ad-header-top

2010 House of Bathory (CLOSED) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

11 total reviews. Showing 9 of 11 on this page (2 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I first must admit that I was super excited to go to a haunt that combined two of my absolute favorite things, Alice in Wonderland and haunted houses.  I loved the terrain changes and all the crawling, sliding, and squeezing that came along with these changes.  The vortex was wonderful and you were lead into it through a room that was decorated the same with people who blended into  the walls of both.  In my opinion, these actors worked wonderfully to entertain their guests.  There were many scenes that very interesting to visit, including a room where Alice seems to grow taller and shorter right in front of your eyes!  The combination of Wonderland characters and movie serial killers including Jason Voorhees seemed a bit odd but actually worked well.  They definitely got great screams out of our group.  Overall, this is a  haunt like one you have never seen before, part play, part haunt, and all extremely eerie fun.  I highly suggest taking the trip down the rabbit hole into the House of Bathory.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The directions to House of Bathory are easy to follow and the line outside indicates that you are in the right place.  There is one storefront window that is decorated and has the name is large print.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait, we were told was about an hour and a half  from where we were in line.  The line was not too long but don't let that deceive you.  The line is both to buy tickets and to enter so only a few people are let in every 15 to 20 minutes.  This is because the haunt is extremely interactive and the most people in a group that they want, from what I saw, was a group of eight.  There was not much for line entertainment and when I arrived I was a bit confused about where to go.  So we just went to the end of the line. 

Actors' Performance


This is truly the attraction of this haunt.  The actors each portrayed either a character from  Alice in Wonderland or a famous movie killer like Freddy Krueger.  Some of the interaction is extremely funny and some is seriously spooky.  I really enjoyed the Mad Hatter and March Hare and Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dumb.  The twins dialog was spot on with the actual lines from the classic novel.  These actors seemed like a professional troupe which I do believe some are. 

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes were mostly direct out of the book with small changes to enhance the creepiness.  The costumes were excellent.  I want to give a loud shout-out for the March Hare outfit, which seemed to be fashioned in the Ralph Steadman style, i.e. the illustrator for Hunter S. Thompson.  The scenes were colorful and some were extremely detailed like the Tea Party room. I thought the terrain changes were excellent.  Also, the audio that loomed over you was both intriguing and chilling.  Make sure to pay attention to the Alice song they play.

Length


We arrived around 10:30 and were let in at 11:15 but this amount of time is not the norm.  From start to finish the haunt lasts about 25 minutes.However, it seems even longer because of the amount of interaction with the actors and the time spent in each scene.

Crowd Control


There was security there however I believe I only saw one.  He was outside of the haunt towards the beginning and would every once in a while come down the line to check for anything out of the ordinary.  There were no ropes or barricades to show where the line was suppose to be.  However, the line is just straight back from the entry of the haunt along the sidewalk.

Most Memorable Moment


For me, the most memorable moment was when I was leading the group crawling on our knees under a table and I felt something touching my head.  I disregarded it while crawling under assuming it was a table cloth.  Once my head cleared the table and I still felt something near my head.  I quickly turned my head to check out what it was and immediately screamed and jumped because Freddy Krueger was about an inch away from my face.  It was an epic fright!

Summary

Overall, this haunt is amusing, funny, creepy, and interactive.  If you enjoy great acting and love to be part of the haunt, this is the place for you.  The Alice in Wonderland theme is both wonderfully woven in and a contemporary chilling version of the original.   I loved it !  Make sure this haunt is on your list to visit.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by mcdougal13 after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is the best haunted house in Manitowoc. I talked to them afterwards and the actors said that they do it for the fun of it. My favorite part was the end, right before we got out (don't want to give anything away).

Summary

This haunt is very well built and these people put a lot of time into it. I recommend this haunt for anyone who needs a good scare.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The House Of Bathory is unlike any haunt I've ever been to.  Across the board, they stand out from all the others.  I was a little worried with the location being downtown Manitowoc.  I like my haunts in the middle of no-where, as it helps set the mood!  But what they lacked for in location, they made up for in creativity!

One of the big differences is the theme of the haunt.  It centers around Alice In Wonderland.  I never really thought of that story as spooky or even remotely scary.  That all changed after attending this haunt.  It's very interactive, making you a part of what's happening.

As we were about to enter the haunt, something happened where they said it would still be a few minutes.  As we waited, one of the employees entertained us with a baby monster puppet.  It was great!  I don't know how many times she had to put on a little show like that with the puppet, but she was great.  I was highly entertained! 

Once we were allowed inside the haunt, we were ushered into a room where we sat down at a large table.  The mad hatter was there, as well as the rabbit.  They made small talk and really took the time to set you up for a big scare that was about to happen.  This happened several times!  Tweedledee and Tweedledum also set us up for another scare.  I sure wasn't expecting it when it happened!   

One thing to note: At this attraction, they are allowed to touch you.  I can't recall the last haunt I've been to where that was allowed.  It startled me!

Another strength of this haunt is their use of sounds and music.  This was the only haunt that I attended this year that played some old school, scary music.  Loved it!  They also used several iconic monsters throughout, mixing the Alice In Wonderland story with more of the traditional monsters that we associate Halloween with.

Signage / Visibility / Location


It was pretty easy to find.  We saw the long line of people waiting to get in as well as all the hearses parked in the front.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There is a line that forms down the sidewalk.  Again, nothing scary about it.  But they did a GREAT job of entertaining while you waited.  They had a show based of the Match Game TV show that was quite funny!

Actors' Performance


These people really knew how to act!  It was very entertaining throughout the haunt, each actor played his/her part very well.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Many of the scenes and props were hand-made, and it showed in some rooms.  But this event was actor driven, with the props only playing a small part.  I'm STILL trying to figure out how they made Alice grow!

Length


We were in and out of the haunt in about a half hour.  We wanted more, but it was a good length of time and it's well worth the money.

Crowd Control


Considering how this haunt really takes the time to set you up for a scare, crowd control is very important.  We never had an issue with bumping into another group either in front of us, or behind us.  Well done!

Most Memorable Moment


Michael Myers made an appearance at this haunt, I think he must be following me!  At the end of the haunt he was following us, and then just disappeared.  Like in the movie, you KNOW that he will spring out of no-where!  I was so pre-occupied with where he was going to jump out of, that I took my focus off of what was happening in front of me...  until it was too late!  For the record, I think that was the highest I ever jumped at a haunt.   

Summary

Amazing.  I've always preferred the old school, dark haunts that scare the heck out of you.  The House Of Bathory is nothing like that.  It's unique and entertaining!  There are less scares here than a traditional haunt, but the scares you do get are BIG!  You have to attend to really appreciate it for what it is.  I hope to attend next year!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review


In my opinion, the House of Bathory is a definite must see. I first attended this haunt three years ago and have gone back every year to the point where it is now my favorite. They incorporate a lot of the old school haunt. I will warn you they do touch you in there. They are also very interactive. In every scene, they make you feel as though you are apart of it. Just by having you crawl through tight spaces or answering questions that the monsters or demons have for you.



This year they went with the Alice in Wonderland theme. They did a really great job at keeping the theme throughout the entire house. However, I wouldn't exactly call it a Wonderland. You can't even begin to imagine what is waiting for you around the next corner.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this is very easy to find. It is located right on the corner, just look for the line standing outside.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area of this haunt is located outside so with Wisconsin weather you should dress accordingly.

The line entertainment just blew me away this year. I went on a night where they have all different hearses on display. They also had a hay wagon set up with people dressed up sitting on it playing the match game from the 70s. This was by far the most creative line entertainment I have ever seen at a haunt.

Actors' Performance


The actors in this haunt blew me away. They were always in character and always knew what to say to get your heart racing. Their scripts fit in perfectly with each scene and it really made you feel like you were in a very twisted Wonderland.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and scenes were amazing. Every scene was set up very creatively and perfect. Everywhere you looked there was something. The House of Bathory definitely uses every inch of their space wisely and efficiently.

Length


I would say it took about 30 minutes to walk through the entire haunt.

Crowd Control


They do a great job at crowd control. They limit the groups to no more than 8 people which is perfect. To me, going in with a large group takes so much away from the haunt. Not once did I run into another group during the haunt. They space them out so everyone enjoys themselves in it and you aren't rushed.

Summary

Overall, this is still by far my favorite haunt. Their choices of scenes and scares are by far the best I have ever seen. I would definitely recommend this to anyone over the age of 13.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 15, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review


Creative, innovative, intimate, imaginative and startling.



This year's House of Bathory is darkly themed around the recent Alice in Wonderland movie, and its characters and sets represent that story nicely.



This is the first and only haunt I've visited this season that holds one theme throughout, and that made the trip through it very different and enjoyable.



The journey through the house takes you through multiple rooms on different floors that will bring you into direct interactions with the principle characters of Alice in Wonderland, except with startling twists and turns. They aren't quite what you saw on screen anymore.



Your trip through the House of Bathory is at a leisurely pace and staff do a good job of creating distance between tour groups so that you may not run into one another.



Visitors should be aware that some crawling and climbing throughout your tour is required.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The House of Bathory is very easy to find on 8th Street in downtown Manitowoc. Keep an eye out for the lines, and there is your entrance.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Lines form outside of the entrance. Some of the wait area is covered by an awning. Other areas are uncovered, depending on how long the line is. If there is rain or cool weather forecasted, dress accordingly.

Concessions and restroom facilities are provided at an adjacent shop.

On my visit, we did not experience any in line entertainment, but I have read that it occurs.

Actors' Performance


All of the performers at the House of Bathory gave very invested presentations. Their scripting was clever and enhanced the haunt.

In particular, I have to make mention of the Alice character that cheerily greeted us when we entered the house who giggled and skipped as she led us through the haunt.

Also remarkable were the Tweedle Dee and Tweedly Dum performers who affected nice British accents and shared amusing rhymes as we walked through their area.

I don't ordinarily like a lot of dialogue from performers at houses as I don't feel they add a lot to the experience, but with this particular theme the remarks of the performers complimented the experience nicely.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The House of Bathory is richly and elaborately decorated and you should be sure to look around to appreciate them if you visit.

The creators of the house did a remarkable job of making a coherent portrayal of the Alice in Wonderland theme and did a nice job of developing the story as you pass through the haunt.

Make up and costuming were well done. Keep an eye out for the very impressive caterpillar.

Length


It took approximately 30 minutes to negotiate the haunt and we took a leisurely pace to appreciate all of the props and set decorations.

Crowd Control


The crowd assembles at the front of the building and staff route groups inside at approximately 5-10 minute intervals.

Most Memorable Moment


It's difficult to isolate one particular moment as being THE experience of the house as I really enjoyed the overall experience, in sum.

I appreciated the costuming and dialogue of the characters in various points of the trip and there are some surprise scares that follow those words.

There is a glowing sensory effect in the middle of the tour that is probably what I would consider most remarkable if limited to one pick.

Summary

As was mentioned, the House of Bathory is a very distinctive stop compared to its peers. It is part haunt and part theater. I really appreciated the thought that went into the theme, the effort to make a sensible path through the story and the clever dialogue of the performers. This will be a very novel theatrical experience for visitors and is highly recommended.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by mklady after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Last year we attended this haunt for the first time and loved it so much we came back again this year and were not disapointed. They do a great job of scaring and you can tell everyone loves what they are doing. Loved the tea party in the beginning and crawling through the garden.
The ending was great.

Summary

We have decided this haunt will be an annual event for us and can't wait to see what they do next year. This is one you don't want to miss.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by Marion Crane after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Of all the haunted houses I have been to this is by far my favorite. Every room was amazing and the actors worked well as a team. Lots of unsuspecting scares and the haunt lived up to it's theme. I went through twice and it was definitely worth it!

Summary

This is truly a unique experience. I have visited many theme parks and the interaction is comparable to Disney World or Universal Studios. This haunt definitely makes it a point to involve the victims.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by kathleena25 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We arrived to a shop that was called MadHatter. The staff were very friendly and the line was short when we arrived. Even though the line was short the wait was somewhat long. I came to figure out that it took a while so that they can ensure the best experience in the haunt and so that no groups could catch up. It was worth the wait even though we waited in a short line for about 45min. In this particular haunted house it wouldn't work well if a group caught up with how it's set up with the theme and rooms. The theme this year is Alice in Wonderland. Loved it! When we first walked in they sat us down at a table where the Mad Hatter and the crazy rabbit told us the story about Alice and the Queen. After they finished telling the story the lights went out. Sorry no spoiler alert here. If you want to know what happens go check it out. It was very entertaining and a great start to entering the haunted house. Also they can touch you in this haunted house which adds to the scare factor. They did such a great job with the story, utilizing the space of the haunt, and visual of the theme. The rooms were very detailed and visually stimulating. The actors did a fantastic job scaring the crap out of myself and my group. It's hard to scare the people who were in my group and each one had many scares in this haunt. There are many obstacles in this haunt for those who have problems with there knees. The House of Bathory is well worth it if you can bare the parts in the haunt were you need to craw. Once you reach the end and think it's over...think again.

Summary

Overall you will love this haunt! We drove two hours to attend this haunt and it was well worth it. You will leave this haunt talking about how amazing it is. This Haunt is always a favorite of mine. If you want the whole package in what a haunted house should be like go visit the House of Bathory! Well worth the wait in line and price.

Also if you go with a group over 15 you get a discount, which is an added bonus.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review


House of Bathory is back again and they continue to go above and beyond every year. The theme this year is, "Alice in Wonderland", but do not expect tea and cookies at this party. It's in your face, or rather I should say "beyond in your face". (Yes, this IS a touch haunted house. If that bothers you, then I recommend going elsewhere). What makes the House of Bathory such a success is the outstanding actors, fine detail, and unique creative designs. The actors are primarily high school age or younger. Think the younger ones can't scare? Think again! Every actor is there on a volunteer basis because they live to scare year round! They even open the Haunt in the summer and may open it in December as well. This isn't your typical 4 weekends and its over ... they live for this stuff.



The Mad Hatter invited us to dinner and he had us laughing and trembling. The details of the rooms do not consist of your typical electronic, technologically advanced props. Most of the rooms and hallways appeared to be something you would see in a classic horror movie. The "Alice in Wonderland" theme flowed flawlessly from start to finish with an added bonus "scene" at the very end! There are no concessions and the wait outside has some ghouls wandering around, but as "Dead by Dawn" explains on their website ... they are not there to serve warm doughnuts, they are there to "scare the S*%@" out of you. And that is exactly what they do best!



We were fortunate enough to go when the wait wasn't very long, but I know from previous years the wait can be long. However, the wait is well worth it as they specifically make sure that every room is properly prepared for each victim. You will never have to worry about being rushed or running into another group. The staging of the haunt is meant to play out like a movie rather than herding cattle through hallways and glancing at rooms. According to the website if you are 21 or older you can buy your tickets at the door and wait at a nearby bar until bartender summons you. PLEASE make sure to bring a designated driver if that is the route you choose. At only $15 a ticket you can't afford NOT to attend this haunt, no matter where you are coming from. I am uncertain the EXACT length of the haunt, but we estimated it at about 25-30 minutes! My group is already making plans for a second visit this year!

Summary

House of Bathory is THE place for fear seekers. I would NOT recommend this haunt to anyone who scares easily and is afraid to get on their hands and knees. If you think haunted houses aren't scary, then this IS the haunt to attend!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by JoeyJr after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was our first year visiting this haunt. Dawn was an extremely gravious host! The haunt was fantastic. The details in the rooms are over the top. Loved it!

Summary

Great haunt and totally worth the money!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by touradn after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was my first visit to the current location. It is a very unique and creative haunt. To me there was more acting there than I think any places I've been to. Very entertaining and fun, but the fear factor was average in my opinion.

Summary

I recommend making a visit.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007






November 29th, 2022 12:35 p.m. CST 15.29