ad-header-top

2008 Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

7 total reviews. Showing 6 of 7 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by sherrye 65 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It was very cold and we were able to wait inside, once inside we were greeted by monsters which got the adrenaline going.
Actually there were a few monsters outside too.
The sets were well constructed and realistic
the actors were superb,most of them never broke character especially the Phantom and Librarian (very cool characters).
The main street was way cool as was the rainforest room very creative.
We went through with a group of 4 and never ran into another group which was great as we never knew what was coming or when a monster would pop out at us.Only complaint we did catch a couple monsters out of character in the tourture chamber and after the clown jumped off the rope and realized he didn't scare us he quickly gave up.Kudos to the set designers, very creative.

Summary

Great scare for the most part
word of warning- don't mess with that librarian, she meant business !!

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by Megs08 after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2008 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I liked it a lot. It had great things that lead to the next room and you weren't sure what to expect. My favorite was probably the Market place. It was so awesome. The Butcher and the Cart Pusher were totatlly cool. The price and time it took to go through was totally worth it. only problem was getting there. We had the directions, but after getting on the street, had no idea where to go. More signs would be great especially for people like my group who came from out of town.

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by Chadwick after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was my first time expierencing this haunted house and it was very good. I can't believe the transitions between each room. It gave the victims enough time to gather their thoughts so the pychological factor was there as well. I loved riding in the kart. We did run into a couple the group in front of us and a group caught up to us from behind. The actors saw that happening and they took care of the problem very well. My only main problem was finding the place to begin with. Even though its on one of Sheboygan's main drags the signs should be more visible. Other than that i had a great time.

Summary

i would definally recommend this haunted attraction to my friends and random strangers. I had fun and i hope you do too.

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by pud27 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Sheboygan Jaycees boast over 30 years of experience in running haunted attractions and it shows. I attended this haunt last year and it sure felt like I had never been there before. I've been to many haunted attractions where things are only slightly different from the year before, but the Jaycees ensure that nothing is repeated. I don't think there was one scene or performance that occurred last year. On top of that, this haunt featured an eclectic mix of rooms with very little carryover in theme. It sounds like a mess but they pull it off with great transitions from room to room. The best part would have to have been the marketplace, which hosted the best actor; the butcher, and the best scenes, the movie theater.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The signage for this haunt is not the greatest, there are actually no signs at all until you get right down to it. I would strongly suggest getting directions if you are unfamiliar with Sheboygan. Once there it is pretty visible and the building is pretty cool. It's an old factory building in the middle of dowtown. The setting isn't the greatest, but the building is good.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The building forms a sort of u shape in which the line wraps itself in. It's not covered so on a rainy eve like we had you will get wet. There is a concession stand and a few actors wandering around the wait area.

Actors' Performance


Most of the actor's performances were great. Even the ones who weren't as dedicated were good and remained in character. I have to give credit to the butcher, by far the best actor in the whole place.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were all designed by different people, thus the lack of one standard theme. Once again, they did a great job in making the eclectic style work. They took a lot of time to make it look good, not skimping on areas to make others better.

Length


The length was great for any attraction. I didn't get a good look at my watch but I would guess it took probably took 20-25 minutes to get through. Well worth the cost of admission.

Crowd Control


We did run into a group in front of us, but when the actor's realized it happened they did a great job of splitting it back up. Overall crowd control was good. My fiancee and I were put in a group with three others who led the way. They went a little faster than I normally would have and i think that contributed to the issue.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable part was probably the butcher. I can't say too much but you'll know it when you see it.

Summary

Overall this was a great haunt. Picking out just little things to give examples is hard when everything is as good as it was. Everything about this haunt deserves recognition. As a charity event they do a haunt extremely well, even better than some for profit haunts. This one is well worth the time and money, you will not be disappointed.

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by dirkadirka (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2008 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Simply put, this year Dominion of Terror has some of the best sets I have ever seen in a Haunted House. I was even more blown away by the fact that almost everything is new for 2008 with virtually no scenes being repeated from previous years. On top of all that, this haunt supports the non-profit Jaycees charity group which means all actors and designers are volunteers. For the price and the quality, an hour drive from Green Bay or Milwaukee is well worth the trip.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


All the action takes place in and around an old condemned looking three story brick warehouse. Outside there is music, a hearse, and frequent scares from actors to keep patrons entertained while waiting in line. Inside there is a brief wait in a staging area before the scares begin.

Actors' Performance


Overall, most actors gave very engaging performances.  Many ghouls had unique dialogue and noises to get your attention. There were several loud and shocking surprises, but nothing that is overdone or will leave your eardrums ringing. For me the scare factor is always dependant on the group I go with, so on a different night it may have been higher.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


It is safe to say the themes and rooms of the Dominion of Terror will not be found in any other haunt in Wisconsin. Work started in July, and if they chose, volunteers were able to let their imagination go crazy and design their own sets staffed by their own friends. This accentuates the uniqueness of each scene because they are built and overseen by different people. Although it may sound disjointed, this is an incredibly well tied-together haunted house. Rooms transition smoothly from one theme to another and many ideas carry over for two or three rooms like the sprawling city scene (props to the butcher). The vortex tunnel was so effective I had to close my eyes, great use of old-school dark tunnels to break up scenes, and my favorite room was the movie theater.

Length


It took 20-25 minutes to work our way through.  Great length, and it seemed even longer.

Crowd Control


The group size was limited to four victims, which is an ideal size for any haunt.  This will probably change towards Halloween when lines get longer.  Everything moved very smoothly through the haunt, and there were five or six security guards on hand outside. All of the actors take a break between 8:30 and 8:45 so be patient while waiting in line.

Most Memorable Moment


We were paired with a nine year old girl and her father. Initially, I was concerned that this may be too scary for someone of her age, but her father assured us that she watches plenty of movies and will take the haunt in stride. She went first throughout the entire haunt and was visibly calm and unafraid the entire time! I could not believe that we were more scared than she was. Seriously, how many 9 year olds do not find a chainsaw terrifying? I was pushing past her like George Costanza in Seinfeld at that point.

Summary

Great scenery, good actors, admirable charity, extended length and terrifying chainsaws.

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by Bparrish after attending on Friday, October 3, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great house this year. The elevator was different in the sense of one does not expierence this in every house. Great job this year guys!! Will look forward to next year!

Summary

Again great house. Decent amount of rooms this year. seemed a little shorter than last year, but was very fun.

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2008 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020)

by arbiterkiller26 after attending on Friday, October 3, 2008 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Dominion of Terror is a fun haunted house. The rooms are widely different and the live actors are commited and keep character well. The rooms are clever and well designed and the actors are fun to interact with.

Summary

Its a solid haunted house with clever and detailed rooms with commited actors and lots of scary in the dark moments.

View all Dominion of Terror (CLOSED IN 2020) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 26th, 2020 3:46 p.m. CDT 11.30