ad-header-top

2012 The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

7 total reviews. Showing 6 of 7 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by beastlysyl after attending on Friday, October 26, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

So th Haunted Barn, I was trying to decide on a haunted house for me and my friends to go to and we live in whitewater so looking around, this looked like the best one that was somewhat close. Nothing but fantastic reviews and "Wiscoinsin's #1 Haunted House" and well I was a little dissapointed.
It was a really good show and worth the $13 that was the admission fee... they had concessions before hand and a few people trying to scare you which was good, but the haunt I wouldnt call the best.
It was long (which is good, probably 35-40 minutes) but the haunted forest was pretty pathetic and i shouldnt even count it, so lets just say it was about 25-30 minutes of "real" haunt. It was good, but not the Wisconsins best for Ive been to at least 3 haunts that were much scarier and much more detailed.
The zombie room was pretty amazing and definitly the best part of the show.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by FluffyBren after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Haunted Barn was awesome! They added a zombie area which was quite scary. Definitely more frights and screams this year! Beetlejuice and the Werewolf were excellent at keeping the lines entertained.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

We want change! Well you got it! The Haunted Barn, located in Stoughton, WI, brought a fresh
experience to the table this year. With new themes, new technology, and a new
path, it was definitely a switch-up from 2011. As always the crew at The
Haunted Barn are welcoming and actors are always aplenty while you wait in
line. It is never boring waiting for this attraction.

I waited for approx. 20mins to begin the haunted barn. The barn itself is well put together with a
smooth transition from scene to scene along with your pitch black corridors,
mazes, and other "traps". This year, however, one of these mazes
caused a jam when one group could not figure out how to proceed through the
maze. Inevitably this caused more and more people to group up and thus completely
ruining any pacing that was there.

Although the pacing was poor I can't hold it against the haunt because one group is not cognizant
enough to navigate a simple maze. Nonetheless be prepared to run into other
groups and as such you can always attempt to distance yourself from a group in
front of you so that the actors can have enough time and you can enjoy the full
experience of this solid attraction.

Otherwise the indoor portion, the barn, had great new scares this year and new technology in use. It really changed up the atmosphere from last year and put this attraction in line
with "corporate" haunted attractions that have hundreds of thousands
to spend on haunted houses. Most of the actors this year, as always, did a great job
using opportune moments to scare their customers. The pacing problem ,that I
already mentioned, however, took a toll on this effectiveness during my trip.

Heading outside to go through the haunted woods portion, I was again presented with a different
set-up than last year which just added to the experience. Scares in the woods
were moderate to non-existent this year but I was informed, later, that the
attraction was hit hard during my visit as the actors normally assigned to the
woods were out sick. Nonetheless the woods, as always, are a nice incorporation
into a haunted barn.

After going through the woods and going back into the barn for one last indoor scare I was presented with a completely new world this year with one room/one scare that I have never
really seen before. I will not ruin the surprise for anyone but the Haunted
Barn pulled off a really great scare and I give them 2 thumbs up for the
creation and successful application of such a scare.

Most Memorable Moment


Again my most memorable moment is something that if I told you would ruin the surprise. It is something that you got to see and experience for yourself. Please go and check it out.

Summary

All in all the Haunted Barn remains one of my top favorites and it sucks that I came to review when the business was dealing with a lack of actors due to illness. When everything is said and done, though, Haunted Barn puts on a solid performance and it’s definitely worth checking out. Make sure you dress for the weather as this IS an indoor and outdoor attraction. Don't wear any shoes that you don't mind getting dirty. Finally take the time to really appreciate the time and effort required to pull off such a strong attraction and enjoy the show.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by rottn1013 after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Beetlejuice ROCKS!!! This place again has out done it self. This was our 2nd year there. The staff was so nice and concerned for our safety since it was a rainy night. The attraction is awesome and amazing. You will be at awe on all the stuff there is to see. Expect the unexpected!! Will be back again next year!! At the end Beetlejuice and the other head guy came and shook our hands and Thanked us for coming and asked our opinions. TRUE PROFESSIONALS!!!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by AndreaR after attending on Friday, October 5, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I've gone to this for several years and it just keeps getting better. New haunts and creeps made it frightfully fun. I will definitely be back again next year!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by Dave to the Grind (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

What feels like a night drive in the middle of nowhere, leads you to a farmhouse. Your drive past the house is crossed by cats that dare you to enter. Your journey ends at the Haunted Barn, a must hit
this Halloween season.

It feels like you're trespassing until you find the parking area. A friendly staff and the smell of food cooking greet you at the ticket booth. The haunt costs $13, which is well worth it for a haunt this long.

Beetlejuice keeps you entertained while you wait to enter, which wasn't long, the night I dared to
go. The wait area is outside and offers food and refreshments to purchase while you wait. It is a fun atmosphere outside the barn.

Once taken into the haunted barn you are given a low down on the rules and sent on your way. This haunt paid attention to the details. The decorations and props were excellent. This haunt has taken great care in creating the atmosphere fitting for a spooky haunt. There were many original and very creative situations, like the man who had an issue with his outhouse. I helped him find the issue, but you'll have to find out what was for yourself. You make it through more scares and a maze that
is very confusing. Once you make your way through, you are outside for the haunted woods.

A lighted path shows you the way up a small hill to a graveyard and a couple of creepy girls hold you up or an odd conversation. The rest of the woods will have you on your toes as you head back to the barn. The thrills in the barn the second around are more intense and was our favorite part of the haunt. The actors made sure your last steps were in your face.

Overall, I really enjoyed this haunt. It lasted 20-25 minutes, which is a deal for the price. The props and decorations were great and took you into the world of a haunted barn and some many odd situations. The outdoor portion could have used a few more scares but it worked as a break before being sent back in. The actors put on a star performance, I was impressed with the child actors in this haunt. All of the actors did an excellent job of interacting with us and slowing us down when we were getting close to the group ahead. The Haunted Barn was a just the start we needed to the
Halloween season.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The Haunted Barn is easy to find with MapQuest directions. A lighted sign lets you know you've found it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Wait area is outdoor with shelter available. Food and beverages are available for sale.

Actors' Performance


Fantastic from the adults down to the children. They seemed to have a lot of child actors and they all did a great job.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The props used were all of great quality and the scenes were excellently detailed. They did a great job of taking you into a haunted barn world.

Length


The length was 20-25 minutes.

Most Memorable Moment


One of my favorite parts of the haunt was a creepy child who quietly walked up to my wife
offering her a beat up stuffed animal. When she reached for it the actor let out the greatest/loudest shrill I've heard in a haunt. We could still hear her after we went into another room of the haunt.

Summary

The Haunted Barn was a great start to the Halloween season. The location and setting gave you the feeling of trespassing on an old farm. The haunt kept that feeling going as you were taking into a world of an actual haunted barn. The props were very detailed and created a spooky atmosphere. The actors all gave a great effort to scare you as well as keep you from running into another group. The outdoor portion sandwiched in the middle was terrific in giving you another creepy experience before being sent back into the barn for more frights. So it felt like 3 haunts in one, making it a great experience and value!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by freaksjay06 after attending on Friday, September 28, 2012 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Thank you haunted barn for a truly awesome experience this year! Creativity runs rampant through this 25 to 30u min adventure. Beetlejuice was as clever as ever as he welcomed at the new entrance that was very neat looking. The actors were cleverly place throughout the barn. The thing i appreciated the most is the improvements to the haunt but more importantly the improvements to the forest. They added more actors in the cemetary and forest. Like i said the creative scares and scenery were amazing! I will say one thing waterfall!

Summary

Easy to get to u easy to park and easy to love

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006






November 29th, 2022 12:13 p.m. CST 15.29