ad-header-top

2014 Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

13 total reviews. Showing 13 of 13 on this page.

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by joetterichter60 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Awesome! The haunt started as soon as we parked the car. Hadn't even closed the door before being spooked by a creature running around the parking lot. Loved the interaction between guests and spooks from beginning to end. They even posed for pictures in the waiting line. And the house! Amazing! We pretty much screamed ourselves hoarse. Will be coming back!

Summary

Well worth the money! The staff and actors truly put their heart and souls into every detail and succeed in making it at first-rate haunt. Only disappointment-358 days before we can go back.

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by jesse.sebero after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2014 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great activity. Even for a 32 year old

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by Candikanez after attending on Friday, October 31, 2014 at about 10:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

OMG! This place is WICKED!! Straight up horror movie come-to-life! I go to haunted houses constantly and rarely get spooked, but this place had me jumping, running, and screaming the entire time! Seriously, every muscle in my body aches from tensing up so much! My 15 yr old niece had to have cried at least 20 times, and begged to leave at least 30. Pretty sure there was a bit of a panic attack at one point, too.

We ended up getting there right before close but they still happily let us in, and definitely still went all out for us. The acting, makeup, set up, props..... everything was dead on (yeah, clever pun, right?)

Major kudos to these guys! I wanna go back already and immediately started texting people to get them to come along!

Summary

AMAZING! Definitely top notch!! We're already talking about going back! This place will be hard to beat!

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by ethan.huc.9 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dr. Scary's haunted house has been voted #1 in this region for a reason, and that is because it brings a level of macabre fun and horror that I at least had not yet experienced in a haunted house. I had gone to a lot of haunted houses when I was younger, in my mid to late teens, but I confess that attendance had dropped off in my college years, as studies coupled with a full-time job left me with relatively little time to do anything else. Now that I have graduated, it left me with more free time to go out and experience haunted houses again. Word of mouth counts a lot with me, so when a friend of mine heavily recommended this place I knew I had to check it out. And it was worth the look. Without spoiling anything, this house is effectively split into two separate experiences, with a good deal of shocks and frights between the two of them. The first half is anything but your traditional haunted house, and has plenty of things to make even the most hardened veteran of these things let out a gasp of shock or seven. The second half is labeled Pandemonium, and with good reason. The definition of Pandemonium according to dictionary.com is wild uproar or unrestrained disorder and the second half of Dr. Scary's fits that definition to the letter. If tricky mazes and puzzles is your thing, there is no better place in this area to feed that part of your brain than Dr. Scary's. Taken singularly, each of these could be an attraction on its own, but taken in combination Dr. Scary's is the complete Halloween experience from beginning to end, and will leave you breathless and laughing in the night air, wondering what just happened and begging to do it all over again.

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by Connie after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2014 at about 11:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Love it! !!! The special effects the element of surprise the entire package is awesome. These people really go all out to scare the crap out of you. If your into gore you will get a long lasting surprise

Summary

The best haunt hands down. Wear you big girl/boy panties/shorts because you'll need them. PLEASE TAKE ALL THE WARNINGS THEY HAVE POSTED SERIOUSLY! ! Someone didn't and payed the price!

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by MJM49353 after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I'd like to end on a high note for this review because I really did enjoy myself, so I'm going to start with the negatives. I loved that I could get my tickets cheaper online for Dr. Scary's Haunted House. I went on my computer & first tried to figure out how I was going to prove to the staff that I purchased my tickets online. I couldn't find anything that said I would either have to print my tickets, show them a confirmation e-mail, etc. I DON'T HAVE A PRINTER. So with this day & age I figured all I'd have to do is bring it up on my phone once we got there. I go through my ENTIRE purchase & then it tells me I have to print my tickets! I was beyond pissed. So I'm scrambling, trying to figure out who I can call to go on my e-mail & walk them through everything that they'd have to do. I decided on my mother. Walking her through step by step what she had to do to print these tickets was no easy task. If you ever meet my mother you wouldn't want here anywhere near a computer! 10 agonizing minutes later she says they have printed & look acceptable. My family doesn't have a lot of money. We can barely afford to feed ourselves. The government probably considers us poverty. So please don't assume that everyone has a printer! This is not the first time not having a printer has bit me in the keester. My suggestion is: when people start their transaction online; it should be posted somewhere that you'll have to print your tickets. Not after the whole purchase is complete!
The second thing that was upsetting was waiting over 2 hours in line. Yes, I understand this is probably everywhere & being so close to Halloween it was super busy but after being on my feet for over 10 hours at work and then standing in line for over 2 hours... I was not a happy camper. It's probably inconceivable to have a bunch of chairs all lined up for people to sit but I believe someone should come up with some kind of idea to make your guests more comfortable or to speed up the line. I wouldn't have minded waiting an hour or an hour and a half but that's probably my limit. A "fast-pass" option is available, of course. But like I said before we couldn't afford it. When I come back next year I will definitely be purchasing a fast-pass. It IS worth it!
On to the endless list of positives: The prosthetics and make-up on these live actors were amazing! You could barely tell that it was fake. The first clown I saw looked very very real! I also loved how there was 4 or 5 actors scaring people while we were agonizingly waiting in line for so long. It brought on some amusement. I think the only suggestion I have for this area is: when you're waiting in line for THAT long you could have more actors walking around. It got a bit boring seeing the same ones over & over. The music and music videos that were playing were disappointing and cheesy. Right before entering, a woman informs you of everything she needs to tell you and she thanks you for waiting in line for so long. That meant a lot to me, she appreciated our pain just to see this attraction!
Inside the first house, Dungeons of Terror: AMAZING! Everything you would want out of a Haunted House is what you get when you walk into this place! Very scary, the actors were quit skilled. Their hearts were definitely in it! Spectacular, realistic props.There are a few key points that stick in my brain that I have to get out. The puffs of air down by your legs was very unexpected. The gargoyle in the beginning was one of my favorites. He/she did an excellent job. The barrels & the ceiling having the effect of falling on top of you was a VERY clever idea. The animated electronics were big & impressive. The certain smells of rotting/dead bodies was impactful. I also noticed that if a ton of guests were all kind of squished together the actors would stall us going into the next room to create more space between groups. Excellent job on that. The actors screaming in my face was exceptionally effective. The only suggestion I have is: everyone knows you go for the girls in the group to scare or the people in the middle. If you see a big guy coming in first or holding up the rear, scare that man and make him scream like a little girl! LOL :-)
Between attractions: a women talks to you about coming on here and voting for them for your favorite haunted house. She was very kind and informative. I liked the little surprise we got during her speech ;-) Walking over to the second house you have to wait in, yet, another line. This line is considerably shorter than the first. I believe we waited maybe 20 minutes. Another woman warns you of what you're going to experience. Again, very kind and informative.
Inside the second house, Pandemonium: strobe lights, loud music, dense fog, dead ends, people walking in all different directions. This one is designed to confuse you... it works! LOL. I suffer from vertigo, and I stayed in there probably longer than the average person because I couldn't find my way out, but I was fine. I didn't feel sick or dizzy even considering how powerful the strobes were. We actually lost a part of our group in this one, which added to the fun. I did notice the safety measures being taken with this particular attraction. There were countless members of the staff committed to the safety of every guest. My own little personal suggestion is: when walking thru that inflatable wall thing, I apologize for not knowing what it's called. If it's possible, some should grab your feet or your legs! When walking thru one of those, I'm always very aware that nothing is surrounding my feet. It would be delightful for actors to grab your ankles or something to that affect. Ultimately great job everyone that helped/participated/worked or had anything to do with Dr. Scary's Haunted House!

Summary

Too long of a wait in line is basically my only complaint, which is expected. Everything else was beyond what I had hoped for. I would definitely recommend to a friend and I WILL be coming back next year.

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by rachxtreme after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2014 at about 11 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great special effects, cool sets, and the PanDEMONium part was super fun! We had a great time.

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by mrs.kimberly.in.love after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The haunted house was decent. It was far from the best, but worth the money. I wouldn't suggest the fast pass. Unless you know the girl at the door. Then, just tell her how many you have and she will let you jump. We got cut off a few times because of it. Other than that, I would recommend it.

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by Chelsea after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dr. Scary's is not just your average haunted house. I always find myself clenching the hand of the person in front of me afraid for them to let me go and me to be left to fend for myself but this year i had to lead which was a new experience all on its own. All five of my senses were alive. Smelling and tasting the stench of death and fear around me. Seeing all the gore and the looks of horror on people faces as i pass. Hearing the blood curdling screams of others afraid for their lives. Touching the walls around me to try and find my way because the room is so dark i cant see my own hands in front of me. You walk in knowing that something is gonna scare you and that's the first thing you look for but its always in the complete opposite place where you would imagine. It's unlike anything i have ever experienced before and its a new experience every time.

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by isaiah.redepenningvance after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This place was absolutely amazing. I went with a group of my college friends, and we had the pants scared off of us. From the highly dedicated group of actors (who do their very best to frighten you from the moment you step on the grounds), to the state-of-the-art horror tech and effects that they use, this is an attraction you have no excuse not to visit if you live in southern WI. On top of all of this, offering the ability to buy and print tickets and fast passes from home made this experience all that much better right from the start. We will definitely be going back.

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by Cliona after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt is AMAZING! From waiting in line listening and watching awesome music videos and having clowns and ghouls roaming around the lines scaring people, to actually entering into the house and having your heart race at an unbelievable pace! Around every corner there is something unique and scary! You get scared from above, below, in front and from the back. No where is safe! At some point you feel like you will never get out of Dr. Scary's house! Speaking of, Dr. Scary pops up around the house everywhere! Once you see him the first time you think that's it, until he pops up right in front of you again in the next room!

The maze Pandemonium is also amazing! I have never experienced anything like it! From each different and confusing maze and then worrying about if someone is following you! It is an unforgettable experience! We were determined not to give up and take an "I quite door" and we finally found the "winner" door we all jumped around so excited that we had finally beat the maze!
Both attractions are amazing and worth while! We will be going back to both attractions again!

Summary

One of the best Haunts I have seen! All the actors were truly terrifying and the animatronics are all great! If you are a haunt fanatic you need to check this place out!

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by Hauntfan after attending on Friday, October 10, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I returned to this haunted house with a new group of friends. We had a BLAST, well some of us did. I have to mention the creepy clown that followed us everywhere! One of my friends that came is deathly afraid of clowns, and having this creepy clown follow us made things even more scary and creepy. Around every corner, there was Dr. SCary...I just cannot figure out how he 'appears' in front of us so many times! Is it magic, or are there many people portraying him? I guess that is the mystery of this haunted house, and one will never know.

Upon my return, I jumped and screamed as much as I did last weekend when I came through. It is so much fun, and this house always keeps you on edge! There was a creepy little girl in one of the rooms, and took us completely off guard, and actually made one of my friends....well lets just say she should have used the bathroom before going in, because after that room, she did not need to 'go' anymore!

This house is scary, creepy, and caught me off guard around every turn. The actors are fantastic, and certainly know what they are doing. Our senses were on overload by the time we exited the house, and then it was on to Pandemonium! A whole new experience for my friends. It was amazing how confused and crazy you get while in there! I love the soundtrack, especially the dub step music. I do not hear that type of music played anywhere else. We really enjoyed the noises and sounds in the main house, the creepy overhead page was very distrubing, and sent my mind on paranoia overdrive.

Summary

They are #1 for a reason! Overloads all of your senses. Fabulous actors and attention to detail!

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED)

by Hauntfan after attending on Friday, October 3, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

NO WONDER THIS HAUNTED HOUSE WAS VOTED #1 IN THE SE REGION! OMG! This place is awesome, I will be getting another group of friends to come with me and visit again! It is awesome! Best one I have ever been to in years! Actors jumping out at me around every turn. Their attention to detail is impeccable! There are a lot of things that I would love to mention that scared the [email protected]#$ out of me, but I don't want to give anything away. Kudos to the girl in the straight jacket, and the actor in the room full of tables an bodies-sorta looked like an autopsy room.This house attacks your senses from every direction. The second haunt, Pandemonium is crazy, and fun, oh, and did I mention the frustration of going in circles? I am not a wimp, and refused to use an 'I quit' exit., I wanted to be a 'winner' and find the end, and though it took me 47 minutes to find it, but I was successful. I will be returning this year for another visit, this haunt will definitely be one that I will revisit every season multiple times. I cannot wait until Friday, when they open again so I can bring more friends to enjoy this memorable and amazing place!

Summary

I now know why they are #1! Awesome, amazing, and memorable! This one is worth visiting more than once a season. I will be back!

View all Dr. SCary's (PERMANENTLY CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2018 | 2017 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009






November 29th, 2022 11:31 a.m. CST 15.29