ad-header-top

2006 Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

12 total reviews. Showing 7 of 12 on this page (5 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by ehouston after attending on Saturday, October 28, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great sign... almost past it though only because it was night time.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait was non-existant. Got our tickets walked over to the staging area and boom we were off.

Most Unique

The most unique thing was all the creativity and excellent effort that was put into created this haunted house. GREAT JOB EVERYONE!!

Actors' Performance

Very good job to the actors and actresses.

Summary

Only rating it a medium in scare factor because I'm honestly too old to be going to these but, it was AWESOME!!!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by tap1987 after attending on Friday, October 20, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It wasnt hard for me to find because I have been there before. The website directions are easy to follow as well, and if you call, they are on the answering machine.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There wasnt any entertainment in the waiting area, but the line moved fast anyways. What looked to be an hour wait, only took us about 15-20 minutes to get into the hearse. Make sure to dress warm though, it was chilly and we had some light rain.

Most Unique

The hearse ride, the bridge and the chainsaws. And a few more, but i dont want to ruin it for you!

Actors' Performance

Actors were on cue and stayed in character very well. The definately know how to surprise you!

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

I have been to a few haunts this year, and the Bear Den was by FAR the best. I have gone to this one for the past 4 years in a row, and this was the best year they had! There is only one weekend left....GO!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by louiscyphre after attending on Friday, October 20, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It's kind of out of the way, but well-lit. The parking area is all grass, so it was pretty muddy when we were there; dress appropriately and wear appropriate shoes, 'cause mine got covered in mud. I think it's one of those farms where they have animals you can pet and/or view and you can get pumpkins and stuff.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Waiting area is kind of non-existent; you just wait in line outside, so if it's cold or raining, be prepared. They do have a weird little playground with cast-off, old-school McDonaldland playground equipment (!), like a giant Hamburger Cop (I don't remember his name, though I believe he was the nemesis of the Hamburglar) head with steel bars for teeth...Ticket building is kind of cool, hanging antlers and old farm tools nailed to the ceiling all over. They sell food in the ticket building and there are tables to sit down and eat, though you need to wait in line outside to get to the haunt. Very cool feature is that when you reach the front of the line, you get into a filthy hearse and are driven to the haunt location proper. Our wait was relatively short, probably 20 minutes.

Most Unique

the bathtub, the hallway of hanging dolls, the "Pain is God" screed scrawled on one of the houses.

Actors' Performance

Actors are fine, though mostly just loud; there are an awful lot of them, and it seemed overrun with ghouls at times. There's not much character or acting beyond "Bleargh!" I don't think that's what they're focusing on, though, it's more about startling you. Actors seemed kind of combative, actually (one of them yelled at some kids on the rope bridge while we were there), so I guess that was intimidating in a certain way...

Appropriate For

Probably for older kids, 'cause there's a lot of loudness and gore.

Summary

This one's down and dirty; it's very cacophonous and seems more focused on overwhelming you with sound, enclosed spaces, and general overall nastiness. There are lots of power tools making lots of noise on lots of thin walls that you're cramped in between, which becomes numbing after a while. Terrific entrance, though, walking on a rope bridge over a pond with torches lighting your way; there are also plenty of bonfires along the way if you get cold. Very long haunt, took a long time to get through, although pacing was kind of lacking and we got stuck sandwiched in between other groups many times. The ride in the hearse was cool, especially when it was attacked.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by vegasbound365 after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The location is not hard to find, but it is not that easy either & the directions located on www.hauntedwisconsin.com and the haunts website are good. The only signage available is right at the haunt. If you are not careful, you may miss it, but with the amount of cars attending when I reviewed this haunt, I did not have trouble finding it. Because of the popularity and location, the traffic was backing up. Please be courteous of local traffic. If traffic is backing up, do not block the road for oncoming traffic.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Dress appropriately for those chilly October evenings at this haunt. The wait area is outside; and is not covered. The evening of this review, the temperature was a chilly 35 degrees and the wind was picking up, so wear a coat! There was not any entertainment in the waiting area; however, there is a pumpkin stand next to the line where tickets are purchased. Also, once you enter the building, there is a small gift shop. As I said, there was not any entertainment in the waiting area but the entertaining part was the hearse that would drive you to the actual entrance of the haunted woods. This was quite entertaining as the driver was very friendly. Concerning the wait, I visited this haunt on a Saturday evening, at around 8 PM and there were already about 150 people waiting in line for this haunt! The approximate wait was around 2 hours. When I left, the wait was 3 hours plus! This is definitely a popular haunt. Plan your time accordingly, especially if you are planning to attend any other haunt that same evening.

Most Unique

The most unique part of this haunt was the location it was mainly located in the middle of the woods which add to the scare factor. Also, the ride in an old hearse was very unique and fun. Be aware that the operators try to fit about 14 to 15 people in the back of the hearse, so it will be a very tight ride, but only for a short time.

Actors' Performance

The actors performance was less than what was to be expected. The costumes were not that unique and mainly consisted of masks. Some scare actors actually broke character because of the amount of people that were walking into the woods they had to ask them to remain for a minute so that they would not catch up with the rest. This was good and I was glad that they broke character to do this it added to the intimacy of the haunt, but it also took away from the scare factor. Apart from the occasional boo and grr many scare actors just followed you or banged a loud pipe. There were also a few VERY loud chainsaws and a shotgun blast.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

The hearse ride was the most interesting part of this haunt. The props were less than average. This is related to the vastness of the area the haunt covers. You will walk a lot and I do not believe that it is possible to put props at every turn. The props and building that were included were average and could have been more detailed.

For the size of the haunt, I would have expected more scare actors. There was a handful present for the entire haunt.

The end of the haunt came somewhat unexpected by me and many others. As I exited the haunt, I heard many say, That was it? There was not a build-up, nor was there a lot of attractions in this haunt, so as we entered from one building to another, that was it, it was over. I also heard some say that the best part of the haunt was the ride in the hearse.

Also, for those of you that suffer from coulrophobia (the fear of clowns), I would rate this a 3-clown haunt, meaning there were 3 clowns present.

Happy Hauntings!

Johnny

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by spookster after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The drive from the freeway was dark, and I was afraid we were going to miss it because there wasn't a whole lot around there but the sign was lit by spotlights and easy to see.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was food inside the building where you buy your tickets and a person or two in costume by the line. The line looked long but didn't take more then 15-20 minutes. They took us in a group of 11, but my group of friends was 9 people. It wasn't bad being in a group of that size.

Most Unique

The room of dead babies. It isn't scary, just bizaar and almost funny. It's definatly random.

Actors' Performance

The actors do a great job in my opinion. They pop up in places I would never expect but most of the other people in my group (ages 16-17) weren't scared at all. I'm kind of a jumpy person which probably added to it.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

There were smoke machines throughout the course, so if those bother you I suggest you consider that ahead of time. The bridge over the swamp was awsome, probably my favorite part. I swear we almost fell in so watch yourself.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by bigdeezy23 after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There really wasnt that many signs pointing to where the place was and everything so you just had to take this long road down until you saw this one sign lit up

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait was long but we had a group waitin there for us already so we skipped pretty far into the line but if we would have been at the end it looked like an hour long wait

Most Unique

herst ride in the beginning it wasnt long but it was fun if u have a big group of people then the bridge in beginning was cool nothin but water on both sides on this small little bridge so that was pretty cool

Actors' Performance

The actors performance was pretty good throughout the whole thing but some of them could have been alot more into it

Appropriate For

for all ages

Summary

I really say go with a big group people it is so much more fun and also have a couple of ladies to hold on to you but other than that it was fun and interesting haunted house dont run either walk as much as possible to make it last longer

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by dirkadirka after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 3:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

A sign with a spotlight is hard to miss. So are all the cars in the parking lot. We used mapquest to make it easy.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Great wait area and ticket hut. There were pumpkins for sale and other things. The line looked long, and there were a lot of cars in the parking lot, but it took us only 15 min. to get in.

Most Unique

The hearse ride and the fact that it is outside. I have not been to an attraction like that before. When your outside, people can fly at you from anywhere. "Rooms" were constructed in the woods, there were fires burning throughout, and the bridge over the swamp is spooky.

Actors' Performance

All the actors did a fantastic job. From the hearse ride until the end. They are really what makes an attraction great. It also helps when they are holding chainsaws. The makeup and masks were excellent.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

They combined two groups together into 10 people, which seemed like a lot. It was still fantastic though, and your definitely not safe just because your in the back. At one point they separated the guys and girls, but I don't know why. Maybe just to switch the order around. Lots of chainsaws.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by bunnehop after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very visible easy to locate.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Variety of food and beverages.

Most Unique

Located in the woods. Fire lite paths. They had a bridge you cross over water.

Actors' Performance

Well played, stayed in charachter. Good costumes and makeup. Great jumpouts and positioning.

Appropriate For

12 and up.

Summary

A variety of different scenes, awesome event for the price paid.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by masterstud18 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Didn't know it was in Tichigan. But was able to find it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was not wait line.

Most Unique

The bridge across the swap was cool with the shotgun noise and also the ride out there in the hurse.

Actors' Performance

I went last year and it was a lot better then. The actors didn't seem all into it. The Micheal Myers scene really blew. If your going to dress the character then be in a blue jump suit. This year it seemed really down played.

Appropriate For

no one under 12

Summary

They should have went with what they did last year and just added to it. Instead of changing the whole thing.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by booboo1217us after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Always a good location...Out in the woods!!!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no wait for us to get our tickets or to get into the woods!

Most Unique

The guy in the tree & bridge!

Actors' Performance

Very very very good! Never just sitting around or not expecting the next group to be coming! Always ready!!!

Appropriate For

about 13 and up

Summary

I have been coming to this haunted woods for many many years now, and by far I feel this is the best and scariest year yet!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by ilovehalloween after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There was no Signage till you got to the place, so make sure you keep a look out for it. I think I noticed the sign as I approached the place.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no wait, which was nice. Not too much entertainment, but that was fine with there being no wait.

Most Unique

You would think it is all in the woods, but there are some rooms out in the woods that you will walk into, which have different scenes in them. I liked that! The hearse ride out to the woods was very unique, but that's all I will say about that. I will leave the rest of what happens on the way up to you to go see.

Actors' Performance

The actors were for the most part into it. One actor was singing or jamming out rather then trying to scare us.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

It's somewhat different from other haunts, so if you want a little change and want to be scared at the same time I would suggest this one to you.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by Randii after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was easy to find. They had lights glowing on the outside of the entrance and a big sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There wasn't any entertainment provided in the waiting area.

Most Unique

Riding in a hurse.

Actors' Performance

All the actors did an awesome job.

Appropriate For

11 +

Summary

All the chainsaws were really awesome!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003






November 29th, 2022 1:07 p.m. CST 15.29