ad-header-top

2009 Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

13 total reviews. Showing 9 of 13 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by bigefan after attending on Friday, October 30, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was my first trip to this haunt which is a shame as I have lived in the area for about 7 years and havent attended until now. My take on it was amazement. I have been boasting about this experience for over a week now and really cant wait to go again next year. I thought right from the start it was a combination of fun and scary. You moved through each area with scares and time to appreciate the detail that went into each themed room. The clowns were awesome and my 9 year old boy will never forget that little dude that looked like chucky. There were some times where people seemingly came out of nowhere which is a trick when I'm really trying to anticipate the next suprise. After attending some of the other haunts in the area you get a real appreciation for how well they transitioned you from one room to the next as well. The charectors, scenery and themes were really great.

Summary

I highly recommend this haunt. If you have never been to one, this is a great one to start with. If your a seasoned pro at this, you will really appreciate how much professional effort was put into seemingly every detail.

Scary....high

Fun...very high!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by runningscared after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Very creative and lots of great technology and effects. Loved the house very much. Could tell a lot of hard work and effort went into creating it as well as some very talented minds.

Summary

Would definitely reccommend

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Terror on Rural Street is an attraction that historically makes great efforts to be at the cutting edge of scares and creative sets and this year's version of the house keeps with that tradition.



Terror has one of the more impressive and elaborate approaches to the entrance to their house with lightning effects coupled with a tomb and a large gargoyle that looms at the edge of the entrance lines in a margin of manufactured woods.



At the entrance to the lines to the house, you are also able to peer inside one of the areas of the attraction to see visitors getting startled by creatures hiding in the darkness.



During your visit, you will encounter a speaking spider and meet the Angel of Death among others.



You will walk through an elaborate morgue and be confronted by menacing clowns on a carousel.



Passage through the attraction is efficient and attempts are made to space the groups so that you will not catch the groups that precede you.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Terror on Rural is easy to find with well lit signage and a large parking lot.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area for Terror on Rural Street is in a seperate portion of the building from the house itself. It is heated and features a concession stand and ample seating. You will be visited by numerous actors while you wait. During my visit, I saw no less than 5 characters wandering the waiting area and there was also a significant security presence and two police officers available to ensure proper crowd conduct.

In-between the waiting area and the house, you will be greeted by more actors in elaborate costumes, some of whom are on stilts.

Great care has been put into trying to have the visitor engaged while waiting to enter the house.

Restrooms are numerous portable toilets located outside of the waiting area.

Actors' Performance


The actors at this attraction are invested in their efforts and the visitor will notice this.

The actors appear to enjoy their responsibilites and give active performances throughout the attraction and its waiting areas.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Terror on Rural historically pays sharp attention to detail and this year is no different, as has been mentioned.

This year's event has elaborate sets and effects and the actors present in quality costumes with artistically applied facial make up.

Length


It took about 20 minutes to negotiate this house while walking at a leisurely pace.

Crowd Control


This event is polished in terms of its crowd control. Terror on Rural has been in existence for numerous years and the management understands how to route visitors in an efficient manner.

Most Memorable Moment


This house features a lit waterfall in a section of jungle that you should stop to admire for a moment during your visit.

There was also a dead ringer for Grandpa Munster/Al Lewis working at the entrance to the house who was amusing to speak with.

Summary

Terror on Rural Street is very much worth a visit. Its operators are concerned about the visitor's experience and take care to try to keep their operation fresh year to year. Terror has a good reputation for the efforts of its management and the performance of its actors as well as its elaborate sets and props. The scare factor of this attraction is moderately high and the attention to detail/props and investment of the actors makes for an enjoyable visit.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by Haunt Hunter after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This is one of my favorites. I like to take my time and look at all the detail that has been put into this house. You start with taking the elevator down to hell. After that you seem to be going up and down ramps so you are always on different levels. Loved the different mazes, not just the dark usual ones. Also the Clown Carousel was really good with plenty of weird clowns. A couple of places we got a little wet.

Summary

It took us about 25 minutes to go through the house. The waiting area was heated and there was food available. Very easy to find the house with the good signage. It was worth the $12 and the money goes back to the community. The actors stayed in character and didn't just scare the first person in line. The scares were spaced out so sometimes the last person was the person to get scared.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by msiscool28 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

great job this has been the best so far this year that i have gone to. the props were great especially the spider that was my favorite, the last few years i was disappointed but way to go you have brought it back. I am not afraid of haunted houses i just go to have fun and this was great good work.

Summary

great job

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by CrazyKathy after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunted house had a lot of wonderful technology and a lot of creativity intertwined throughout each room. It was very scary. There were a lot of great ideas.

Summary

This is definitely worth the $12.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by CrazyKathy after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I went through the house on Saturday night and was extremely impressed at the creativity and ingenuity. Each room was more dramatic then the prior. The lighting and sound effects were spectacular and added to the frightfulness. Such attention to detail I had not expected or experienced before. At one point the floor dropped right out from under me! The drama in the room with the organ was fun. The rotating tunnel was fantastic and a favorite for everyone in our group.

Summary

I highly recommend a visit to this location. I learned later that due to a fire at a building next door and a concern for safety, the fire dept shut the electricity off to the neighborhood. The staff carried out the evacuation plan perfectly. Patrons were offered a voucher to return or their money refunded.The real losers here were the charities that benefit from the proceeds of this terrific project. Volunteers donate countless hours and hard work all year to prepare for the limited weekends in October. Already taking a hit due to the economy, the fire was responsible for losses in the thousands, which could have been given to the local charities. If you were one of those that had to be turned away,I recommend and encourage you to return in the next 2 weekends. You will experience a memorable "scare" and the charities and scholarship funds will be appreciative of your support.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Two elaborately dressed 15ft tall creatures greeted us as we approached the ticket window for this venue. Scary for some and very entertaining for others. The tone of this venue for me fell pretty much right in line with this encounter. For those who love to be ghoulishly entertained and occasionally surprised you'll be quite satisfied with this year's Terror on Rural Street.

Many of the of the other reviews that have been posted do a great job of hitting the highlights for this venue. I attended this haunt with 11 of my friends and everyone had a great time. The fun and scare ratings indicated on this review reflect the collective feedback I received from everyone.

Favorable Comments from the group included:

** It was great to see that many of the rooms have been changed from last year.
** The clowns really creeped me out!
** I had a blast hamming it up with the actors.
** That trick floor really freaked me out!
** Loved the grave yard & waterfall.
** Just when I thought we reached the end there was another room!
** One word...Vortex!
** the quick witted 15ft tall Frankenstein eloquently singing America the Beautiful stole the show!

Rather than to leave you wondering why Terror on Rural Street didn't receive a perfect score the following comments were made:

** Caught up to the group in front of us and then got caught by the group behind us.

** felt rushed as the group behind us frequently entered the room before the actors in our room were finished.

** Often times heard what was going on in the adjacent rooms.

** I was stuck in the back of my group of 6 the entire time and missed what was going on in a few of the rooms. I was particularly bummed to have missed the scare at the grave yard scene.

** was a little confused about when we should proceed to the next room as the actors continued to perform and did not provide any indication that they were trying to scare us away.

Signage / Visibility / Location


You can't miss this place as it's right off the main drag in downtown Hartford. Flashing signs point the way. Great location. An abundance of well lit parking and a warm place to hang out while you wait. The court yard between the waiting area and the entrance really set the tone nicely!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


By far the best line entertainment around. A 15ft tall Frankenstein with a quick wit and an opera style singing voice....are you kidding me??? A heated waiting area with concessions is also a bonus.

Actors' Performance


We had a lot of fun interacting with the performers. Some may have been a bit young or inexperienced which may explain the pacing issues indicated in the comments above.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A nice variety of sets and some pretty descent special effects. For those of you traditionally checkout a few different haunts every year you'll appreciate a few of the rooms which showcase some creative concepts. Compared to other haunts, many of the rooms here were relatively quite spacious....a nice perk for those who don't particularly enjoy being squeezed into a room when your grouped with complete strangers.

Length


Not the longest haunt I've been too but at 16 minutes I felt as if I got my money's worth.

Crowd Control


There wasn't much of a crowd when I attended but there were several law enforcement officers present so I'm sure nothing would get out of control if there was one.

Most Memorable Moment


By far the 15ft singing Frankenstein in the parking lot...not that there weren't any memorable moments in the haunt. I'll leave those for you to discover.

Summary

As always, this haunt did a solid job of entertaining everyone in our group. A great venue along with a nice variety of sets, creative ideas and descent special effects make this the minivan of haunted houses. It may not have all the bells and whistles to knock everyone's socks off but it will definitely satisfy your thirst for a ghoulishly good time.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by runningscared after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Finding this event was not problem, thanks to the great directions given on the there web site. When we arrived to buy tickets we were fortunate to save $1.00 off each ticket because we brought a nonperishable food item. Great Idea!!! We moved into the waiting area to wait for our numbers to be called, I was a little unsure because there were not very many people waiting to go into the house. Don't know why, and I hopped it was not because the house was not as good as years past. The waiting area was warm and I did buy a delicious,warm pretzel from the concessions stand. While waiting in line to enter the house we were met by Grandpa Munster. He looked extremely authentic! After reading the rules the door opened and we were on our way. The old lady's costume in the first room was impressive, but I wish she had more to say. She simply pointed us into the next area of the house. We made our way onto the elevator and the door closed. I won't tell you everything that happened but I must say I really believed that we were going down. As we made our way through the house we were met with many scares and surprises. Just a few of my favorite areas were the talking deer head, the waterfall, and the spinning tunnel. I also liked the the ramp with the netting. Great scare in there.

Summary

All and all it was an exceptional house. From the lighting and sound to most of the monsters. If you are looking for a great haunted house this year I highly recommend you go to this one now before everyone finds out how good it is and you have to wait in long lines . I did not go to the other 2 houses in that area but it would be hard for me to believe they could top this one.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Once again Terror on Rural Street has proven to be one of the best haunts in the area!!! I have loved this haunt for years and they keep outdoing themselves every year.

Right from the beginning they get you good and scared. Elevator much? Most of the actors that we encountered were really playing their parts - and the make-up is pretty incredible!

There were (I think) 17 different rooms to experience within this haunt - that's a LOT! It took quite some time to get through the whole thing and I enjoyed every part of it. It always goes well when you have boys with you who scream more than you do. That's a good sign that they've done a great job.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find - right off of the main street in Hartford. Signs point you in the right direction.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We had a very short wait, not many people out this early in the month... and when it's only 35 degrees outside. They had a few actors out there scaring the patrons - one certain "Joker" got my friend pretty good. Kudos to that actor (and several others I'll mention below).

Actors' Performance


Overall, the vast majority of the actors did an excellent job of staying in character - which is quite the feat since most of my group were screaming like little girls and then laughing at each other for it. My favorite actors that I remember the most were: mausoleum, torture chamber, clowns (damn clowns ALWAYS get me), oh there's so many - I can't name them all. But great job to all of them. They did a great job of keeping you in the room, also. Instead of just running straight through - they go for the maximum scare level by keeping you in their rooms as long as possible. It's great. And also - spiders = creepy.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The attention to detail in this house is absolutely incredible year after year - this year I was not let down. Although many of you will be running for your lives far before you get the chance, you really should take the time to look around each and every room in this haunt and take in your surroundings. There is so much to see and the details that they put into every room are amazing.

There is a lot different this year from last year. So if you have gone in the past and don't want to go again because you fear it will be the same... fear not. Or rather, fear... but not for that reason. You'll get scared in whole new ways this time!

Air guns, pounding on walls and floors, strobe lights, dizzying paint patterns, and other props keep you on your toes and continue to disorient and terrorize you throughout this whole haunt. And most importantly, actors come at you from all sides and scare you even when you can't imagine anything is coming... be ready!

Length


It lasted quite a long time - maybe 25-30 minutes (I forgot to check my watch). Considering the amount of space they have to work with, keeping you in the haunt for that long seems incredible. It's great.

Crowd Control


There was one time when we ran into the group in front of us... we held ourselves up for a little bit so they could get ahead of us... then the actor down the way started saying in a super creepy voice, "Why are you so scared? Why are you hiding? Come down and see me down here?" It was great. Crowd control AND in character - love it.

Most Memorable Moment


All I'll say is this - keep your eyes peeled at the end. =) Can't ruin it for you, though.

Summary

Overall, one of my favorites and I would very highly recommend to anyone - even those who don't scare easily. You'll really enjoy this!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by jennjenn after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

We went last night and absolutely loved it. Everything about this haunt was just great. What I liked:

* Short wait: We got there after 9pm and still got in before 10pm. Plus, the waiting area is indoors with seating, so it's pretty comfortable.

* Awesome sets/rooms: Everything looked incredible. The costumes and rooms were really cool looking, with great props and effects. I still can't get over the spinning room and waterfall! Incredible!

* Great staff! You could totally tell that the staff was having fun, and wanted you to have fun. The best staff I've seen so far. Really great job guys, thank you!

* Fun, but still scary: Great mix of classic scares and fun stuff too. I screamed and laughed so much my throat hurt by the time we left!

Summary

Awesome haunt, totally worth the drive and price. I'll definitely be back next year (so I hope they mix it up a bit). Highly recommended!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Terror on Rural Street was amazing again this year. This is one of the haunts I always go to every year and I just enjoy it every time. From the beginning, you don't know what's coming around the next corner or who or what is going pop out right in front of you.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find, its right off the main road in Hartford and has a sign on the corner to turn.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They do a very good job at entertaining you during your wait, there's an actor waiting for you before you buy the tickets as well as a few lurking around in the wait area.

Actors' Performance


Terror on Rural Street always has good actors. They stayed in character very well and were always in spots you would never have guessed they were in.

Length


We got there early so the wait wasn't very long if any at all. The haunt itself took about 25-30 minutes to walk through the entire thing.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment was when we were leaving. The actor that was working the wait area had a thing for the friend I was with, and actually followed her all the way back to the car. It was definitely a sight to see with her looking back the whole way out of the parking lot to see if he was still coming for her. But she made it out alive!

Summary

Overall, one of my favorite haunts to go to. They are always adding new scenes every year and creating new surprises. I would recommend this haunt to anyone over the age of 14 who loves a good scare!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by bonjovibabe14 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Glad to see that they changed all the rooms from past years. Nothing is worse then walking into a room and remembering it from the past three years you have been there.

Summary

No wait, and warm sitting area is super nice.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 21st, 2020 8:38 p.m. CDT 11.29