ad-header-top

2010 Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

7 total reviews. Showing 7 of 7 on this page.

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by AndreaRose89 after attending on Sunday, October 31, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

From beginning to end, an awesome haunt! The sets were amazing and you could definitely tell that these guys strive for originality and creativity that you may not see anywhere else. I must say I loved the elements of surprise in the rooms, you weren't able to find and pick out most of the monsters, you do what you can to find a way out and then all of a sudden there they are! Especially the one mental patient that came out of the lockers! Scared the crap out of me! When it comes to the actors, they did very well, especially the chef in the restaurant. I don't think I had ever been more grossed out! But when someone puts what looks like an under-cooked egg into their mouth is likely to gross anybody out! So I must give him props for that. When it comes to timing, it took about 25 minutes for my group to get through, but without a doubt a very entertaining 25 mintues. :)

Summary

An awesome haunted house that is guranteed to entertain you, scare you and play with your mind. :)

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review


Dominion of Terror was excellent on every aspect. Fun and dedicated staff, terrific acting, and a lengthy haunt guarantees you won’t be disappointed with this one. There were sets in Dominion that were so realistic, I was actually questioning if this old building really had a diner or hospital in it! Actors performances were tops! The devil character was one actor that showed a dedication that is so rare. This is one haunt that will not disappoint!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Located of a pretty busy road, Dominion of Terror is easy to find, you won’t miss the sign, and the large group of people waiting to get
into the haunt.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Dominion of Terror had a very long line, however, it was well controlled, and was definitive and easy to find. For a few
extra bucks, you can purchase a speed pass that will get you to the front of the line. There were a few actors roaming the grounds, they were all
great. One actor, who was wearing some sort of cloth bag over his head, was very interactive, and even waited outside the port-o-potty while my friend
was inside, and spooked her as she exited, very amusing.

Actors' Performance


Actors here are some of the best. Their makeup was fairly realistic, especially the girl at the dentist set, her mouth appeared stretched and in serious trauma.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Sets, scenes, and props at Dominion of Terror are top notch! This attraction included some of the best sets I have ever
witnessed at a haunt. A good portion of the props are actual furniture that would be in a diner, hospital and dentist office.

Length


From start to finish, Dominion of Terror will take you about 30 minutes to get through.

Crowd Control


The workers at this haunt, along with the actors roaming the grounds, did an excellent job keeping things under control. All staff at Dominion are super friendly and will go above
and beyond to make sure you are having a great time.

Most Memorable Moment


It is hard for me to pick just one, so I am going to give you my three! First of all, the Vortex was excellent, but to top it all off, they have you exit the Vortex into a room with uneven floors and slanted walls, talk about disorientating! Next I really liked the bounce room. This room has creeps bouncing off the walls and floors, what a fun job! Finally The Diner scene was terrific! I have never seen a scene like this, authentic and fun!

Summary

Dominion of Terror might be my new favorite haunt! From terrain changing rooms to psychopathic ghouls lurking around every corner, this haunt is a blast from start to finish. I can't wait until my next trip to Dominion of Terror!

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

By far my favorite haunt I've visited so far this year!!! It was put together incredibly well, I appreciated how long it lasted, and it was absolutely entertaining! When you get there, the wait is outside in lines and they do have a few clowns in the lines with you to keep you scared and entertained. Once inside, it is instantly creepy. The rooms are all redone from last year and a lot of them were really innovative and interesting - different from things I've seen at other haunts. The floors are uneven (especially in the room with the coffin!) and the walls are diagonal in places... it really messes with your senses. The restaurant/kitchen is absolutely revolting... but great! My favorite area was probably the hospital - every room in that area was fascinating. The make-up, the props, the fx, it was all so well done and so well put together... it was awesome. The actors throughout the haunt were phenomenal - they timed their scares perfectly and they were interactive and worked off of the group walking through the haunt. I highly recommend this haunt to everyone!

Signage / Visibility / Location


I used my GPS and I've been here before so it was pretty easy to find. A big sign in the front of the building designates that you're in the right place.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is outside, so dress appropriately for the weather. There are a few entertaining actors in clown suits walking around.

Actors' Performance


For the most part, the actors were really quite good in this haunt. They really worked off of the crowd and had a lot of interaction with us, which is always appreciated. And there were a lot of them, too. I think there was maybe only one or two rooms in the house that I didn't see any actors at all, most rooms had more than one. They were great!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The attention to detail this year was just incredible. They used the space in this building flawlessly. It felt like the haunt really flowed from one room to the next, which was nice. The scenes/sets were all decorated really well. The actors makeup was incredible - especially in the hospital scenes. I liked how different a lot of the areas were compared to other haunts. I've never seen a "white, padded room" or uneven flooring/walls to mess with your senses. It was incredible.

Length


The wait was about 40 minutes after we got in line and it took us probably 20-25 minutes to walk through the entire haunt. This was by far the longest walk-through I have experienced this year.

Crowd Control


It wasn't really necessary outside the haunt. Inside we never ran into the groups in front of us and no one caught up with us.

Most Memorable Moment


The rooms I remember the most clearly were the restaurant and the hospital scenes. They'll stay with me a long time....

Summary

Highly recommend this haunt to anyone in the area or willing to drive. It was spectacular!

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by alowriderswife after attending on Saturday, October 23, 2010 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

All I can say was Unexpected...... from the length of the lines which was next to none we waited maybe 20mins, to the many different themes throughout this Haunt. It was great the actors on cue!!! Very nicely setup. The Monsters in the crowd were great they really interacted with you oh and yes did scare the crap out of ONCE!!!!
*** one note**** DO NOT I repeat DO NOT go to the bathroom with a crowd discreatly go alone or you will be in for a suprise THATS all Im saying-

Summary

Line starts outside of what looks like an abandoned building with some special guests also standing in line.... as your ready to enter the door magically opens to what appears as a old basement and the fun begins, as you go from room to room and try to grasp your bearings after entering the swriling room. Dont make eye contact with the Hillbilly Brothers they are creepy- oh and the dentist room really smells like a dentist office- can you make it out through the black maze? If you do pay special attention at the exit--- thats all im saying!!!!!

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Walking up to the building from where we parked, I thought maybe we were at the wrong place.  It wasn't until we went to the back side of the building that we knew we were at our destination.  A long line of people, bass pounding dark music, boarded up windows with lights flashing to the music, and the sound of screams coming from inside the haunt.  Game on!

Once we entered the building, I froze.  It looked like an old abandoned building with clutter everywhere.  It felt like we were being watched even though I didn't see anybody at the time.  That changed in about 30 seconds, they came out of no-where!

Every room we went into was completely different from the last.  I had to laugh as we walked into a restaurant, as a lady sitting in a booth gurgled 'Don't eat here!' as she choked down some soup.  Walking through the restaurant and then through the kitchen was very entertaining.  Also highly entertaining was the good ol' red-neck boys that wanted to eat us!  It was really funny until it felt like they weren't going to let us through! 

They have a very good mix of skits and good old fashioned scares.  It must have taken months to design and setup this attraction.  I appreciate the time and effort they put into their work.  It does not go unnoticed!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It was easy to find with a GPS, but might be hard to find without one.  From the street, it looks like a normal building for the most part.  There is a sign out front that let's you know you're at the right place.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is similar to a waiting in line for a roller coaster.  There were several clowns lurking around scaring people.

Actors' Performance


Everybody in the haunt gave it their all.  I never saw one actor break character.  They were all very entertaining!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


My favorite this year for scenes and props!  Wow, they really went all out!  My favorites were the restaurant and the carnival.

Length


It took us about a half hour to make our way through the haunt.  We felt it was a good length of time.

Crowd Control


They do a very good job of crowd control.  We never once bumped into another group.

Most Memorable Moment


Definitely, it would be the padded room!  It was fun jumping around in there, and the actors in straight jackets were hilarious! 'Wanna spread poo on the walls with me?'

Summary

This is a very creative haunt, with incredible sets and props.  A quality haunt that you should check out if you're in the area!

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by Angel1970 after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

That was the best time ever the make up and props were awesome!! They give the best scare ever!!

Summary

Great props,Great make up, Great sound effects

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 15, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review


I have routinely attended the Dominion of Terror year after year for approximately the last 5-6 years.



My thoughts upon my first few moments into the house this year were, "my how you've grown up".



The Dominion has been at its current location for several years and has been entirely redone from last year's version.



I did not recognize one familiar scene from last season and that was very much appreciated after visiting some houses familiar to me and seeing recycled material and scenes.



For this year's version of Dominion, visitors will pass through a restaurant and kitchen with items you won't find on the Food Network.



There is also a carnival midway with a carousel, a margin of woods with a waterfall, an elaborate medical and dental clinic you will visit among numerous other scenes and can expected to be aggressively welcomed into all of those areas.



The sets in the Dominion are elaborate and detailed down to minute elements like a gruesome dental set that actually smelled of clove oil. Those little factors enhance the experience, nicely.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The Dominion can be a bit tricky to find if you are not familiar with the area. GPS's will find it and the directions on the website are clear to follow.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area for Dominion is outdoors, so if there is rain or cold temperatures forecasted dress accordingly.

As we waited for our visit, we were seiged by aggressive clowns who startled inattentive guests and sniffed and growled at those who noticed them.

Dominion features a small concession stand and several portable toilets.

Actors' Performance


This was easily the best performance haunt I have attended this season. I was very impressed with the preparation of the actors and their investment in scaring the guests. Further, it was clear that the staff at Dominion take pride in their performances and enjoy their roles. We caught the attraction early in the evening and I'd marvel if the actors can keep up that effort all night, but what I saw was impressive and heavily invested.

Make up and costuming are solid.

Special acknowledgment goes out to the athletic performer in the padded cell who apparently had some digestive problems before we visited and the two rednecks in the leather shop who affected their characters nicely.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


As was mentioned, the Dominion's producers have taken great effort to make an elaborate and detailed haunt. This year's themes were well developed and covered a variety of contexts.

The Dominion's location provides a lot of natural ambiance for a good scare and its sets are well lit so that visitors can appreciate details of the props, make up and costuming.

Length


It took approximately 25 minutes to walk through the Dominion of Terror.

Crowd Control


Crowds entering the house are formed in lines outside and are admitted in small groups at about 5-10 minute intervals.

My pacing was fairly good, but it is difficult in a haunt of this size not to catch groups in front of you that may lag.

Most Memorable Moment


Among many memorable moments were seeing some very impressive make up effects in the kitchen and our reception by vampires as we left the haunt.

Summary

This year's Dominion of Terror comes highly recommended. Its scares can be intense, so it is probably not appropriate for small children. Kudos to the producers of the Dominion for their efforts to renew the experience for visitors. That work and attention to detail is much appreciated.

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 26th, 2020 3:48 p.m. CDT 11.30