ad-header-a
ad-header-b

2018 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

110 total reviews. Showing 13 of 15 on this page (2 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Camp Oh Da Ko Ta Haunted Hayride

by NicoleL after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This is a great haunt for families, or those who are doing their first haunt. The night we went I took my 7th grade daughter and her 6 friends. This was a “first haunt” for a couple of the girls and one had a fear of clowns.

There is humor, distraction scares, popular pop culture references and the attraction is substantial for the price of admission - frankly one of the best deals I’ve seen for the length of haunt.

Get there early. We arrived just after 7 and had to wait about 40 minutes. The first half of the ride is 20-30 minutes, the you are dropped off at a nice cozy lodge for concessions, and the night we visited there were uniformed Boy Scouts who were passing out free marshmallows on sticks to roast.

I’m not sure if this is a free thing they do for everyone or if our girls got them because we were one of the last riders of the night and they were trying to get rid of the leftovers but it was nice. They had music outside in back, decorations and a fire pit.

After snacks and spending some time there we got in the last wagon for the second half - it was a very short ride but had a finale and some actors rode back with us on our last wagon and stayed in character.

The haunted house at the end was closed when we came which was the only disappointment but a couple of actors came out and scared the girls as we were leaving.

My daughter and her friends are already talking about coming back next year - I think we have a new tradition.

Summary

Excellent value - family haunted hayride with some extra surprises/features.

View all Camp Oh Da Ko Ta Haunted Hayride reviews

Comments: (0)

The Haunted Mansion

by NathanielWessel after attending on Friday, October 12, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

One of my favorite haunted attraction by far & I enjoy volunteering for it, it's such a great experience & opportunity. I hope that we have a great, scary, safe, & successful season!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

The Haunted Mansion

by lukeolson after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

i got scared and the people that put on the mansion were good actors

Summary

It was gr8

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

The Haunted Mansion

by drewrass after attending on Friday, October 19, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

it was fun and scary

Summary

good

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

The Haunted Mansion

by RyanClaflin after attending on Friday, October 19, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

It was really fun, and nate wessel was really scary. I would definitely go again.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

The Haunted Mansion

by AlexDaoust after attending on Friday, October 19, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Nate wessel is a goat

Summary

I like ppl

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

The Haunted Mansion

by GarrettGeyer after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was the scariest/most fun haunted mansion I have ever been to.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

The Haunted Mansion

by nicholaspierre after attending on Friday, October 19, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It was the scariest thing ive ever witnessed

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Phantom Carnival Haunted House

by Snuffy after attending on Thursday, October 18, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I thought this was an amazing haunted house! It was cheap, and there was virtually no line. The actors did a great job, and the rooms were well decorated. Came from Madison and thought it was definitely worth the trip!

View all Phantom Carnival Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Soul Reapers Haunted House

by dubstyle_2k (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2018 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Soul Reapers, located at the Kenosha County Fairgrounds in Wilmot is back for their third season. I reviewed Soul Reapers two years ago, and really enjoyed it, though it was small and lacked a few things that I thought would improve as the years went on. I decided I would check out Soul Reapers again this season and see what has changed, if anything, since their first season in operation.

Soul Reapers has a vibe that I can only describe as home grown. Walking through this haunt, I was able to take in what was put into making this haunt, and I could tell that they didn't have the budget of a mega haunt like Abandoned. That being said, Soul Reapers has added on since my visit a couple years ago, which was one of my few criticisms of this haunt. The unfortunate thing is, Soul Reapers is still a home grown haunt with a small budget. My major gripe with Soul Reapers is that it was too lit that whole time. As someone who goes to haunts pretty regularly, rule number one for me is, make it dark! I've mentioned in reviews in the past that I rarely get "spooked" and I have a high tolerance for scary stuff, but when I can't see anything, then I'm on guard and thus more likely to get rattled. For a haunt on a budget, darkness seems to be the obvious choice, but Soul Reapers didn't go that route. What Soul Reapers lacked in size and sets, they did make up for in actors. A lot of the actors seemed young, but they certainly committed themselves to their roles. I give the actors an A+! Soul Reapers is reasonably priced, with tickets ranging from $15 for general admission or $20 for the fast pass, which I highly recommend since the general admission line was moving at a snails pace; this is something that certainly hasn't changed since my last visit. We opted for the fast pass and were into the haunt relatively fast. There were some actors that roamed the lines, but nothing like the last time I was there. We were in and out of Soul Reapers in less than a half hour, which makes it still too short for my money.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Thankfully most of us have cell phones with GPS, I've lived in Kenosha most of my life, I couldn't tell you how to get to the Kenosha County Fairgrounds if you offered me a million dollars! It's out of the way, but once you approach it, there are obvious lighting that help you find the grounds.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Slow and not as interactive as my previous visit.

Actors' Performance


This was the highlight of Soul Reapers. The actors were great, and they seemed to enjoy the gig!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I keep bringing it back to this, this isn't Abandoned or whatever huge haunt you've been to, this is small. You'll see things that will take you out of it due to the brightness of it all, so this isn't my favorite by any means.

Length


This is among the shortest haunts. Things move a little too fast, and the line moves a little too slow.

Crowd Control


There really wasn't any. There was a police officer on the grounds, but other than that it was kind of lawless. As I stated in my review, we purchased the fast pass, yet not a single person asked to even see our tickets, let alone checked to make sure that we actually purchased the upgrade. It was just assumed that we were in the right line because we were standing in it. I contacted them on Facebook later that night and explained what had happened, hopefully they have better control over who enters the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


They do some pretty cool stuff with some lasers. In particular there is one room with smoke and lasers that blinds you from the ground, you can't tell what's below your mid section. I enjoyed this effect!

Summary

In all I'm not that impressed with what Soul Reapers. I gave it two seasons to work out the kinks, and it doesn't seem like they really have. It's still a short haunt that isn't very scary. If you're looking for a haunt to take your kids to, this might be a great one, as it is brighter and tamer that others. I'll give this one another two years to work it out, hopefully it gets better, I really want this haunt to succeed.

View all Soul Reapers Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Screamin Acres Haunted Houses

by graciousrebel after attending on Friday, October 5, 2018 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Screamin’ Acres greatly impressed me with their obviously professional haunt with energetic actors, professional make-ups (I can tell because I’m a make-up artist assistant outside of the haunt scene), awesome props, great special effects, and a variety of "sets" all bundled into the package.

It’s satisfyingly SCARY and goes beyond just jump-scares, taking you into the truly disturbing and mind-twisting elements of horror. If you like getting scared, this is definitely a must-see haunt experience.

Summary

Professional scares! Don't take little kids!

View all Screamin Acres Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Dominion of Terror

by wm (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This haunt has been around forever, and every year it is put on the Sheboygan Jaycees. Eight years ago when I first started writing reviews for Haunted Wisconsin, I reviewed the Dominion of Terror and loved every minute of it. This year felt like a perfect time to check it out again!

I’m an old school kind of guy. So much so, that when someone at this haunt said ‘Welcome to the DOT’, I had a flashback to the terrifying Department Of Transportation to get my license decades ago. Now that would be a scary haunted house theme! But this DOT is the Dominion of Terror, and it is just as terrifying!

Haunted House:

The haunt starts out with some school teachers going over the rules of the house. This was one of my favorite parts of the haunt. They were hilarious! Then we were set free to roam around their huge multi-storied building.

There are many dark mazes in this haunt. How dark? How about pitch black! There’s also many tight corners and dead ends. Other areas are extremely bright and some strobes are used. There was one prop at the Dominion of Terror that I have not seen in many years, and that is the bridge through the spinning tunnel. A decade ago it seemed every haunted house had one. Now, not so much. It was nice to see it again!

There were many times we bumped into the group in front of us and behind us. This haunt is extremely popular so I realize that they need to keep putting groups in every few minutes in order for everyone to go through it. One room had a few girls that were crawling around on the ground. I swear one of them was double-jointed, it was creepy! It seemed as though we were in the DOT for a few hours. It's a nice long haunt with lots of detail and packed with great actors! - 30 minutes

Escape Room:

This room runs at 7pm, 8pm, and 9pm. That only leaves them 15 minutes to reset the room for the next group, and our time was delayed a little bit. You have 45 minutes to bust out of this escape room. Easy you say? How about adding a little twist to it, like putting a zombie there in the room with you? That takes an already tense escape room and doses it with gasoline! Every 5 minutes, the chain holding the walking dead gets a little longer. There is a mad scientist in the room to oversee everything but overall you are on your own!

There are only 3 times per night the DOT Escape Room is run. For this attraction I recommend signing up online and paying through their website. That way you are guaranteed to get in.

I can’t really say too much as I don’t want to give anything away, but let me say this: If you like Escape rooms, and you like haunted houses, you will LOVE this.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find. In a good location right in the city, and all the people waiting in line is a good indicator that you're at the right place!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There was a wait to get tickets, and then once you're inside there's also a nice wait area. This is an extremely popular haunted house, so I recommend the Fast Pass! Otherwise you will be waiting for hours. There were several creatures lurking about as you wait, but the most memorable was the 'little girl' wandering around outside. I tried to get a picture with her, but she was not having any of that. She was always on the move, except for one time when she crawled around on the ground. I was able to snap a picture of her quickly and then she was off again running and spinning around like a demon possessed. Later as I looked at my pictures, I was terrified at the image I captured of her!

Actors' Performance


The actors did a great job, especially considering this is an all volunteer haunt. Some stood out more than others, like the clowns and that darn dentist!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and props at the Dominion of Terror are built every year by volunteers. This is a home grown haunt with lots of attention and time put into it! Every room is different from the next!

Length


Haunted House - 30 minutes
Escape Room - 45 minutes

Crowd Control


There were numerous times that we caught up with the group in front of us, or the group behind us caught up with us. Part of that was probably by design, as the maze has you so turned around you don’t know where you’re going!

Most Memorable Moment


At one point the maze had us feeling like we were going in circles. In fact, we bumped into the group in front of us! They were convinced that they were going the wrong way, so they started going backwards!

Summary

Between the haunted house and the escape room, you can easily spend a night at the Dominion of Terror. It's a great time and a great fundraiser! I promise I won't let 8 years go between my next visit!

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Revenge

by majorXpsycho (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Very High

Review

There is something new in Brown County and it has me just as excited as a Green Bay Packers win! Revenge, a haunted attraction located not far from Green Bay, took the haunt experience all the way to the end zone. If you are not familiar with the area, you are going to need a GPS to locate this attraction. This is a more rural part of Brown County filled with deer, so be careful when driving. Revenge is not as highly “advertised” as some of the other Brown County haunts so it makes it one of the “better kept secrets”.

The setting is an amazing 1903 barn that is used for events (weddings, corporate parties) when the ghouls are away. When you arrive there are some treats for purchase, a great photo opportunity (see photos) and the wait is inside so you do not have to worry about bad weather. No ghouls roaming the lines, but there are four large screen TV’s playing some great horror flick videos while you wait. Our wait was a bit longer than expected, but we quickly realized that it was because they only send your group (large or small) in at a time and make sure to time it so that all actors are ready to draw the next victim’s blood.

We walked in, I was relaxed … not my first time at the haunted rodeo. It took about 30 seconds in and I could feel my heart starting to race. When they say their haunt is “like being in a horror movie”, they do not mean poorly dressed actors with some little red balloons. If you have not seen some of the newer horror movies (The Domestics), you may not know what the scenes are mimicking, but I promise you will leave feeling as if you escaped a real life horror movie. I was scared … as hard as that is to admit, Revenge truly “scared” me and those in my group. If you are like me and say you do not “scare” easily, this haunt is for you. This haunt is not recommended for those looking for just “fun”, it is intense! After I attended, I spoke with a few others who have been to Revenge and they agreed. Actors inside were plenty, brilliant and we had no down time to catch our breath. Every inch of this space was used and it took a surprising 20 minutes at a very fast paced to escape. Revenge has definitely earned its spot as a favorite in my book!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Not easily located, you can punch in the address and Google Maps will help. In a very remote location.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There are treats for purchase and tickets are only $15. No online purchase option, did not check on the option to pay with card. Wait is inside, so no worries about rain. However, I can see the line potentially leading outside as this attraction becomes more popular. There are treats available for purchase and 4 large screens playing horror flick scenes while you wait. No ghouls wandering the lines while we were waiting, but not really a good area for ghouls to wander.

Actors' Performance


By far the best part of this attraction is the stellar performance of the actors. They were numerous and stayed in character the entire time, performance was far above and beyond my expectations.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Scenes felt genuine and props and effects were appropriately placed. We were lost and stuck a few times with no "obvious" escapes, I would love to go back and see if I can remember how to escape. The attraction intentionally makes you feel trapped. Props were unique and very unexpected, there were a few "shocking" moments with a possible visit from Annabelle herself? I would compare it to a magic trick, the goal is to keep you guessing and if you can not figure it out (which we could not) they have done it right.

Length


I expected this to be brief, the barn is 1600 sq ft, but it was much longer than expected. It took us just over 20 minutes to escape.

Crowd Control


The wait time is longer, but I would rather wait longer than be crowded with other groups. They send you in with just your group and clearly wait until all other groups have advanced so there is no running into others and no spoilers.

Most Memorable Moment


There were several in this haunted attraction, but the most memorable personally is walking carefully only to have the lights flash back on and someone is literally right in your face!! Where did they come from?

Summary

There is something new in Brown County and it has me just as excited as a Green Bay Packers win! Revenge, a haunted attraction located not far from Green Bay, took the haunt experience all the way to the end zone. The setting is an amazing 1903 barn that is used for events (weddings, corporate parties) when the ghouls are away. It took about 30 seconds in and I could feel my heart starting to race. I was scared … as hard as that is to admit, Revenge truly “scared” me and those in my group. If you are like me and say you do not “scare” easily, this haunt is for you. This haunt is not recommended for those looking for just “fun”, it is intense! Actors inside were plenty, brilliant and we had no down time to catch our breath. Every inch of this space was used and it took a surprising 20 minutes at a very fast paced to escape. Revenge has definitely earned its spot as a favorite in my book!

View all Revenge reviews

Comments: (0)

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD

by wm (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2018 at about 10:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My all-time favorite haunted house was always the Splatter Haus when it was located in Two Rivers. No other haunts could touch it! They had their scares down to a science and you definitely got your money’s worth. Since then, they lost their lease at that location and moved to Sheboygan. In the years following I heard stories about how the haunt was now located inside semi-trailers, how it was much shorter, and how everyone wished for the Splatter Haus glory years. I never did attend the new location for several reasons: The biggest being that it was hard to justify an hour drive for a haunt that lasted under 10 minutes. But another was that a part of me wanted to remember the Splatter Haus as it was: A top-notch haunted house that will literally scare the sh*t out of you. But then I read that this year was their last year. After seeing that, I had to attend one more time.

It was a clear but chilly night. Standing in line was nice, like the calm before the storm. It’s amazing how you can go from being underwhelmed while waiting in line to a sensory overload as soon as you walk through the door. You are instantly transported from a Sheboygan parking lot into your worst nightmare. Music is blaring and it’s pitch black at first. From the first scare on, your adrenaline kicks in and your body launches into a ‘fight or flight’ type of mentality.

There is no wasted space in the Splatter Haus Hell World. You go from one room to another, and each room packs a good scare. They are still spot on with their scares, and they have always been the master of the ‘distraction scare’. These are some major scares that still get my heart pumping as I type this!

It was thrilling and intense. But then, just like that, it was over. You walk out of the trailers and you’re back in the run-of-the-mill parking lot. I wanted to go through one more time! It was too short for me to properly say goodbye. But luckily there was there was one more attraction we could go through...

Zombie Assault

You walk into a small 8 seat bus and take a seat. With monitors all around you, you are again suddenly transported. This time you’re in the middle of a zombie attack! They come from everywhere, hell bent on getting you. You can hear them, see them, and even the bus gets in on the action as it feels you’re moving. I won’t give anything away, but it was a very cool and unique experience!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It was hard to find the Splatter Haus Hell World, and that was with help from my GPS. Once there, I still wasn’t quite sure I was at the correct location. There were no signs leading up to it, and it’s in a very unassuming in a huge parking lot for a local hockey center.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There was a small line, maybe 15 people. A chain-link fence surrounds both the wait line and the haunt with metal music blaring. There were no characters walking around outside the haunt, so the only entertainment was watching the trailer that had different metal bands and the Hell World logo projected on it. The groups that went inside were small, but the line moved fairly quick.

Actors' Performance


Splatter Haus Hell World combines live actors with triggered scares. It's a perfect blend, and they are experts in this field. No actor missed his mark.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Many scenes were recycled from previous years, which was bittersweet. I would rather see new sets/scares. But knowing this was the last year, it was almost like saying goodbye to some old friends. Hello, Mr Pig Butcher… we meet again!

Length


It took about 6 minutes to get through the entire haunt.

Crowd Control


They only let small groups of 2 to 4 people in at a time, and they wait until a group is through before sending in the next group. No issues of bumping into other groups.

Most Memorable Moment


As soon as I saw the butcher shop, I knew the pig was waiting until the perfect moment to make an appearance!

Summary

All in all, I’m glad I went to say goodbye to the Splatter Haus Hell World. Yes, it’s an extremely short haunt. But if I compare the number of scares to a haunt that would last 20 minutes, there are probably MORE scares here. I hope that someday, the Splatter Haus will make a glorious comeback in a big warehouse. Until then, I have my nightmares to remind me of what once was.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD reviews

Comments: (0)

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by clevertrevor after attending on Tuesday, October 16, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It was pretty good, pretty dece. I got scared but it just wasn’t that original. I liked it tho, just maybe add more things and also make the wait less boring before u go in.

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016



December 12th, 2018 3:49 p.m. CST 1.5.1