ad-header-top

2005 Hartford Jaycees Haunted House Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

12 total reviews. Showing 5 of 12 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by corn lord after attending on Saturday, October 29, 2005 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easily Located. Two signs were posted out in front.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area was alright. There was two rooms that filled with people and was heated. There was a concession stand and strolling monsters around the house.

Most Unique

Most unique was the talking deer head. It cracked funny jokes and laughed at us when we got scared.

Actors' Performance

The acting was great. Some were funny and the others were just plain scary. The wax musuem was scary when this zombie came out of no where and attacked me. And after that! There was another zombie at the end of the hall way that I thought was fake came to life.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

I only vistited 3 houses this year and JAycee's was far the best. Oh and didnt Milwaukee Journal sentinel give it 5 chain saws?

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by starstring after attending on Thursday, October 27, 2005 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find. Just following the winding road to the end.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No entertainment, waiting area in barn holds about 150 people. Seats in the barn go to who ever can get them. Many more had to wait outside, so wear winter jackets, hats & gloves. Hey it's fall in Wisconsin it could be in the low 40's. They were taking group sizes of 30 to 50 people a time at aproximately 20 min intervals. The numbering system was fine, keeps line jumpers at bay. Hot Chocolate, Hot Cider & Cappacino in good size cups was available for 0.75 to help keep you warm too.

Most Unique

Walk in the Haunted Woods, the Tank & it was neat going into an actual house.

Actors' Performance

Varied, see comments.

Appropriate For

I took my 8 year old - He loved it!

Summary

I went to my first Haunted House when I was 10 years old. It is one that is still ingrained in my memory as the best I have ever went to. Probably hyped in part by the evening (a full, huge and blood red moon was rising as we were waiting in line to get in), the circumstances (my grandfather had just died & it was my first funeral) and the particular Haunted House took us almost two hours to get through (I mean the house itself not the wait in line.) It was also a Jaycee's.

Now thirty years later, with my own kids in tow and as a regular part of our Halloween celebration we visit a haunt or two and this was one of the best so far. This is only my second time going to a Jaycee's Haunted House. I have noticed two types of Haunted Houses. One were you hustle from room to room taking in the barrage of scares and trying to get away from them as quickly as possible. The other like the Jaycee's as you enter a room and are made to wait while a tale or skit is relayed before moving on to the next scare. Personally I prefer this type of Haunted House. It allows me to take in all the wonderful work and decoration that goes into making these events. Rather than a quick glance as I get pushed along for one scare to the next I'm able to soak it all in.

I would say there are two distinct types of horror, one, the gothic variety i.e. Ghosts, Goblins, Ghouls, Witches, Vampires, Werewolves, Mad Scientists, Frankenstein's monster and so on. The other a more modern horror, full of serial killers, surreal nightmarish monsters, demons, twisted clowns and sinister hillbillies, playing more on our fear of mortality (especially post 9/11 terrorists) than our fear of evil, the sinister and the freakish.

This Haunt was full of the modern kind of monsters, a fact I lament (I guess either all the gothic monsters are extinct, off on a long holiday or at some other haunt) but no matter, this was a thrilling attraction. This is not to say it was too gory or over the top with slasher types, just that I would have liked a mix of the gothic and modern. Especially would like to have seen a witch or two boiling up some mischief in the woods. Or perhaps meet a werewolf lingering on the wooded trail as we made our way to the house. They were notoriously absent, although we met with plenty of other scares which had us running out of the woods and into to deeper terror. I have to agree with others here the tank leading into the house was way cool. I also really liked the first & second rooms that you enter in the house. The actors there did a great job & it was one of the more creative mixes of story and effects, in the other rooms I did notice less story and more effects, scary no doubt but it doesn't etch itself into memory as well as a good story. Also a high five to the actor who stood waiting to be seen in front of my wife while she cowered in the corner with her hood over her face. Overall it was a fun & outstanding haunt and I recommend it.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by evil13guy after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage on the highway was visable but not very specific.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

a few "roaming" actors that did little to scare and more to annoy. Waiting/Ticket area is too small and poorly organized to handle a crowd of any size.

Most Unique

Walk in the woods. Set up a mood prior to entering the house. The setting is also good, old house, old shed...just looks a bit creepy from the start.

Actors' Performance

A few actors were good and enhanced their scare, others were too busy "putzing" around or too "burnt out" to deliver more than the overused "get out", "help me" or growling.(tip: NOT SCARY..just annoying) Not the performance we expected based on the reviews.

Appropriate For

preteens to young 20"s

Summary

We had high expectations for this event based on the reviews. What we found was a staff overwhelmed and unable to deal with the crowd at every turn and a rediculous wait time for the crowd size. The Haunt itself was OK but like many events we have seen this year they seemd to borrow from other haunts with ideas we have seen done better at the original events in past years. The scare factor was diminished by poor timing and actors that used the basic lines "get out" and "help me" too often. This event was better than past years but still not on the level of some of our favorite haunts in Wisconsin. For an event that was rated well this year, we expected better.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by drulie06 after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We were able to find it relatively easily from the line of cars headed there. The signs, from what I did see, were visible.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was a small indoor waiting area but the majority of the people had to stand outside. At one point, the line for the tickets ended up in the line for concessions because they both went out the same door. No one was buying tickets even though the line was around the block.

Most Unique

Had to be the talking deer head who would converse with you while you waited inside the house. Isnt it deer hunting season soon?

Actors' Performance

Some of them were really into it, others looked like they were just passing the time. A lot of rooms with people talking to the visitors.

Appropriate For

12 and up, geared (I felt) to a younger crowd

Summary

Personally, I didnt think it was worth the 3 hours we waited. There were a couple of scary in-your-face moments but not many. The rooms were really cramped and it was often difficult to get the group in them. I felt the younger crowd would have gotten more of a kick out of it.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by stormy7777 after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2005 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signs are on Hwy 60. It's easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Small waiting area in the barn, otherwise dress warm as you will be spending your waiting time outside.

Most Unique

The walk through the woods.

Actors' Performance

Actors performed well.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

This haunted house is 90% skits. There are very few real actors, mostly 1 per room where the skit takes place. This house was entertaining, but far from scary.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by snskrebs after attending on Friday, October 7, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

same location as last year- always thought they had good signage well lit etc.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

nicely done, heated, concessions etc. Monstears alwasy roaming around that add to the feel while waiting.

Most Unique

The woods are always good, and the additions this year excellent since there were more monsters in the woods this time. The tank you go through before entering the house was scarier than heck and a excellent addition. The first room -all i will say is aliens- very nice touch.

Actors' Performance

As always excellent- lots of monsters, good acting, great skits.

Appropriate For

13 and up

Summary

The kids skatboarding around in the parking lot was very annoying and dangerous since they almost got hit twice while we were waiting. As always keep up the good work and keep scaring us.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by Heather11 after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2005 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to get to, large lit sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Line to get tickets...after tickets are bought you are free to roam, sit or stand and wait for your ticket number to be called. I liked this a lot, instead of standing in another line!!

Most Unique

Walked through a haunted woods, then entered the house. Walked through pitch black hallways, and had to crawl to get to the next room. Effects, props and set up was really really neat. A+

Actors' Performance

Awesome costumes, face make-up, props. They didn't have to make scream to scare people.

Appropriate For

12+

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by infield23 after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2005 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Really the only signs that we were able to see for the event came within a block of the entrance, but it was still visible.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We got there at 830, and waited till 10:15 in line to just get our tickets, then waited another 2 hours before we were able to get close to get into the event. There was a concession stand that was difficult to get to but offered a wide variety of drinks and snacks, there were some benches to sit but not enough for the huge crowd that showed up that night. The waiting time was way too long for anything, it kindof ruined my mood by the time i got in.

Most Unique

The entire house was well designed, i like the rubber hands in the dark maze areas. Some of the costumes were the most unique, but overall, it's your standard haunted house nothing new I haven't seen before.

Actors' Performance

Majority of the actors kept their role really well considering it was 12:30 in the morning by the time we got in. There were a few time when the actors were talking to us but they just weren't loud enough with everything going on, so it was hard to hear everything they said.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

The walk in the woods was nice but to short, but set up going into the house really well. Once you got into the house it seemed to be more of the animatronics to scare you rather than the actors, and personally, id rather have the actors use their ability to scare rather then pushing buttons to make things jump out at you. I can't compare this one to other place, but overall I had a decent time despite the extremely long wait that seemed to be unorganized, i didnt care for their ticket calling system just didnt seem to flow correctly, but it was very busy following the review in the Journal. Parking lot was a bit small for the crowd, but the free parking always makes up for it. Maybe a heater in the waiting area, that is always a nice gesture for the people that come from far away and wait for a long time.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by klaunie after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2005 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We've been there before, so it was pretty easy for us, we just remembered how to get there -- but I remember last year we almost missed the turns into Fireman's Park.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We didn't have to wait extremely long, maybe a 1/2 hour to 45 minutes. The wait area always has actors walking around who you can have fun with. And it's fairly well heated (sometimes it shot cold air out at us!)

Most Unique

The deer head... Even if it wasn't scary.

Actors' Performance

The best thing about Hartford Jaycees is that they have sooo many actors! And they are all really great at what they do!

Appropriate For

13 & Up

Summary

My favorite one of the season -- so far atleast. But I don't see how it can be beat!

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by mstcrow after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2005 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Well lit easy to find.lots of room to Park on Pavement.However drive Slow the entrance is winding and the parking lot is not brightly lit.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Is in an old barn. Has heat and consessions available. Everyone was in a festive mood looking to have a scary time.Except for one lady who complained about the $10 price of admission at the ticket booth. Hey it's for charity. Wait time ~ 30min.

Most Unique

I always liked the walk through the Woods prior to the House. Really sets the mood.

Actors' Performance

Was always above average.I've been to the haunt for over Ten years as it moved around Heartford and it's always been above average.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Older Actors and the scits were well rehersed.Rooms had alot of Special Effects. Had a good scare.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by moni after attending on Friday, October 7, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Was not hard to find at all especially if you are a good highway driver and good with directions

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

wait area was good ,the accomodations included seating and snacks in a heated tent, did not wait long at all

Most Unique

the actors, the scenes,the performances ,the decor, the haunted trail

Actors' Performance

AWESOME!!!!!!! actors put on a great show and were really into playing their part

Appropriate For

13

Summary

I've been quite a few places this year so far and this was the best!!!!! this is a must do halloween event will definetly go back they put a lot of effort into this one

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by jasondbm after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2005 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Excellent. Very easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The waiting area was good. Barn with concessions. The wait wasn't long.

Most Unique

The most unique I thought was the tank that you walk through before you enter the house. I thought that was cool.

Actors' Performance

I was surprised at the performance of this years event. It was definily an improvenment from last year. Everything seemed to go very well.

Appropriate For

12 +

Summary

The general idea for this hanted house was very well orchastrated. Unexpected scares, very good costumes, and the design helped make this a great haunted house experience.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




October 16th, 2019 2:05 p.m. CDT 1.27