ad-header-top

2009 Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

5 total reviews. Showing 3 of 5 on this page (2 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Meadowbrook is always one of the highlights of the season for me.  This year was a bit different, but good none the less.  We arrived, the parking was ample.  Decorations on the outside were the same as years past, highlighted by the Killer Clowns From outerspace exhibit and the penned animals that at times can freak you out.  Nothing scarier than a goat making noises when you are not expecting it!  We got our wristbands and headed to the campfire, where a gentleman was
telling ghost stories, this is new to me, there was no fire the last
time I was there.  After about 20 minutes listening to stories and warming up by the fire, our numbers were called and we proceded to the line.  This line would have been uneventfull, had it not been for the above mentioned animals, it was fun watching them.  After about 20 minutes in this line we entered the cornfield.  The cornfield had AMAZING effects, I couldn't even begin to guess how much money was spent on props and electricity.  There were a minimal amount of actors in the haunt, which was a little dissapointing to me, I would have liked more interaction.  With that said Meadowbrook went above and beyond decorating the haunt.  The best part, by far was an animitronic at the end that was reminiscent of an alien from the Alien films, fery good detail and very big!  The field took a good 45 minutes to an hour to get though.  In all, Meadowbrook is probably the best haunt for your money, long and detailed, Meadowbrook knows what they are doing! 

Signage / Visibility / Location


The directions provided on the site take you to where you need to go, The large sign in front and the visable bonfire don't hurt either!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The bonfire before the line definately help warm you up, in years past I remember waiting in that line for, what seemed like, forever, freezing.  The line itself was shorter due to this, but no real entertainment, aside from some penned animals.

Actors' Performance


There were few actors in the field, the ones that were there were pretty good, the corn all around them made it hard for them to "sneak" up on you, but they did well.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A++++, the best props this side of the Rocky Mountains!  but seriously, unbelievable stuff, these people know what they are doing and don't hold back a thing!

Length


Another stellar area for Meadowbrook, If you want to get your moneys worth, this place is it.  Your are looking at upwards of an hour, that is rediculously good!

Crowd Control


The bonfire was a great addition, this keeps the crowd down and eliminates what I remember from the past, lines extending across the main road.

Most Memorable Moment


The LARGE alien at the end, very cool looking, very awesome

Summary

Meadowbrook is a visual masterpiece of horror!  A lengthy journey through the corn with unbelievable effects.  Fun for the entire family!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by ghostlygoddess666 after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

AMAZING PROPS!!!! Totally worth the money!!! Took us at least 45 mins to walk through and the props at the very end were out of this world!!!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We got to the haunt in the same time the directions said.  Once we arrived we could easily spot the haunt.  There were quite a few people there for a night that was below freezing at times and because it was so late.  However, this did not suprise me, because I have gone every year for the past five and it is always has tons of people in attendance.  Once we got there we got in line and quickly got our wristbands.  We then looked around and saw some great decorations, the store, and concessions.  We headed toward the bonfire to listen to the creepy ghost stories being told.  We waited only about 15 min.  Then we got in line, the wait in line was another 15 min, but you have cute farm animals to visit with while in line. Then we were let in.  You are immeadiately met by a creepy surrounding that is very dark and full of cobwebs.  You follow a path that flows through the corn.  You come into contact with a lot of strobing lights that make your whole body feel like you are walking sideways and completely disorientates you.  Intermeadiately, you come across several animatronics and or live actors in the corn.  You will also visit several scenes that are extremely elaborative.  I love the pirate ship and the clown areas-really keeps you on your toes.  We made quite a few screams and even more jumps from the frights.  This place is always great and I highly recommend it.
Go now or as soon as you can!

Signage / Visibility / Location


If you follow the directions provided by the website or my google or yahoo maps.  It is very easy.  There are large signs and as soon as you are close you can see all the pumpkins and the bonfire!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Very organized.  They have lines running to buy tickets.  Once you get your tickets you are encouraged to look around at the props and pumpkins or even stop in the store.  After you have taken in the scenes, you can go sit by a super warm bonfire that has a storyteller, who tells spooky  ghost stories.

Actors' Performance


They were amazing.  It was late into a very cold night and I felt that they really had it together.  They were funny, scary, and on their marks.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I go to Meadowbook every year and each year they never cease to top themselves.  Not only do they put a lot of hard work and love into their haunt, it shows through the entire time from beginning to end.  They have the best animatronics in the area-some are of such quality, I would guess they get their props from the same places hollywood movies do!  Great scenes and I love the fact that even though it is in a cold, sometimes wet, cornfield, they are still able to make all the props run, including the motion and weight sensored kinds.

Length


This is one of those haunts that does not let you down.  You have an easy 45 min to an hour once you enter the maze to enjoy all of the wonder that surrounds you.

Crowd Control


Once again, crowd control is great due to the lines set up and the fact that they have a number calling system which tells you when you can enter the maze.  This counter is located near the bonfire.  However, one cavet I would add is that for a night that had freezing temps and rain for several days before hand, it was a little less busy than I have seen it in past visits so the crowd was easier to control.  However, I have also been there when it was extremely busy and have never had a concern.

Most Memorable Moment


My favorite moment was when my group was just completely mezmerized by one of the new animatronic figures that moves, makes noises, and is just incredible.  I don't want to give it away but once you see it you will know.

Summary

Overall, I think this a great haunt.  I love going each and every year, knowing that I am going to be impressed all over again.  You want to go the Meadowbrook corn maze, don't miss out!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook is the only haunt I would drive 2 hours for! It is located on a large farm that during the day has hay rides, gift shop, petting zoo (with some cute and creepy critters), and did I mention PUMPKINS! This is a haunt that you would want to "make a night of". There is so much to do while you wait. You can sip on Hot apple cider, eat carmel apples, sit around a warm bon fire all while listening to a ghoul tell ghost stories. 102.1 out of Milwaukee was there handing out free ticket opportunites. If that isn't enough enterntainment than play some Halloween games and win prizes, or venture through the gift shop and get some great decorations for your very own haunt.



When it is your turn to go through the haunt a LED screen will show your number. The cornfield itself is spooky with sky rocketing corn stalks that make you feel very inferior. There is rarely a "dead" moment throughout the entire cornfield. Strobe lights guide you through rows of corn, but be careful to go the right way or you may find yourself lost! Don't fear, the ghouls may help you find your way or they may just guide you the wrong way. The animatronics were great, I am amazed at the props and scenes. Everything is HUGE this year ... above and beyond. There are several areas which you will have to enter through different themed "cabins" ... you could find yourself disorientated, crushed, or attacked by vicious creatures.



I would definitely drive 2 hours again to visit this Haunt. You can NOT beat the price, it is cheaper then most Haunts and far superior than any haunts that are the same price. The only bad thing is you have to watch the weather, this isn't a haunt you would want to attend on a rainy night! This haunt is a hidden "treasure" in WI, I live in Green Bay and would have never heard of The Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook if it weren't for HauntedWisconsin. I recommend this haunt to EVERYONE!

Signage / Visibility / Location


We used a GPS this year and had no problem finding it. However I know in previous years we had used Google maps and it was completely off. If you get lost the locals know EXACTLY where it is. Once you get there they have lit up signs at the entrance of the drive way.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area at The Haunted Cornfield is equally as entertaining as the Cornfield itself. There is a huge gift shop with tons of decorations and other Halloween goodies. This is a HUGE farm and there are lots of animals all over, they have a petting zoo during the day. The radio station 102.1 was there also. The best part is sipping some hot apple cider or eating a carmel apple and sitting around the bonfire listening to horror stories. The also have an area where you can play games and win prizes. Did I mention pumpkins? They have one of the largest selections I have seen!

Actors' Performance


A couple actors were great, others were ok. Timing is everything with this type of haunt and a couple actors were easily seen before they scare.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


It is set in a HUGE cornfield, "Children of the Corn" anyone. The Corn is abnormally large, I remember 2 years ago Rick explaining that he buys a special brand of corn just for such an event. It certainly does the trick, you feel very small and very lost. The Props were great, a lot more animatronics this year AND some very, very unique scenes. I have been to several haunts and often times you will see similar "props" or "scenes" ... you will not see this at Meadowbrook, everything is so unique! I would love to speak to the "designing" mind behind some of those scenes!

Length


Perfect length! It took us 38 minutes to get through the Haunted cornfield. I know 2 years ago it took about an hour to get through, but things were too spread out.

Crowd Control


We did manage to pass the group ahead of us and then fall behind again, I don't know how this would be prevented though. The group in front of us was going really slow because they were extremely scared.

Most Memorable Moment


I wish I could give away the "most memorable moment", but I don't want to ruin it for anyone and there is no way to describe it without giving it away. I guess everyone will just have to find out themselves.

Summary

I'm giving the Haunted Cornfield at 5+ for FUN, and a 5 for Fear. I will drive 2 hours again to see this Haunt!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by angie619s after attending on Sunday, October 4, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great for people of all ages. Times are set aside for the different levels of fear desired. You will not be disappointed. This is an amazing place run by professionals. The corn maze is not your run-of-the-mill haunt, but one of a kind with its theatrical sets straight out of a movie. The price is right and you will get more than your money's worth. If you really want a scare, this is the place.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




August 25th, 2019 6:48 a.m. CDT 1.9