ad-header-top

2008 Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

14 total reviews. Showing 10 of 14 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by lovey1111 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Great house this year. Lots of characters who were very interactive. Did a great job adlibbing if you answered their questions. Great makeup. Could have used a little stronger finish, but MAN, was that doll room creepy!

Summary

Great. 4th year I've gone, best one yet.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by portrgirl after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

It was fairly busy when we got there, but there was still plenty of free parking in the lots out front of the house and we only had to wait about 20 minutes before our numbers were called. They only took cash, which was a slight inconvenience. The waiting area was mostly enclosed and comfortable to wait in. A few creatures roamed around trying to spook people, most gave up too easily. Also, there were a lot of large groups of teenagers milling around. Security did a good job keeping order though.

My group was a group of 8 and too big for the size of the house IMO. The actors and spooks were only set-up to scare the first 1-2 people in the line, leaving the rest to not even see what happened, much less be scared. They tried switching up the lead and order a few times - kudos for that! - but it didn't work very well and we were left in almost the same order throughout. Too many dark corners were left unused for surprise scares.

**Don't read this if you want the rooms to be a surprise**
The actors feasting around the table in the dining room were exceptionally good and the room was fantastically done. The swamp room was also really creepy and the actors did actually wait until the entire group was in and half way through before letting their scare loose (thus scaring everyone). The attic doll room was really really creepy, but lacking in a good scare/startle. The very end of it is also perfect. Too few haunted houses take advantage of the those letting down their guards as they leave.

Summary

This was a decent haunted house overall. But, I scare easily and I found myself not even the least bit scared multiple times throughout the house. On the up side, because I wasn't so scared, I was able to look around at the scenes and enjoy the work that went into them. However, I don't know that I'll try this house again in the future.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by lutzcol1234 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It started off where i went in line to get my tickets. As i approached the ticket line i was like "There is no way im waiting in this line". I got convinced to buy my ticket. I then went into a heated waiting room with consessions. In the waiting room i saw a weird guy on stilts. He was fun and gave everyone some excitment. After waiting for about 1 hour i got called into a cemetary. In there we lined up and got ready to go into the house. As we were lining up we got told jokes and had fun. Then the FUN BEGAN!!! The whole house was excellent but there were certain rooms in particular. The room that made me PISS MY PANTS was the torture chamber. Then my next favorite part of the house was that rat. He was amazing. The statue room was good along with the hellevator before that. THE WHOLE HOUSE WAS EXCELLENT. It was definatly worth 10 dollars..

Summary

I would recommend this house to anyone that wants to piss themselves....
EXCELLENT JOB TERROR ON RURAL STREET!!!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by johnny (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Terror on Rural Street – worth the money and worth the trip! This is one of my very favorite haunts – every single year! My best goes out to the management of TORS because they make this haunt new and exciting every year!

You will notice new and exciting changes as soon as you arrive, in the form of a new façade at the entrance as well as in the staging area, which is now the entrance to Grandmother’s house. Also, there is a new tale that is told that sets you off on your adventure.

I do not want to spoil anything for you, but I will provide some details. Be sure to keep your eyes open for the organ room – as well as the singing skeleton – “Dead puppies aren’t any fun. . .” I found myself laughing OUTLOUD on that song!

Also, out is the octagon chamber, and in is the “scary-go-round” with the most psychotic, sadistic clowns that you will EVER meet!

Long story short – if you only visit one haunt this year, make sure it is Terror on Rural Street! Not only will you get a GREAT scare and have an AWESOME time, you will also be doing your philanthropical part because you are helping out a non-profit organization.

***NOTE*** this haunt is open on October 31st as well as November 1st! I spoke with management, and they advised me that these days are historically “slow” days in terms of attendance (hello?! That means you don’t wait in line very long!). So, if you want to take advantage of the last days of Halloween as well as avoid some lines, be sure to attend on these days!

Signage / Visibility / Location


I visited Terror on Rural Street on Friday evening, October 6th at around 7:30 PM. The haunt is located in Hartford – it took about 40 minutes to get there from West Allis. It was pretty easy to find using the directions from the website (and on www.hauntedwisconsin.com – shameless plug!) as well as some signage directing you to the haunt. Parking was a BREEZE. There is a recreation center next to the haunt and they also share the parking lot. This time, parking was abundant!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The waiting/staging area is one of a kind! Of all of the haunts that I have visited, this wait area is my FAVORITE! Not only is this waiting area HEATED, it also provides you with a CONCESSION stand! The night we visited, it was in the 40’s, so going into a heated waiting area (with a couple of scare-actors entertaining the crowd, I might add!) The costuming was very good and VERY well done. I especially liked the undead creature on the stilts!

The process works like this: purchase your tickets (VERY important!), wait until your number is called, and then enjoy!

Actors' Performance


What can I say; the scare-actors have OUTDONE themselves this year! Every actor kept in character and made it their own! From the beginning to the end of the haunt, every scare-actor had performed amazingly!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


As with every year, management has tried to make every scene and every set as detailed and as memorable as possible. This year is no exception!
The new designs can be seen from the beginning of your tour, with a new façade as well as a new entrance. “Grandmother” will welcome you to her new house! (You’ll see what I mean!)

Length


It took our group approximately 20 to 25 minutes to go through the haunt.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was very well done. From the security personnel with the talkies, to the presence of the sheriff’s department, everything was more than under control.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable moment of this haunt was the behind the scene tour that the manager gave us. Most visitor will not receive this tour, however; I feel it necessary to mention this tour as being “most memorable”. I met with Dick (and colleague of his; I am embarrassed to say I forgot his name so please forgive me!) Dick mentioned that he has worked with haunted houses for the past 21 years, and has been with this haunt from the start. The haunt is run by a non-profit group and is staffed SOLEY by volunteers – approximately 70 on a good night – let me say again, volunteers, including Dick himself.

Workers start on this haunt in April and the passion for details shows.

We must give props to everyone involved, including the local businesses that donate food, materials, etc to the volunteers. All of the revenue generated goes right back to the very haunt that you are visiting, so be sure to visit and visit often!

Summary

For those of you that suffer from coulrophobia (the fear of clowns), I would rate this a 4-clown haunt, meaning there were 4 clowns present. Happy Hauntings! Johnny

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by HauntedScuba after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

There is a heated waiting area with concessions & actors roaming but as always it is jam-packed. An hour wait for the amount of people there went fast. We try to go here every year and have attended at least 7+ years. This year the scenes were mostly the same as previous years. The actors in the haunt are good, but rather predictable. The rooms are decorated realistically with lots of stuff to look at in each room. However, when you enter a room you look at everything in the room and an actor or two across the room from you and then move to the next scene. They don't get in your face so the scare factor is lower. The actors do stay in character and try to find the most scared in the group and play on that fear.

Summary

This is the 6th Haunted House I have been too this season. If you like effects over scare it is worth it. Don't let the line miss-lead you, it moves pretty quick.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by odistodis after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

We arrived at this haunt on Saturday about 8:30. There is a heated waiting area with concessions, but it was jam-packed. We were told it was about an hour long wait, so we asked if we could leave and come back. The ticket seller said that even if we missed our numbers being called, they would still let us in, which was pretty cool. We left for a beer and came back about 9:30. Our numbers were called shortly, and we went inside the haunt to get in a short wait line. Here our group of 4 was paired up with a family of 4. The actors in the haunt were great, but it was more like watching movie clips than actually interacting with the actors. You would enter a room, they would do their skit, and you would leave for the next room. There were many cool special effects throughout the haunt, but I prefer a good scare to effects. There was too much light, you could pretty much anticipate everything that was coming. I felt like our group of 8 was too big, there were no scares for the middle or the back of the group. Actually, the children in front of us didn't seem to worried either. This is the 3rd haunt I have been to so far, and I wasn't scared in this one at all.

Summary

If you are looking for a good scare, I would go elsewhere. I would recommend this haunt for families with younger children.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This haunt is definitely one of my favorites in the area! Year after year it produces excellent thrills for its guests. My favorite rooms at this house are the doll room, the room with the guillotine, and definitely the torture chamber. The rat was an excellent addition to the haunt since it scared the crap out of my whole group. The little girl in the dolls room, right in the end... she's fantastic!!! The hallway that's black and white really plays with your mind. The technical/special effects and also the attention to detail in this house are just phenomenal. Rooms are all hand painted and look awesome. The actors are all really into their characters and you can tell they really enjoy it. I don't think I saw one actor break character the whole time! While we were waiting to go into the house, there were a number of actors roaming around scaring patrons... and they were pretty creepy. Overall I had another great experience at Terror on Rural Street.

Signage / Visibility / Location


If you follow directions from the website you'll find the place really easily. It's attached to an activity center so there is ample parking available.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They have an enclosed area to wait and have some actors roaming about. They also have a concession stand available if you want any snacks while you're waiting.

Actors' Performance


Overall I was very impressed. They're all really into it and have a lot of fun scaring everyone that comes through. Special acknowledgements go to the girls in the doll room and the actors in the torture chamber - you all rocked.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Fantastic! Attention to detail is just unbelievable. Some of the props are clearly not real and therefore much less scary than others, but overall it was all really great.

Length


I would say from start to finish, it was roughly 20 minutes. They do an excellent job of keeping you in a room for a while so you can get the full effect, which I love.

Most Memorable Moment


The boys I was with were pretty terrified of the doll's room... watching boys get scared is always a highlight of mine.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Terror on Rural Street was awesome once again. From the minute you walk through the doors to wait your turn to the last scene before you leave they have you screaming. This is one haunt that definitely has detailed scenes.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area for this haunt was in an indoor heated area. They have actors walking around scaring you, and also a giant monster outside when you walk in.

Actors' Performance


The actors' did a very good job on their performance, they stayed in character and were pretty much always on target with their scares. There were a very areas however, where the scares were predictable but otherwise very good job.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes in this house are very real looking. They really make you feel like in your in some horror house.

Length


It took about 20 minutes to walk through the entire place.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was handled very well.

Summary

I would recommend this haunt to anyone over the age of 14.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by vampira after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Our group attended Saturday, October 18 at about 8:00. We came by busload from Milwaukee as we do every year, and let me tell you, we were not disappointed! Arriving at that time, we did have an hour and a half wait,with about 400+ people ahead of us, but it was well worth it. While we were waiting in the heated waiting area, we were thouroughly entertained by monsters, (especially the Frankenstein on stilts........) We also enjoyed watching the TV with "live feed" from inside the house. Once our numbers were called, we walked across the courtyard to the actual house. We were also entertained by the vampire telling us jokes. As we entered the mansion, we were impressed by the decorations, the actors and the makeup and costumes. (No cheesy masks here.......only what seems to be professional makeup.) There was a scare in every room, which even made my manly boyfriend scream like a little girl. Kudos, Terror on Rural Street!!!!!! PS does the "Hellevator" really move? None of us can figure it out!!!!!!

Summary

Terror on Rural Street was easy to find, well lit, ample parking. I would recommend getting there early if you don't like to wait. The house was PACKED on Saturday night, BUT it was definitly worth the wait and the $10.00 we paid to get in. We laughed, we screamed, we cried!!!!!!!!!!!!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by Thefearwithin after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I was at Terror on Rural Street on the same night at almost the exact same time and there were probably 75-100 or more people waiting. The waiting area had several characters and creatures out to entertain the waiting crowd including a very tall (10 feet?) Frankenstein. We had about a 15 minute wait until our numbers were called. There was a heated indoor waiting area where you could watch what I think was a live video feed, as well as an outdoor area decorated as a cemetery with wrought iron gates.

The entry area into the house was new this year and featured doors that automatically open after the numbers were called. Once inside the area were we lined up was really cool. There was some more wrought iron gates leading to another cemetery scene that I am pretty sure was part of the scene at the end of the house because while we were waiting we could hear the screams as the groups went though. The actual entry was also new and look like an actual decrepit porch of a house. There was a rather nice man addressing the groups and telling some corny jokes. Not scary, but he had everyone laughing. A rather agitated "granny" beckoned us into the first room and told a brief story about the "house" and the evil within...She was very good and changed the mood immediately.

From then on it was a series of mostly well timed scares. Although some were predictable and one bordered on being corny, the were still effective.

The attention to detail is why we always come back here and this year there were some awesome scenes and FX. The make up and costumes were cool and it look like they are using a lot of latex FX's.

We always visit this place after going to one or 2 of the other events in the area because we better appreciate how they do things. Contrary to what was said in "another" review, we also appreciate the fact that he majority of the actors are ADULTS and not just teenagers that appear to not even want to be there! We were going to try to go through again, but by time we got out, the waiting areas were full as well as the parking lots!

Summary

This has always been one our favorite Halloween events because of the attention to detail. There may have been years when they were scarier (maybe gorier is the correct term), but I never have been more entertained or had so much fun. Some areas of note are the Killer Clown area, the Attic (creepy) and the Dining room.

For $10 you can't miss! Go early so you can get in TWICE!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by scarytimes after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Not hard to find(been there before) BUT the fact that this event wasn't real busy should have been a warning. We(group of friends)have attended this event for 8 years and in the past we knew we were in for a real scare. But in the last few years this haunt has gone downhill big time. We think the theme this year was supposed to be a haunted mansion, but the rooms were a hodge-podge of ideas that didn't make sense or flow together. The scares were predictable and came from where you would expect them. Acting was often mis-timed and the actors didn't seem to know what they were doing. In addition the make-up appeared more fit for a circus theme with crazy colors and strange hair styles on some actors. In addition a good percentage of the actors seemed too young or unprepared to effectivly scare. The time in the haunt was about 15 min. - a bit short in our opinion. Perhaps this haunt would be good for younger people because it has lost much of the impact and intensity it had in the past.

Summary

With high hopes dashed, our group is forced to conclude that this haunt has gone from run-for-your-life in the past to run-of-the-mill today. Gone are the fresh ideas and unusual sets and in their place are rooms and ideas we have seen before. Inside some rooms seemed to be 'tossed' together without thought or planning. The $10 admission(less than most this yar) and shorter wait time than other haunts still doesn't make up for the poor acting and lack of good scares. While we are sure some will find this haunt acceptable, if you are looking for great decor, original ideas and real scares - Terror has lost its' touch. After a couple years of disappointments our group, sorry to say, does not recommend this haunt. Not a complete waste of time but a far cry from many better haunts in our area.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by sjetman_5 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I have visited this before and as always Really enjoyed it. The actors, props and scences were great. I would definatley visit this one in the future. Very easy to find and the road is marked well.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by scare_girl19 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt was easy to find (located on Rural Street off of Hwy 60 in Hartford) and there was plenty of parking.

Starting at the front door, it was obvious that this was going to be a memorable haunt. Monsters were chasing people out to their cars, and you could already hear screams from inside the lobby. A tv with live feed from inside the house, which was located in a large heated waiting area, set the mood and was more than enjoyable to watch.

When our numbers were called, we filed into the front part of the house. Hearing screams from inside the house made me want to go inside and find out where they were coming from. While waiting the rules were posted and easily visable. The decorations both outside and inside the house were phenomenal. The actors did a wonderful job of setting the scene and explaining the story of the house. At one point I was scared into a corner of a dark hallway and was surrounded by monsters. We took a one way ride on the "Hellevator"....were you moving or weren't you? (I still can't figure it out!!!) There were some areas of the house that could have used more actors, and in other areas of the house, where you "knew" what was going to happen, it still gave a wonderful scare. However, that being said, the overall house was one of the best I have seen throughout their years of business. This house took about 15 minutes to go through.

Summary

This haunt was a memorable one that I would be more than willing to return to. The actors and the decorations were phenomenal, and was worth more than the $10 entry fee.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by shorty4014 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I was a little disappointed with this attraction. While we were waiting for our number to be called, there were a few actors that were interacting with the guests. This is great, if the actors are able to entertain the guests in some way. Now the house.

The house seemed a bit short. Each of the scares were pretty predictable. The layout was not that great. It had some neat concepts, but the rooms didn't flow with each other. With wide hallways and poor layout, you could pretty much tell what was coming. There were some really entertaining actors, but not enough to carry the load.

Summary

Poor actors, and poor layout really hurt this attraction. Getting stuck behind another group really spoiled any surprise that was coming.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 26th, 2020 3:11 p.m. CDT 11.30