ad-header-top

2006 Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

9 total reviews. Showing 8 of 9 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by lysergicerberus after attending on Friday, October 27, 2006 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signs leading you in the right direction. It's almost like the whole town is advertising the thing. Location is inside the Auto Museum next to the river.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Waiting area is partially outdoors. There are actors roaming the grounds that lead to the anticipation. The "giant" is cool.

Most Unique

3 unique mentions: 1) The checkerboard game. Misdirection at it's finest 2) The pendulum scene is definately unique. Be prepared for "scene interaction" 3) the fact that this event is non-profit. One could expect a charity event to not be a "top tier" Haunt. Dick, the operator of TORS, really put a lot of time and effort into this event. The scenes, makeup and details are fantastic.

Actors' Performance

Once again, they are REALLY into their roles. Timing is spot on. The actors with actual dialog are awesome.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

I pretty much said what it all. I loved this Haunt and so did the group I went with. The ONLY drawback was the "bunching". Groups would run into each other. That happens though and it's not unique to this event. Overall, I was very pleased.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by Courtney after attending on Friday, October 27, 2006 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I knew where it was so it was easy to find. There weren't any signs leading to it but when you got to Terror on Rural Street there was a large sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Me and my friends enjoyed the wait. There were creatures that would run after you after you got your ticket and then there were some in the place where you sat to wait. Some would talk to you, others would just sit and stare at you for like 5 minutes straight, kinda worried but it was fun.

Most Unique

The checkerboard was quite interesting so was the bus thing(kinda odd but in a good way)The scene with the butcher was quite interesting too.

Actors' Performance

The actors were pretty good. There were some really good ones and there were some not so good ones. Overall they were good.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

It was pretty good,it was scary most of the time except for when we had to stop because we were catching up to the next group, they coulda handled that a little better. But other than that, it was good.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by nosey after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We passed the place once because the sign wasnt as big as it use to be, there should be some lights glowing by or near the sign!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait wasnt that bad, it was a bit long, but it was nice outside.

Most Unique

The costumes worn while we waited.. the monsters walking and chasing other around.

Actors' Performance

Actors were okay, they should've been more quiet, we got lost and one of them took off their masks, which ruined the whole scary part.

Appropriate For

9+

Summary

It wasnt as good as it use to be 2 years ago. They closed it down for i think it was a year, i think that they could have done better.. but two years ago it was GREAT!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by larni79 after attending on Saturday, October 21, 2006 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find, they had a big sign on the main road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

THey have a nice big area with concessions where you can wait. Very well kept and clean. We didn't ahve to wait long either.

Most Unique

They had three doors in the beginning, kind of lke choose your own adventure. But it seemed kinda short compared to past years. They also had a bus involved, which was pretty cool, my favorite part.

Actors' Performance

Actors were pretty good. WE kept running into the group in front of us and the group behind us caught up to us. It lost it's scariness because we kept walking in to the scary parts when the group in front of us was still there.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

I liked in a previous year how you had to choose a door out of eight to find your way out!! This year it was just sort of boring.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by jaymx after attending on Saturday, October 21, 2006 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find, plus I am from the area so i know where it is.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nice wait area with a snack stand. It is set up for heat, but id be very surprised if the heat was going. Pretty chilly in there

Most Unique

The house is put together very well and has very good potential aside from some of the poor acting. This house is known for its special effects which i must say they never cease to amaze me and they definitely lived up to that this year.

Actors' Performance

Mediocre, some monsters were really doing well and putting their all into the haunt, whereas some others just jumped out with a half-hearted scream and pointed us where to go. it seemed as though they were more concerned about getting us thru as quick as possible rather than scaring us. and some of the the actors...well unfortunately were just bad actors, but were trying.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

I have always liked this house and to be quite honest i was frankly: DISAPPOINTED. I didnt get scared once, didnt even feel like i might get scared. It seemed extremely unorganized, there was one monster walkin around the wait area while in the past there has been more. They were pushing groups thru way too quick and we ended up running into the group in front of us therefore allowing the group behind us to catch up. I worked in a haunted house for 2 years and i know how it is not to have time to reset your room before the next group comes. so props to the actors in those rooms for doing their best. there much of a feel of a theme or generalized idea behind the house like usual. All-in-all this house could be scary if they could put it all together, but they need some work. i still have faith

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by mikeg after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find, since we've been going so long.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Decent sized waiting area with standard food and drink. An occassional monster walking the area helps to add to the atmosphere.

Most Unique

Watch out for the chess game. It was a funny yet scary twist. Our whole group loved it. The clown bus was also a nice scare.

Actors' Performance

For the most part the actors were into it and did a really nice job. I think they were excited to be back and it showed.

Appropriate For

11+

Summary

I was very impressed with what this group accomplished in a short period of time. You could tell that the haunt was not perfect as the mazes were pretty lit up and boring, but every room was high quality. I can't wait until next year when they get a bit more time to get ready for the season.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by moonie after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We had someone with us who knew exactly where to go. When we were in the building I'm not sure if we would have known where to go to enter the haunt if we weren't with someone who knew where he was going. You wait in a big room and I had no idea where to enter the haunt.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Big waiting area. You get a ticket and your number is called so you really don't wait in line. It was nice that we were able to sit down for the 20 minutes that we waited. We arrived at 6:15, doors opened at 6:30 and we were let in around 6:50. We drank hot chocolate while we waited ($1.00 a cup). It would've been nice if they played scary music or had a scary movie playing on their TVs in the waiting area. Instead we had to listen to a very loud video game. Once they call your number you wait in several lines like you do at Great America to get on a ride.

Most Unique

Right when we were about to enter the haunt a Police Officer came up to my husband and said, "You're coming with me." We didn't know what to think. (He was just kidding.) The bus was cute, but I read about it on this site so I don't think I enjoyed it was much as I would've if I didn't know about it. (Don't give too much away reviewers!!) But I will say chainsaws always freak me out and playing checkers was fun. The most unique character was the one who talked to us with no body. Loved the voice effect.

Actors' Performance

There wasn't too many real scares (ie jumps). We were the first to go thru for the night so maybe their timing was off a bit. Most of the scenes were top notch and looked like they came straight out of a movie. Bravo.

Appropriate For

15+

Summary

If your child is old enough to watch the movie Hellraiser than they are old enough to visit this haunt. There were many scenes that reminded me of that movie and small children shouldn't be allowed.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by vegasbound365 after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We live in West Allis, and the haunt is located in Hartford -- it took about 30 minutes to get there. It was pretty easy to find using the directions from the website as well as some signage that is located near the haunt. There was a hard time finding parking and we had to park way in back of the lot -- there is a recreation center next to the haunt and they also share the parking lot so plan accordingly and be prepared to do a bit of walking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The line? WHAT line? We were the second in line. You wait until your number is called, and we were second in the door. Our wait was less than 10 minutes since there were not many people that visited that evening. Even though there was no line, the operators of the haunt still ensured that a -- scare actor -- came in to amuse the guests. The costuming was very good; it was an undead guy wrapped in bandages. VERY well done.

Most Unique

The BEST part of this haunted house is the detail -- the haunt really took time to create props and scenes that are very detailed -- and gory at times. They also had some scenes that I have never seen before, meaning they seem to change from year to year. Some scenes were creative. (How did they get that school bus in there?)

Actors' Performance

Performance was somewhat expected.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

My favorite part of the haunt was the size of the haunt -- there were 13 rooms, but my least favorite was the lack of variety in the -- scare actors -- within the haunt. There were too many cloak wearing actors with either face paint or a mask that you can pick up at Walgreens. But with the amount of work that went into the scenes, this was easily over looked. Some of the -- scare actors -- followed you for awhile while staying in character.

Also, for those of you that suffer from coulrophobia (the fear of clowns), I would rate this a 3-clown haunt, meaning there were 3 clowns present.

Additionally, this haunt is not handicap/wheelchair access friendly because there are some tight turns and an area where you have to bend down and almost squeeze through.

All in all, Terror on Rural Street is a yearly favorite of mine that never fails to entertain. From the detail, to the size of the haunt, Terror takes the time in the off-season to prepare a haunt that many will enjoy -- and it shows.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by louiscyphre after attending on Friday, October 6, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage was fine, its next to the Automotive Museum/VFW (?) in Hartford, which is a very visible landmark. Plenty of parking in front.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We went on opening night, and close to closing time, so there was basically no wait for us. They had, as usual, a large covered waiting area with a "Spooky Snack Stand" staffed by eager volunteers. They organize the eventual entry into the house effectively, and it looks impressive. No entertainment provided the night we were there, though I'm guessing this will change as they get busier; there were TV's in the waiting area which I'm assuming will provide horror movies, etc.

Most Unique

Companions and I were all freaked by the juxtaposition of creepy laughing clowns and a school bus; Someone (Houdini?) once said that seeing a clown in a circus in the daytime is no big deal, but seeing one in the middle of the road at midnight is something else, and I would have to say I agree with that...

Actors' Performance

Good -- again, this was the opening night, so storylines/schticks were somewhat tentative; some of the actors seemed quite game, however, ("You're not revenuers are you? I hates revenuers...") and I'm guessing characters/scenes will develop better with more practice over the coming weeks. They seemed eager to interact, too. Good use of wigs (!)

Appropriate For

Usual gore and chopped up body parts, blah blah blah; there's a particularly good scenario which might freak out kids who ride the school bus...heh heh heh

Summary

Good misdirection in many scenes, particularly the checkerboard game. Clearly put a lot of time into it again this year; also fairly long haunt, took about 15-20 minutes to get through, I think. Felt like we got our money's worth. Does use some of the same special effects one has come to expect from Terror on Rural Street; I know they're probably very proud of their previous technical accomplishments, but maybe they should give the half-man-speaking-into-a-headphone-set a rest. Although we're still not sure how that works...Also, there is no central theme or storyline holding things together, so some of the rooms seem quite disparate from each other.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 26th, 2020 5:00 p.m. CDT 11.30