ad-header-top

2008 Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

15 total reviews. Showing 10 of 15 on this page (5 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by scary larry after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Scary...fun...breathless
Even the wait is fun, hanging by a bonfire telling scary stories. Then the 45 minutes of uncertainty, live and annimated characters. Well designed scenes and just a Halloween atmosphere I give it 2 thumbs up! Must See

Summary

Well worth the money, activities to do outside bonfire and environment really set the tone for scare and fear. Plus 45 minutes for a haunt can't be found anywhere else. I highly recommend it as a MUST SEE!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by clownlover69 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

When i first looked up this place on here i was skeptical. I saw that most things people had to say about this place were bad. However i figured that the only people writing the reviews were the ones who were displeased. And boy was I right. DONT LISTEN TO THEM!!! Yes $18 seems like alot but it took almost 45 minutes to get through! It was a very good bang for your buck. I have been to other haunted houses and payed around $12 and they only lasted like 20 minutes. The longevity of this field was great. This place was a ton of fun and we are coming back every year from now on! Also, we followed the directions from the website and found it very easily.

Summary

First we bought tickets and they showed us what our numbers are. So we wandered around the store for a while, which is really cool, lots of fun stuff in there. Then we got some food. The burgers and brats were amazing! plus it was a fund raiser so that was cool. So then we went and sat by the bonfire and listened to the creepy stories which were really creative and spooky. There were tons of animals there and most of them are animals that u never get to see. They were really neat. After about an hour and a half our numbers were called on the led boards. So we went in the line and waited for about another 15 minutes before we got to enter. the wait wasnt bad and there was really cool stuff to keep you busy. It took us around 45 minutes to walk through the cornfield which was awesome. The actors were spaced out nicely and they were really good. They interacted with our group and wouldnt leave us alone. They were really scary. Especially for the two girls in our group. The actors were just a lot of fun. Overall this place wasnt the absolute scariest haunt but it we all had a really good time. It was great.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

A number of things lead to the success of this haunted corn field. First, the location is fantastic. It's in the middle of nowhere and the entire thing is set in a cornfield - setting the mood for a haunt doesn't get any better than that! Also, the length of the haunt is beneficial. It does cost more than most haunts, but it also lasts about three times as long, too. In that sense, it's worth the cost. On the other hand, how scary this haunt is depends heavily on your personal scare factor. I was not scared once through the whole haunt, but one of the girls I was with went in our second group and she came out crying because she was terrfied. So, I guess it all depends. This haunt depends heavily on animatronic and static props. Given its size, I guess that should not be unexpected. However, these types of props are not nearly as scary as a live actor in your face - which we saw very little of. A number of the actors we saw broke character, too, which makes them even less scary. In the middle of the haunt we were held up by security for a good ten minutes because everyone got caught up in the same area. So that was a total buzz-kill. Overall, I was unfortunately not all that impressed this year.

Signage / Visibility / Location


If you follow the directions on the website, you'll have no trouble finding the house. Keep an eye out for the sign, though, because it's not lit up and can be easy to miss if you're not sure where you're going.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There is a LOT to do while you're waiting. They have a gift shop and a bonfire and lots of animals to look at. Great things to do to pass the time... which can be long. I think it was around three hours when we went.

Actors' Performance


Nothing spectacular. In fact, not any memorable actors. A lot of jumping out and growling at everyone.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The UFO is my favorite, it's just so cool! There are a couple of rooms that you walk through in the middle of the field that play mind tricks with string and black lights... and clowns... that's kinda fun.

Length


From the time we entered to the time we exited, it was 35 minutes. However, we were walking very fast because of some scaredy cats in our group... but on the other hand, we were stopped by security for about 10 minutes. So I'd say one half-hour from start to finish is about average.

Crowd Control


Security walks through the haunt at all times, as I'm sure they have to in such a large area. They did a good job except when we had to stop for such a long time because everyone got stopped up at the same place.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by afavre4ever after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

This was the worst time I've ever had at a haunt. It started with the parking. We drove basically through where the concession and gift shop was. People were crowding the driving area. The parking attendants weren't paying attention enough. I went with 2 other people. We had already purchased our tickets online and printed them out. The e-tickets said we could receive our wristbands at the concessions stand, which was deceiving considering when we went to the concessions stand they told us to go to what looked to be a gift shop instead. We got our wristbands and the guy that handed them to us explained how it worked. There were numbers on the wristbands and we were told to go to the bonfire and watch the L.E.D. sign for our numbers, which were the last three numbers on the wristbands (we were 056-058). We proceeded our way to the bonfire and the L.E.D. sign read "Now entering numbers 400-450." We figured that maybe it will only go to 500....we were wrong. It went all the way to 951-000. We sat at the bonfire until 1:30!!! We waited for over 3 hours. Also, when the numbers got higher, less people left to enter the maze. They didn't call the next group of 50 even though, at most, 5 people from each 50 were the only ones. When we finally got called we proceeded our way to wait in a line for about 15 more minutes. When we entered the maze, it looked pretty good. But then it just dragged on with shoddy props and poor acting. Between the actors and the props, the maze consisted of 95% props. About 3/4ths through, the security was stopping the groups so the group ahead could get further ahead. We were stopped for about 15 min. We finally exited the maze. From the time we had arrived (9:30) to the time we left (2:15), the whole thing took almost 5 HOURS!!! And it wasn't a good 5 hours.

Summary

Don't waste your time with this one. They make it sound good and all but $18 isn't worth the 3 hour wait or the drive. It's an overpriced haunt. The best part: the drive home.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by halloween after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: N/A

Review

This corn maze was NOT worth the money--$18 if you wanted to wait 4 hours or $25 if you wanted to wait only 30 minutes. It only took 20 minutes to walk through it, and it was never scary.

Summary

Not recommended at all.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by Rhaff4 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Not at all what is advertised or the price listed in the paper, $12 when they charge $18. When we asked how long a wait after paying we were told they had no idea but we could upgrade our tickets for an additional $7 and not wait long at all. The bonfire was to full to even get near so after waiting an hour we upgrade so we could get in before 1AM based on our numbers being in the 600 range and they were only on 250 (we were told they were puting thru 80-100 people per hour). The haunt took about 30 min and we encountered only a handful of real actors, perhaps they were on break since they were going to be here till about 3AM in the morning to get everyone thru that bought a ticket. When we arrived we heard lots of screaming coming from the cornfield but found out it was all sound effects. Don't waste your time or money on this one there are plenty of good haunts out there.

Summary

To much money for what it's worth

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by PirateGirl after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My boyfriend and I attend the Meadowbrook Haunted Cornfield on Friday, October 10th at 9:00 p.m.. As soon as we pulled into Meadowbrook Farm the fog that was coming from the cornfield was so thick you could hardly see anything in front of you. That began the creepy feeling inside begining to stir. We purchased our tickets and had a short wait, we spent that time at the bonfire where there was a gentelman dressed in a long trench coat and large hat telling us creepy stories. Our number was called, and I have to admit that the "StoryTeller" creeped me out I was a little scared to enter the corn. We began our journey into the field where there were creepy noises that seemed to be everywhere, and coming from all directions. The fog was so thick it reminded me of the movie "The Fog". Terror began to fill my being to the point where I couldn't breath. A fiendish Werewolf with the narliest teeth I have EVER seen threatened to tear my throat out as I nearly wet myself with fear. The fog made the journey through the corn so "Haunting" and terrorfying you just never knew what was around the next corner. The hideous clowns reminded me of the movie "It". YIKES! My boyfriend had to pry my nails from his arm at points throughout this "Nightmare". I can't tell you which of the creatures that I witnessed were the most terrifying, between a pysco "Doctor" and a "Disturbed Cabin Dweller" to Unimaginable creatures that lurked around every corner! Whatever your nightmares are, you WILL find them there, I promise you that!

Summary

A MUST see and experience event! Easy to find...follow the signs. Guaranteed a good time! I will definately come back again and again.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 10, 2008 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Meadowbrook is a very fun and scary cornfield. You can tell right away that they put their heart and soul into this.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is very easy to find, there are signs along the highway to help guide you along.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait for this haunt took about an hour or so. However, tthey have a very unique wait area. While you wait for your number to be called you can sit around a bonfire and listen to a man tell you ghost stories about the land that the cornfield sits on.

Actors' Performance


I would recommend a lot more actors in this haunt, but the ones they did have were great. They always stayed in character and were always on cue.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets in this haunt are very well put together. They have them all set in the right locations and are very scary!!

Length


This haunt is probably one of the longest ones I've ever been through. It took about 45 minutes to walk through.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was handled very well. They are very good at when to send groups through to make sure you don't run into another group.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment at this haunt would have to be the "orange" room without giving too much away it definitely makes you feel lost and confused.

Summary

Overall, this was a very well put together haunt. I would recommend this to anyone over the age of 12 at night, and perfect for the entire family during the day.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by lycan after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We got there around 7:45 and there was a small line waiting to purchase tickets. We waited by the bonfire until about 9:00 when they called our number. The scenes were ok at first but then they just got better and better the farther we went. There were plenty of actors who did a great scare and went above and beyond what I was expecting. Overall it took about 40 minutes to go through and it was well worth the 18 dollars we paid.

Summary

Great experience and will most likely attend again.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by spookyeventlover after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

As an event lover, I like to visit many locations. Never have I been so amused with what was done with Meadowbrook Haunted Cornfield. It was a fun scene with wagon rides, a small but well prepared concession stand serving different types of caramel apples, popcorn, apple cider and other goodies, and a larger store. There is a pumpkin patch with all sorts of sizes and shapes for the yearly jack-o'-lanterns and even a cozy animal zone! Although I came in the evening to be scared, I thought I should mention that during the day this was a nice place to take the family. There was a story-teller near a bonfire area. The short wait for the cornfield was well worth it. Once inside the maze, I was quickly swept into a volley of scenes that sparked the imagination! There were spiders, a cabin scene with a twisted redneck, novelty movie characters, horrible anti-clowns and many more ghoulish delights. Riddled inside an amazing set of props and ridged motion sensors, I found that there were more than a dozen or so actors that popped out and attempted to give a good scare. I was especially impressed with the amount of detail that these characters had in their scenes! When I got to the end, I found myself wanting to go through again.

Summary

I was impressed by the level of security when they pulled a group of rowdy teenagers out for disrupting the show. They threw corn throughout the field and were very unruly in front of my group, so I was very relieved when I saw that they were pulled out only a short way into the maze. Overall, I liked the attempts the actors had tried to use to both scare me and stay in character, and it seemed like there was a lot of effort put into this establishment. All of the employees I had asked for assistance were very helpful. If you are interested and have not seen what this place was like, I suggest you give it a chance. I did, and I was not disappointed.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by btweezy414 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

My experience at this corn maze was far from anything to brag about. We arrived at the haunt at around 9:00 and it was on the busy side as we thought it might be with such nice weather. We got our wrist bands for $18.00 then went and stood by the bonfire. The storyteller was pretty good, except for the fact he would stop ever 45 minutes or so to check with the people running the event for what numbers are beginning called, as the board displaying them had worked sometimes only. The storyteller left around 11:30 from the event as he wasn’t going to get paid a minute past then he told us. Our numbers where finally called at 12:30. We then got into the haunt shortly after that and it took about 15 minutes before we even saw 1 live actor. About half way thru the maze we had to stop as we caught several people ahead of us and one of the workers (monster out of character) told us to hold on as there was a traffic jam. Pretty much this continued on and off for the second half of the maze, even coming to a 10 minute stop 3/4ths of the way thru with another live actor who was controlling traffic. At this point people behind us are yelling just lets us get out, this is horrible. We finally finished in the 45 minutes they advertised. Over I would say without stopping probably not even 30 minutes to get thru, and only about 6 live actors. The rest of the sets in the maze are set up poorly and cheaply. They use yarn to hang from the ceiling which can get tangled and get caught on your neck or other body parts. When my girlfriend talked to the owner after the haunt he said it was security that was in charge of making sure it would not get backed up.

Summary

Overall I would say this Haunt is organized very poorly. The $18.00 price tag or $25.00 VIP price tag is very over priced. I would not recommend anyone at any age to spend their money this way. The actors that didn’t end up controlling traffic are not very convincing of being scary. The sets of horror are very poorly set up and look cheap. I will not be returning to this event ever again in my life. The walk thru time is 30 minutes maybe, and not 40 to 45.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by thejer6 after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Overall, I think it was a very good time. Just in time for Halloween. It took my group about 45 minutes to get through the entire maze. There were a lot of scenes with great detail. Looks like a lot of time was put into this field. The actors did a very good job of surprising us and continuing the "scare." Being able to 'wait in line' at a bonfire (with storyteller!!!) was of course an added perk. The store is also a nice thing to walk through/look at while waiting as well as the concession stand.

Our group was also there early enough to pick pumpkins and look around at all the animals. Also a good time while you're waiting...

Summary

I would recommend this Corn Maze to anyone... over the age of 12. It will get you!!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by thejer6 after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Overall, I think it was a very good time. Just in time for Halloween. It took my group about 45 minutes to get through the entire maze. There were a lot of scenes with great detail. Looks like a lot of time was put into this field. The actors did a very good job of surprising us and continuing the "scare." Being able to 'wait in line' at a bonfire (with storyteller!!!) was of course an added perk. The store is also a nice thing to walk through/look at while waiting as well as the concession stand.

Our group was also there early enough to pick pumpkins and look around at all the animals. Also a good time while you're waiting....

Summary

I would recommend this Corn Maze to anyone... over the age of 12. It will get you!!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by catatethebird after attending on Friday, October 3, 2008 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Overall this was a disappointment. The maze is long, and it's obvious a lot of work went into it, but there is nothing new or unexpected. It took about 40 minutes to go through (not running) and we only saw 6 actors the whole way, and there was very little interaction with them. The most interesting part was the security guy who decided to follow us through about half the maze... I would have been happy with the experience if I had paid mybe $8. For $18 it was a rip off.

Summary

The bonfire, petting zoo and little shops could make for a nice night, but the maze itself is disappointing for the money.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by Dr Caligari (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, September 26, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

My friends and I took a trip to West Bend to take a tour through the corn. We got the directions off the internet and had no issues getting down to where Meadowbrook Farm is located.

The actual farmstead is really neat. They have a gift shop and petting zoo nearby. Everything where you wait is really decorated nicely. It looked like a really neat spot to bring kids during the day.

We sat down by the roaring fire that they had prepared. We were entertained momentarily by one of the many fine people that were running the event. Even though it was there first night and they were still working out many of the kinks that seem to commonly occur on the first night, the attendants were always kind and courteous and ready to answer any questions you might have.

The trip through the haunted corn field was one of the best I had ever been to of its kind. You could tell that they really worked hard to set up a specific atmosphere. This is a close, almost clostrophobic, adventure through narrow cut passages and through a large variety of different scenes. Everything from Aliens to pirates roamed out in the dark corners of the corn.

Though, as it was the first night, at the time it seemed like they might have been short-staffed. They were short on live actors at a lot of points and relied largely upon static and mechanical scares. It was really fun, though, and they work very hard to make the experiance an enjoyable one for the people that come through.

So, don't let the mist scare you away. Brave your fears and venture into. Who knows? Maybe you will join them...forever...

Summary

Something is strange in the corn. In West Bend, you can take a tour around the corn field of this old farmstead. Many exotic and wierd creatures await you when the fog rolls in...

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




August 25th, 2019 6:06 a.m. CDT 1.9