ad-header-a
ad-header-b

2009 Hartford Jaycees Haunted House Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

9 total reviews. Showing 3 of 9 on this page (6 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by bigefan after attending on Saturday, October 31, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

First off, for a handfull of kids and preeteen girls this was probably an ok haunt. For anyone else.....there were some suprises but for the most part you could see everything coming from a mile away....swamp thing????? My son...(9 years old) thought it was pretty cool but this was only his second one. The property is really great, the house, barn and woods all have great potential and it appears there are some dedicated people who can really put this haunt over the top with a little more work. Here are my suggestions;

1. Get some scary charectors greeeting people coming and going through the wooded area on their way in and out of the park. I could see someone like Mike Myers or Jason coming out by your car as you drive in or out of the park.

2. Get a lot better at transitioning people from one area to the next. The scenes were pretty decent but all too often we stood around wondering if we were supposed to move on to the next room or not. The guys in the kitchen were great but they wondering how to move us along too.

3. Lose the air bag things...not scary...annoying.

4. The mechanical things are ok for a startle but they stayed out long enough for you to get a long look at them and realize how fake and lame they were.

5. Do something with the staging area. Once you leave the barn and end up in the tent, you almost lose the mood as it isnt in theme anymore.

Summary

Ok haunt with great potential.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by CC2 after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I attend this event regularly and this year's version was a successful production.

It's appreciated that the producers take care to try to diversify the rooms within the house year to year. I did not sense a lot of repeat from previous years.

This event features one of the better wait areas as they have one seperate theater area where they run scary movies while visitors wait for their ticket number to be called. When I visited, an unedited version of "Saw II" was on screen.

The Jaycee's home also has one of the better appointed concession stands featuring a diverse array of Halloween themed candy options along with packaged cotton candy, hot dogs and popcorn.

There is a significant security presence at the event as well as several police officers.

There are four portable toilets outside of the main waiting area and a tent with benches where the groups are formed for entry into the attraction. If it is windy, it can get quite cool in the tent.

Your journey begins with a walk through a torch lit forest path. When I attended the forest itself was lightly staffed, but that was acceptable considering cold temperatures and rain.

Ordinarily, several staff lurk amongst the shadows waiting to spring on the visitors.

This year's version of the woods now features a small, covered bridge guarded by an actor who will impede your passage.

Next, you negotiate your way through the inside of a large tank, however, at one point you have to crawl, which isn't pleasant when people tromping through a wet woods have preceded you. That would best be elimiated in the future.

You then procede up the stairs to the house where you knock and are let inside the attraction.

The actors inside the Jaycee's House frequently have scripted narratives prior to the initiation of the scares. Actor's performances were strong and costuming and make up were effective, as well.

In addition to the actor's performances, the experience in the house is enhanced with the usage of various pop up, mechanized startles.

One of the annoyances of this year's haunt is a small area with a clown in a box featuring booming horn noises that are too loud for the small area this scare is conducted in.

Otherwise, the event gives a solid performance.

Summary

The Jaycees Haunted House is a recommended haunt. Great care is put into this production and it features one of the more elaborately detailed, prop heavy attractions I've seen. It pays to look around in the rooms throughout the house as a lot of attention to detail has been employed here.

Fear factors are moderate to high with a heavy reliance on pop out scares, but this is certainly a worthwhile event to attend and an enjoyable experience.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by zackistheman after attending on Friday, October 16, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I attended this haunted house in 2007, and it was a lot better at that time. I got scared a lot of times in this haunted house, but there was one thing that i didn't like: the length. If this haunted house got longer, it would be one of the best. For only 12 dollars, I got a good amount of scares.

Summary

It was worth the 12 dollars. The props were fabulous in the haunted house. So, I would have to say it was worth it.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by msiscool28 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

i just came from here i thought it was great, the only problem i had was that maybe they could cut the group size down to 5 not 7 then everyone could get a chance to see everything. the staff and ghouls were great and helped out when needed.

Summary

great costumes
could use shorter groups

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by runningscared after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

First I think the wording of the sign to find the place was a bit confusing. Not sure I was at the right place. The Hunted woods idea is good but it is not much fun when it is raining and cold out. Don't think the actors in the house were top notch. Did not get scared very much. They need a little work on how to scare people. The sound was okay but seemed to be a little loud at times. I was look forward to the room were you get squeezed. Not as much fun as I thought. I been to better event with the same squeezing Idea but it seemed to work better. I think with a little work it could work for them too. Costumes were very good. I will give them that. The whole event took about 20 minutes that was not bad only wish there was more to keep me interested.

Summary

If you are going to come all the way up to that area to see a haunted event I would suggest you try a different one. You may be sorry if you don't Thats just my opinion.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by mindfreak885 after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

so we walked thru this really short path thru a bunch of trees and people just randomly jumped out screaming....not scary....then we had to knock on a door and this dude in makeup let us in and i think he was a vampire and was rambling about some vamipre stuff. had to squeeze thru these air filled things on the wall.bunch of loud noises and that was the only "scary" factor. a waste of 12 bucks

Summary

cool decorations inside, but overall just lame.this was my first haunted house and it was just pathetic. great for little kids though. i dont know who would rate this high on anything.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by Haunt Hunter after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Excellent haunt. I didn't think they could top last year but I was wrong. It seems like they added more rooms in the old 3 story farm house. You start off walking through the torch lite woods and then across the bridge. Many special effects. I was never sure which direction to go. The whole house is one big maze. Actually let just your group go through; didn't make groups of 8 or 10 go through. So with smaller groups you can experience each room. Took over 20 minutes to go through.

Summary

If you are only going to one house in Washington County..this is the one. You won't be disappointed. A couple places you must crawl through, not good for some who has a fear of tight spaces with their air tube mazes. There will be plenty of times they will startle you and lots of things jumping out at you.

You can buy your ticket and return. House is 3 levels and packed with special effects. Really fun... Might be worth buying to go to again!

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by katie_kiesow13 after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

I have gone to this haunt for the last few years and this was the first time I was truly disappointed. The best part of the haunt, honestly, is the walk through the forest on your way INTO the house... it's before anything really even starts.

The location of this haunt is perfect - creepy forest in the middle of nowhere, low lighting, old house. It's great. I just wish that the theme (or lack-there-of in this case) of the haunt and actors could have kept up with the great set-up. I was turned off immediately when one actor was on a smoke break right on the steps into the house. If this was actually planned by the house, to have an actor outside trying to scare people - bad idea.

Most of the scares from this haunt come from animatronic props rather than real actors. And the real actors they do have rely on jumping out and hoping to scare you rather than actually interacting with you. Some of the other actors I encountered had a hard time staying in character - I'll let one slide since the reason he broke character was because I kept inadvertantly grabbing him in the pitch black thinking it was just a wall with fabric and I was trying to find my way out of the room.

Another thing that I seriously disliked was the use of mechanized doors to let you out of the room. I understand the need - it is used to keep you in the room as long as possible for maximum scaring ability... however, there was little scare and I was just getting irritated that I kept having to wait to get let out. Along the same lines, with most of the house in serious darkness, I kept running in to things and couldn't ever find my way out the proper way. Too many heavy doors that opened the wrong way and too few open doorways.

Lastly, I understand completely that haunted houses are all about loud music, loud noises, and all around loudness to disorient. But WOW! This house was loud. The sound effects in most of the house had my boyfriend and I putting our hands over our ears because it hurt so badly! Ouchie!

Summary

I was disappointed this year, unfortunately. For those of you out there who can scare quite easily with animatronic monsters coming at you, then by all means, go enjoy this haunt. For those of us who require a more psychologically advanced thriller, I'd pass this one by this year.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by HocusPocus after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt totally rocks! I attended the 3 Hartford area haunted houses along with 11 of my friends and this one was the unanimous favorite. 4 of us also attended 3 in Milwaukee last weekend and this one topped the list of all six!

What rocks about this haunt is the following:

** Length: it took 19 minutes for our tour group of 6 to complete the haunted adventure. (this is nearly twice as long as the Milwaukee haunts!)

** Venue: A haunted forest complete with a terrifying tunnel of torment prelude your adventure through a 3 story house. The journey through the house takes you from a 3rd story balcony all the way to the bowels of the basement.

** Sets / Scenes / Props / FX: Both the haunted forest and house are crammed packed with props and special effects. If you have an eye for detail you'll be blown away with the elaborate decorations found throughout this haunt. ...in fact, the venue is almost packed full of props and sets to a fault as some of the rooms become a bit cramped with 6 adult bodies in the room. The house features several secret passages, trap doors, live actors, animated mannequins, holographic images and even a vortex.

** Actors' Performance: I wouldn't go so far as to say every acting performs blew my socks off but I'd certainly nominate the actor performing in the dining room for an Academy Award....definitely the best actor I've seen this year. Honorable mention also go to the clown and actor welcoming you to the house.

** Sound: Not once was I distracted by the sounds coming from an adjacent room during our tour. Given how many rooms are packed into this house that fact just blows my mind. All rooms appear to be well insulated and equipped with a more than adequate sound system to make you feel as if your group has been totally isolated from the outside world.

Summary

If you go to just one Haunted House this year make it the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House! (...which is in Slinger...) Compared to the other haunts in the area, the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House was the unanimous choice of everyone in our group of 12. Sets are elaborately designed and will entertain even those with the most discerning eyes. The length of the haunted tour and the number and variety of sets allow you to maximize your entertainment value.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




June 15th, 2019 3:29 p.m. CDT 1.7.5