ad-header-top

2019 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

17 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2

Spooks on Spurr's Mansion of Misery & Forest of Freaks

by HeatherTiseling after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2019 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is our second year attending Spooks on Spurr and just like last year, we had an awesome time! The whole attraction is very well done and the actors all do an amazing job. Forest of Freaks was new this year so we were super excited about going through. Best haunted house and haunted forest that we've been to, by far! Keep up the awesome spooks and cant wait to see you all next year!

View all Spooks on Spurr's Mansion of Misery & Forest of Freaks reviews

Comments: (0)

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by PaigeBerrier (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 11, 2019 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

When people in Milwaukee ask me what haunted house they should go to, Abandoned is always my number one suggestion. Year after year, I am blown away by this haunt’s professionalism, fear factor, and constantly expanding space and ideas. This year was no exception. We had an amazing time during our visit to Abandoned!

The haunt has grown over the years to include 3 individual houses, one of which is a combination of indoor and outdoor. The space also includes a (new) axe throwing game, a souvenir shop, food, drinks, and a photo site. It is a very well maintained and managed site, with tons of parking, guides, bathrooms, and entertainment while in line. Our group all had quickpasses as well, and while it wasn’t super crowded, we experienced literally no wait at all for our haunts!

STALKER
Stalker is Abandoned’s outdoor(ish) haunt, and we chose to go through it first. We couldn’t have asked for a better night - the cool breeze rustled through the corn and the moon guided our way through. Within the corn, there was the perfect mix of spot lighting, misdirection from props, and just enough areas of “nothing” happening to build that creepy anticipation. The indoor sections were all really amazing and creative as well - we loved a trailer, a chicken coop, and the creepy coffin room. All of the scenes were incredible, and had the perfect amount of actors, who both knew when to scare and when to hold back. I especially LOVED the final scene!

HYSTERIA
This is such a long, detailed haunt - we loved the different levels you could see down into as well as the different floor types. I love how it begins, with an amazing, dramatic, foggy scene, and then uses a ton of different light types to distract and confuse you as you make your way through. There were a lot of rooms with a ton of attention to detail, and we experienced truly move-like qualities with fake snow, humidity, sounds, and smells. The actors were, again, incredible in this haunt - whispering to us through screens, remembering our names, and clicking in our ears. We also loved seeing a real mouse in this haunt (he was really cute and was obviously a beloved pet being held, not being poorly treated in any way)!

AMBUSH
This haunt had a super fun start to it with some sassy nuns! There were also a ton of startling and creepy people within it, including a girl curled up on a table and an actor who reached out to us from a really unusual place. This haunt featured a chainsaw actor as well, and my favorite scene, the subway car, which is always super unnerving. We also thought some of the actors were funny/scary in this haunt too, which I think makes for a really fun night overall. The only “downside” to this haunt was that we did experience issues with spacing, but it was toward the end!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Abandoned is very easy to find and very visible from the highway. There is plenty of parking that is well monitored, visible lines, and security on site.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Excellent - the lines are so clearly labeled, and there are tons of actors walking around through them. I also noticed they had a bar this year, and while we didn’t partake, I believe you could drink in the line for the haunt, which is an awesome addition.

Actors' Performance


Truly incredible. A perfect blend of holding back and giving it their all, creepy, funny, lingering, all of the above. Abandoned has an amazing group of performers that are clearly passionate and talented.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Also absolutely incredible - so detailed, so varied, different every year, and has something for everyone - you name it, there’s a room for it. For example, I have a fear of birds - and there we went into a chicken coop! I can’t say enough good things about their sets, it’s like walking into a horror movie.

Length


Abandoned is very lengthy! There’s the three haunts, and each take at least 30 minutes. We had quickpasses and waited for NO time for each, and we were there for about 2 hours!

Crowd Control


Very good, with the exception of a little backup in the haunt, which is completely understandable. Abandoned is very professional with their setup and security.

Most Memorable Moment


So many, but I would have to say the final scene of Phobia was my absolute favorite moment.

Summary

This is my fifth year attending Abandoned, and once again, they’ve outdone themselves. This is a professional, scary, fantastically fun haunt that has 3 full haunted houses with seemingly endless themes and actors. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a Halloween event - you WILL be scared!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by PaigeBerrier (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, September 27, 2019 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Burial Chamber has long been one of my absolute must-see haunts for the season! Year after year, I’m impressed with the length, creativity, and scare factor of each of the three haunted houses they offer at their location - Adrenaline, Insanity, and Phobia. For those who don’t know, Burial Chamber is also the sibling to Abandoned, another amazing haunt, so patrons of both can utilize ticket combined ticket options. Our group attended their opening night, and purchased the combo Abandoned/Burial Chamber ticket, which is for all 3 haunts at each + quickpass entry for both locations, and we did have a bit of an issue with this particular ticket and Phobia (see more below).

ADRENALINE
We went through this haunt first, as it’s almost always my favorite of the night (and this night was no exception!). This haunt is the most “traditional” in terms of content - scary hospitals, military scenes, and creepy nuns make up just some of the scenes you will encounter upon. We loved so many of the actors in this haunt, experiencing specialized moments like breathing in your ear, singling out specific people in our group (pro-tip: if you’re in the front, whisper your friend’s name in the back to an actor to really creepy them out!), and some really great jump scares. We especially liked a confusing hospital scene that messed with our perception of reality!

INSANITY
This haunt is more focused on clowns, neon lights, and distorted reality. We loved the glowing elements, the strobe light maze, and some of the specifically scary costumes, including a demogorgan-like mask and a Samara-like figure (that I quickly rushed past in fear). This section also includes a spinning vortex, which I personally have an intense love/hate relationship with, and was sprinkled with actors along it, making it even more terrifying. Lastly, this section of the haunt includes the famous “Big Tina”, which is startling even when you’re expecting her!

PHOBIA
We were not able to go through Phobia on the night we visited. This was really unfortunate, because the haunt was closed early due to lack of a line, something we weren’t informed was a possibility when we got our tickets for all 3 haunts. There seemed to be some confusion from the staff as to what was open and what wasn’t, and we were disappointed we didn’t get the chance to go through, as I have always found Phobia to be one of the best outdoor haunts I’ve seen. Had we known there was a chance of it shutting down, we would have done that one first, however we were completely surprised by the info, and not able to come back at another time (we live about 2 hours away). They shut it down about 45 minutes before the ticket booth closed for the night. This was also all on their opening night.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Burial Chamber is easy to find via Google Maps, and typically has workers with lights showing where to park, however, they didn’t on this night. It’s very easy to find though, and has a huge warehouse with their logo on the side that’s very well lit.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We very briefly had to wait in line with our quickpasses, but the actors we did encounter there had on amazing costumes, and were both scary and very funny and entertaining. We enjoyed talking to them and taking pictures!

Actors' Performance


Burial Chamber is chock-full of amazing actors who know just when to go for it and when to hold back. I always appreciate the way they stagger who they scare within the group, and those that linger toward the back to growl or whisper into an ear. We had a ton of jump scares in these haunts, and a lot of creative costumes and masks - absolutely excellent group of actors.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes at Burial Chamber are superb - highly detailed, changing every year, and always super scary. I feel that they have a good balance of more realistic looking settings and traditional Halloween props that move and make noise.

Length


This is a full night of haunts - each one takes about 30 minutes to go through, if not longer depending on the night.

Crowd Control


Very good - there are lots of actors working in the lines to direct traffic, and I felt like they did a pretty good job of keeping groups apart within the haunt itself. On a busy night though, having a quickpass is key!

Most Memorable Moment


The Samara-like character, with the hair down over her face, really does it for me. Such a creepy image that I always scoot right on past!

Summary

Burial Chamber is an amazing, scary, lengthy group of haunted houses that is always full of fantastic actors and creative scenes. It’s been a must-see of mine for years, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a true night out at haunted houses. We were, however, disappointed in the fact that 1 out of 3 of the haunts closed early with no warning or communication from the staff. However, I truly feel like our situation was unusual, and the 2 we were able to go through were fantastic, scary, and a really fun time!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

The Dark Side at The House on the Rock

by PaigeBerrier (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2019 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Tucked away between the fields and farmlands of Wisconsin is the infamous House on the Rock, a one-of-a-kind experience that combines one architect’s creativity for unusual spaces and a passion for collecting strange and unusual objects. It is a must see for Wisconsinites; half-museum, half a weird old antique store, and is one of the rare things that is even more unbelievable in real life than described. On a regular day, the House on the Rock is full of tons of strange and sometimes creepy objects, but every fall the weekends are dedicated to the Dark Side, a special route that focuses especially on the more haunted side of the attraction.

I am a huge fan of the House on the Rock for their normal season (my spouse and I even took our engagement photos there!), and for years now I have been curious about the Dark Side. I came with two others, and we were all very impressed with their dedication to decor and the overall length and size of the haunt. Red lights led you down into the starting area, inside the short museum portion, and then your path continues through portions of the second and third areas of the normal attractions, which is a very different route than one takes on the normal tour. Through these areas, several of the normal (creepy) elements are more heavily featured (namely scary dolls and dollhouses), and additional, more Halloween elements are added (like animatronics and props). All of this is accompanied by some amazing scary sounds that featured classical music and organs.

This haunted house is definitely untraditional, namely in the sense that it doesn’t feature very many actors, and some of the items are real antiques and collectibles. It’s very long, taking about an hour to go through, and certainly has a lot of attention to detail with a ton of decor, lights, and sound. However, I wouldn’t say it’s scary in the jump scare sense - it’s more psychological, and interesting from a historical standpoint. Our group felt they could have benefited from more actors and less props within the haunt, as well as a bit better crowd control, but overall it is a super interesting, fun place to go for the Halloween season. I would especially recommend it as an add-on to your normal day at House on the Rock - I’d love to see it during the daytime normal and then this version at night!

Signage / Visibility / Location


The House on the Rock is very clearly marked from the road and is easy to find via services like Google Maps. They also have a year round website and Facebook page that puts out information about the attraction.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


It’s a bit of a winding path down to the start of the haunt, and while we didn’t encounter any actors on our way there, the area was decorated really nicely with red lights, speared skulls, and some nice signage. We had virtually no wait to start our experience, which was also nice.

Actors' Performance


This is the primary section I felt could be added to for this haunt. I would say for the hour-long haunt we saw a maximum of 10 actors. A few of those were amazing though, whispering in our ears or following us along our path. However, a few were there to simply guide traffic and didn’t do much in ways of acting. I would love to see twice or three times as many people within the haunt itself - it’s super creepy and that would have really added to the haunted house experience.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I enjoyed seeing some of the normal collections re-lit or re-arranged, which included the carousel, a lot of dolls and dollhouses, and the organ room. I enjoyed less the more traditional Halloween props - spooky animatronics and things like that.

Length


This is a very long haunt, you could easily stroll through it for an hour or more.

Crowd Control


I also felt this was a little lacking at his haunt. There was no attempt to hold groups back, it’s more like a free-for-all in terms of walking wherever you want at your own pace. That in itself can be very cool, I was just expecting more a traditional haunted house, and we ended up running into a lot of other patrons.

Most Memorable Moment


I am always stunned by the carousel room, and this night was no exception. I can only imagine what it would be like to come upon that room never having been to the attraction before. It’s huge, glittering, and has an eerie glow, even in the daytime.

Summary

The Dark Side at the House on the Rock is a fun, casual, naturally creepy attraction; the perfect supplement for people who are already fans of the normal attraction, or are in town visiting it during the regular hours. We had a great time seeing all of Alex Jordan’s creepy collections and structures with new lighting and a new vibe!

View all The Dark Side at The House on the Rock reviews

Comments: (0)

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by kariniepow (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2019 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Green Bay Fear has been growing and morphing its scare tactics every year. From the murderous history of Shawano Manor emerges equally terrifying haunts like the disorienting Mr. Jingles’ Funhouse, the Twisted Trail of the disturbed and a Museum of Oddities! The haunts are set up to pick at every fear and exploit them. Mr. Jingles’ Funhouse was disorienting and had us left breathless. The Twisted Trail was dedicated to a terrifying walk in the woods. I could not get over how well the make up, prosthetics and masks were blended together. I stood face to face with one actor and couldn’t believe my eyes! Shawano Manor is a favorite! Their lay out allows you to get into a scene, experience the terror and the actors pile on with their unique characters. It is a full immersion experience. Green Bay Fear has outdone themselves!

Signage / Visibility / Location


A flashing sign is on the main road. It is in the Shriner's parking lot. Once you go into the parking lot it is easy to find the ticket booth. Staff members are easy to identify and helpful.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


This haunt set up is one of a kind. You don’t line up and wait, you can choose where you want to go first with all haunts leading you back to a main area. After purchasing tickets, you take a spooky walk into a large opening. There is an information area in the center and you can choose which haunt you would like first. Entertainment is all around! Food/drinks/seating/bon fires and a main stage for music. Beware the clown. I had the pleasure of getting a chainsaw on the side of the bathroom! He even took to the stage to sing!

Actors' Performance


Each attraction had a theme and those actors melted into their characters. Bravo! Even when we got turned around, the actors stayed in character and scared us into the right direction.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Well done! The rooms and areas were filled with gruesome and terrifying props! The usage of mechanical props was wonderful! Beware the watchful eye! The museum of oddities was a unique touch. There were some distributing pieces that tied the haunt together!

Length


We did all the attractions and were there for an hour

Crowd Control


Perfect! Each haunt exited you into a main waiting area. You chose which line you wanted to get in. Perfect for groups to reconnect!

Most Memorable Moment


Satanaclause was hilarious! He had the ability to walk through the areas and freak you out. He made personal connections with us and kept showing up to scare you! Good luck when you meet the cuddly bunny.

Summary

Green Bay Fear has mastered the art of haunted houses! They made the waiting area come alive and catered to those that want to make an event out of their scare. You can go fast or savor each haunt on your time frame.

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Trail Of Terror

by majorXpsycho (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2019 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Trail of Terror is in an isolated forest in Oconto, WI. When night falls, it is very, very dark! If you fear the dark, being chased or what lurks in the woods … you will find it ALL at the Trail of Terror. They are known for having the longest guided haunted trail in Wisconsin. It took us just over 30 minutes to make it out. The dirt path is dark and unpaved with tree roots and washouts, luckily our guide kept us safe. There are some unique props and sets that will have you crawling on your knees! The recent rainfall in WI was preventing them from opening, but we finally had a short break from the rain and was able attend on their delayed opening night. You can sit around a large bonfire while waiting and enjoy hot cocoa and s’mores. Remember to bring cash … no cards accepted! The Trail of Terror plunges you deeper and deeper into the forest with small torches that barely light the path. The darkness hides all the ghouls lurking and waiting to pounce. There are several “buildings, scenes and props” located throughout, each with a unique gruesome theme. If you are located in Northeast Wisconsin, The Trail of Terror is a unique haunted experience not to be missed!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It is a bit of a drive off of Hwy 41 North. We drove right past the first time and had to backtrack. This could be because the massive bonfire was not quite going yet (we were early).

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There is a large bonfire to keep you warm. You do not have to stand in line, which is a bonus. You can enjoy S'mores or hot cocoa while waiting for your name to be called. No ghouls out in the wait area, but from previous years experience ... there typically are.

Actors' Performance


Actor's stayed in character throughout and they get up close and very personal. They enjoy making you feel on edge. It is rare that you can see an actor in advance, so be prepared for lots of unexpected visits on the trail. Creepy clowns, zombies, swamp monsters and other characters are found throughout.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Throughout the woods there are a few area's where you will stop to enter the "creepy haunted scene". Trapped with chainsaws, guns, blasts ... you truly feel like you are in the backwoods here! Expect to be on your knees.

Length


The length of this attraction is one of the best parts! Just a little over 30 minutes!!

Crowd Control


Because of the guides, crowd control is perfect. We were sent in with another group ... 6 of us total. However, there was never any concern of running into any other groups are moving too quickly as the guide carefully keeps you on pace.

Most Memorable Moment


It is frightening enough not being able to see the ground beneath your feet, but when the ground is moving or you are forced on your knees, it brings the experience to a whole new level!!

Summary

Trail of Terror is in an isolated forest in Oconto, WI. When night falls, it is very, very dark! If you fear the dark, being chased or what lurks in the woods … you will find it ALL at the Trail of Terror. They are known for having the longest guided haunted trail in Wisconsin. It took us just over 30 minutes to make it out. The Trail of Terror plunges you deeper and deeper into the forest with small torches that barely light the path. The darkness hides all the ghouls lurking and waiting to pounce. There are several “buildings, scenes and props” located throughout, each with a unique gruesome theme. If you are located in Northeast Wisconsin, The Trail of Terror is a unique haunted experience not to be missed!

View all Trail Of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Vizer Time Travel: A Medieval Castle

by dmantai2205 after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2019 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

It was so so for a starter haunted house (very small) but they advertised 2 tacos per person and hot chocolate included in the ticket price. We were offered neither one. They also advertised having bakery goods for sale and there were none of those either. When we exited the haunted house they said goodbye to us and made no offerings of the items that were suppose to be included. Felt somewhat ripped off. The kids were looking forward to the tacos and hot chocolate.

View all Vizer Time Travel: A Medieval Castle reviews

Comments: (0)

Revenge

by KR385 (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 4, 2019 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Are you looking to get scared this October? If your answer is yes, then Revenge has you covered. Even before you arrive at the haunt, driving on dark country roads up to a 116-year-old barn will have you shaking in your boots. The entire atmosphere of this attraction will give you chills. This year was my second time coming to Revenge, and I have to say going forward, it will always be on my shortlist of haunts. The combination of the intricate scenery inside the house and the well-trained actors will leave you screaming until you get back to your car. I am glad Revenge goes back to the basics of what makes a great scare and brings new tricks that I have never seen before! I am already excited to go back next year to stand in line and get my Revenge!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Revenge is located on the grounds of the Chase Stone Barn north of Green Bay. Finding the haunt is relatively simple as they have a well-lit sign right at the entrance. Off the side of the barn is a lit-up silo with the signature knife logo for the haunt.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


After purchasing your ticket, you are free to enter the haunt, or you can take pictures of your group at the photo-op (pictured above) to remember the experience. The waiting line is completely covered, so the weather will not affect your experience. The music and visuals on the creepy televisions that they have in the queue will get increase your adrenaline.

Actors' Performance


The actors at Revenge make the experience what it is. In the barn, there is a sizable well-trained team of actors ready to make you experience your worst nightmares. The mix of actors is excellent as some engage you in stories as others surprise you and make your heart race. I appreciate the minimal to nonexistent use of animatronics in favor of live actors.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Revenge is in their third year of operating, but the detailed scenes, use of winding mazes, and ways that they engage all of your senses will make you think they have been around for twenty plus years.

Length


The length of the haunt all in was around 20-25 minutes. We did not have to wait in a long line, so your mileage may vary as we come closer to Halloween.

Crowd Control


The line to enter the haunt is comprised of roped off sections to control crowds before they enter the haunt. Controlling the flow into the house is an actor to let you enter the house. Our group did not run into any groups ahead of us or have any groups catch up to us.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable moment from my experience at Revenge was a room in the haunt that had a multi-colored strobe light that disoriented you and made you feel like you were going mad! It is so refreshing to be a veteran haunt-goer and still be able to experience new things.

Summary

Revenge has made a name for themselves and continues to be a terrifying haunted attraction. The haunt focuses on what makes a great scare and will leave you wanting to hop back in the waiting line to go again. This year was my second year attending, and it has quickly made itself one of my favorite haunts!

View all Revenge reviews

Comments: (0)

Terror on the Fox

by KR385 (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 4, 2019 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Terror on the Fox is located on the grounds of the National Railroad Museum. It is effortless to find this haunt as they have many signs, lights, and parking attendants. The haunt has been in the Green Bay area for over twenty years, and their experience shows. This year the two attractions have gone through a refresh with stories to back up their theme. To read the backstory behind the haunts, you can visit the official Terror on the Fox website.

To start your journey, you hop aboard a full-sized, double-decker train that takes you on a haunted ride along the Fox River. The train has monsters scattered about to increase your adrenaline level before reaching the first haunt. After unloading from the train, you will find restrooms, concessions, and a terrifying-looking mausoleum in the background to remind you it's not all fun and games. Entering the first haunt, La Llorona, takes you through a winding trail outside in the woods. While walking through the woods, you come across many small structures and buildings that all have secrets to hide. Are you daring enough to see if you can find the Woman in White?

After exiting the woods, our fast pass tickets helped us gain entry to another private waiting area with food, drinks, restrooms, and a fire! The fire allowed us to warm up after walking through the chilly woods before entering the main house. Walking up to the Rise of the Dead attraction is always jaw-dropping. From the loud adrenaline-inducing music to the monsters singing and dancing, walking up to the main house is exhilarating. The main haunted attraction is a winding house of the dead that has surprises around each corner. Even from last year, the house has different scenes and updated scares that will keep even those who have attended in the past on their toes. Terror on the Fox is a haunt that I try to visit every year, and there's something special about this haunt that makes me want to return.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Signage and visibility were great, and there were even parking attendants at the street, flagging you into the parking lot. The downside was that we had to park in a remote lot for a hotel next to the haunt. It was a bit of a walk, so bring a jacket!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Our group opted for the fast pass tickets (which were an extra 10$ but worth it). In the line, you will find concessions (including food, beverages, and even alcohol), restrooms, and actors scattered around looking for their next victims.

Actors' Performance


The actors in the attractions and the ones lurking in the lines are great at always staying in character. The quality of their costumes and props are very high. In the two haunts, I was a little disappointed because they did not interact with our group very much. The actors did not have any dialogue to add to the story of the attractions.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Every time I visit Terror on the Fox, I am in shock and awe at the quality of their scenes. The realistic sets immerse you in a completely different world.

Length


With our fast passes, the haunted train ride, the La Llorona haunt, and the Rise of the Dead haunt took about 50 minutes, in all, to complete.

Crowd Control


Crowd control at this haunt is always fantastic. Roped off waiting lines and clear signage are present throughout. Haunt workers are happy to point you in the right direction if you need help. We never ran into another group while going through the haunts, which is an impressive feat to achieve.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable moment from my experience at this haunt was the impressive waiting areas they have before each haunt (especially for the fast passes). The amenities they provide are very welcoming, and the campfire in the fast pass section before the main haunt warmed up our group before we headed in to get chilled to the bone with fear.

Summary

The attractions at Terror on the Fox are always cinema-quality. The stories they develop behind the haunts add to the experience. After being open for twenty plus seasons, Terror on the Fox knows how to deliver a top-notch experience.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Terror on the Fox

by hex_on_you (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 4, 2019 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Terror on the Fox has always been a go-to for me and my group of haunt enthusiasts—it is a veteran haunt with high budget scenery, make-up and numerous high-tech effects. In recent years, it seems that not too much has changed, and this year, although there were some significant changes, they weren’t all for the better.

Be prepared upon arrival—leave all pocketknives and metal objects secured in your vehicles. New this year, Terror on the Fox has upped security and you can’t even enter the front gate with these items. If you choose to leave them at the front gate, they’re left in an unsecured plastic tote—and your items may or may not be there when you’re finished with the haunt. Luckily, an officer patrolling the haunt took an item for us and held it to the end. Along with increased security at the gate, came increased security on the grounds and on the train. I’ve always looked forward to the actors approaching us on the train and climbing levels (not sure what I mean—you will have to check it out for yourself!) but this is a thing of the past. Be careful while taking pictures with signage and banners on the grounds—we were warned not to touch them in any capacity, even while lightly leaning on a fence.

This is a very popular haunt, and as we have in the past, we chose the VIP ticket option. We were able to skip all the lines and got a second shot at concessions and adult beverages before arriving at the main haunt! There is also a bon fire to sit around to stay warm! Be sure to dress warm and ready for Wisconsin weather—the first haunt is almost entirely outside, and all the waiting is outdoors.

Terror on the Fox offers two haunt experiences for one ticket price—LaLlorona: The Weeping Woman and Rise of the Dead (or what I refer to as the ‘main haunt’).

Signage / Visibility / Location


Terror on the Fox is a veteran haunt and staple of the Green Bay community. It is easy to find, located on Broadway Street in Green Bay. There are numerous people directing traffic and helping with parking, which is always helpful—especially for such a large and well-known haunt!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


As mentioned above, come dressed appropriately for the weather; all waiting is outdoors. There are more than a few stops along your way to the two different haunts giving opportunities for bathroom breaks in their multiple porta potties and a chance to stop for a bite to eat or beverages. Along the way you will meet some other creatures as well—we encountered anywhere from 3-5 live actors while waiting and walking the grounds.

If you choose the VIP experience, you’re given a second stab at concessions and adult beverages, all while waiting around a warm fire pit overlooking the incredible and iconic façade of the main haunt. This is a popular haunt and in the past wait times have been hours—I highly recommend upgrading to VIP if you choose to visit this haunt.

Actors' Performance


There were plenty of live actors that we encountered on our visit to Terror on the Fox. There were three that we met on the train. As I mentioned above, we always look forward to the dynamic and interactive creatures on the train, but this year was a bit of a disappointment. Quite a bit of the ride was taken up with a list of rules (which is important—but the way they were delivered detracted from the experience) and the actors were not as interactive and energetic as they were in the past. As we were exiting the train, an actor called out my name! This was surprising and unexpected—not sure how they picked up on that! Nice touch!

While we were waiting in line for concessions, we had several creatures lurking around us. The attention to detail on costumes and makeup were incredible and it’s obvious that quite a bit of time and money went into the actors’ looks. The actors interacted well with the crowds, and as we see at most haunts, they prey on the weak—watch out!

In the first haunt, we didn’t encounter many live actors, maybe four in the entire attraction which offered a growl as we walked past. The first haunt is a mausoleum and hike through the woods; a few more well placed and energetic actors would have made this haunt more memorable.
The main haunt offered more live actors, a few of which engaged with our group and set the mood for their room. Again, and as always, props to the makeup artists and costume designers—you never cease to impress!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


As mentioned above and as in past years, the sets and scenery are beyond impressive. Its obvious that this is a high budget haunt, which is bound to be one of the reasons they draw in large crowds! The façades of both attractions are impressive and a great photo opportunity. As in years past, the main attraction features live actors as a part of the face of the house which is great line entertainment!

Keep your eyes peeled while walking through the attractions and pay close attention to detail—there are so many nooks and crannies and every last one is interesting to look at!

Length


From arrival to end, we were at this haunt around an hour. This included going through security, purchasing tickets, riding the train to the two attractions, going through both attractions, and stopping for food, drinks, and bathroom along the way. In years past, we have spent several hours at this haunt (especially when we decided to forego the VIP option) so be prepared.

Crowd Control


It’s obvious that Terror on the Fox is well equipped for large crowds—the ticket lines, waiting lines, and more have well maintained line control. There are several staff and officers on the grounds to help you navigate and to answer any questions you may have, and they were very nice in our encounters with them.

Terror on the Fox also offers a photo opportunity with a live actor before the first haunt, which is a nice touch to pass the time. You are then able to purchase the photo at the end of the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Our favorite part of the haunt this year wasn’t an experience in the haunt, but while waiting in the VIP area! We enjoyed lounging by the fire, taking in the awesome scenery of the fun lit haunt. While waiting we had a creature try to photo bomb us—and we ended up getting a great picture with him!

Summary

All in all, there is a reason this haunt draws in such a crowd. There is so much to do on the grounds—from concessions, to wait line entertainment, a train ride and so much more. The sets and scenes have always been impressive, and it’s apparent that time and money goes into this haunt. Overall, this year was not our favorite year. From the increase in security and stricter rules, no real changes to the haunts, and the actors not having much gusto, we felt that we didn’t get much bang for our buck. If you decide to attend this haunt, spring for the VIP pass to skip the lines—and then try to hit up some more haunts in the area!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Revenge

by hex_on_you (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 4, 2019 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Think old-school haunts with classic make-you-scream scares are a thing of the past? Think again! This young, third year haunt has brought back everything that made me fall in love with haunted houses! Located just north of Green Bay in Chase Stone barn, from arrival to end, they have created an attraction to remember.

Revenge has combined the classic, with modern themes that will make you squirm. Close your eyes and picture everything you love about a haunt—dark winding halls, incredible scenes, some lighting tricks, engaging well masked and make-upped monsters—Revenge has them all!

Revenge is easy to find and is located not to far north of Green Bay, and offers and indoor waiting area, indoor restrooms and line entertainment.

If you’re a haunt veteran and you’re looking for a fresh, yet classic haunt to bring back memories and make you scream again, look no further than Revenge.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Revenge is located in the Chase Stone Barn about 20 minutes north of Green Bay in Sobeiski. The location of this haunt truly sets the scene—when you pull up to a 116-year-old stone barn in the middle of a field off a dark country road, your fear is already building! While the haunt is in what feels like “the middle of nowhere,” it is easy to find off of a main road, and there is a large sign marking the entrance of the haunt. Check out their awesome signage on the silo of the barn—it makes this haunt even easier to spot!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is set with multiple photo ops, which is fun for passing the time. A tent leads to an indoor waiting area with four large TV screens displaying chilling video clips and creepy music videos—again great for passing the time! A few actors stalked the grounds and greeted us when we entered the waiting line—setting the scene is definitely a strong point in this haunt! Revenge not only has an indoor waiting area, but a covered outdoor gazebo with indoor bathrooms as well.

Actors' Performance


Revenge has no shortage of live actors—the haunt had plenty in all the right places! Our group noticed that some actors were repeated from one room to another—but this wasn’t an easy fact to point out! Each time we saw an actor, whether it was one time or multiple times, they took on a different persona and really embodied the room that they were in. They changed up the scares and were able to pull off more than a few good jump scares—which is rare to find in a haunt these days! It takes quite a bit to make me scream—but Revenge made it seem easy! Special kudos to the very flexible creeping, crawling, slightly possessed woman in one of the rooms—you found one of my weaknesses!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Not only were the actors in this haunt outstanding, but the rooms that they dwelled in were equally as great! This haunt engages all your senses—from playing with lighting, to changing up the texture of walls and floors, they made sure to keep in interesting. Something I love about this haunt is how they were able to keep an old-school, classic haunt feel, but elevate it without going overboard with high tech gadgets and animatronics. If you think you’re sensitive to strobes—you’ve never experienced strobes like Revenge has to offer—this is an effect our group is still trying to figure out and are talking about days later! While Revenge has a classic feel—they had chilling scenes and props that I haven’t seen in Wisconsin haunts before!

Length


Our group was in the haunt for about 20 minutes. The first year that we went through, we got to the end and were left wanting more! This year was no different, but we felt like they lengthened the haunt which was a bonus!

Crowd Control


It was a bit cool and drizzly on the night we visited, so crowds weren’t overwhelming. You could tell that they were set up for larger crowds, with well controlled waiting areas and plenty to do on the grounds.

Most Memorable Moment


Like I mentioned above, it takes quite a bit to make me scream and make me squirm. There were more than a few times that they were able to do this, but when a flexible, possessed demon comes crawling at me on the floor upside-down and backwards—you best better bet I’m ready to run!

Summary

Revenge is only in it’s third year, but they have proven they can run with the best! From year one, Revenge has been added to my list of ones to watch—and this year is no different. To see a haunt this young run this smoothly and pull so many tricks out of their hat is refreshing—veteran haunts better watch out! I will be returning year after year!

View all Revenge reviews

Comments: (0)

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 4, 2019 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

While the early bird may get the worm the early haunt goer definitely gets the best scares at Abandoned! For the first time in my 30+ years of touring haunted houses I was able to score the pole position for Abandoned's Hysteria and Ambush adventures. (Surprisingly the Friday evening traffic through the I-94 construction between Milwaukee and Abandonded wasn't nearly as bad as it was a few months ago.) As a result of my good travel fortunes I was able to score a prime viewing spot for "The Rising" in addition to be the first ones to tour Hysteria and Ambush. If you're considering arriving early (prior to 6:45pm) to abandoned...DO IT! The parade of monsters and theatrics you'll witness will absolutely blow your mind!

Okay, for starters, let's just cut to the chase. If you're reading this review you fall into one of three categories. (1) Never been to a haunted house before; (2) Been to a haunted house but not Abandoned; (3) you've toured Abandoned in that past.

For those of you in Category (1)...if you or someone in your group is under the age of 10 you may want to think twice before touring Hysteria and Ambush. This haunt should not be taken lightly as you won't find a scarier haunt in Wisconsin! "The Rising" and Stalker are a little less intense and may be a better option to start with for those looking to test their courage.

For those of you in Categories (1) and (2), if you're capable of being scared (i.e. you're not 100% fearless) this haunt WILL scare you. If this haunt doesn't scare you, or at least make you jump on several occasions, it's very unlikely any haunt in Wisconsin will do that for you either. If you're a gore goer, appreciate a keen attention to elaborate detail or techno-scare junky like me Abandoned will NOT disappoint you.

For those of you in Category (3), Abandoned’s scare tactics have not changed in 2019. (i.e. walk-through style in your face scares with brief encounters with ghouls) You'll be pleasantly surprised with how many NEW techno-scares await in Hysteria as well as a few new twists in Ambush. (I'm still buzzing with excitement over the new Castle Room...it's SENSATIONAL!) 2019 was my 4th consecutive year visiting Abandoned and my most favorite edition yet!

Miscellaneous thoughts you might find helpful:

* Ever wondered how many ghouls await you at a haunt or what they all look like? If so, Abandoned gives you this chance every night at 6:45pm with "The Rising". Simply put "The Rising" will AMAZE you with how many elaborately made up monsters are onsite to scare you silly. Not to mention the spectacle of the parade is definitely worth the price of admission for it! (side note: viewing the parade is free and is certainly worth checking out!)

* You may have read that Abandoned is comprised of 3 haunts (...named Hysteria, Ambush and Stalker) In my opinion, there are actually only 2 haunts here. The best way to describe Hysteria and Ambush is one haunt with an intermission in the middle. You can't pay for each of these haunts separately like you can Abandoned's Big Brother Haunt Burial Chamber. NOR, are you forced to get back in a long line after you complete Hysteria. While you may notice a slightly different theme between the two sections of the haunt the scare style remains the same.

* While the terrifying tours through Hysteria and Ambush are all inside the waiting area is not. Stalker's horrifying haunt includes both an outdoor creepy corn maze and demented dwellings. Definitely DO come dressed for the elements

* This haunt does NOT offer numbered tickets. To enter the haunts, non-FASTPASS haunt goers must wait in a very slow moving line that's exposed to the elements. (The wait line entertainment is the best I've experienced though!) If you'd rather have your toe nails slowly ripped off than stand in a slow moving line I definitely recommend purchasing the FASTPASS!

Signage / Visibility / Location


With the recent progress with I-94 Construction Abandoned is much more visible this year than it was last year. As you approach Abandoned along the frontage road, look for the bright blue and red flashing light that sits alongside the road at the parking lot entrance. The parking attendants will guide you in from there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Come dressed for the elements as portions of the wait lines for Ambush, Hysteria and Stalker are outside. As you near the entrance to Ambush and Hysteria the waiting lines are covered. A courtyard with ginormous movie screen, bumpin sound system and a concession stand along with a few costumed actors help to build your anticipation while you wait to enter the haunts. Be sure to arrive early and check out the parade of Ghouls which takes place nightly at 6:45pm. If you don’t like long lines and lengthy waits be sure to purchase a FASTPASS to take advantage of the shorter VIP lines.

Actors' Performance


The actors were very skilled at providing quick and unexpected scares. Only a few actors performed on sets that provided an opportunity for a theatrical display and in these situations they did not disappoint! I particularly enjoyed the introductory performances for Hysteria and Stalker as well as the unforgetable performance of Cookie Cake.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Brilliant use of shadows and dimly lit hallways/rooms to maximize scare and creep factor. Set designs were very effective in immersing you into the theme of the haunt. Some (but not all) of the sets were among the most elaborately designed/decorated that I've experienced. All set designs were definitely better than the average haunt. Enjoyed some of the unique concepts and special effects. Trick floors, vibrating walls, tripped out laser lights….there’s a little bit of everything to keep you on your toes.

Length


Took my group 16 minutes to complete Hysteria and 12 minutes to complete Ambush for a total time of 28 minutes. (...not including the brief intermission between Hysteria and Ambush.) Stalker took 20 minutes to complete.

Crowd Control


Waiting lines for both Ambush/Hysteria and Stalker were clearly marked off along with the separate FASTPASS lines.

Most Memorable Moment


Several sensational sets and scares...the castle room ABSOLUTELY blew my mind. It's got my vote for the one of the best rooms EVER!

Summary

If you’re looking for a totally terrifying experience in SE Wisconsin this Halloween look no further than Abandoned. The scares in Ambush and Hysteria come early and often thanks to an amazing arsenal of gruesome gore and visual effects that maximize scare opportunities. For those who thirst for more thrills Stalker offers even more horrific haunted mayhem.

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Revenge

by majorXpsycho (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 4, 2019 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

What do you do with 6,000 square feet in a 116 year old barn? Create a haunted attraction, of course! We loved it so much last year, we decided to return again on Friday, 10/4. Revenge is just a short drive North of Green Bay, in a very remote town called Sobieski. Not where you would expect to find a haunted attraction, but an absolutely perfect location. A long, dark ride down a remote road to a haunted attraction makes if feel more authentic.

Revenge just started their 3rd year and has climbed to the top of my favorites list! This place has a great maze of twists and turns that allow for optimal scares. They have utilized space effectively to keep you distracted while setting you up for numerous big scares. You wonder where the scare is going to come from, but the lighting, timing, and effects make you the feel very vulnerable.

It was opening night so we expected a skeleton crew of actors, but it was quite the opposite. There were so many frightening actors in high quality gear that we literally never had the chance to catch our breath. For us, it was intense with the right blend of actors, props, scenery, and natural ambiance. The scenes transitioned well.

The mine, dentist, arachnophobia, clown and unholy room were standouts for us. The element of surprise was unprecedented and everyone in our group screamed multiple times. So many props mixed with numerous actors added to the intensity. It is impossible to know which is real and which is not. The unholy nun, in the unholy room, had her timing perfected. Clowns seem overdone to a seasoned haunt attendee, but the one at Revenge pulled you right into its horror scene. Actors using dead bodies to trap us is something you just don’t experience in your more commercialized attractions.

In multiple rooms, the actors not only startled us going in, they never stopped from room to room. This gave us some of the best scares, because we were so busy trying to recover from the previous scare that we never had the chance to prepare for the next! Revenge has some of the largest and unique props we’ve seen in an indoor attraction.

We had no wait (opening night), but there are giant screens indoors playing horror flicks while you wait. The wait is primarily indoors so no worries if there is rain. We did not get a chance to see if there were any goodies to buy, but Revenge is more for individuals looking for a serious scare (not a long night out). A remote location, 116 year old barn, intense props, excellent actors and high fear factor make Revenge a “must see” (or scream) haunted attraction.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Located in a smaller town North of Green Bay. A remote dark drive will eventually lead you to one flashing sign leading you to the barn.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We attended opening night so there was no wait. Most of the wait is indoors with large high tech screens displaying horror scenes.

Actors' Performance


Actor's performance was excellent. So many actors and on opening night! They were everywhere, not a single "down moment" and they were true to their characters.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


There are multiple different transitions into various "horror flick" related themes. The transitions are excellent and flow great from room to room. If you have a favorite horror flick (or 10 like me), you will find it here!

Length


Total it is around 20 minutes to go through the attraction. I honestly don't think my heart could take more than 20 minutes at this level of intensity.

Crowd Control


We attended last year and never ran into another group. This year we went opening night so we again went alone.

Most Memorable Moment


For me personally, the arachnophobia scene ... I have a serious fear of spiders. Honorable mentions include the nun, clown, miner, dentist. Really, all were excellent.

Summary

Revenge just started their 3rd year and has climbed to the top of my favorites list! This place has a great maze of twists and turns that allow for optimal scares. They have utilized space effectively to keep you distracted and set you up for numerous big scares. You wonder where the scare is going to come from, but the lighting, timing, and effects make you feel very vulnerable. A remote location, 116 year old barn, intense props, excellent actors and high fear factor make Revenge a “must see” (or scream) haunted attraction.

View all Revenge reviews

Comments: (0)

Screamatorium Haunted House

by angeldolphin2 after attending on Saturday, September 28, 2019 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

First thing to say is wow!!!!

Summary

This place is really haunted!!!

View all Screamatorium Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Terror on the Fox

by majorXpsycho (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, September 27, 2019 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Located at the National Railroad Museum in Green Bay, Terror on The Fox Haunted Attraction continues to firmly make its mark on the Wisconsin haunt scene. I returned for my 11th year in a row and walked away continuing to be impressed by the cinematic quality displayed. Your journey begins when you see the single light, of the impressive double decker passenger train, grow brighter through the fog. Once aboard, the 15 minute ride allows little time for relaxation as the dedicated cast effortlessly creeps throughout making passengers scream.

The first stop is at the newly themed attraction, La Llorona. The atmosphere was primarily outdoors, but cascading chapels, trees and structured props make you feel as if you are indoors. La Llorona and her crew made this 12 minute portion of the attraction come alive and feel like an eternity.

As you make your way to the main house, you will be amazed at the authentic look of the exterior. Blazing horror music, synchronized lighting and fierce dancers provide an experience you would expect from a professional theatrical show. Make it a night by watching while enjoying multiple beverage selections (including beer), food (including Texas Roadhouse) and a blazing fire. There are plenty of screams and photo opportunities with the cast while in line. All of the cast (Pennywise included) did not have to hide in the dark as the high quality and detail of their characters was frightening even with lights on! They were quite vocal, often speaking in unique dialects that gave their characters more depth.

Without giving away too much, once inside the final attraction, authenticity continues with no breaks or dark hallways. You can see well (if you don’t keep your eyes closed like someone in our group) as the scenes and transitions from room to room flow continuously. The level of detail, perfectly timed scares, top notch performance, crowd control and cinematic quality is what brings me back every year! I am already eager to see what next year brings.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Located at the National Railroad Museum in Green Bay. Once near it is easy to find with flashing signs for parking and lights glowing the path.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


All 3 wait areas had cast roaming about to scare you. Once off the train you can have multiple food and beverage options to enjoy around the blazing campfire. Not just hot dogs and cookies ... REAL FOOD and BEVERAGES. If I were to change one thing about this attraction, it would be a system that allowed individuals to wait around the bonfire and enjoy the snacks (instead of standing in line each time). Something like a number system ... not a deal breaker.

Actors' Performance


All of the cast (Pennywise included) did not have to hide in the dark as the high quality and detail of their characters was frightening even with lights on! They were quite vocal, often speaking in unique dialects that gave their characters more depth. Their lines (when spoken) flowed excellent with the scenes. They remained in character the entire time (including in line).

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Authentic! Cinematic quality!! I can not describe it any better. It is like being on set of your very own horror movie. Disgusting scenes, gory scenes ... there is such diversity in sets, with excellent transitions. We felt that the lighting effects were great, often times the lighting accentuated the details of the scenes beautifully and other times it was more dramatic, like the lasers that hid what could be at your feet.

Length


If I combined solely the time we were inside attractions (Train, La Llorona, and the main house) it was about 45 - 50 minutes in length!!

Crowd Control


You go in with who you came with, and it stays that way throughout all attractions!

Most Memorable Moment


Again, without giving away too much: The butcher, the Dr., the "bathroom" and of course the CHAINSAW.

Summary

Located at the National Railroad Museum in Green Bay, Terror on The Fox Haunted Attraction continues to firmly make its mark on the Wisconsin haunt scene. I returned for my 11th year in a row and walked away continuing to be impressed by the cinematic quality displayed. The level of detail, perfectly timed scares, top notch performance, crowd control and cinematic quality is what brings me back every year! I am already eager to see what next year brings.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




October 19th, 2019 4:48 a.m. CDT 1.27