you’ll be pleasantly surprised with the number of new rooms/concepts found in this year’s edition. While a few of the techno-effects have been recycled for this year’s haunt most of them have been given a new creative twist. (I REALLY enjoyed this year’s version of the observation deck….the room alone is worth the price of admission!)

TOUR GROUP RATINGS: Here’s how my tour group rated Terror on Rural Street for both the Scare and Fun scale (1 to 5)

Haunt Teenager (first timer) #1: SCARE-4 / FUN-5
Haunt Teenager (first timer) #2: SCARE-4 / FUN-5
Haunt Adult #1: SCARE-4 / FUN-5
Haunt Adult #2: SCARE-3 / FUN-4
Haunt Veteran: SCARE-4 / FUN-5

Signage / Visibility / Location


Don't let a full parking lot scare you away before this haunt does! Terror on Rural Street shares it's parking lot with the Schauer Art Center and the Wisconsin Automotive Museum. Not all the cars parked in the lots may necessarily be for Terror on Rural Street.

This haunt can be found right off the main drag (Hwy 60) in downtown Hartford. Look for the flashing sign to point you to the parking lot. Great location. An abundance of well lit parking and a warm place to hang out while you wait. The courtyard between the waiting area and the entrance really set the tone nicely.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


A heated indoor waiting area with a concession stand that features beer and mixed drinks. If you’re of drinking age be sure to try the syringe style jello-shots! By the way...all proceeds from the concession stand benefit the Schauer Arts Center which is located just next door.

Actors' Performance


We had a lot of fun interacting with the performers in the waiting and staging areas. Throughout this haunt the elaborate costumes and finely detailed make-up enhanced the appearance of all performances.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A nice variety of sets and some superb special effects. For those of you who traditionally checkout a few different haunts every year you'll appreciate the creative concepts and elaborate sets that have the look feel of a genuine movie caliber set. Compared to other haunts, the rooms here were quite spacious....a nice perk for those who don't particularly enjoy being squeezed into a room when your grouped with complete strangers.

Length


My tour lasted approximately 20 minutes.

Crowd Control


Waiting room with concession stand is fairly spacious. Plenty of room in the court yard to wait also. Patrons are free to roam about until the Reaper calls their number to be assembled for final preparations before entering the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


This year’s Observation Deck is one of THE BEST techno-effects scenes I have EVER experienced!

Summary

A fantastic venue along with a nice variety of sets, creative ideas and exceptional special effects make Terror on Rural Street a haunt definitely worth checking out! This year’s edition of Terror on Rural Street has my vote for “Best Year Ever” for this haunt.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Dwelling Of Despair

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 7, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

If you tour as many haunts as I have you’ve probably realized that while haunts come in all shapes and sizes and offer different creature features they all have one thing in common….they all want to scare the bejesus out of you. Similarly, you’re probably aware that while cars come in all shapes and sizes and offer different creature features they all have one thing in common…to get you from point A to B. Likening Haunts to Cars, I would classify the Dwelling of Despair Haunted House & accompanying Forest of Fear as the minivan of Haunts. While its initial appearance as you drive past will likely not give you reason to look back over your shoulder for a second look…when you get behind the wheel of this Haunt it performs as admirably as the Tesla in the quest to scare you senseless.

The Dwelling of Despair Haunted House & accompanying Forest of Fear is a self-guided, interactive ghoulish attraction known for its awesome animatronic special effects, elaborate decor, skilled actors, unique monsters, unusual themes and chilling detail! Now in its 34th season the Dwelling of Despair has prided itself in providing a creative and ghoulishly good time to all haunt goers along with a few (ahem, more like several!) frightful moments. 2018 marked my 26th visit to this haunted venue and similar to prior years I was once again amazed at how many of the sets/themes have changed. While you may notice quite a few similarities along your terrifying tour outside of this haunt, what awaits inside will torment and twist your mind in new ways. Following the lead of last year’s version, the chills, thrills and scares are delivered more upfront and in your face than with the skits that traditionally tormented you in the Dwelling of Despair. Rest assured though, this haunt still offers opportunities to interact with the demon’s inhabiting the Dwelling of Despair and retains the same Halloween charm that has brought guests back for the past 34 years!

The 2018 edition of this haunt presents two horrifying sections to test your wits and your desire to survive. The Forrest of Fear kicks off your terrifying tour on a dark and twisted path patrolled by evil spirits and several fiendish ghouls. If you're lucky enough to slip past these gorish guardians the entrance of the 3 story Dwelling of Despair awaits from the 3rd floor balcony. To escape the nightmares found within the unfriendly confines of the Dwelling of Despair you must successfully navigate a maze of uniquely themed rooms and hidden passages through the bowls of the entire house. Along the way you are sure to encounter each and every inhabitant of the house...some fun, some helpful but most of all they are all quite frightful!

My tour group this year consisted of 2 teenagers attending this haunt for the first time and 3 adults who have visited in the past. All thoroughly enjoyed their experience this year noting how much they enjoyed meeting Wild Eyed Kid Rock, the giggling Gaggle of Clowns and the mind boggling maze.

TOUR GROUP RATINGS: Here’s how my tour group rated Dwelling of Despair for both the Scare and Fun scale (1 to 5)

Haunt Teenager (first timer) #1: SCARE-3 / FUN-4
Haunt Teenager (first timer) #2: SCARE-3 / FUN-4
Haunt Adult #1: SCARE-2 / FUN-3
Haunt Adult #2: SCARE-3 / FUN-4
Haunt Veteran: SCARE-3 / FUN-4

Signage / Visibility / Location


This may not be the easiest haunt to find. If you’re on HWY 60 in Slinger look for the lighted portable sign with a flashing arrow on the north side of the road. Fireman’s park is an immediate right turn after you make turn north off of HWY 60. The Haunted House is actually tucked away after a short winding drive into the park.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


This haunt offers a heated wood shack with a concessions stand to comfort you while you anticipate the horror that awaits you. A tented staging area provides shelter from the elements as you undergo last minute preparations before your terrifying tour through the woods.

Actors' Performance


A great mix of adult and young actors delivered entertaining performances. Less veteran haunt goers looking to get freaked out will not be disappointed. All haunt goers will be certainly be entertained.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Some really unique sets and a several outstanding special effects.

Length


Approximately 25 minutes.

Crowd Control


Numbered tickets allow you to purchase your tickets and assemble wherever you’d like while you wait. No long lines to stand in at this haunt. VIP tickets allow you to avoid the wait and skip to the front of the pack.

Most Memorable Moment


Several to choose from…. I don’t want to trick anyone out of experiencing the sensational surprises that await but interacting with Wild Eyed Kid Rock was a real treat.

Summary

The Dwelling of Despair provides an exceptional balance of scares, ghoulishly gratifying visual treats and interactive entertainment making this haunt a fun Halloween destination for both kids and adults alike. The indoor waiting area complete with concession stand make this a howling good time regardless of the weather.

View all Dwelling Of Despair reviews

Comments: (0)

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by lsuda360 after attending on Monday, October 8, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

By far one of the greatest haunted houses I’ve been to. You can tell the amount of effort that goes into the making of these houses and the actors are outstanding. I’m definitely going more than once this year.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Finder’s Creepers Haunted House

by jesalyn33 after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We absolutely had a blast! It was very intense, scary, and possibly not appropriate for children under 12. The trail walk after was the most fun I’ve had in a decade. Tons of laughs!

Summary

My son 10 and my niece 9 cried all the way through. I had to pull them. They were traumatized. But got over it within a few minutes. The costumes and acting were awesome!

View all Finder’s Creepers Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by hex_on_you (Junior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 5, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

From arrival to end--this haunt was very well organized. We were able to find the location easily, even with it in the middle of the countryside! It was a cold and rainy night--but all of the attractions were still open. If its rainy--come prepared! You will be outside and walking a majority of the haunt. The rain didn't detract from us enjoying the live actors, the amazing props, and the different fx and interactive scenes.

This haunt included seven different attractions and a "zombie haunt" (which we didn't try out this time--maybe next time!). It was reasonably priced and there was different options for packages. There's even a special online only "terror treatment" option--make sure you look into this if you want to give your friends an "extra special" experience!

The Dark Side includes The Decent, Twilight Nightmare, Backwoods Revenge, Mephistopheles Lair, Schizophrenia, Foxglove Nursery & a haunted train ride! Each attractions gives you a new level of scares and keeps your senses on edge. We loved the change in scenery, from a mineshaft, to a tractor ride, a walk through the woods and cornfields, and even a haunted train ride at the end. We also enjoyed the change in elevation--you will find yourself deep underground in a mineshaft, and high up in the trees in the forest.

This is a haunt that you will want to add to your list this season!

Signage / Visibility / Location


To add to the scare factor, The Dark Side is located in the countryside, in the middle of farmland and cornfields. It was easy to find, and they had a light up sign at the end of the road and a sign at the entrance.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The Dark Side has a covered waiting area and line with concessions, which were reasonably priced. It was a rainy and cold night, so having the covered and indoor areas was appreciated. There was a creepy jester on a tricycle in the parking lot--watch out!

Actors' Performance


The actors that were spaced across the haunt were great. The grandmother figure by the fire at the entrance of the woods was excellent--she stayed in character, had a great story line, and her makeup and costume were on point. We were hoping for some more jump scares--especially in the woods and in Mephistopheles Lair. We would have loved to see more live actors spread throughout the seven attractions.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The Decent: This haunt was 'mineshaft' themed--and it was very well done. We loved the 'decent' downward into the mineshaft--and the entire haunt was well set up by the actor that took us to the top of the hill. We loved the fx done with the stairwell and the walls throughout this haunt.
Twilight Nightmare: It was rainy and cold--but that added to the eerie factor of this tractor ride through the woods. This ride will literally make you jump out of your seats--the actors in this portion of the haunt were excellent and we enjoyed the different scenes and fx!
Backwoods Revenge: We loved the grandmother figure that set up this portion of the haunt. She stayed in character but was also very interactive. The scenes throughout this haunt--especially the graveyard--were very well done. We would have LOVED some more jump scares and a few more actors throughout the dark wooded portions. The climb upward to the 'skywalk' was excellent--throughout all seven haunts we enjoyed the change in elevation and interactive fx.
Mephistopheles Lair: You had better choose the right door! We were lost in this haunt for a bit--and when we exited we were still lost. There wasn't and live actors in this portion, and once we got out we had to use our phone flashlight to see where to go next. In other portions of the haunt, they used rope lighting to light the path and the exit of this haunt would have been a great place to use these. The maze effect of this haunt was fun--but again we would have loved some jump scares!
Schizophrenia: The actors in this portion were lively and we definitely had some scares that we were looking for! Watch out around every corner of this corn maze--you may be led astray!
Foxglove Nursery: The scenery and props in this haunt were excellent. We loved looking at all the detail as we made our way through the greenhouses--it even SMELLED like a greenhouse! We loved the make up and costumes on the live actors--we would have loved if they interacted a bit more!
Train Ride: The seven haunts ended with a train ride--it was dark and covered, so we couldn't see where we were going or see any scenes or actors. The only scare came from the sound of a chainsaw. We loved the idea of a dark train ride--but a few scares or scenes would have made it more memorable!

Length


From the ticket line to the end of the seven haunts, we were there for about an hour and a half.

Crowd Control


There was a decent amount of guests while we were there, and they definitely had measures in place to deal with long lines and lots of guests. They were also well staffed in the waiting and concession areas.

Most Memorable Moment


I don't want to give it away--but look out when you're on the amazing 'skywalk' in the forest!

Summary

Kudos to the staff and actors of The Dark Side haunted attraction. You took the location of a farmfield and forest and made it into a true nightmare experience. This haunt would be elevated by having a few more live actors--but overall from start to finish we were on edge wondering where the next scare would be coming from! Add The Dark Side to your list this season!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

The Haunted Mansion

by vagabonddiesel after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

One of the best houses I've ever been to! The corn maze was a little lackluster in the beginning (very innocent mom and pop backwater haunted house feeling) but once you get to the mansion at the end you will not be happier with your decision! There were so many special effects, actors were helpful if you ever find yourself turned around, and overall I jumped at least 3 times - which is a personal record on my end. Super creative and wonderfully put together. I'd love to come back another time!

Summary

Haunted corn path, trail through a grave yard leading to a grand finale house at the end complete with zombus to take you back and forth between the two sections.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by jocowillems after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2018 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is the best haunted house in southeast Wisco sin hands down! Scares are everywhere!! Was not dissapointed!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by Danielleoctober after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2018 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Disappointed to say the least. Especially with some of the rave reviews that are posted. Not that scary at all, just a lot of sensory overload. Loud noise through out, lots of smoke, darkness, then light and the screaming from the characters made it not scary at all. All of these can definitely add to a haunt but it was too much. Characters "popped out" throughout both houses. The spacing between groups was disappointing as well as especially given how the wait we to. The groups behind us caught up to us and we caught up to the groups in front of us.

Summary

I wouldn't recommend nor return.

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Finder’s Creepers Haunted House

by masonweichelt after attending on Friday, October 5, 2018 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is the only haunted house I've ever been to and It was amazing if anyone has never been to one I strongly suggest this one everything was well put together the props were awesome overall was great. Probably my favorite part was the woods where you never knew what was beyond the trees

View all Finder’s Creepers Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016



December 12th, 2018 3:28 p.m. CST 1.5.1