ad-header-top

2015 The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

15 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by wilbur74 after attending on Friday, October 30, 2015 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This haunt was a pleasant surprise. Having attended this haunt back in 2013 on a cold night, my group wasn't too excited to revisit the Haunted Barn. With a new look and feel, not to mention the concession area, we were all impressed with updates and scare factors. There were items from the previous setup that were missed, (e.g. the rigged port-john). The haunt had some flow issues at the end of the line (near the fortune teller) where we were routed down dead-ends and at one point half our our group was outside the haunt flow and behind the scene.

Summary

For the price and location to Madison this is a perfect haunt. Looking forward to see what new and existing additions the team from the Haunted Barn will cook up for next year. Welcome Back from the Dead!!!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by RonEbben after attending on Friday, October 30, 2015 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Last night I had the pleasure of going through The Haunted Barn along with my son and daughter. All three of us being former workers of the haunt from years past, we had an idea of what to expect, but they definitely took it to the next level.!!! Everything from the design, originality, top notch actors, parking lot atttendents,concessions and of course as always their hospitality was above and beyond our expectations. Highly recommend anyone who is looking for a haunt to attend should check this out. They will not disappoint !!!!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by FluffyBren after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2015 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I am so happy The Haunted Barn is back! And honestly they are better than ever. The actors were fantastic and had excellent timing - the sets were well planned and assisted in building the suspense of "what's around the next corner"! Well worth the admission price!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 16, 2015 at about 11 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

For years I’ve heard about the Haunted Barn. I always hoped that one day I would be able to take a road trip and visit this well run haunt. When the Haunted Barn went away last year, I was extremely disappointed. Another great haunt that I would never be able to attend. But earlier this year I hear that they’re back for 2015!!! I was determined that I wasn’t going to miss out on attending this year.

I have to start this review out by saying that the staff was GREAT! This was the second haunt I attended on the same night, and the first haunt ran longer than expected. When my GPS took me to the wrong place (twice), I called their number to get their correct location. When they state that they never turn someone away, THEY MEAN IT. Although we were late in arriving, they rolled out the red carpet for us. (Not knowing I was reviewing their haunt for Haunted Wisconsin) From those at the ticket booth, to the food booth, to all the actors in the haunt itself: definitely a CLASS ACT! They take pride in what they do, and they do it well. It's haunts like the Haunted Barn that do it for the love of Halloween and giving a good scare! I unfortunately didn't get any pictures of the haunt or it's actors due to not wanting to keep them any longer than needed. I hope that they continue to stay around for a long time to come, and I mean that sincerely. Thank you!

The location of the Haunted Barn is great. There’s not much around it but its also not too far out of town where you're in for a long drive. The grounds is setup very well and visually the barn is impressive when you drive up. First impressions set the stage to your experience... and my first impression, both by the staff and the look of the barn, was telling me I was in for a treat!

Considering there is limited space in the barn, they do a great job of making the most of their square footage! It seemed that every time we turned a corner there was a scare or surprise waiting for us. The bloody bride got me really good! The fortune teller was very entertaining, repeating several times that I had 'something to hide'. (If she reads this review, this is that something!) The little girl that led us to different areas was humorous and never once dropped character. Just when we thought we were done, there was one last scare that had us running! The scoreboard for those whom either wet their pants or quit the haunt half-way through is a nice touch!

I'm so very glad I was finally able to visit the Haunted Barn. One more thing off my bucket list! Here's hoping they continue to provide a quality haunt for years to come.

Signage / Visibility / Location


There's something up with both Google maps and iphone maps that kept giving us the wrong address. It's really not hard to find, just take Hwy 51 out of Stoughton. Once you're they're, you'll see it right away!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We did not have to wait... they were waiting for US! The waiting area was setup very nice, both outside the barn and right in the main entrance.

Actors' Performance


The actors and staff are really what makes the Haunted Barn a MUST ATTEND. They're not in it to make money, but I do hope they make some! They're timing was perfect, nobody dropped character, and it was literally one scare after the other.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets are a bit rustic. In my mind there are corporate haunts and there are homegrown haunts. This haunt falls under the homegrown category. It might not be as polished as the haunts with bigger budgets, but they make up for it with creativity and great acting!

Length


It took about 15 minutes to go through start to finish. I personally would rather have 15 minutes of non-stop action than a haunt that is super long but light on scares. Kudos!

Crowd Control


We did not have to deal with any crowd control, until we were bumping into each other at the end as we were running away!

Most Memorable Moment


Beetlejuice was a hoot!

Summary

In all my years of attending haunts, and there's MANY years, I was very impressed by this entire group and their haunt. They're good people! But don't let that fool you... they're going to scare the crap out of you!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by BillyBeane after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2015 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This place was fun. The actors really got into it and was really surprised that the quality of the props was good. While waiting the Beetlejuice character came and since I use a cane asked if I needed anything or I could sit and he'd come get me, that was the first time anyplace has done that. As a matter of fact the Waukesha haunt wouldn't let me go through with it 4 or 5 years ago. It wasn't the biggest but they knew how to work it so you had scares had fun and didn't run into another group all things the other Stoughton haunt could learn from them. I really enjoyed it and hope they are able to setup again next year I will definitely Italy come back if the do.

Summary

Great haunt fun with good scares and we'll operated. Definitely the best in Stoughton area.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by GobbleGobbleMonster after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I thought this place was great. I was ducking in fear. I would definitely go again. :DD

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by ProfessorPi after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2015 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Welcome back! And thank you so much! As a balloon artist and family entertainer, I recognize great care and attention to detail. My satisfaction was well exceeded. Waiting in line their is a sledge hammer wielding cyborg with costume that is out of this world. He pounded fear into many patrons, not to mention a very good Beetlejuice impersonator. Each person/character took their role to the extreme with tremendous care and desire to frighten or creep you out. I must say each person put their heart and soul into their role. Some maybe were not acting or were they??? You will have to decide. Also great detail to each area and two a-maze-ing mazes with gruesome characters. The monsters in the maze maybe helpful and may not be helpful Please stop by the fortune teller with terrific old country accent and scary how true her fortune telling skills. Another wonderful part was the location of many scares are unexpected and came from everywhere. Beware the walls, ceiling, and floors are alive! You can also dine from a nearby concession area and watch the gruesome ghouls terrify waiting patrons. I enjoyed the show with a hot dog and soda. Plus many other treats.

I came early and the wait time was 10 to 15 minutes. This seemed much shorter with the cyborg, Beetlejuice, and other gruesome ghouls un-nerving and frightening us. The walk thru was about 30 minutes.

Summary

I left wanting more, because so enjoyed my fright filled experience. Worth every penny.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by Gary Jones after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I give this place 5 stars they really do a good job. Its scary and worth the trip to see. I would go back again. They keep halloween alive.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by Hank110 after attending on Friday, October 16, 2015 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

They truly are back from the dead. What an awesome job. Pro ably the best trip I have ever had to the barn in about a decade of attending minus last year of course. They should be proud actors were on point and set work was great. JJO was there doing some broadcast with Johnny Danger and giving away some prizes. They had great on line deals that made this haunt extremely affordable. Congradulatios to the staff at the barn for a wonderful job.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by Shoemanshoe after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2015 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I appreciate how much work goes into these things, and it's sometimes difficult to make things better every year.
That said, I felt this fell a little short comparatively to the past. They wanted to keep the haunt confined to the main building only, which is fine, but took only 15 minutes to get through. Just not worth the $18 admission.
The actors were fine but missed the memo on a proper scare. Never jump out in front of the first person in a group! Always come from the sides or back, it makes the scare better and startles the whole group. Also, find something better to scream than "get out!" It gets old.
Overall, decent haunt for the size, some good props and scare zones, but overall just not worth the high admission price.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by SarahNoyes after attending on Sunday, October 11, 2015 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

One of the best haunted houses I have been to! There was person around every corner, which made it so much fun and scary. Even though it did not take the long to get through, it was worth the money because there were so many people scaring you.

Summary

Great haunted house! So glad it's back and hope it will be open for many more years!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by bsanders after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2015 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

It was a decent haunted house. Not worth $18 dollars admission. My price point would be $10. I would not go back unless it was cheaper.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by BrodyDowning after attending on Sunday, October 4, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It was amazing! Had a fun time. Missed it. Been here a few times years previous and am so glad it is back!!! Hope to be here again next year!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by izzilizzy after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2015 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A most excellent haunt! One of the best haunts I've ever been to, and I've attended and worked several. Even though these guys are scaled back size-wise from their 2013 closing year, they pack so much energy and visual stimuli into each and every scene, that you don't miss what isn't there. The actors are "on", and work well with each other and victims alike. The Fortune Teller was lovely, and I really liked the various mazes and confusing areas. This was not a haunt where I felt I was being physically mauled, physical contact is kept to a minimum, and most of it felt accidental. Recurring characters throughout the haunt provide a sense of continuity as well as confusion and disorientation. So many of the scenes were so well done, and between the amazing details and the intense acting (acting? Were they? Or was it real ...?), I found that it was difficult to leave an area simply because I felt I hadn't seen everything in it. Spacing seemed like it was well handled, so that groups didn't tend to run into each other. They did allow my husband and I to go through together alone, rather than putting us with other strangers. Great haunt, will definitely return!!

Summary

Great haunt, superior actors, amazing scenes, appropriate pricing. Welcome back, guys!!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by lobstertuxedo after attending on Sunday, September 27, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Visited on the first weekend it was open, had a ton of fun! The costumes were pretty sweet and the actors did a good job, found what freaked you out sand worked of it. Really dug the fortune teller part, she nailed it, it was kinda psychological which you don't get at a lot of haunted houses. It was kinda a longer haunt too which is cool, more bang for your buck. All in all I'd recommend visiting, it was worth the drive.

Summary

Good scare, worth the drive, would recommend

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006






November 29th, 2022 11:44 a.m. CST 15.29