ad-header-top

2005 Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

14 total reviews. Showing 5 of 14 on this page (9 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by lysergicerberus after attending on Monday, October 10, 2005 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Our group was familiar with the event's location and we still almost passed it up. There are some lights and a sign out front, but it comes up quickly so keep your eyes open. It comes up just as you leave Tichigan and enter Waterford.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait area is outside so dress warm. Very little entertainment, but there are pumpkins and assorted concessions to choose from while in line.

Most Unique

The hearse thing ride was cool, the bonfires in between scenes kept you warm, the death metal music was great and the spongy ground FX were a nice touch.

Actors' Performance

The actors at Bear Den weren't as top notch as last year. They aren't as plentiful either. We witnessed several actors breaking character, which greatly reduced the scare factor. In fairness, some actors really put forth a great effort and if they didn't scare you the first time around, they would track you down and give it another try.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

If I have any complaints, they have already been mentioned in other reviews. The fact that they sent us through in a combined group of 12 was just stupid. I understand wanting to keep the line moving, but 12 people in a group?! Just not good. Other than that, it is a decent haunt. It is worth going to overall, but $10 is just a bit too much for what you get.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by burtonsnowboarder after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We almost missed the entrance because there isn't much signage. It's also very dark out there, which makes it even harder to locate.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

A line outside, with a few characters walking around, which is always a plus. There were also food and drinks available, and a little play area for kids. The wait when I got there was less than 30 minutes if you got in the line right away.

Most Unique

All the different trailers & rooms that you walk through in the woods.

Actors' Performance

The actors never broke character, they were really good. They also did a good job hiding and coming out of unexpected areas.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

It was my favorite that I went to this year. It's deffinitly worth the trip to go to. My boyfriend also enjoyed it, and he isn't even as into this stuff as much as I am. You have one more weekend to go, i highly recommend it!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by tonijperez after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The signs were not illuminated so when you came upon it there was little time to react. In fact you could easily overpass it and have to backtrack.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Out in the open so be prepared.

Most Unique

The hearse ride into the woods.

Actors' Performance

Excellent. Truly intimidating without being "cheesy"

Appropriate For

older teens & adults

Summary

The fires built between the areas definately messed with your night vision so you had a real hard time seeing where you were going once in each scare area.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by mstcrow after attending on Friday, October 21, 2005 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Little hard to find. Did not know the area. On going south HY 164 go though Tishigan after about 1 mile it will be on the left side It's a tight left turn. WARNING Speed limit is 50 mph And cars approach real Fast.Entrance is not well lit and looks like a yard display.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

After buying our tickets we were left confused on which way to go, So we went to the right walked past the Porta Potties Saw people Standing and thought I guess this is the place.Line Was not long. The Hearse's tried to keep the line moving, People were left to organizing their groups which slowed the line down. Groups Should be preorganized to slow the confusion down before entering the Hearse.Three of us Entered the Hearse and waited 5 Min before other people Decided to Enter to fill it up.All stood around confused.

Most Unique

Too much to list. The feel of walking through the woods was Great with the fires and displays.Truly a great Haunt. lots of lould Noises. My hears still hurt.

Actors' Performance

Was done very well, They know how to keep you moving along after each scare. Timimg was Exellent. Will go back Next Year. Well worth the $10.00

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

Sometimes you felt disorganized and a bit lost,but you weren't Which only added to the excitement.Tour lasted About 30min.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by barbiebuffy after attending on Friday, October 14, 2005 at about 3:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Not a lot of signs, but once the speed limit starts to slow down, is about 1/2mile ahead, depending witch way you come from.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

If you go with a bunch of friends, have half of you go in to buy tickets and the rest of you wait in line. The line went relay fast this way. Plus they have two Hurst going into the woods so it makes it faster. Last year they had one Hurst, and a hay wagon that took forever to get to the crowd. Much better thought out this year!

Most Unique

Watch your step! I know they got ride of the bridge, but they must have put some mattresses in the ground and covered them up with dirt, I felt like I was sinking in the ground. It was relay a neat touch! I don't get scared easy, and they did a relay good job at scaring the crap out of me! I jumped a lot!

Actors' Performance

GREAT! I'm not that easy to scare, and I have been reading the reviews and getting mixed ones, but I guess it all depends on witch night you go on. I did encounter one actor towards the end that made this horrible scream, and it was great, this actor held on to that screech for about 1-2 min, and never got distracted in its performance. I loved it!

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

Also don't worry about being in a group that's ahead or behind you, we were in a group of 6 and a group of 4 that we didn't know, we ended up separating some were in the woods, so it ended up just being our group, so we didn't get stock dealing with other groups. Very well separated. We did not run into any other groups either. I head some bad things about this haunt this year, but I had a blast. It was defiantly worth it!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by QWeenKelli after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We knew where we were going so it wasn't difficult, keep an eye out for two strings of orange lights, that's the only indication of the place. It's definitely tucked away in the "country" and that in itself, added to the creepiness.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The barn where you buy tickets kind of creeps you out. They have a lot of old farming tools that are really kind of creepy in there. They also were selling concessions which is a plus. There are not a lot of decorations and no roaming actors. It is dark outside where you spend most of your time waiting. Go early enough and the line moves very fast. From the time we first got in line to buy tickets to the time we left... 1 and a half hours. The only problem we had that night was figuring out which line was for what and where the lines ended.

Most Unique

Hearse ride! There's a lot of anticipation when you're packed in the hearse with a lot of people who are just as creeped out as you are. Everyone in our group was great. Be prepared to bail out of that hearse!

Actors' Performance

This haunt uses a lot of actors. We caught a few actors off gaurd and I swear I heard two actors having a casual conversation a few minutes into the trail. For the most part, the actors were creepy, well-done, and in some spots, unpredictable.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

The production was well done. This is my second time to this haunt and it was completely different than last year. The lines moved very quickly and they packed the hearses full. (No worries, a hearse is VERY spacious and fit 13 people without being too cramped)Keep pace on the trail. Don't run through. We didn't catch up to the group ahead of us but the group behind us caught up very quick and spent time standing around trying to lose us. It's a long trail and fun when your in one group of 13 people, not a group of 25. Dont speed through everything, you will miss things. Be prepared for an outdoor event where you could get a little dirty and be prepared for actors that are a LOT creepy when you're face to face. I'm not scared easily but there was one point where I found myself unable to move, screaming bloody murder.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by Spooky1918 after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Reading the other reviews i found out there were strings of orange lights at the entrance so it was easy to find. Also a bit of a traffic jam started around the entrance.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no waiting area except a cabin where you buy your tickets. There you could buy popcorn, hotdogs/ hot chocolate. The ticket lady was very friendly!

Most Unique

Definitly the hearst ride from the line to where the event began. Driving through the woods in a hearst definitly gets you in the mood for a scare!

Actors' Performance

Some were very good/scary while other werent. It didnt help that at some parts there were just regular people standing along the paths tending the fires, it kinda took the mood out of the experience.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

There were parts where there were just too many people going through at once. They did try to control this however with people/monsters blocking you from moving on until the group ahead of you had proceeded through. If you want to me the most scared, be in the front! Also the chainsaws really add to the horror.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by klaunie after attending on Friday, October 14, 2005 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We didn't have any problem finding the way, but then again it's really easy when you're coming straight from Waukesha -- but the directions are very straightforward anyway and the entrance is really visible.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was the scariest werewolf that kept harassing my friend and I. Our wait wasn't that long at all, maybe 15 minutes.

Most Unique

I love the hearse, and the first guy you meet is pretty scary too!

Actors' Performance

The actors are really good and enthusiastic! I wish there were a few more scattered in the woods between the fires. They were good about incorprating things we were saying into their routines instead of just following a script.

Appropriate For

10 & Up, probably.

Summary

Definitely one of my favorites this year!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by halloweencupcake after attending on Friday, October 14, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There weren't many signs on the way there. You could definitely tell when you were approaching the house however-lots of lights and signs directly at the house. Great location for haunted woods. Gas station attendents in the area were very helpful with directions!!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait was not long at all. There was a concession stand with homemade goodies, including Puppychow!!There was only one actor trying to scare people while in line. The workers were very friendly.

Most Unique

Lots of bonfires and eerie lighting. The characters were all made up really well. Some parts were out in the woods and others were in a covered maze-like area.

Actors' Performance

The performance of the actors was out of control. This is positively the best haunted house I have ever been at. The actors were wonderful. They were very good at not showing themselves before they spooked you.

Appropriate For

13+...I did see some younger children with adults that had to leave because they were too scared.

Summary

I was scared throughout the entire time in the woods. An old hearse brings you from the line to the beginning of the trail! The trail was very long, probably lasting 30 minutes. Definitely worth the drive and money! Thank you for such a great time!! I'll be back next year.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by captainflask after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2005 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

This was my first time going to this particular event, and it was not all that difficult to find. There are two long, orange strings of lights marking the entrance.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not much of a wait area, and since I got there early I didn't have to wait more than 5 minutes. They have everyone stand around where the hearses pick you up.

Most Unique

The room with the fog was awesome! It was a very cool effect.

Actors' Performance

The actors were very good, for the most part. We caught one actor off guard, but this actor was also tasked with tending to a fire, so it was understandable. Everyone has good costumes and picked the right times to make their moves.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

The rest of my group consisted of one rather large family. They all had flashlights, and that kind of ruined it for me. They were told to turn them off multiple times, but they turned them back on soon afterwards. Consequently, I went through faster than them so nothing was revealed to me prematurely.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by sturino40 after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2005 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

hard to see if you do not know where it is (I had been there before), there is a single since and some orange lights

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

nothing really, just a line in a field

Most Unique

riding in the 'hurst' to get to the back 40 to start the woods. the fact that you are out in the woods going from 'scene' to 'scene' - the 1/4 stick of dynamite used...

Actors' Performance

poor - a lot of 'masks' and people out of character. I was there last year and was scared, this year the 5 and 9 year old i went with were not in the least bit

Appropriate For

5

Summary

I had been there last year for the first time, and it was the BEST haunted event that I had EVER been to (i usually go to 5-7 events each October, if not more), so this year I was really looking forward to it, but you know this year was a HUGE disappointment. the timing was horrible - we ran into the group in frong of us, and they ran into the group in front of them...last year there was a single "hurst" this year they decided to use 2, and well that made the line shorter, but the timing suffered. the actors were not very 'into' their roles, and a lot of them just stood around, or made (attempted) funny lines...One person in my party commented it was a "red-neck Halloween" because there were a lot of 'errs' and 'get er done's' being used by the actors. A lot of the original elements from last year seem to be lost this year.

Many people beleive that Haunts will go through cycles of being really good to get people there, and then just live off past experiences...i think this happened here this year.

I would not go this year, but might try it next year

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by juliehrycyniak after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2005 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

bright orange lights at the entrance

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no wait

Most Unique

getting a hurse ride to the entrance of the walk was really cool and ive never seen that before anywhere else

Actors' Performance

really good performances. they always kept in character

Appropriate For

teenagers and up

Summary

i go to lots of hanuted houses and this was by far the best i have been to. i seriously almost started to cry during some parts because i was so scared but i loved it. There were so many details and great ideas on the walk. i definitely recommend going

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by Blue after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2005 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I have been to the event may times before, so I knew where it was. However, for a first timer a few signs saying this way or straight ahead would be good, as there is nothing there until your there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No entertainment, just a line. There are port-a-potty's near the line which is a plus on those cold nights.

Most Unique

Watch out for the hearse, there's a great surprise at the end of the ride.

Actors' Performance

Being the first weekend, the actors for the most where already into there scenes and characters. There were a few that we caught off guard.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

We love to go through this event. The atmosphere alone of walking through the dark woods on a cold night with bonfires and then going into dark make-shift rooms where you have no clue what to expect inside year to year is great. I do miss the suspension bridge though.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2005 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by Nicole after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2005 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Hard to find unless you know where it is or look them up on here. Better lighting on signs would help.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None... but wait wasn't long so we didn't mind.

Most Unique

The method/mode of transport in which you get from the ticket booth/staging area to the actual haunt.

Actors' Performance

Very good. Only one we caught off guard... she actually apologized and said she was watching the fire!

Appropriate For

8 and up.

Summary

Overall, we have been fans of this haunt, because of some of it's home-grown unique touches. The length of the attraction seemed to be longer than we expected and were pleased with that! We missed the rope/plank bridge from the years before and wished for a finale'... actors for the most part were enthusiastic except for a couple... the haunt had somewhat of an anti-climactic ending.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Previous Reviews:

2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003






November 29th, 2022 11:49 a.m. CST 15.29