ad-header-top

2010 Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

9 total reviews. Showing 8 of 9 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by HalloweenKing after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Fun creative haunt always changing. Fun rooms crowd spacing was good

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


Looking for the mecca of haunted houses? Look no further than the Hartford/Slinger/Hubertus area for 3 of the states scariest attractions! As they are just a few minute car ride apart, avid haunt fanatics are certain to be foaming at the mouth at the opportunity to frequent these three ghoulish gems.



Arguably the best venue of the 3 is Hartford's Terror on Rural Street. Located right off of Hwy 60 it's very easy to find. The parking lot is well lit and offers a plentiful supply of spots. The waiting area is heated and indoors and offers a wide selection of treats and beverages as well as an occasional spook or two to heighten your anticipation of the terror that's to come.



...and then there's the haunt.



I've attended this haunt with the same group of friends for a number of years now. Traditionally this haunt has been one of our favorites...and this year was no exception. A few of the scares were eerily similar to last year but there are also a few new scares to keep the avid fan of this venue sufficiently satisfied.



The fun and scare ratings indicated on this review reflect the collective feedback I received from everyone in my group.



Favorable Comments from the group included:


** I had a blast interacting with the actors.

** I think that corpse splattered real blood on me!

** played peek-a-boo with a hole in the wall...got the crap scared out of me in return!

** Great attention to detail with the costumes and set design.

** Just when I thought we reached the end there was another room!

** Liked the Vortex...loved the laser room!


Rather than to leave you wondering why Terror on Rural Street didn't receive a perfect score the following comments were made:



** a couple dark hallways had uneven floors...nearly tripped a few times and I'm sure the person behind me would have fell right on top of me.

** too many dark hallways for my taste...not really comfortable with a complete stranger bumping into me from behind.

** Caught up to the group in front of us.

** felt rushed as the group behind us entered the room before the actors in our room were finished.

** I was stuck in the back of my group of 6 the entire time and missed what was going on in a few of the rooms.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Right off the main drag (Hwy 60) in downtown Hartford. Looking for the flashing sign to point you to the parking lot. Great location. An abundance of well lit parking and a warm place to hang out while you wait. The court yard between the waiting area and the entrance really set the tone nicely!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


A couple 15ft tall ghouls provide entertainment for those choosing to wait outside. A heated waiting area with concessions is also a bonus.

Actors' Performance


We had a lot of fun interacting with the performers. Some may have been a bit young or inexperienced which may explain the pacing issues indicated in the comments above.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A nice variety of sets and some pretty descent special effects. For those of you who traditionally checkout a few different haunts every year you'll appreciate a few of the rooms which showcase some creative concepts. Compared to other haunts, a few of the rooms here were relatively quite spacious....a nice perk for those who don't particularly enjoy being squeezed into a room when your grouped with complete strangers.

Length


Not the longest haunt I've toured but at 18 minutes I felt as if I got my money's worth.

Crowd Control


There wasn't much of a crowd when I attended but there were several law enforcement officers present so I'm sure nothing would get out of control if there was one.

Most Memorable Moment


The laser room/hallway. As I was stuck in the back of the group I'm not sure if there was anything in this room to scare you....but the special effect here was sensational.

Summary

As always, this haunt did a solid job of entertaining everyone in our group. A fantastic venue along with a nice variety of sets, creative ideas and solid special effects make this the best haunted venue of the area. It may not have all the bells and whistles to knock everyone's socks off but it will definitely satisfy your thirst for a ghoulishly good time.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by owlie after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The last time I went through Terror on Rural was probably about 5 or 6 years ago, and they have definitely improved a lot! The lighting effects were great, especially the vortex and the green laser hallway. The actors for the most part were great, with only one or two that seemed new. The asylum/jail room was especially frightening, and the car (you'll have to see!) made me scream and jump.

Summary

Fun to see if you don't mind driving!

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


I attended with two other people to get different perspectives on Terror on Rural this year.



Both of them raved about the actor's make up and the large and elaborate sets.



On the trip through Terror, you will pass through a prison lock up, witness an electrocution and observe an operation on a patient with very active arteries.



There is a crematorium to pass through as well as an area featuring hanging, wet meats.



There are some nice sensory effects this year with a tunnel filled with changing patterns of light and another hall with walls that will close in on you backed by strobe lighting.



Depending on how easy you scare, you may not find Terror particularly chilling, but at the very least there are some nice scenes to explore and staff that want to startle you.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Terror on Rural is just outside of the downtown area of Hartford with lit signage to locate the house.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The house has a covered waiting area with benches and a snack bar. There are ample portable toilet facilities.

Actors' Performance


Everyone working at Terror when we visited gave good performances and seemed to care about creating a startle. Special remark goes out to the nurse who showed us her Facebook page and shared a few other jokes before encouraging us all to get flu shots.

Also, the "prisoners" in the jail cells gave particularly enthusiastic performances.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


As was mentioned, the people in my group were very impressed with the make up on the actors at Terror on Rural, and I have to agree. The make up artists are to be complimented.

The sets were lit well enough to appreciate the detail.

On our visit, we found ourselves stopped in an area with a dropping floor effect for several minutes. Apparently, staff were trying to regulate traffic through the house, but the dropping effect got old after about 10 occurrences.

As per usual, the sets were impressive and detailed.

Length


It took approximately 20-25 minutes to walk through the house.

Crowd Control


Visitors are routed through the house in an efficient manner. Ticket numbers are called in groupings and once inside the waiting area of the house, staff will assemble you in lines and share a few jokes with you.

Most Memorable Moment


All in my party agreed the most memorable moment of our visit was the walk through a tunnel featuring changing patterns of green lighting on the wall with a few actors waiting along the display.

Summary

Terror on Rural is always worth a stop. The staff routinely give invested performances. None of us found the attraction particularly scary this year. There are a few startles, but we tended to notice where people were hiding and some of the scenes are kind of predictable. Despite those issues, Terror is still a recommended visit and the effort that staff put forward to produce the house is apparent.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review


I have to say that this is the first time that I have visited this haunted house even though that I had great things about this haunt since I was 16. I am happy to say that those excited murmurings proved true.



The event started off slow. I had to wait for my number to be called and then have the rules of the house explained to me by a mad doctor but after that the fun began! The entrance was perfect. A creepy door, slowly opening and fog pouring out. This opening, in one word, was creepy.



The attention to detail and entertainment value only continued. The scares began only seconds after I set foot in the haunt. These guys know how to scare. They used extreme darkness and strobes well. When you expected a scare because of the set-up they didn't scare you. When you passed that point that is when they got you. I loved it. They really had the art of the haunted house down to a science.



I have to be honest, at the beginning I was nervous when I heard this haunt had inventive animatronics. I have often found when haunts start collecting animatronics they start relying WAY too much on the technology and not enough on living and breathing actors. Terror on Rural, however, knew what to do with this technology. They used it to help the actors do what they need to do. This was great to see.



I will touch more on this later but right now I have to say that you can tell that the men and women that run this haunt put their all into making it highly entertaining. The scenes and effects were amazing. They were some of the best that I have seen in a long time.



One of the most interesting aspects of this haunt is that it forced those within the 4 or 5 person group (even if they were strangers) to come together and hold on to each other to get to the next area. Why? This house had some VERY dark areas. We are talking you-cannot-see-your-hand-in-front-of-your-face dark. So get ready to get close to whoever. That may be the only way to get through without running into a wall.



Quite simply this place was great. Just entertainment value alone makes this event well worth visiting. Terror on Rural Street had no lack of scares, no lack of effects, and no lack of fun.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Easy navigation AND easy to find makes this haunt fast and easy to get to. The haunt did a great job in putting signs where they were visible.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


It appears that this haunt does a great job in moving people through the house. I arrived at 8:30PM, not long after the event had started, and I only had to wait about 6 minutes before my number was called and I was admitted into the house. The waiting area had a concession stand available and had stilt walkers in costume outside for entertainment. All in all a pleasant area while waiting to enter the house.

Actors' Performance


One word...Excellent. I have been in the haunted house industry for over 6 years and I have always stood by that actors are what make or break a haunt. The actors at Terror on Rural Street constantly stayed in character, even if you attempted to have a casual conversation with the spook. The actors were definitely on their toes. Exceptional work on their part.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and scenes were detailed and fitted the theme. Many sets were interactive where I was squirted with "blood" from an operating table to where I had to push my way through body parts hanging on a rotating and bloody wheel. This really made me feel part of the experience.



The props were also great. The haunt did a great job of making the room look like it is supposed to look. The "operating room" did not just have a table and medical instruments. This haunt's room had everything that you would expect to find in a mad doctor's lab. The effort to pull the person into the scene is obvious and I really enjoyed that effort.



Finally the FX. I won't ruin what you will find in the house but what I will say is that I saw some amazing FX that I have never seen before. The FX were definitely a new way of distorting your concentration and focus. Everything you need to make a good scare. So go and check it out. I think you will be impressed too!

Length


Not including the miniscule wait the whole house took about 35 minutes to get through (and I have to admit I was walking pretty quickly...to the dismay of the two girls behind me). I will add, however, that this haunt did such a good job at distorting your senses and messing with your mind that it felt as if you had been in the house much much longer.

Crowd Control


There was no crowd to control when I arrived but the event had this problem under control (I am sure) with two Washington County deputies being on site and monitoring those that were coming and going.

Most Memorable Moment


I really do not like this part because I do not like giving scares away to those that are heading to the event so this is all I will say...there is no crosswalk to speak of, so watch out for the car. :p

Summary

This haunt had something for everyone. If you do not jump at least once during this haunt there is something wrong with you. Great scenes, great actors, and great fun, this haunt is definitely a 5 out of 5.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by daveman after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We went to the Terror on Rural Haunted house in Hartford because it was recommended by friends that went last year.From the heated waiting area to the fast lines it started out great. Then we entered and let me tell you scary isn't the word. The dark hallways lead you into different themed rooms. My wife was totally freaked out when a crazy girl in a shock room called her mommy, then said help me. Also the room that had Hanibal Lector in it was freaky scary for my kids as well. I will probably go again this year !!

Summary

A definite 9.5 out of 10

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review


I enjoyed this haunt a lot and would attend again. Once I got there, I walked right up to the ticket booth with no waiting and went into the heated waiting area, where I enjoyed a really hot and tasty apple cider. Once my number was called I was called to enter and then we were placed on lines and the workers went over the rules of the haunt. The interior of the haunt was very dark, let me tell you one more time, it was very dark, I must have walked into about ten dead ends or walls trying to find my way around. There were props but not tons. This haunt is all about the actors and trying to disorientate you. The haunt took a total of about 20 minutes. When it was over we were greeted by Michael Myers, who followed me out to my car.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The directions that they give are very easy to follow and once in town you will see signs.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They have a great system. You go to the ticket booth and get your tickets and then you can go into a nice heated building where you can enjoy several types of refreshments, I recommend the hot apple cider, and I want to emphasize the hot. There are also actors walking around to creep the guests and get them in the mood.

Actors' Performance


The actors at Terror on Rural Street are funny and terrifying. They stick to their parts and work the guests great.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


There could have been a little bit more props but the stuff they had was good. There were lots of really disorientating lights and a room that spun around to make you real dizzy.

Length


This haunt is about 20 minutes long but it is an exciting 20 minutes.

Crowd Control


Very good, I really saw a lot of security and they were very helpful and offered assistance to anyone nearby.

Most Memorable Moment


I really like terrain changes, having to walk up or down a steep incline or having to duck under and walk down a hallway. At Terror on Rural Street I had plenty of opportunities to experience terrain changes and tactile areas.

Summary

Overall a fun and enjoyable haunt and I would recommend it for ages 13 and up.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Terror on Rural Street has always been one of my favorite haunts to go to. Right from the beginning they bring out the scares and the fun. As you are creeping around the completely dark hallways you just never know what to expect to be lurking around. From all around you, you hear whispers and someone breathing down your neck. They have different scenes set up bringing out everyones worst fears. Their scenes are also interactive making you a real part of the scene.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is located right off the main highway. There are signs telling you directly where to turn. Very easy to locate.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is inside of a heated building which is always nice. Inside they have concessions set up with food and drinks that you can buy.

Actors' Performance


The actors did a very good job at this haunt. They stayed in character the entire time and were right on target with their scares.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes in this one were very well put together. There was this one room that I just loved. It left you feeling like you were walking into another world. Loved the lights! The actors costumes were amazing. There was a lot of details involved that I would never think of including.

Length


It took about 25 minutes to walk through.

Crowd Control


Terror on Rural Street did a very good job with line control. They make sure to space everyone out so you don't end up running into another group as you are going through.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment would have to be walking out of the vortex. There was a small step that I somehow missed and scared me. All I could say to my friend that went with me was something about yellow tape. You kind of had to be there for that one haha.

Summary

Overall, I enjoyed this haunt. I would recommend it to anyone over the age of 13. It is very fun and very creepy.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020)

by luvhauntedhouses after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have been to a lot of Haunted Houses and this one has to be one of my favorites so far. My husband and I live about an hour and a half away. Very creative. Since I have been to so many, I really don't get that scared anymore. But this one scared the crap out of me. From the floors that dropped, to out of nowhere little scary suprises. Great job! I will be sure to make a trip again next year!

Summary

At the top of lists for a must see.

View all Terror on Rural Street (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 26th, 2020 3:06 p.m. CDT 11.30