2008 A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

10 total reviews. Showing 6 of 10 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by stibb22 after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I really liked the haunted house. It was exciting and kept me on my toes. the actors were very nice and i enjoyed every minute of it. The 3D was AMAZING! I had a lot of fun and i am already excited for next year!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by bandicoot047 after attending on Friday, October 24, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Interactive actors made this well worth the admission fee. The effects were great, with black light rooms, 3D paint, and other unique props. The actors kept us on our toes, but found a way to creep up on us anyway. It was fun, with frights from beginning to end, I would recommend it to my friends.

Summary

Although the line was long, a movie and actors kept us entertained. The tour took us through many different rooms, providing a scary situation for anybody. 3D paint is an effect I've never seen in a terror trail before.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by vampira08 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is the best haunt i have seen in years and i have been to several each year! The sets were phenomenal the wait (which was about a half an hour) seemed to fly by thanks to all the 'monsters'that play in the barn and the coffin ride! There are all different kind of scares and you can tell the actors love what they are doing.

Summary

We went through both sides (the clown haunt in blacklight is MORE than worth the five bucks) I almost peed my pants when the cahinsaw man chased us. KUDOS to the peekaboo clown the dot room guy and the zombie nurses!

I'm probably going to go back through this weekend!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my favorite of all haunts that I have attended so far.  This is definately a great attraction  and it is made by its actors.  They are wonderful.  The props and frights are way cool too.  From frightening to funny at the drop of a hat.  Good gore, Better props, and even better actors.  There was a  line probably about 45 min but they do offer a speedpass that lets you get right in quickly.  This haunt is extremely interactive so make sure you are ready to get involved with the actors.  Very unique stylizing and completely different than last year-which was great too.  

Signage / Visibility / Location


Easy to find with directions.  Once near the expo center you can find it right away.  There are lights and a huge sign saying that the haunt is located there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Approximately 45 minutes when I went but it can get quite long so I would maybe suggest the $10 extra speedpass if it is chilly outside.

Actors' Performance


WONDERFUL!  I cannot say enough about the people at this haunt.  They are true actors and masters of their craft.  Not one misses a beat and they are all funny and scary.  

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Very cool-they had a very special new one that looked like a guy screaming to get out of a "Saw" like contraption and then his head was smooshed to smitherines, not for the weak stomach.

Length


Approximately 30 minutes for both attractions.

Crowd Control


Good crowd control-the lines are set up in a barn and there are cool scenes for you to look at  while you wait.

Most Memorable Moment


Definately the squished head machine-pretty realistic and awesome gore.  Also a shout out to the wonderful hillbilly that escorted me into the haunt-nicest backwoods creep I ever met!

Summary

You must go, go now, you know you want to.  Well worth it.  It is reasonably priced and you will be blown away by the actors.  Every year I have gone I have not been disappointed once.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by pud27 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

A Theater of Lost Souls, or ATOLS, boasts being one of the scariest haunted houses in the state. While I did not see the scariest haunt, I definitely saw the quality that is appreciated throughout the haunt world. Split into two seperate haunts, ATOLS starts off with a twisted walk through a sanitarium. Multiple patients warn you that you do not belong there, you'll catch what they have. Each room brings you to another crazy experiment taking place. While the overall scare factor wasn't the highest there was enough gore to make the faint of heart a little squeamish. Keep an eye out for the room with the strobe lights-you'll know it when you see it.

In the second attraction, A theater of the Absurd, you meet some crazy clowns, all in a 3-d setting. You'll also meet some crazy aliens, who have a pretty cool effect in their hands that is definitely worth checking out. In my opinion this was the better of the two haunts.
Unfortunately the only way to partake in this haunt is to go through both of them.

Signage / Visibility / Location


There is a little bit of signage off the main roads that direct you back to the fairgrounds that the haunt is located on. They do not have lights on them, so they are a little hard to see. The location is pretty good, it's out on the edge of town at the fairgrounds, so it's rather dark which adds to the feel.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait is in a barn, which is nice in case of inclement weather. There was a screen playing some video clips.

Actors' Performance


The actors were good. They stayed in character and seemed to enjoy what they were doing. They did a good job of playing their scenes up. The actors in the strobe room were freaky, thats all I can say on that.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were great, they definitely put time into it. THe props and scenes were all along the lines of a sanitarium, and I would not want to be a patient at it. While a hospital type feel is not out of the ordinary they did a good job of taking an often used theme and making it their own.

Length


The length of the main attraction was about 10 minutes, Theater of the Absurd about 5 minutes. It was a lot shorter than i would have expected, and there were some spots where they stopped us for a while

Crowd Control


We did not catch up to another group and nobody caught up to us. They did a real good job of keeping us seperated, and they let us go ourselves as a group of two. through the first part.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable part of the night was probably the clown who yelled at everyone in the Theater of the Absurd.

Summary

Overall I would have to say this was a good haunt. They really pride themselves on their experience and it show through in most spots. WHile not as scary as I expected, and a little shorter than I had hoped it was a well run haunt.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by pintslayer1 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Top notch haunt. If you're scared of clowns or the dark, this is the house for you.

Guy with the shovel, you rock!!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by xxaimeexx after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This haunted house was very fun. If you go, I suggest going through both haunts because I liked the second one a lot better. You should go with a group of your friends to make it more fun. I'm a major wimp. Last year I practically chickened out, but this year I went and I didn't think it was very scary. It was more fun. So remember to go first!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by jnz after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location
The haunt in general would be hard to find had I not known the area. There is very little signage and everything is dark. The only way you will see the entrance is when you drive the entrance the hearse is parked out near the entrance. I think a little lighting and a few more signs would go a long way with this one.
Wait Area / Line Entertainment
Waiting area is quiet large and indoors in the horse stables. There was no line, only one group in front of us. Outside the waiting area there were refreshments which are always a plus.
Actors' Performance
I think that since there was no real crowd the actors performance was lacking as at one point in the haunt an actor was trying to set us up for his scare and said “uhh… just go ahead” and then the machine went off as we were already walking away.
Sets Scenes / Props / FX
Scenes throughout the haunted house were in general all the same which was depressing as every room for the most part included a doctor with some sort of body.
Length
The haunt took about 10-15 minutes to get through which is relatively fast compared to others in the area, which could partially be part to the limited people at the time.
Crowd Control
There was no crowd so I cannot comment on this, but the house does use a wristband system, which is followed by a wait through the line. Groups of six are the maximum at a time.
Most Memorable Moment
After entering there is a balloon like walk through which takes advantage of those whom are claustrophobic. On the flip side it’s got to be similar to child birth.

Summary

Summary
I would say the haunt is definitely not worth the $13 for the first part, nor the $18 to get the second smaller add on. I would recommend this haunt to people under the age of 14 as I feel the scare factor is very low on this one.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A Theater of Lost Souls is definitely one of the better haunts in Wisconsin. They have you scared the moment you walk into the door, from the wait area to the transitions between the houses to the exit. They also added on a new addition this year, A Theater of the Absurb. Its all under blacklight and 3D.

Signage / Visibility / Location


This haunt was kind of hard to find. There wasn't much signage until you actually turned onto hwy Y, but then it was right there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area was in a huge barn. There were a couple line entertainment actors, as well as, photo props to take memorable halloween pictures with. They also offer the burial simulator ride while you wait!!!

Actors' Performance


The Actor's Performance was very good!!! You would have really thought some of them were lost souls! Everyone was right on target with their scares. The only thing I would change is less direction from the actors as to where to go.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The Theater of the Absurb had excellent props and scenes. The walls of each room were awesome and very well done. The Theater of Lost Souls also had excellent props and sets. Right from the beginning your amazed with it.

Length


I would say it took about 30 minutes to walk through both houses!

Crowd Control


The crowd was very well controlled, and there wasn't much of a wait time.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment would be one of the first scenes. I haven't seen this prop at too many haunts and its definitely an added bonus. It is definitely not for people who are claustrophic!!!

Summary

I would recommend this haunt to anyone over the age of 15.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 3, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A Theater of Lost Souls brought the fear again this year! This Haunt is known for its "in your face" scares. They used a Lot of my favorite classic scares such as the chainsaw, and added A LOT more new stuff. You will see some of the creepy "phobia" props this year. Everyone in my group agreed that "Theater of the Absurb" was an awesome addition. Its not quite like your typical blacklight haunt, there are many twists like a disturbing "scene" that seemed so real! You really have to be careful because you never know where the ghouls may come from! The only thing I could ask for is more, more, more ... there was never a dull moment from start to finish! The whole haunt was approximately 20min, which is a little longer than average for a haunt. On a final note, parents please be careful when brining childern under 16! Our group ran into two people ahead of us, because the little girl was so afraid.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Getting to the haunt was a little scary for us as we missed County Rd Y. There is not much for signs until you reach the fairgrounds. There is a hearse at the entrance with a strobe light waiting to welcome you.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait wasn't long, but we arrived early. Unlike previous years there were a lot of ghouls to entertain you ... even the woman at the concession stand was creeepy! The also have an awesome coffin ride that displays the victims face on a tv for everyone to see. Get you picture taken at one of their two photo ops, its only $3 and well worth the memories!

Actors' Performance


From start to finish the actors remained professional.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


There are a lot of added scenes and props! Some phobia props, and the well set up man in a chair? I don't know how to explain it better with out giving it away. At one point we swore we felt drops of blood on our heads?! Not sure if that was our imagination or not!

Length


The total length was approximately 20 min. Not bad because there was rarely any "dead time".

Crowd Control


They do a good job of crowd control, with the exception of those factors out of their control. (the little girl who thought she was going to throw up).

Most Memorable Moment


Right in the very beginning watching 2 of my friends start panicking when they heard the chainsaw!!

Summary

In summary I would recommend this haunt to anyone ages 16 and up who like in your face scares ... I wouldn't reccomend this haunt to anyone on a first date.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004

July 21st, 2024 8:42 a.m. CDT 24.08