ad-header-top

2008 House of Bathory (CLOSED) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

8 total reviews. Showing 5 of 8 on this page (3 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by brandon_g after attending on Saturday, November 1, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dead by Dawn has done it again!!! I went through the house of bathory on the last night with my wife and two friends, including one who hasn't ever been to a haunted house in his life and we had a blast! Everyone was very in character and believable! Who ever thought of Cheech and Chong in a Haunted House??? They were great!!! I have to give u a A+++ on this it was awesome!

Summary

Bottom line best Haunted house i ever went to! I worked for Dead by Dawn in the past but u seemed to scare the crap out of me and my wife (who pissed her pants)LOL!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND this house to everyone in the future its the best! Thanks to all the workers who did an awesome job on the last night!
Brandon g

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by shorty4014 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

This house was quite interesting. It definitely had some good actors, who really gave a great effort. The outside wait wasn't the worst on the weekend that I went. Unfortunately, I imagine on these colder days, its definitely going to be tough. Because the house is located downtown, there really isn't much that can be done about this.

At first our group was a little upset about the wait time, we later realized that it paid off. We never once ran into another group.

The layout was great. You went through three levels. You could see that a lot of time and effort went into creating their characters and scenes. There is a very creepy Alice in Wonderland on acid feel to it. I would say that there aren't a whole lot of "pop scares" just more creep you out moments.

Summary

Long wait time outdoors with minimum shelter are one of the biggest downfalls for this house. Great actors, interesting scenes and characters really help the creepy effect the house is going for.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by pud27 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dead by Dawn is definitely no rookie to the haunted attraction industry. With haunts ranging from the Demon Sanitarium, to Windigo Manor at JFK Prep to this years haunt The House of Bathory she always seems to improve. This year is is no exception, they have put forth their best haunt ever. Dawn has a history of taking the fairy tales and stories we all loved as children and putting a dark twist on them, turning dreams to nightmares. Taking place in the store she runs and the apartment she lives in above she uses the space she has to the max. As you enter, be prepared to hear tales from the Mad Hatter as he prepares you for the journey through the House of Bathory. From there you encounter all the beloved stories, twisted beyond belief. This is not a new theme for her, but it is definitely the best one they have done.

Signage / Visibility / Location


There is no signage that I noticed, and very little on the building itself. I have been there before so I knew where I was going. It's located on the main road in downtown Manitowoc. As always, If you are unfamiliar be sure to get directions.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


This is an outside wait, but for part of it there are awnings over the business fronts. There was very little entertainment other than a stereo playing a mix of Halloween music.

Actors' Performance


The actor's were great. This was possibly the best acting I have seen in a haunted house ever. From the Ms. Bathory, to the Mad Hatter, to Charlie and beyond, you are led to believe these actor's are professionals. They never once broke character and they showed dedication beyond any I have ever scene.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were great. They really took the time to design their rooms and make the most out of what they had. there is very little down time where you wonder whats going on. It's purely demented chaos through the entire thing, and it could not have worked any better.

Length


Again, I failed to get an accurate time on it, but I looked at my watch at some point in the house and it took 12 minutes from there. i would estimate around 20 minutes to get through.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was great. The put us We never once caught up to the group ahead of us and we did not see a group behind us. I estimate they wait 5- 7 minutes between sending the groups in. It makes for a little wait but it makes the haunt that much better. It gives the actors time to reset and get back into character for the next group.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable part of this haunt is definitely the beginning with the Mad Hatter. With all that this haunt does right you should have forgotten about him by the end. It really shows how good he is and his scene was that you remember him even after all the surprises and horror you witness after him

Also have to shout out to the shocking portion of the night. I'm not sure if it was a static shock or if they have some sort of shocker in there that sent an actual jolt through me.

Summary

This haunt is great. I would not hesitate to go back tonight, and then get in line again after that. Dawn has done it again. It takes a lot to get me to jump at this point, but they managed completely. This review does not do it the justice it deserves. All the actors deserve credit-any one of them could be believable in whatever they do, they were that good. You really do need to check this one out. Don't just take my word for it, this one truly rocks. It is well worth the money!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by Marion Crane after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 3 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt is truly unique, they always surpass my expectations. Actors were always in character, spacing was perfect, all the rooms were really cool. Even the music in line was awesome! Actors of all ages scared the crap out of us. Fun and scary wrapped up in one hell of a haunt.

Summary

I definitely recommend this to everyone, definitely worth a road trip! Props to Dead By Dawn productions!!!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by dirkadirka (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wow. The House of Bathory and Dead by Dawn Productions is my new favorite haunted house in Wisconsin. Most haunts stick to a certain formula, and some have perfected this prototypical attraction better than others. The House of Bathory has a totally different feel to it. It seems as though you are walking through someone's house, and you pretty much are. The creators own both the costume shop downstairs and the apartment directly behind the building so the horrors of the house have been evolving since January 2008. These depraved individuals turn nonthreatening scenes (i.e. Wizard of Ox) into terrifying reality.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Use googlemaps or mapquest whenever you are planning a trip to a haunted attraction.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Other than the music playing in front of the entrance there is not much entertainment. I would recommend striking up a conversation with Dawn or one of the other operators. She will be glad to tell you the story of Elizabeth Bathory, the namesake of the house. The line moves very slow, but be patient because this haunt takes its' time and does things right before excreting your lifeless corpse from its' bowels.

Actors' Performance


There are a lot of people working in this haunt, and almost all of them have very sinister intentions, except Cheech and Chong of course. Some actors have ominous and freaky dialogue, some are loud and surprising, and some are creepy without saying a word. Even the disturbed kids working as slave labor are unsettling. The demons throughout will definitely mess with you and make you uncomfortable so be prepared to be touched and cornered.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Every scene that I can remember uses one-off pieces and sets that cannot be purchased at any store, although if there is something you really want you can convince Dawn to let you buy something in hers. Because there is so much detail in most rooms, the actors are able to wait and surprise you, leaving you terrified of which props are real or dead. Without giving more away, the House of Bathory has four essential haunt elements while most have only one: a slide, a claustrophobic room, a vortex tunnel, and glorious chainsaws.

Length


I completely forgot to look at my watch for this one, but I would guess twenty minutes to a half hour. I was honestly pretty dazed and disoriented with all the levels by the end and had trouble remembering all of the individual rooms. Some sort of terror-amnesia brain response maybe?

Crowd Control


The operators are really nice people, and can sternly handle security themselves. On our night groups were limited to four or less, but this will increase over the following weekends. Victims are let in at long intervals so that you do not run into the group in front of you and the actors have time to recover.

Most Memorable Moment


A munchkin latching on to my leg and being drug along as I tried to escape.

Summary

This haunt was a frightening rush from beginning to end. The best way to get scared is to let yourself go and get caught up in the madness created by these talented actors and designers.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Dead by Dawn has done another amazing haunted house! I have never been disappointed by their unique scares and commitment to stand out! This haunted house is a little difficult to find and the wait may not be as entertaining as other places, but it is most certainly worth getting in. The haunt is located above and around the store "Mad Hatter" ... the haunt is set up very well and utilizes more than one floor. For those of you who don't mind being "grabbed" ... this haunt is for you! Definitely a hands on haunt which makes it much more creepy. There is a few "dark areas" but they are set up perfectly to prepare you to be frightened! Expect to climb and fall so NO high heels! There are actors of all ages which adds to the scare factor, because who isn't afraid of a dead 9 yr old! This haunt is a must see for everyone looking for a good twisted place to be frightened!

Signage / Visibility / Location


There are no signs on the way and you have to be careful which way you go because 8th street is a one way! You will know its them when you hear the loud music and see a line of people out the door.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There was loud music playing and a lot of "Dead by Dawn" crew outside talking to people in line. There are no bathrooms and no concessions. There is however a bar with bathrooms down the road if you are old enough.

Actors' Performance


We were the last group through at 12:30am and the actors were all still in character! I was blown away! They do an amazing job.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


There are so many unique things about this haunted house, most of their sets are far different then something you would see in another haunt!

Length


Its average to long for a typical haunted house.

Crowd Control


perfect, never ran into another group!

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable moment was right in the very beginning, but I can't give details without giving it away!

Summary

I would reccomend this haunt to everyone, the wait was a bit long, but well worth it. The house of Bathory is very unique and gives you great scares all around.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my first time out to the House of Bathory and I will definitely be attending this one again!!! They have the most unique scares and props. They have scared from the moment you walk into the door and the moment you leave.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait for this haunt I would say is relatively short, it was about a 20 minute wait. They have props in the windows and music to listen to while you wait.

Actors' Performance


The actors' performance was excellent. They were always in character and always on target with their scares. They were very in your face and interacted with you to make you feel like you were actually a part of their scene.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes in this haunt were absolutely amazing. \They were set up and looked like the scenes they really were supposed to be.

Length


The length of this haunt was about 30 minutes with almost no dead time. You never knew what was waiting for you around the corner.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was handled very well! Not once during the entire haunt did we run into another group, everyone was spaced out well.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment was the slide. It came out of no where.

Summary

Overall, this haunt was one of the best I have ever been to. I would recommend this to anyone 16 and over!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by princesszombie after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunted house is amazing!! I'd honestly have to say there is no other haunted house like this. I doubt any haunted house would use a vast majority of the characters in this haunt. The wait wasn't that bad Ive had worse, the actors always were in character, and best of all you didn't know what to expect next.

Summary

This haunt starts with a tale which I have yet to see at any other haunted house I've gone to so far. Utilizing 4 floors gives it that little extra. I never thought I would see any of the characters in this haunted house ever in a haunt they are so out there (I'm not going to name them I'm not a spoiler) All I have to say is this haunted effing rocked!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007






November 29th, 2022 12:22 p.m. CST 15.29