ad-header-top

2011 Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

12 total reviews. Showing 11 of 12 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by psycho psychic after attending on Thursday, November 3, 2011 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Good day Folks,

This is the psycho letting you all know our appreciation for your hospitality last evening. the house was great and the company as well..... It was nice to see you on your turf. On a personal note: A special hello and thank you to Russ, Brandon, Justin, and Kyle (thank you for the tour); Grand Pa (thank you for the jokes); Melinda and Robert (just because it was nice to meet you and hope to see you next year); and the rest of you that we met, like Leslie, Lindsy, Nicole, and those I forgot..Sorry... Thank you all so very much. And as I predict, "insults for free", and so is this compliment.

God Bless, and have a great off season...

Cathy AKA Psycho.....

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by courtneykiesow after attending on Friday, October 28, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Me,my husband and my sister-in-law attened Terror On Rural St. on friday around 8:30pm(We attend every year).Its very easy to find, The have a huge parking lot wich is shared with the other building around it. It wasnt very busy when we got there but after we were followed by Michael Myers and got our tickets a couple more groups showed up.They have a covered wating area and you can also buy snacks and/or drinks.The wait isnt very long at all. They call numbers and then you walk to the entrance for the haunted house and they read you the rules. After that they let you enter.It depends on your group and the gouhls how long it takes to get threw,honeslty i dont know how long it took us to get threw but it seemed like we were in there forever!!The scenes are set up very nice and the actors are very good at their jobs and stayed in character! We had tons of fun and scares.

Summary

To make a long story short..It was well worth the money and the drive! Actors and the scenes were great!! GOOD JOB TERROR ON RUAL STREET!! We will see you next year.:)

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 14, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Terror on Rural Street has been almost entirely re-done since last year's production. That effort is always appreciated.

The creators of this event put much time into the development of the haunt and much attention is taken to present a safe, secure and fun event.

This year's haunt, per usual, features elaborate and intricate displays and high attention to detail.

The actors interact with the guest and are loaded with amusing dialogue.

Along your way, you will meet various creatures of the dark and have to squeeze your way through a maze.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Terror on Rural Street is located just off of Highway 60 running through Hartford.

There is a flashing sign to direct you to your destination.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Terror on Rural Street has a spacious, heated and covered waiting area.

We appreciated that they provided a television in the waiting area that had the Brewer game on during our visit.

Actors entertain you while you wait and that lighting affords you the opportunity to appreciate the excellent make up effects that this haunt executes.

Terror also now holds the distinction of being the only haunt with a concession stand that serves...wait for it...BEER. Candy and hot dogs are available, as well.

Actors' Performance


Terror's crew of volunteer actors always provide enthusiastic performances.

They are equipped with clever dialogue and let the guest know they care about their entertainment role.

My group really enjoyed their efforts.

Their make up staff is excellent.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Terror on Rural is always an elaborate production. Be sure to try to pay attention to the detail along the way.

Length


It took about 25 minutes to complete the attraction.

Crowd Control


Visitors wait in a separate building than the actual attraction. When their ticket numbers are called, they move across a decorated courtyard to the attraction where groups of about 6 or more go in at regular intervals.

Crowd control is a non issue and there are police present, as well.

Most Memorable Moment


My group really enjoyed many aspects of this year's haunt.

There was much commentary on the excellent make up of the actors, the elaborate masks and sets and the overall aura of the attraction.

Personally, I appreciated an area in the attraction that featured spinning lighting effects that are quite unusual.

Summary

Personally, I visit Terror on Rural Street every year and have been coming for many years. The reason I return is because of what a dependably pleasurable experience the producers of this event provide. This is not the most intense scare you can get, but you will get a quality production staffed with invested actors and a lot of seasonal fun.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 14, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review


Bravo!! Hands down I'd say this is the best Terror on Rural street they've had since it opened 11 years ago. I typically tour between 8-10 haunts a year and I'd say arguably this year's Terror on Rural Street is probably the best haunt in SE Wisconsin and certainly in the top 3 around the state. Seriously, you may find different kinds of scares at other haunts but you'll be hard pressed to beat the quality and attention to detail that you'll experience at Terror on Rural Street.


Elaborate sets, high tech scares and professionally made-up monsters. This haunt features effects so detailed and gruesome you'd swear they were real!


Following my tour through this year's haunt I had the privilege to get a behind the scenes tour. I was totally amazed at how much time and effort is invested into the nightly operations. Professional theatrical make-up artists with over 25 years of experience, a maze of corridors supporting the haunted hallways & rooms, a warehouse full of additional props, rooms cram packed full of costumes and a totally amazing tech room overflowing with electronics and video feeds that totally blew me away!


Speaking of video feeds....those of you who are particularly interested in the quality of your haunted experience or may just be wondering "how did they do that?" may find this interesting. Each room and hallway is under constant surveillance by staff members with a very keen attention to detail. These staff members remain in contact with the ghouls and monsters lurking in the shadows and rooms around the haunt to ensure they are always perfectly positioned and timed to scare the bajeezus out of you and your fellow haunt goers.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Right off the main drag (Hwy 60) in downtown Hartford. Look for the flashing sign to point you to the parking lot. Great location. An abundance of well lit parking and a warm place to hang out while you wait. The court yard between the waiting area and the entrance really set the tone nicely

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


A heated indoor waiting area protects you from the elements.  The waiting area concession stand is also a bonus.

Actors' Performance


We had a lot of fun interacting with the performers.  Elaborate costumes and finely detailed make-up really enhanced their performances.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A nice variety of sets and some pretty descent special effects. For those of you who traditionally checkout a few different haunts every year you'll appreciate a few of the rooms which showcase some creative concepts and had the look feel of a genuine movie caliber set. Compared to other haunts, a few of the rooms here were relatively quite spacious....a nice perk for those who don't particularly enjoy being squeezed into a room when your grouped with complete strangers

Length


On the plus side of 15 minutes.

Crowd Control


Waiting room with concession stand is fairly spacious.  Plenty of room in the court yard to also wait.  Patrons are free to roam about until the Reaper calls their number to be assembled for final preparations before entering the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Several to choose from for me...  I really enjoyed exploring the multi-level set of the trophy room, the visually captivating lazer effects and interacting with the ghouls in the dining room.

Summary

Arguably the scariest and most visually captivating year ever for Terror on Rural Street.  A fantastic venue along with a nice variety of sets, creative ideas and exceptional special effects make this the best haunted venues in the state.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by colran97 after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

As a family we always attend 1 new haunted house every year, this one I must say is my favorite. The facility is very nice. The actors are great and the makeup is wonderful! We take 3 daughters with us ages 10, 12 and 19 and this was their favorite haunted house also. As Mom, I normally just enjoy the momentary jumps and not knowing where they came from surprises. This time was different, I actually found myself being freaked out a little. My favorite room was the hog eating monster dining room.

Summary

We drove 1 1/2 hours to visit this haunted house, I would say it was very much worth the trip. There are actors from beginning to end. We went early in the season, early in the evening and there was not much of wait and the concessions are one of the best around. I would highly recommend this to anyone, except ones with little ones, I think under 10, if they are sensitive this might be a little too much for that age group.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by snogged after attending on Friday, October 14, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This house is a personal favorite of mine and I look forward to going every year. Once again, they did not disappoint. The monsters were fantastic and the effects and set design were top-notch.

I think my favorite bits were the animatronic snakes and the Claustrophobia Maze.

Summary

I suggest this haunt to anyone in the area and anyone willing to drive the distance for an exceptional scare.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by skare-me after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Awesome job to all who put this show on.We haven't been here in a while but wow! The ait a hort but even if it a long who cares? Food, drink and warm waiting area.
The rooms were decorated to perfection. Costumes and makeup
professional.I was sad when it was over :(

Summary

Without to much info my favorites were, BIG baby (stinky) , Dentist and his freaky paitent(that girl still scares me)I brushed that night, Taxidermist room with large mouse ..yikes. Black hallways always got me with a scare.
I may even go again

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I enjoyed Terror on Rural Street just as much this year as I have in the past. They always do an exceptional job! We were really early in the season, so the wait was quite short, but don't expect the same to be true if you're visiting closer to Halloween - they tend to get quite busy. As usual, the make-up, costumes and effects were incredible and had my group terrified at every twist and turn.

Signage / Visibility / Location


It's located in the Activities Center in Hartford, so it's quite easy to find. Plenty of parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


As I mentioned, we didn't wait in line very long, but they do have a few actors walking around scaring people. The wait area is heated with benches, so that's nice. Also, they serve concessions (including beer!) now, so be sure to check that out.

Actors' Performance


For the most part, I thought they did a good job. I just wish there would have a bit more actor interaction (i.e. conversations and a story line instead of just jumping out at us).

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This haunt provides some of the most sophisticated sets, scenes, props and FX that I've seen in the state. They really put their heart and souls into making this haunt great!

Length


We waited about 15-20 minutes to get into the haunt and it took us about 20 minutes to walk through the whole thing.

Crowd Control


There wasn't much of a crowd to control, so I'm not sure how they'll handle more groups during the busy nights, but we've never had problems in the past.

Most Memorable Moment


There are a couple of areas in the house where you're in complete darkness, surrounded by inflatable walls where you literally feel like you can't go anywhere. A nightmare for a claustrophobic person like myself!

Summary

Overall, as usual, an excellent haunt that I suggest to anyone in the area. I'd even say it's worth the drive if it's kind of far for you. Keep your eyes open - you won't want to miss anything in this haunted house! Be cautious - there are creatures everywhere...

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by frightnightfun after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I attended on a Friday night and, as mentioned previously, the parking lots made it look as if the place was hopping, but the cars must have been mostly for the other events in the area. We bought our tickets and went to the waiting area, which was relatively empty. There are concessions available (even beer this year...YAY!) The concession area and entry were decorated and dark. Kinda cool. There were a couple of actors in there working the small crowd. We waited only about 15-20 minutes before our numbers were called. There were three other groups that were lined up in an orderly fashion and a ghoulishly wicked actor explained the rules and warmed up the groups. The groups were about 4-5 in number. Just the right size. This is always a very well operated and organized event.

Once inside the house, each area was filled with great detail and props to fit each scene and very little seemed to be carried over from last year. There were many dark hallways but there always seemed to be some type of surprise waiting in each. The detail and make up was awesome. The actors were all great and always stayed in character. There were many special high tech and mechanical FX that blended well with the live portions. The groups were well spaced. It took about 20 minutes to go through the entire house.

Some favs; The Dentist, the Trophy room, RUBY…oh…..and nobody puts Baby in a corner! At least not this BABY! WOW!

Overall very entertaining although, maybe not as in your face as years past.

Summary

Still my favorite event. Well run and always worth every penny! We go here every year and as usual, this event is still one of the top Haunts in Wisconsin.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by lazysmurf97 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review


Terror on Rural street is a fantastic haunt.  Everyone was super friendly and organized.  The haunt was well thought out and produced.  It was very high tech. There were plenty of actors and animatronics everywhere. We never experienced a dull moment or lull in activity.  The gore and costume effects were fantastic.  Just when you think the haunt is over, there is even more beyond the next turn!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It was very easy to find this haunt. We used a GPS and it took us straight to the location. There were signs off the main road that pointed the way.  Once we were in the parking lot, there were even more signs.  There was plenty of free parking available as well.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There was a heated wait area with benches. This haunt serves concessions that includes food and beer.  Also, they have a designated smokers area and port-a-pottys available. They have a nice graveyard scene that is lit up with Halloween lights.

Actors' Performance


I thought the actors did a great job.  The man who lines you up to enter the haunt stayed in character the whole time. The makeup was very well done. I especially enjoyed the dental victim's face makeup. The very first room was an old time bar scene with a bartender offering deadly bloody Marys.  It was very well done.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were fantastic. You went through lots of different rooms and each one was done completely different.  You couldn't tell in some of them if it was a real actor or something 'else.'  Many of the rooms played tricks on your senses and that made the haunt even more frightening.  Everything was perfectly decorated to match the theme of the room. The special effects were great too. There was plenty of blood and gore to go around. We enjoyed the claustrophobia maze the best!

Length


It took us about 20 minutes to go through the entire haunt.  There were three people in our group. Toward the very end, the group behind us did catch up to us.

Crowd Control


Each ticket to the haunt had a number on it. They would call  numbers up to enter the haunt so that everyone was spaced evenly.  I think this was very well done. The security officers were very friendly. At one point, a group of children needed to be helped out because they were too frightened. The security guards did a good job of helping them. Also, they have cameras throughout the haunt so if you need assistance, they can help you right away.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable moment for me came in the monster room.  I am not going to say more because I don't want to ruin the surprise, but it was great.

Summary

I would highly recommend going to this haunt. It is appropriate for everyone 10 and older.  There are some dark, tight places to go through and also some stairs so make sure you are able to maneuver through that sort of thing.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by jesterman after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Our group attended this haunt for the 1st time. There was no line, we walked right in. Don't let the parking lot fool you, it looks full but they are in a multi use building. The actors did an awesome job. They had a wide variety of scares to make you scream and jump. Many dark hallways to venture down and you don't know what is around the corner. The actors did a great job of staying in character. It was like a big fun house. Everyone in our great had a great time.

Summary

I give this a haunt a double thumbs up!! They have an awesome haunt!!! We would for sure go back again.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by Scareycrow after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Awsome House! I was blown away. I've attended for several years, but this is the best yet! Awsome Tech/Special Effects! Awsome Actors! The group behind us started to catch up, because I like to take my time and really look at the decor. My favorites were the Squeeze maze, Mad Scientist, the Mad Dentist and the Large baby in the High chair. There's so much more - but I won't spoil it for you... Um, I think I'll cancel my dental appointment until after Halloween!

Summary

Don't be fooled by the parking lot, since the Schauer Center also has events going on with parking in the same lot. There was a short wait time and well worth the money! Hang on to your purse in the Squeeze maze - if you drop anything it would be hard to find. There's Perfect balance between Scare, Theatrics and Special Effects!
I'm not easy to scare, but they got me this year!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 21st, 2020 8:34 p.m. CDT 11.29