ad-header-top

2009 House of Bathory (CLOSED) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

9 total reviews. Showing 6 of 9 on this page (3 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by Jrmass after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

I wasn't very impressed by this place. I thought that some of the young actors where poor and I heard a few of them talking to each other and not acting. I also didn't like the pole dancer. There was NOTHING scary about her. In fact I thought it was out of place. It would have been better if the dancer turned around and was goulish or something. Also, the guy that pretended to get electrocuted...that just wasn't cool.

Summary

Not impressed

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by Boo2U2 after attending on Saturday, October 31, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

OVERRATED. I was so excited to go to this house because I had heard great reviews. I drove an hour and a half to come to it I was very disappointed when it took me maybe 15 minutes to get through. They did however have some very good and very unique points. Ronald McDonald was an awesome actor. The slide was unique and so was the light affect in the room right after. There was a young child in the room with the green light (and thriller) who did a good job coming up and touching us, but everyone else in the room just kind of stood there. It would have been scary if they had approached us. The girl pole dancing was too random but I did jump in that room. The spinning vortex was awesome! The room with the mannequins was bizarre and inappropriate. The area where the guy got shocked and then the other was screaming "this isn't a part of the act", that, well, that just wasn't cool. I'm not sure the affect they were wanting from that. And the scene from Grease was ok. Chainsaws are cliche, but classic and they work.

Summary

Not worth the drive or the thirteen dollars, but there were some parts that were very unique.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by smmass after attending on Thursday, October 29, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

We attented the house of bathory on thurs oct 29 at about 8:30 pm a group of 20 of us went to get scared and to our dismay, it did not happen. We read review of haunted wisconsin and were so excited about going. We traveled about an hour to get there. We were happy there was very little wait. appox 5 minutes. I like the first room featuring the bench you sat on to listen to a greeter. I led our group of 4 and could'nt wait to be scared. There were some fun areas along with one spot that, let me say, spooked a few of us. The rooms were large and brightly lit for a haunted event. There were a lot of young kids as actors. More makeup instead of large masks would have been a bit scarier.

Summary

Overall, I was disappointed at our visit. Our expectations were so high and we feel that if there would've been more adult actors, it would have been scarier.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by charmed (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was my first experience with The House of Bathory, and it certainly will NOT be my last. I was so glad we got the chance to meet Dawn and her husband Jim, who definitely know how to make a haunt a great time. We got to learn some of the 20(!!) year history and what they've learned, they've certainly put to good use.



This is definitely not your typical haunt. It is, by far, the most unique in every way imaginable. From the layout to the effects and the props to the actors, you'll have a tough time finding anything that compares to the House of Bathory. I was also pleasantly surprised at the age range of the actors...some of the quite young, but it didn't matter the age, these actors are there to scare! It's also more hands-on than most other haunts...one sneaky actor just about got my hairclip as I was descending the stairs...I had no idea he was even there!



We were put into a group with 3 others, making a nice-sized group of 5. However, for two of the girls, it was their first-ever haunt. I think they made it through in record time...I'm confident they *ran* screaming through the entire thing, leaving the poor guy they came with, and us, trying to catch up with them.



As a note in general to haunt-goers...please remember to be courteous to the others in your group, whether you know the people or not. If you run at top-speed, the people behind you are affected significantly because you have to allow time for the actors to get back into place. Haunted houses are all about timing and in our situation, we missed a tiny bit of the action in the last 1/3rd of the house because they were so far ahead of us. It also affected our own speed through the house, where I would have LOVED to spend a couple more minutes absorbing all of the creative and amazing things Dead by Dawn Productions has put together.



But, even with that happening to us, it was still above and beyond my expectations and meets all of my personal "perfect haunt" criteria!



So, expect the unexpected at The House of Bathory...and enjoy getting the pants scared off of you!



Overall, this is my new favorite haunt. Can't wait to see what their 21st year brings!

Signage / Visibility / Location


We were led faithfully by my GPS, as I'm pretty unfamiliar with Manitowoc. But, easy to find if you can get yourself to 8th street.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There was a pretty long line by the time we got there. There is music to keep you entertained, but they actually have come up with an ingenious idea... there is a bar about a block away (The Fat Seagull) where you can have a few drinks and stay nice and warm while you wait. The bartender will let you know when it's your turn. We didn't take advantage of the option, but heard rave reviews from those who did. Great idea!!

Regardless of the wait time, it was 150% worth it!

Actors' Performance


A++++++++++'s all around. If you dare think a kid isn't going to be able to scare you...think again! We loved every moment of it, from the laughs to the screams.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Amazing, amazing, amazing. Even the stationary props were realistic enough to make you think they were moving. And, scenes like I've never seen in a haunt before!

Length


We were in there for less than 15 minutes, but in any other group, it's probably a 20 minute house.

Crowd Control


Security everywhere, plenty of staff. They did a nice job at keeping everyone in the large line contained.

Most Memorable Moment


I wouldn't dare give it away, but I'll say I left breathless and with a sore throat...from screaming!

Summary

A good haunt knows how to balance, has great timing, and has great stories behind it. Dead by Dawn does it and does it well. You will not be disappointed...go!!! I wish we had 1/2 points, as they would have gotten a 4.5 for fear. For me, it went back to the divided group in the last part of the haunt, since we were stuck behind and ended up with awkward timing.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by dirkadirka (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Dead by Dawn Productions has surprised haunt-goers for years.  The reason for that reaction is not the scares, although there are plenty of those.   Instead, it is the unique take on “traditional haunted houses” that makes House of Bathory stand apart.   It feels as though monsters actually live in the sets they inhabit rather than just visiting for the haunting season.   They also take harmless themes and spin them around with demented glee until they are either funny, scary, or both.


Signage / Visibility / Location


The haunt is located behind a costume shop on South 8th Street in downtown Manitowoc.  I stupidly forgot my directions and cursed Manitowoc’s layout and one-ways, but it shouldn’t have been that hard.  Flashing lights and music from the entrance make the location obvious once you are close.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Lines are miserable under almost any circumstances.  If you are over 21, I would highly recommend buying your ticket and relocating to the Fat Seagull down the block until your number gets called.  Otherwise you are stuck waiting on the street in the cold.  We enjoyed a cozy bar and a beer while listening to live music.  Pretty sweet.

Actors' Performance


The acting in House of Bathory was somewhat spotty.  For every amazing Ronald McDonald and Michael Jackson there were at least as many ghouls who basically stood motionless and stared at you.  This may have been partly due to the number of young children staffing the haunt on our visit. 

Unlike most other haunts, touching is allowed by the monsters.  While surprising, it is not overdone and only helps make the experience more real.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The House of Bathory has four essential haunt elements while most are happy to have one: a slide, claustrophobic room, vortex tunnel, and chainsaws.  Combine this with sets that range from funny to disturbing, or sometimes both, and it adds up to a very unique attraction.  However, some of the scenes are pretty similar to last year and it would have been nice to see more ghouls in makeup instead of masks. Several rooms could have been filled out more making it easier to understand the intended theme.

Length


It took us 15 minutes.  I wish it had been longer but I am guessing they are already squeezing the most out of the space they have.  Victims navigate through three floors and an outside scene before being released back into reality.

Crowd Control


The staff at the House of Bathory makes pacing a top priority.  Group sizes are small and spaced out with plenty of room in between.  This makes the customer experience better but also helps the actors reset and relax before another crowd comes marching through.  Many other haunted houses have great scenes and scares that miss the mark because the timing is off.  Nothing breaks the mood more than having to wait for the group in front of you to leave a room.

Most Memorable Moment


One room had me pretty worried.  My buddy said he figured it out right away, so maybe I was just too far back in the group.  It was pretty genius either way.  I’ll leave it at that.

Summary

Based on past years, the House of Bathory has set the bar high for itself.   A few minor details kept it from being an A+, but overall I thought it once again delivered a very unique and entertaining experience.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

House of Bathory is definitely an old school kind of haunt. Unlike most haunts, they don't use animated creatures to scare you. Their actors do an amazing job at scaring you and just leave you wondering what is waiting for you around the next corner. In every scene there is something that will surprise you. Being a smaller haunt, they definitely use their space very well. Every inch is covered in creepy and erie scares. They also touch you in this haunt which I love. Walking through a dark hallway and all of a sudden you feel someone touch your shoulder just sends chills throughout your entire body because you know you aren't alone and who knows what will get you.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is very easy to find. They have signs all over the windows of the store its located in.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area for this haunt is outside. There is an awning over it in case of rain. They also have music playing to listen to while you wait. They also have something new this year where you can buy your ticket and wait at the bar across the street if you are over the age of 21 and when its your turn they call the bar for you to come over.

Actors' Performance


The actors are just absolutely amazing. They know exactly what to do. They are lurking around every corner and you just never know where there will be one.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes in this haunt are very unique. This is a haunt that actually puts creativity into everything they do. There are scenes in this haunt I've never seen in any other haunt.

Length


The length of this haunt is about 20 minutes to walk through the entire thing. But every minute of it you are being scared.

Summary

Overall, this haunt is definitely the best I have ever seen. I would recommend this is anyone 16 and over.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by tennishistory6 after attending on Friday, October 16, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I absolutely LOVED this haunted house. i've been going to haunted houses for the past five years now and this was by far my favorite. I dont really know why but the fact that the actors could touch you really added to the scare factor.

Summary

My friend and I went to this haunted house Friday night. It was just us two girls that went through together and it was a TON of fun. The first room where they "stated" the rules was freakishly scary when the bench started vibrating and something came out of the wall behind us. I don't recall every single room we went through but my favorite room after that was the one with the "freezer". The monsters kept telling us to go into the freezer which turned out to be a hole in the wall which had a slide on the other side. That was probably my most favorite part because I've never seen something done like that before. :D The next room immediately following had a bunch of zombies coming towards us and then all of a sudden "Thriller" started playing. At this point I wasn't sure whether to act scared or dance along with them. Overall, I rate this haunted house very VERY high. In fact, I'm bringing my brothers and boyfriend with me there next weekend.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The House of Bathory is brilliant, twisted, and frightening! Every year Dead by Dawn finds a unique way to promote nightmares. The House of Bathory actually made me turn around in fear. The detail throughout the haunt is amazing. There no use of animatronics and there is NO "dead time". The House of Bathory makes you feel as if you are in a horror movie. They push the limits. The ONLY bad thing I have to say about this haunt is that I wish it could be longer! If I had to pick only one haunted house to go to, it would be The House of Bathory.

Signage / Visibility / Location


They are located downtown Manitowoc, right off of 8th street. Be careful there is some construction and 8th street is one way.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There is music for entertainment, but no concessions and make sure you use the bathroom before you come. You have to wait outside, but if it is raining there is a large awning to protect those waiting in line.

Actors' Performance


Actors are brilliant, they are of all different ages and they LOVE to scare. I believe the age range is 12 - 40.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were very detailed and very real it never felt "staged". This haunt will have you on your hands and knees AND on your back. They know which props scare and they use them very effectively!

Length


The haunt took us 21 minutes to go through.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was amazing, they don't force you to go with other obnoxious groups and you never have to worry about running into other groups once inside. It may mean a longer wait in line outside, but they make sure that every group that goes through gets the full experience. There are never any "unprepared" ghouls trying to run back to their hiding place before the next group comes, they are waiting for you!

Most Memorable Moment


I can't say without giving it away! They "got" me and my husband. Those of you who go through will know what I mean!

Summary

The House of Bathory IS fear! I wouldn't recommend this haunt to anyone under 13. 5+ for Fear, 4+ for fun (you don't come to this haunt for candied apples and hot cider, you come to be frightened).

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by mklady after attending on Friday, October 2, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was awesome. The actors did a great job. Special effects were way cool. Loved the room with all the zombies coming at you. We even did a little dance with them before we went to the next room. We will be back again next year.

Summary

First time there and we will be making it an annual stop. All I can say is awesome. See you next year.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007






November 29th, 2022 11:33 a.m. CST 15.29