ad-header-top

2009 Fright Factory Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

8 total reviews. Showing 7 of 8 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by scaredstiff after attending on Wednesday, October 28, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Walking up to the Freight Factory building I was in awe at the size and silhouette that this factory set for a mood. The entrance, a little doorway around the corner, not thinking much of it walked right in and was stopped in my tracks by the sounds coming from within. After paying and getting in line, the entrance was the start of something that I was not sure how was going to end. The layout of hallways and tight spaces kept you on your toes waiting for someone to get you, AND THEY DID! Not to give to much away, they had areas that kept the hairs on the back of your neck on end and made it almost impossible to anticipate anything. They had areas that were made up that were very unique and inventive, fantastic use of imagination and inventiveness. From start to finish this was an attraction that I will include in my arsenal of Haunts to attend during the Halloween season.

Summary

What can I say, this is a must see. TO the actors who were dedicated to scaring your pants off, to the detail in the different areas, to well lit and dark passageways, this was one haunt that kept me on my toes from start to finish. Great price and well worth the time and travel to get there. See you guys next year! Have a great last weekend!

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by tripletranch after attending on Wednesday, October 28, 2009 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Our group of about 10 decided to hit a couple of haunts and have some fun. This was our first trip to the Fright Factory, and we had heard a lot of good things. When we got there the place just had COOL all over it from the creepy old factory to the big sign near the top of the building. We got our tickets and had a pleasant, not too long of wait ( about 20 minutes ) in line before we entered. The split up at the beginning was pretty cool. You never know what world you will encounter. Then up the stairs and the fun begins. Lots of creepys, and cool effects, rooms and sounds as well as well thought scenes played out with actors. I was stupid enough to stick my face right into an actors face trying to check out one of the rooms a bit better and he got me. I am a tough scare, but he gave me a good solid startle. I am using the reactions from the rest of our group to decide my fear factor since I love to go more to enjoy and appreciate than to get scared.

Summary

Easy to find and worth the drive. The creepy old factory will give you the right frame of mind before you even step foot inside. People were nice and seemed to enjoy their roles whether selling tickets, concessions or acting. Over all all of our group had a great time and we were glad we too the time to visit this Haunt. The scenes and characters are well thought out and the environment is perfect. Do NOT pass this one up, it is a great experience.

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by Dr Caligari (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

At Hyatt Street in Janesville, rusty fences and decrepit walls greet the unwary visitor to this haunt. There is a stillness which seems somewhat unnatural...



The scene that greets the unwary visitor here does little to warn them about the wild ride they will soon take. Soon they will be crashing around this old factory, trying to avoid some of the less-savory residents that have refused to leave and now call it home.



This is one of the better haunted houses this year. You are thrown into a bizzare mixture for the senses wherein thngs may pop up from just about anywhere-and I mean anywhere.



All protections and comforts normally afforded to one at a regular haunted house are non-existant here. The comfort of a clearly discernable path, any chance to collect your thoughts, and even the fellowship of one's friends is lost in this bizzare attraction.

Signage / Visibility / Location


This is a fairly visible location, once you are nearby. My internet directions took me up and down a number little streets(probably unnecessarily) in Janesville, but I found it with little difficulty when I was in the vicinity of it. Just keep your eyes open for the huge, lit-up old factory building.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


You have to wait in a line, but the full wait was averaging around 30 minutes the night I went, which was much better than other haunted houses that I have recently gone to.

Actors' Performance


Overall, the performances were top-notch. There is a very quick tempo and pace to this place, which is faster than some other area haunted houses. Most of the preformances here are quick and sweet, which are all part of the atmosphere created by this haunts creators.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I would hate to repeat the comments of others here. The setting is used well and help facilitate the scenes that are created here. So, your not going to find any home-like scenes with gentle ghosts at this place. Freddy Kruger look-alikes chasing you through old factory hall-ways and beings trudging through bloody meat lockers are what haunt here.

The effects here are top-notch, yet they are not over done. They never take away from the experiance.

The narrowness to the hallways also helps create a sense of claustrophobia and plays with your senses, as does any number of additional items. Here you are taken to the limits.

Length


For me, it took 45 minutes, though, I am sure, it could be very flexible(from 30 minutes to an hour-depending on how fast you can find your way through the maze).

Crowd Control


I saw no issue with the way that they were handling the pace during my time through the factory.

Most Memorable Moment


With the technical arrangement of the scene, my favorite scene would have to be the creepy meatlocker. It's a fully interactive scene to be sure. Though, when talking about most memorable scene, it would have to have been when the effects in a Fortune Teller scene scared a girl in my group so much that she literally fell to the ground. Due to the fact that she had a death grip on my jacket, this caused me to go sprawling on the ground too. Good Job, Guys.

Summary

Overall, a very enjoyable experiance. This is probably amongst the best I have seen this year. It's an intelligent, well-thought out haunt that utilizes it's surroundings and just about anything to create a head-pounding, extreme experiance. This isn't a place for those who do not want to get scared and will even test the wits of a jaded haunted attraction attendee.

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by louiscyphre (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

An enjoyable all-indoors haunt set at an abandoned factory building on a spooky hill right behind a quiet residential neighborhood, Fright Factory is one of those multiple-floor, dark-maze-and-scene-heavy haunts that tend to have more creative juice and room for acting (Acting!) than the typical walk-through-bleargh!-chainsaw!-heavy-haunts.  Boy oh boy, does this place set the scene as you approach it, snaking past all these rusted out fences and up to a yellow-brick factory building looming above you at the top of a short climb through what looks like an abandoned industrial loading area.  The ghouls attack from all directions in the haunt proper,  including from above (yikes!), but there are also nice opportunities for interaction with actors in their little vignettes, so a full experience all around.  A (Severed) Thumbs-up! 

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find, just follow the official directions, we had no problem.  It's behind what looks like a residential neighborhood and up on a hill; parking might get pretty dicey when they're really busy, as you park on the street around the haunt and neighborhood, so be prepared for that, and the street is kind of tight and there are all these patrons walking around and clogging up the crosswalks and such (stupid patrons!), so it might be in your best interest to park a little ways away and avoid the crowded streets up close. 

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


All indoors, which was really nice, as it was spitting rain on Friday.  Pay at a ticket window, then line up in one of those queues like at Great America that snake around and you think your wait is going to be shorter, but it's a trick of the eye (very tricksy, Fright Factory).  If you don't want to wait, you can pay an extra $5 and go to the front of the line; this seemed to be worth it, as the wait was about 35 minutes at 8:15 PM and it's all a fund-raiser anyway.  As stated previously, the setting is suitably spooky, it's really an abandoned factory with these huge ceilings and industrial detritus all around, and you climb these dirty stairs and wind through all these dusty hallways and it sure smells like something got abandoned somewhere, which just adds to the atmosphere, of course. 

Actors' Performance


Some great stuff, from black-robe-clad li'l old ladies sitting at a dining table muttering about how much they'd love to eat you, to a really really menacing executioner who was seriously about seven feet tall (in real life, or maybe he just seemed that way) and quite the intimidating presence; perhaps he executes at his dayjob as well.  Also, there's a very friendly butcher and friends who appear to run their own shop, and a great Freddy.  Again, they set up some nice scenes and the ghouls can act out a little stuff if they want to, cause they don't rush you through, so feel free to interact at your own discretion.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The setting really speaks for itself and allows all kinds of cool opportunities that they take advantage of, from wandering through what seemed like a real meat-locker (no idea what that was originally, possibly just a good set, but the butcher aprons were really wet and sticky, so kudos to you, butcher-apron-preparing-guy), to a really great compression room; this must be the new big thing, every haunt we went to this season had a claustrophobia-inducing scene where you're compressed and crushed by the walls and ceiling and it's pretty intense, and Fright Factory's was very effective.  This might be wishful thinking on my part, but they may also have been trying to tell some story that we didn't completely get -- there's a scene labeled "St. Ana's Orphanage," and it seemed to connect visually with some other stuff with Christmas trees and people in black robes or something; we wondered if this was from a movie or if it had some resonance with local residents of the Janesville area, so if they're playing off some local legend, that's cool.  There's also a scene recreating one of those famous moments from NOES #1 (That's Nightmare on Elm Street #1 to all you laymen out there) with a real-live working industrial fan and a nicely-sparking knife-glove, and some moments where you're not sure initially how you're going to get out of the room you're in, and some disorienting "Didn't we just make our way through this little corridor with the same paintings and wallpaper?" stuff. 

Length


Took about a half hour to get through, more if you want to interact with the ghouls a bit. 

Crowd Control


Ah, this may have been the problem with not rushing you through, they looked like they tried to take different groups through different paths, but we got bunched up with a group of patrons behind us and in front of us, so it got kind of awkward at some points; there was a great interactive tarot-reading scene, but we ended up with a roomful of people in front of the tarot reader, so the scare got kind of watered down.  Good scene, though.  To their credit, I think all-indoor haunts have a harder time keeping groups separated, as there's less room for dawdling than there might be at an outdoor, farm/forest/corn maze setting, so let's cut them some slack on this one.

Most Memorable Moment


1)  Great Floating Jason Mask Room.
2)  There's a point where you have to electrocute a guy to get out of the room; delightful!
3)  Mr.  Executioner, Could You Just Move A Little Bit to the Right or Left and Let Us Through?
4)  Death From Above. 

Summary

A lot of fun, and makes full use of it's creepy abandoned church pew factory setting.  Terrorific atmosphere, scenes move you around in creative ways, and actors are obviously having a good time with the horrifying.  Looks like they planned this out in an interesting fashion, and good misdirection and disorientation, along with some enjoyable performances and good special effects.  Recommended.

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by FleshEater02 after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great setting gets you ready for a fun night. One person in our group got so scared by an actor while waiting in line. It was great fun. Loved the start where they split you up. Really added to our anticipation and fear, especially the kids'. The mazes are fantastic. Actors are great. We loved it.

Summary

A great place that sets the mood before you even go in...creepy old warehouse. It was a great haunted house. Lots of scares, darkness, surprises and challenges. Well done folks. We'll be back!

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by nite raven after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

good

Summary

I loved the beginning i wish more places would do this...i can't say anything more and give it away but i had fun and will be returning next year

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by denise after attending on Friday, October 9, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Loved it!! Cool building, great rooms, good job everyone!! You can get a dollar off if you go to the haunted barn 1st in Stoughton. (which we did last of course)

Summary

Every room decorated great, Got us quite a few times with scares. People in front and back of the group. The four us loved it!!

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by Andya after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

The begining is the same as last year and not as many rooms or scares as in previous years. So unfortunately a little dissapointing. They have two revolving doors and make each patron choose, which makes you wonder what would happen if someone chose right instead of left and vice-versa. The hanging bodies and room of masks was good. You did not know which mask was behind a person intending to frighten yourself until they moved. Sparks flew in one room when a deformed guy ran his metal claw like hand across the screens. This was a very nice effect. The fright factory often had areas where one would crawl through smaller and smaller doorways or slimmer and slimmer pasageways. This really gives one a sense of fear for tight spaces, which occurred throughout the haunted house. The end included two huge airbags side by side, and you could not turn around or stop, otherwise thought could get stuck. Best to keep moving forward. This ending I did not care for and felt they could use a monster at the end once you emerged from the air bags. Too predictable frights and too few, unfortunately for the entrance fee.

Summary

The number of areas with frights was a little disspointing and about half as many as was last year. They did bring back two classics of a fortune teller and this room did frighten some of our group. We alo encountered the same room twice in our journey or did we? And this special effect was good. However, most of the frights were predictable and not a lot of them for the price we payed. Also odd was the concession stand was after the booth for tickets. You had to buy the concessions after bought the ticket and take the concessions into the haunted house, even though said no eating in the haunted house. The concession stand was right at the end of the line within the waiting area and just before entering the door to the area of frights and haunts. So thought this was a bit odd.

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




October 19th, 2019 4:10 a.m. CDT 1.27