ad-header-top

2008 Hartford Jaycees Haunted House Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

8 total reviews. Showing 1 of 8 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by katie_kiesow13 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

What a great haunt!! We got there about 9 on a Friday night, so we had a wait a really long time - a little over an hour I think. Also, while we were waiting to go in... the power went out, on the whole premises, so that made the wait even longer. However, I'm just glad I wasn't in the house when it happened! It's $12 per person, which I think is a little overpriced, but that's about standard this year.

There were definitely a lot of positives about this haunt... though there are some downfalls as well. I love that you walk through haunted woods to get into the house, it really sets the mood. Walking through the tank at the beginning didn't make a whole lot of sense to me, though. A number of the rooms use animatronic monsters which is never as good as real actors, but the actors that we did see were pretty good. This haunt has probably the most unique vortex I've ever seen and I really enjoyed that. Be ready to crawl! This isn't only a walk-through haunt, you have to crawl, kneel, squirm and fight your way through the house at times. But it makes it all more interesting. They have some different hallway techniques which was cool, but I didn't like all the sheets in the way... if you're claustrophobic, beware!

Summary

Overall, definitely one of the better haunts in the area to visit. Be prepared to wait a pretty long time especially later on the weekends.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by sjetman_5 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This Haunted House was one of my favorites. I really like the fact that to get to the house you had to go through the haunted woods and then climb the stairs to get inside. The actors were awesome and the scences were great, they had a variety of scences to go through. I don't want to go into any detail, that would give it away for the person who wants to visit this haunt. I had gone to this years ago when they were in a different location and it wasn't so good then, it is great now the old farm house and the setting really is cool.

Summary

Excellent was really impressed and would definatley visit this in future. They were somewhat organized in making sure you got in, in a timely fashion.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by soapstar after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

There are signs for the haunted house, but we passed it at first because they are not very visible. Because we got there at 7 and it was raining, we only had to wait 15 minutes.

The haunted words at the start of the haunt was by far the best part for me. The woods are scary to begin with, so adding quite a few actors really added to the spookiness.

Once inside the house, I have to admit that I was a little disappointed. I am usually scared of everything, but I think I screamed only once. There were not a lot of actors in the house. Instead there were animatronics that I could see before they "popped out." Since I was not scared, I was able to look around at all of the different props and scenes. They were very well constructed and added a lot to the house. I just wish there would have been more actors to interact with us. As previous reviewers mentioned, there was an unpleasant smell and a lot of cloth/clothes hanging down that you had to walk through. I also agree that some of the actors were only there to show you which way to go. It seemed like we were in the house for quite some time, so I was happy with the length of the haunt.

Summary

Overall, I would say that my expectations were not met. The props and haunted woods were very good, but they were not able to make up for the lack of actors. I walked away wishing I had gotten a better scare.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by JJrakman after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The first thing you notice when you arrive at the place, is an immense crowd wating in line. We had to wait roughly 3 hours behind 300 people to get in. Luckily they sell hot dogs, and soda hot chocolate and a variety of other things, along with playing a move (ghostbusters this time) on the wall inside of a barn to help the wait move along. They state that they'll stay open until the last person comes in, so I wish I had waitied until 11 to go in, since by that time the crowd had severly diminished.

The house itself once you get in is okay. First you go though a backyard trail, where there is an assortment of ghoulsih figures dressed in cotume. but all they really do is growl at you as you walk by, and aren't used to their full effect.

Once you enter the house you are greeted by a variety of actors much better than those on the outside trail. However, the bulk of the interior of the haunted house is filled with animatronics, which aren't as scary as a good actor.

There's lots of getting on your knees and crawling through small spaces, so some aspects of it are more like a labrynthine fun house.

Alot of the scenery was really good though, and alot of great props.

While it's alot of fun to go through, the wait may not have been worth it, and it could use more actors and less animatronics.

Summary

Long wait, okay rewards.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by scare_girl19 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

This haunt was not easily visable from the road, but with following signs we eventually made it there. There was adequate parking. The waiting area was in the basement of what appeared to be a barn. It was cold and cramped. We were waiting for about an hour before our numbers were called even though there didn't appear to be large amounts of people waiting. When our numbers were finally called we went and waited in a tent outside (again cold). The rules were said but not clearly stated or posted. When it was finally time for our group to go in, we were given vauge directions on where to go.

We were sent off into a forest which was dark and spooky. There were many good unpredictable scares in the woods, but there were also many actors standing around. We were then instructed to go through a tank. We couldn't figure out how to get in until we saw the duct-tape arrow pointing us to crawl.

Once we were through the tank we were to knock on the door three times and wait for an answer. We knocked at least ten times and were waiting out in the cold for an answer, which finally came after about three minutes. When we were finally let into the house it was hot, humid, and smelly. The rooms were small and cramped and there were many sheets hanging in the way of walking. There may have had good effects, but it was hard to see because sheets and fabric was always in the way. The house was full of loud, obnoxious noises and there were strobes in almost every room. It became predictable. There were very few actors in the house, and I heard 3 of them talk. The rest of them were just there to lead you through the next door. If you are at all claustrophobic, or even if you're not, you may have major problems in the house. The house seemed to go on forever and with few actors and misplaced effects (animatronics were used in nearly every room and they were poorly timed and placed) it became annoying. When we exited the house (out of a smelly cellar) there were about 7 monsters standing outside. We were ready for them to chase us to our cars (like the previous haunt we were at) or maybe even just give us a little scare. Instead, many of them were standing against the house and were in circles talking amongst themselves.

Summary

The forest was a good touch, but by the end of the house I was hot, annoyed and just wanted to get out. The entrance fee of $12 was steep and honestly it wasn't worth the money or the wait.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by stats_geek after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Just when you don't think a house can get any better, this one does. The trail is excellent - better than previous years. The props combined with actors make the whole trail and house an adventure. Our group was on their toes from the beginning to the end - not knowing what to expect anywhere.

Also it was nice to have a place to sit while waiting and there was a movie playing on a big screen to entertain us while we waited. Good concessions too.

Summary

If you want a good scare, this is the place to be! Any wait time you have is well worth it.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by shorty4014 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I had such a blast at this haunted house. I've worked for a haunted attraction for 6 years, and I was really quite blown away. The actors, for the most part, were very good. There were a few actors that gave the tired unproductive "stare-down."

You start on an outdoor trail that leads you into a house. A few actors here to set the mood and get you ready for the nightmare to come. The hallways were narrow so it kept you guessing for the next room you are going to enter. This really kept you guessing. Each room had so much going on, so you never knew where the scare was going to come from.

Such a great attraction and by getting there around 8pm we only had to wait about a half an hour.

Summary

Great attraction and well worth the $12 entrance fee. I'm from Milwaukee, and it is definitely a great alternative to driving out to Splatter Haus if mileage is standing in the way of a great fright!

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by suep after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I really enjoyed this Haunted House more than I thought I would. There were many new and special effects and there was no downtime through out. There were many real actors hopping out all over. I liked the stroll first through the little wooded area. It was really scarry. It was also longer than expected. The only warning would be for anyone who could not crawl on their knees, there were 2 spots where this was necessary. Although I'm somewhat senior I was able to do this and it made it more interesting but just something to know. I'm sure most people who go to these are much younger.

Summary

I really wanted to go through again to see the things I missed the first time but everyone in our group agreed that this was one of the best for scenes and scares that we've been to and we've been to alot.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




October 16th, 2019 3:19 p.m. CDT 1.27