2009 A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

7 total reviews. Showing 4 of 7 on this page (3 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

A Theater of Lost Souls was a haunt that I always liked in the past but this year I was a little disappointed. They added new additions to the haunt which I liked. I started off on their hayride, which was different for me. I think they did a pretty good job on this. It wasn't very scary but it was fun. The story teller could have seemed a little more enthusiastic about his role but the story behind it was good.



The house itself was put together very well. You start off walking into what I want to call a horse stable. The actors definitely did a good job in there and it was very creepy. There were different noises coming from all over the place and you never knew what was going to jump right in front of you. As you walk through the rest of the haunt there wasn't any scene that was dead. However, because my group got paired with another lets say obnoxious group I didn't get to enjoy it as much as I have in the past.



After the house, we went through their new clown based one. This was very cool but I felt needed a few more actors.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt was kind of hard to find. It is right off the highway but if you aren't looking closely you'll miss the sign to where to turn.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is in a barn type building. It had a few actors roaming around as well as a projector playing, however, I couldn't see what was on it because the line forms right in front of it. They also offer the Last Ride simulator for you to do while waiting.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes were very well set up. They set it so you never knew what was coming at you around the next corner.

Length


Hayride was about 15 minutes long. The house itself took about 20-25 minutes and the clown one was about 10 minutes.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memborable moment was when my friend fell over on the hayride because one of the actors along the hayride scared her.

Summary

Overall, this was more of a fun haunt than a scary haunt. I would recommend this to anyone 10+.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 16, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

It was a dark and cold night...REALLY cold. Fortunately for me I had a warm car to step out of and to warm back up in. As this haunt is contained within the unheated barns of the fair grounds it appears as if the actors did not enjoy a similar luxury. Perhaps I caught this haunt at a bad time? I checked out The Theater of Lost Souls and Theater of the Absurd...but due to the temps I declined the invitation to partake in the hayride.



The Theater of the Absurd was very entertaining! I kind of got the impression that it's billed to be a side show to the Lost Souls haunt but I really enjoyed the unique concept of an attraction that was completely in 3D. The clown was very energetic and interactive. As we were the only group touring at the time we received quite a bit of attention. Not sure if this is typical as there appeared to be just a few actors in the Absurd attraction but we definitely enjoyed it! (Fun Factor = 4 / Scare Factor = 1)



The Theater of Lost Souls had its moments but appeared to lack the energy and enthusiasm to provide for a good scare or a fun interactive experience with a ghoul by way of a riveting performance. Perhaps the cold temps and sparse crowds of the Friday evening played a role in this? I really enjoyed the voodoo room and the acting performance in this room was absolutely superb! (Loved the accent!) The "Two Dogs" room has a lot of potential. The actor did a good job of heightening your anticipation prior to entering the room but the absence of a surprise once in the room made for an anti-climatic experience. A little bit of darkness combined with a sudden flash of light/sound could do wonders for the scare factor of this room. (Fun Factor = 2 / Scare Factor = 3)


Signage / Visibility / Location


Fortunately I looked at the map on this website ahead of time. There were no visible signs along Jackson Street and only a hand painted black and white sign on County Rd Y. Very easy to miss if you're not looking closely.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Come dressed for the weather. The wait line and haunt are all unheated but at least protected from the elements. A very motivated costumed actor provided entertainment while you walked from your car, purchased your tickets and while you waited in line.

Actors' Performance


There were a few stellar acting performances. The Voodoo room actress and the Clown hosting the Theater of the Absurd were outstanding. Many of the others appeared to be in need of a little red bull....or hot chocolate.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets in the Theater of the Absurd were outstanding. I can only imagine how much time and energy went into creating these scenes. The Theater of Lost Souls had some great props but the sets and supporting FX often times limited the scare opportunities for them.

Length


It took our group 16 minutes to complete the Theater of Lost Souls and 12 minutes to complete the Theater of the Absurd.

Crowd Control


Appeared to be a slow night so there were only a couple of other groups present besides ours.

Most Memorable Moment


The clown hosting the Theater of the Absurd...no shortage of energy! The Theater of the Absurd was a VERY pleasant surprise after checking out the Theater of Lost Souls.

While touring the Theater of Lost Souls someone in our group jokingly asked one of the actors if she was cold. Her reply: "I'm dead...how could be I be cold?" Very funny! :)

Summary

If you're looking for a unique and fun Halloween experience checkout the Theater of the Absurd. Adults will enjoy it and kids will certainly love it!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by charmed (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

In previous years ATOLS has been really highly ranked in my book, with big marks in fun and in screams.



Perhaps it was the time we arrived (about 1/2 hour after opening), or the group we were put with (which contained a young child). As an experienced haunt-goer, I understand these both can be contributing factors to the overall experience of a haunt, so I am going to chalk it up to one of those two reasons.



When we arrived, there was no one in line for the haunted hayride, a new addition to ATOLS in 2009. We were directed to the spot marked with a sign as the waiting line. We spent a few minutes before the first actor, the Farm Boy, came to chat and entertain (and sniff!) us. We spent a total of 10 minutes waiting to see if we could add to our group. The wagon waiting for us had no hay at all, so it was actually a hay-less hayride. After a while, 3 other people joined our group and our tour guide told the driver to head out.



As we took the 15 minute ride around the grounds of the Expo center, we learned the history of the santitarium from our guide. Unfortunately, our guide seemed completely bored. Our ride was totally uneventful as there appeared only to be two actors during the entire ride.



After the ride, we pulled up and saw another wagon, this one full of hay and people, so perhaps we were just unlucky enough to be on the wrong ride. I will also note that the weather was rather chilly, in the low 40's, which may also have been a contributing factor to the lack of outdoor actors.



The waiting line for the first haunt was non-existent, which meant we were grouped with the other 3 people on our hayride, which still included the young child. Now, either the actors were aware of the young child and really toned down the scare factor, or ATOLS just wasn't as scary this year.



There was a lot of pushing us to go faster through the maze, so we felt completely rushed, but there was very little scaring going on. They had some cool new props and effects, LOVED the "puppies", and a lot of recognizable props from previous years.



What that portion of the haunt lacked, was made up for in fun by the 3D/blacklight clown part of ATOLS. A definite favorite of mine last year, I rushed to the front of the line, hoping for some scare-redemption. I was not disappointed. From beginning to end, the 3D clown experience was great, though I still feel it lacked multiple actors. The one actor I saw spent his time solely on scaring me. But, he did a GREAT job of surprising me AND making it fun.



Overall, to say I was disappointed by ATOLS is too harsh. I think they have a lot of potential and I give them props for trying the hayride this year. I certainly think there is potential for that portion of the experience to be successful. There were definitely some good actors, committed to their characters, (LOVED THE VOODOO WOMAN!) but perhaps staffed a little more lightly than they could have been.



This experience is about what I would expect if it was opening night. Just a few kinks to work out, but the scare potential is there!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Since I'm familiar with the area, we had no problems. However, if I wasn't, the only signage I saw was at the actual Expo center itself, nothing to guide you there from Jackson St.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We were entertained a little while we waited for the hayride, but otherwise we had no wait.

Actors' Performance


Several really good actors. The hayride guide was the only actor I felt just didn't want to be there.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Some really cool sets and scenes, though with the lighting, many were tough to make out. Several familiar effects from previous years, and some new ones.

Length


Overall, about an hour, including wait time.

Crowd Control


Wasn't necessary during our time, though I'm sure they would have resources, if necessary.

Most Memorable Moment


The 3D/clown experience. It made up for the rest of the event.

Summary

Overall, a sad review to have to give, but they could bring this back up to the fun and fear of previous years. In fact, I'm planning on going back next weekend to give it another try!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by Haunt_Master_Terri after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

It pains me to have to give a haunted house a poor rating, but my reviews are always realistic and honest. I would recommend this haunt to no one except those with very young children.

Hay Ride: You sit on a bale of hay and ride around the grounds and parking lot. No props, no animatronics. Just a guide who you can hardly understand because he has no microphone and is only facing you 1/3 of the time. Out of the 15-20 minute ride around the grounds/parking lot I only saw two actors. One barely made a boo appearance and the other seemed confused (and neither were scary). The hay ride was the worst I have been on. It was not haunted. IT WAS JUST A HAY RIDE.

Theater of Lost Souls: Mediocre in all aspects. Special effects and actors did not stand out at all. I was barked at to keep moving and to hurry up by actors... then not even 1/3 of the way through I ran into the group ahead of me. Ten seconds later the group behind me ran into me... after that it was just a "fun" time of watching the group ahead of me get scared and hearing screams come from behind me. The actors did a halfhearted job at breaking the groups up, but everyone kept running into each other making it not very fun. Also the timing of some of the animatronics was off. I heard things going off behind me after I had already passed it. The thing that bothered me the most besides poor crowd control was that there was not enough actors operating the haunt. I'm sure if there were more it would have helped crowd control immensely. I saw actors who were recycled (they'd run ahead and pop out to scare you in another part of the house). The final blow was that many actors didn't seem that enthusiastic or in character. Some were young children and teenagers who tend to not be that scary compared to adult actors.

Theatre of the Absurd: This was much better than the theater of lost souls. Crowd control was top notch here. They only send your group in and had it spaced perfectly. The painting and 3-d glasses created a mind-altering effect. It looked very 3-d! Again, there were hardly any actors in this house. The painting made up for it, but adding props and actors would have gave this attraction a higher rating.

Summary

They have a lot of land and space to work with at this attraction. However, it appears they do not have much of a budget allotted for actors and props. With the prices they charge to visit all three attractions, it would seem there would be more to see and do here. I think this will be the biggest disappointment of the season for me after all of the hype I read online and in some of the past reviews. I'm surprised there are not more bad reviews after seeing the looks of shocked disappointment (that's it?) after the "haunted" hayride especially. More actors and better crowd control would greatly improve the fun and fear ratings.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by malroni2625 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

From the moment I pulled up to the haunt I could tell I was in for a scary night. I bought the tripple 20 dollar package and let me tell you, it was worth it! I am pretty sure I peed my pants during all three sections of this haunted house. I didnt know if i wanted to waste the money on the hayride but after it was done, i knew it was money well spent. All in ALl this is the BEST haunted house ive been to in many years! They had exactly what I was looking for, fun wise and scary wise!

Summary

I would have to give this haunted house a 5 for both because of how well it was put together. Wonderful job a theater of lost souls!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review


A Theater of Lost Souls has always been the black horse of the haunt industry. There is so much potential for A Theater of Lost Souls to be one of the best Haunt attractions in WI and perhaps in the Midwest. This year they have certainly expanded and tapped into some of that potential. The haunt began with a "guided" hay ride explaining the history of the fair grounds. What many people may not understand is that the story is actually true! In 1915 there was a Sanatorium for people who had tuberculosis. People who went to the Sanatorium either had money and could be treated or they had no money and had to suffer and die. While the Sanatorium is gone there are still a few remains. The energy of the spirits that still linger there can be felt while on the Hay Ride (you just have to ignore the giggling children seated next to you). The tour guide did an excellent job of explaining the what occurred in this area. I would have preferred more special effects on the hay ride and maybe a few more actors. Maybe a can of WD40 and the lighter? I know it is so difficult to keep things safe AND scary. They hay ride was a perfect bone chilling, thought provoking start to the Theater of Lost Souls.



We went late, but it appeared that they kept everyone waiting in cattle pens. The Theater of Lost Souls had the perfect combination of old school scares and new fears. The Animatronics were superb, you could not decipher it the body tortured body was human or not. The power of Christ that compells one even got me in the head (I took that message seriously). If you have a fear of spiders ... stay out! The Theater of the Absurd is the best 3d haunt I have been too (and I have been to them all over the US). The painting was so creatively done that you felt as if you should be submitted to an asylum. I even had to take my glasses off at one point in time because I was thought I had lost the ground beneath me. The young lady made us go round and round and half of the group disappeared. There is no better ending to a haunt than that loud roaring sound of a chainsaw ... call it cliche, but it works! I haven't been to many haunts so far this season, but I have a feeling that A Theater of Lost Souls may become a favorite. They have grown so much just in the 3 years that I have been attending. They listen and keep the good scares and get rid of the boring ones. They are very innovative and I can not wait to see NEXT YEAR. (oh and crazy country boy, good luck with your surgery)!



A SIDE NOTE
Want to see all the detail that goes into a haunt? Too afraid to go to a haunted house? Have young children? Want to support a good cause?
On OCT 10th A Theater or Lost Souls is having a "lights on" haunt from 2p - 4:30p. It is only $3, and the proceeds go to help the children's hospital. See their website for more information.

Signage / Visibility / Location


There is a Large Billboard when heading South on US 41. If you miss that, its exit 124 on Jackson st. heading West. About half a mile up you will see the entrance to the haunted house along with signs and lights.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We arrived late so we missed out on some of the in line action. It appears that they lock groups inside of cattle pens while waiting. There are plenty of ghouls wandering around. There is also plenty of snacks ranging from carmel apples to hot dogs. I recommend the warm pretzels and cheese. There is also a great photo opportunity with several creepy murals ... keep an eye on the threads if you want to see what our ghoulish picture looks like!

Actors' Performance


The actors were phenomenal. I was concerned because we arrived so late that the actors would be tired and bored, but just the opposite as if the evening brings out their madness. The tour guide did a phenomenal job, we loved the crazy clown, and of course our country boy buddy. I also enjoyed the crazy young lady going round and round! Not a single actor was out of character.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I can not say enough about the animatronics! They didn't seem fake like most haunted houses, it was grueling. Typically I don't like a lot of animatronics, but A Theater of Lost Souls literally "hit the nail on the head". It was a great balance of old traditional scares and new innovative ones.

Length


The Theater of Lost Souls and The Theater of the Absurd lasted about 28 minutes. The hay ride was about 20 minutes (give or take 5).

Crowd Control


There were a couple points in The Theater of Lost Souls which we started catching up to the group ahead of us, but we just slowed down or a ghoul would block us from exiting.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable moment is when our dear friend from Poland (who has never been to a haunted house before) experienced her first chainsaw scare! There is just something about the sound of a chainsaw coming at you that is priceless.

Summary

If I could I would give A Theater of Lost Souls a 4+ ... just because a 5 would be perfection!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by nite raven after attending on Friday, October 2, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

main haunt was pretty good but save your money on the hayride.

Summary

The hayride sucked ....storyline,monsters,the whole thing. The main house was pretty good though and the 3d house was better then expected. I don't care for 3d houses so since i did get startled a few times i was impressed.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004

July 21st, 2024 7:33 a.m. CDT 24.08