ad-header-top

2004 Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

16 total reviews. Showing 8 of 15 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1 | 2

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by Eclypse01 after attending on Friday, October 22, 2004 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We have been to this haunted house many times before. We also know the area because my family loves a restaurant that is near the haunted attraction. So, I didn't follow the directions on the internet. It is not hard finding it though.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There is a building that you can wait in. There are benches to sit on, a food area, and some games to play. There is also an outside area to wait in (the building walls block the wind pretty much). I didn't see anyone dressed in costume walking around, which would have made it more fun! They also didn't have any props out like they used to have. I was kind of disappointed with that.

Length

We arrived around 9:00 and got our tickets. They were calling numbers that were about 400 away from ours...and they call them in groups of 50. So, we decided to get a few drinks at a local bar/restaurant. We were there for about an hour and a half. When we walked back, they were calling the group right before us, so it was perfect timing. Overall wait was about an hour and 40 minutes. We expected that because of how late we got there. The length of the event was about 20-25 minutes.

Actors' Performance

The actors were really into their roles! It was a lot of fun. The overall haunted house was really good. The only thing that I didn't like was that they made you go in groups of 10!!! That is just too big for a haunted house. You just can't scare that big of a group as much as you could a smaller group!!! We also ran into the group before us and the group behind us ran into us! That is my main complaint. I loved the props and the actors. I didn't like the group sizes and running into other groups...that always ruins it.

Appropriate For

11+

Summary

I could not believe how many little children I saw at the haunted house. One woman was carrying her little boy (who was sleeping) into the haunted house. I really don't think any of the haunted houses are a place for young children.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by ConceptGuy after attending on Saturday, October 23, 2004 at about 1:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The place is so easy to find that if you can't get there from the Mapquest maps, you shouldn't be driving.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait area has a few video games, a cool "Halloween shooting booth" with several different shooter games ($1 each). There's also a limited number of snacks and soft drinks available. Warning: I only noticed a couple of porta-potties. Go before you go, if you know what I mean.

Length

We waited in an outdoor line about 15 minutes, bought our tickets, and then waited in the sort-of-indoor area. Here we waited about 20 minutes, but there were lots of people, so the time passed quickly. When we left around 7:30, the outdoor part of the line was very long - I'd guess 200 people or more.

Actors' Performance

Everyone here was in great form! A lot of hard work, planning and scripting went into this effort and it SHOWS! This is definitely my new favorite.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Like a lot of others have said, Terror on Rural Street has a completely new theme - which makes it distinctive from "haunted houses." Some people may not like the change; I thought it was a great idea. You're admitted in groups of about 7. If you like to experience the scares - and there are plenty - try to drop back a few paces from others so there are 2 or 3 in your group. Going a little slower than others will preserve the surprises for you. There's a lot of navigation through the place too, so be prepared. The only reason Terror on Rural Street didn't get a 5 on the Scare Factor is because I'm an old guy. If these people really want to scare me, they need to start dressing like John Ashcroft.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by unorisky after attending on Saturday, October 23, 2004 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easily located

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Okay - overcrowded

Length

EXTREMELY long! We waited 3 hours to get into the haunt. The length of the haunt was okay.

Actors' Performance

Pretty good.

Appropriate For

13 and up

Summary

The haunt was pretty good, but I think the really long wait took away from the experience.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by scareme after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good large sign on road to the house. Website helped too.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Warm but did not seem to hold everyone. need more people at food area.

Length

over one hour. Expected that with the amount of people that were there.

Actors' Performance

Some where good and some ok.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

I think it was a step down from last year. It had some good areas and it is still worth going to. I do think they should of kept the price at $8, but since it is for charity I can do the $10

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by binkyuno after attending on Friday, October 15, 2004 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find with signage that was more than adequate.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

A large, well organized waiting area with the occassional ghoul walking around.

Length

Wait was less than 15 minutes and the walk through the haunted house took about the same amount of time.

Actors' Performance

ALL of the actors were great! You can tell the were having a great time, just like we were.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

It was a great time going through Terror on Rural Street, if only for one reason: it scared the heck out of my wife!!!

Actually I found the house to be "scary", with new scenes around every corner. All of the "inhabitants" performed very well, and the special effects were outstanding. Going up and down the ramps and through the narrow openings in absolute darkness only added to the enjoyment.

The price was right, we got a fright, and had a good night. See you next year!!!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by hellokitty32 after attending on Friday, October 15, 2004 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good, been there before though.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Use to having creepy people walk around, but didn't see any this year.

Length

about and hour which we expected coming so late.

Actors' Performance

Great. Last guy was the bomb.

Appropriate For

13 up

Summary

I heard the spinning bridge was gone, missed it afterwards. Seemed shorter than normal. Still good, there were 4 of us. Guys thought it was the best, us girls thought it was shorter than normal.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by AntonFig after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I didn't see much until I was right there, but I knew where I was going and the web site has good directions

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I really missed the great 1980's video games. I was disappointed when I found out they were not there.

Length

The wait was short, but we got there early (before 9:00 pm). It takes about 15 minutes to go through from the time they line you up.

Actors' Performance

Best in recent years, last year they were pretty cheesy, much improved this year.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Everything was new this year. I thought the sets were really great, but in years past they stopped you and put on a little "skit". They didn't do that this year. I really missed the "vertigo tunnel" of years past. It was about the coolest thing I have ever experienced in Haunted Houses. Bring it back for next year!!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by graveyard666 after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2004 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very clear, large sign on main road

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The waiting area totally set the mood

Actors' Performance

Terrorfying! Great performances.

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

This is probably the best haunt I've seen in the past 3 years! Very scary!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by spookyme after attending on Friday, October 1, 2004 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

there was a white sign on the side of the road pointing you in the right direction.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

it had a nice covered indoor seating area with a concession stand. A few actors walked around. I liked how they called off numbers for entering the house, verses the standing in line method.

Length

Being opening night, and raining, there was hardly anyone there. My boyfriend and i even got to go in just the two of us, which makes the experience a lot better than a huge group.The house itself took around 20 minutes to walk through

Actors' Performance

actors didnt have much real acting parts other than to pop out, but they were good at that.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

There were a few good surprises, but not as great as i had remembered the years before to be. A lot of the elaborate stuff there before isnt there this year. it defiantely is worth going to, becuase it will always be one of the best, but if you have been there before, i warn you that you may be dissappointed that it didnt out do itself this year.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by Little Nurkey after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy enough to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Concesssion stand had good chili but only two people working made for a long line. Large waiting area inside and out so it didn't feel too confined. Large screen video game was a nice addition

Length

45 minute wait, 20 minutes in the "house" Wait time went pretty quick they called large groups in at a time.

Actors' Performance

Nothing special and not a whole lot of them. They didn't seem interested in scaring everyone just the first two or three in the group.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

We went in with a group of about 10, but only the first 2-4 people got to enjoy the scares. Most of the scenes were around corners and in rooms so those of us in the back didn't even get to see some of the actors or the scenes. Alot of walking and waiting to be scared. We felt pretty let down after this house.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by Scarry_jerry666 after attending on Friday, October 8, 2004 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

One sign on main highway. good visability

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

heated with only a couple of games. could use more.

Length

about 1/2 hour wait to get in, 20 mins. to get through the house.

Actors' Performance

Most were really good. there were a couple of weak areas

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

I go here every year because it is always a quality haunt. I really like the new look and and sound and I don't think I saw anything from the previous years. There were a lot of good surprise scares and overall, good performances. Some were great.

The place was rocking and I heard constant screaming through out the place. Nice Job!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by zeebelt after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2004 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Pretty easy to find. In what looked like an abandoned school or warehouse.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We got there almost first -- so it was eerie being almost the only people waiting. Ticket system worked OK.

Length

We had a really short wait. During the tour, I kept wishing it would be over soon 'cuz it was LONG and SCARY!!

Actors' Performance

GREAT!! Scary scary scary. More industrial kind of set up, as opposed to dusty and eerie.

Appropriate For

12 & over

Summary

Worth the trip. Only thing is -- PLEASE don't station survey takers right outside the exit!! You're running out of the haunted house, all excited and still feeling thrilled and scared, and a teen with a clipboard starts asking "if you could rate this 1 to 5..." I mean, it took ten minutes and sort of deflated the experience. The same teens were asking the people who were waiting to get in the Haunted House the same questions ("How scary did you think this was last year?") Isn't that good enough?

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by scaryfun after attending on Friday, October 1, 2004 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find, good signage

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Large heated room to wait in. Had a cool Halloween shooting game.

Length

Not much of a wait, maybe 5 minutes. Took about 20 minutes to go through house.

Actors' Performance

Could have been a little better but they were fine for opening night. Some scares came out of nowhere, well hidden

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

I was very impressed with what Terror on Rural Street has done this year. Rooms have a totally new look this year over what they used to be, it has more of an urban look to it and we liked it. We visited on their opening night and while some actors could have been a little better I would not hold that against them seeing as that it was their first night. Many of the scares come from out of nowhere and were well hidden. I don’t know what “withthelotus” is talking about in their review about being bored; we were certainly anything but being bored. There is stuff happening all around you. Also not to give anything away but the end of the house is awesome, you never would expect it to happen. Once again the people at Terror on Rural Street have done a great job, I would recommend visiting this haunt.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by jasondbm after attending on Friday, October 1, 2004 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Everything was very visable and easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The waiting area was nice. It had plenty of seating and was warm inside.

Length

The wait was not long at all. By the time that we got there there was not a lot of people there, so we only waited about 20 25 minutes

Actors' Performance

The actors did a great job.

Appropriate For

12 & Up

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by withthelotus after attending on Friday, October 1, 2004 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There are signs. It is easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Some guys in masks walking around and then they stop and stare at you. When you stare back they seem to get nervous and quickly walk away.

Length

The wait was 15-20 minutes and the walk was about 20 minutes maybe more.

Actors' Performance

They didn't seem into it. I think they were more araid of us than we were of them.

Appropriate For

5 and up

Summary

This is usually one of my favorite haunted houses, but not this year. They changed it alot and in a bad way. I was bored alot. The dark hallways that go from room to room were the best part because the rest of it was really bad. There wasn't anything cool at the end either, usually there was but not this year.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 26th, 2020 4:27 p.m. CDT 11.30