2009 The Dark Side Haunted Adventure Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

10 total reviews. Showing 8 of 10 on this page (2 filtered).

Page 1

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by FleshEater02 after attending on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We got lucky here! They close at 10 and we arrived at 10:10. This was our fifth haunted house of the night. They had room on the last wagon so they let us go through. How lucky for us, because this was the best haunted experience of the night. There is lots of outdoor time for this one and the event was effected by the recent downpour, but they adjusted and it was awesome. Plus the night with the wind, the dark sky with the moon slipping behind the clouds at times was an effect never to be simulated. The mine was relief from the freezing wind but the scares got us warm up fast! Great! My favorite was the haunted wagon ride! Being driven through fields and woods via tractor on a huge wagon (by a strong, able and handsome driver) was so fun. The ground was muddy and greasy and I thought we'd get stuck by our reliable driver was awesome. I was scared, scared, scared and then pumped with anticipation for more scares during the ride. The corn maze was pretty muddy and the path was pretty worn, but it was fun. Loved the bonfires to warm up by too!

Summary

I attended 7 haunted houses/attractions this year. This one was by far the BEST! If there was a rating higher than 5 for fun factor I'd give this outfit that #!! The haunted mine was great, just being in it was freaky. Actors were great. The haunted wagon ride was fantastic. There were special effects that made everyone on the wagon jump and scream. Mother nature did a job on the corn maze but it was still very fun. We are already talking of going again!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by jess114 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was freakin awesome.The best haunt i have been to this year.The wait wasn't to long about 45 minutes.My favorite part was the haunted hay ride.It was great my friend got the crap scared out of her.It was a little scary with the tractor that was pulling the wagon because it was so muddy we were worried we'd get stuck of tip over.Which only helped with the scare factor.Awesome actors and pyrotechnics.My 2nd favorite part was the mine shaft.When you go inside and down the narrow passages what you encounter towards the end would freak anyone out.

Summary

I recommend this to anyone.It is definatley worth the money.You just have to watch the signs because it can be easy to get lost.But it is defiantley worth it went you get there.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by Dr Caligari (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 23, 2009 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Low

Review

A rather unpleasant, moody night set the the tone for this horrifying adventure through a Southeastern Wisconsin Farm. Glacier Rock Farms, normally a petting zoo, takes a sinister atmosphere after dark.

They first send you through a haunted mine. This is one of the neater haunted experiances this year. Seeming like a real mine, you are sent down a mine shaft and through a cave populated only by the spirits of departed. Things pop up and out all over sending you yet further on.

Your carriage awaits you after freeing yourself from the mine. You find yourself going through a forest populated with all sorts of fire-breathing ghouls and shadowy ghosts.

This section of our adventure provided me with the very real fear that we really were not going to make it back out. The mud on the paths was deep and my trust in the tractor taking us back into the woods was not terribly strong at times. We did make it through safely and without too much issue.

Then you are left out in the woods and must make your way back along a path in the woods. Many demons are encountered along the way. At the edge of the woods you find yourself making your way through the corn. The corn seems to move on it's own and it seems as though something is there in the fields with you...Or is it all your imagination?

I enjoyed my time at Glacier Rock Farm. The weather really was not ideal for this event, though the individuals whom run it put a lot of effort into still making it an experiance to remember for those whom attend.

Like I mentioned, I was worried that their tractor would not make it down the paths it was supposed to go on. I was also worried, due to the fact that the mud made the walking paths nearly impossible to go down without slipping. Having to be as worried as I was about my footing really took away a lot of enjoyment that I could have had going through it.

I am deeply appreciative to the staff and all that make this event possible even in harsh conditions.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The signage to the starting point for this haunted adventure was fairly decent. Do know, though, that once you turn onto Hoard Road, you will be going a ways. My directions off the internet didn't seem to provide for the fact that you go that far back and a few times I had thought I had must have gone too far.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Due to the weather on the night I attended, the wait was almost non-existant, though we did wait for enough people to show up to make it worth their while to send us back on the farm.

Actors' Performance


They did an A+ job for the conditions that they were presented with. Most of them were colder and more wet then those of us in attendance. I give them credit for the energy they had.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The Dark Side is not the most technically advanced adventure. They

Length


Comprising, in all, a haunted house, a haunted hayride, and a haunted corn maze, this event is one of the longer haunted events in the area. It might be too long for some, but I enjoyed myself.

Crowd Control


There were not enough people(due to the weather) to make this an issue.

Most Memorable Moment


Creeping into an old hunting shack in the woods can never lead to good things in October...

Summary

This is a fun mixture for anybody that enjoys being scared. This event is populated by quite a number of dedicated haunters.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by matrix2974 after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I live in the Fox Valley and have attended Haunted Houses in that area only for the past several years with some fellow "haunt" searchers. The hauntings in our area are ok, but this was hands-down the best haunted house I've ever been too! I never screamed so much in my life and I'm 35 years old! Highly recommended if you're looking for a good scare!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by Screamlori after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I loved this haunt! We got lost on the way there, so watch the highway signs carefully. Believe me it is worth the trip. We waited a little more than an hour. But they have a great snack area with plenty of stuff to eat and drink. This is not your normal haunted house, it is so much better. They start by telling the story of the farm and then you find yourself standing amoung flaming torches outside this abandoned mine shaft with fog rolling out and screams coming from within. (the group ahead of us had to be walked around to the wagon ride). If you can force yourself to enter you will be treated to a unique and terrifying experience. I loved the bonfire while we waited a few minutes for the next wagon to arrive. I loved the wagon part of the Dark Side. There is crawly stuff on your butt and your face, fire, explosions, sparks, trains and hanging bodies. Oh yah, an endless supply ghoulish characters attacking the wagon. Another bonfire as you are dispatched into a black pine forest filled with screams. The grave yard scene is great but the cabin, well I could not scream again after I left the cabin. I could have been done after the forest trail but we had to survive the corn field to finish. I think it was more than an hour and 15 minutes from when we started. We went to four very different haunts for the price of one ticket.

Summary

This is by far the best haunt I have ever been to. The actors are spot on and everywhare . We will be going back this weekend with more friends.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by jacktheripper after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

WOW!! Wisconsin we have a new World Class Haunt. I live in the fox valley and travel a lot with my job. I make a point of visiting haunts all around the country every year. A colleague from Milwaukee called to tell me about the Dark Side haunt. My wife and I drove the nearly 3 hours to get to the middle of nowhere. Boy was it worth the trip. The setting is perfect. The abandoned mine theme for the haunted house portion of the event is great and the detail is wonderful. The house is not your normal room scene after scene but more like an adventure through a mine or cave which gives the actors unique access to the guests. The second part of this haunt is the hay ride. I know many people don’t go to hay rides because they can be lame. (It is hard to get a scare on a wagon full of people) Not so at the Dark Side. The wagon is not a hay wagon at all. It has seats like a theater, a soundtrack that matches what is going on in the scene, and special effects you might find in a Disney Theatre. They use the known location of their guests on the wagon to execute some great pyrotechnics. The third phase of the haunt is a trail through a pitch black pine forest. Again their attention to detail in the scenes is great and the actors use this unique environment to scare the crap out of you. We had several people in our wagon load that would not go through the pine forest after they heard the screams coming from the darkness. Even if you duck out at this point you have already got your monies worth. The final phase of this incredible adventure is a trail through the corn. What they lack in props here is made up for in scares by the actors. The three young girls behind us nearly ran us down screaming in an effort to escape the relentless attacks. The closest haunt I have seen to this, is one of the huge east coast haunts called Bates Motel just outside of Philly. And even they don’t have the pine forest trail. And you would pay $60.00 to see all three of their haunts on a Fri. or Sat. night. The woman in the store told me the two guys who created all of this have already begun work on next year’s attractions, I cannot wait!

Summary

This haunt will be on my must see list for years to come. It looks like they have plenty of room to expand and these guys know what they are doing. It won’t be long before we have another nationally recognized haunt in our back yard.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by Twilight after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2009 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Holy. Crap.

*No spoilers, read on*

Amazing. Really freaking amazing. My fiance and I just got back, and sweet christ. They really know how to scare people- it's no joke. They have amazing pyrotechnics, and you definitely get your money's worth. We went to Bear Den woods for Halloween night last year, and we agreed that this trip was even better. You get a sort of 'haunted house' with the mine shaft, and a great nighttime hayride. I'm 25, and this one was definitely not for the faint of heart- definitely not for young kids either. From the time we got there to the time we left, we spent about 2 hours. Waited in line about.... 15 minutes maybe?

Tips: With respect to the actual event... we loved it! It was fantastic- best money we've spent in a long time. However, we did get lost for an hour trying to find the place- be careful to follow the directions closely once you get within 15 miles- it can be easy to accidentally miss the turn-off for 67N. There are also some loud noises in the mine shaft- I won't give away where they are, but if you have sensitive ears there was a loud hissing noise that rendered us deaf for a few seconds.

Not a spoiler, but just a general watchout with respect to the hayride- watch out for tree limbs and low-hanging beams. Basically tall people and people sitting on the side of the hay-cart beware of nature- I have a couple of welts because we were in the very back of the cart and got whipped by the people in front of us letting the tree branches go- plus it's pitch black so you can't see anything and you're suddenly whipped in the face. And like I said about the tall people- there are some man-made things you will travel under, that are specially made to be close to the cart, but I'm pretty tall and I almost knocked my forehead into some of them unfortunately, so pay attention to what's coming.

The corn maze at the end that is included in the haunt isn't really a maze at all- pretty short in fact, so if you're chilly like we were by the end- it's not very far to the end once you enter the cornfield. The actual cornfield maze apparently takes 2 full hours to get through, and isn't related to the haunt- it's just a maze people go through at night with flashlights; so if you're interested, just realize that it's separate from the haunt, isn't haunted at all, and they stop letting people in a lot earlier because it can take people a long time to go through.

And get the hot cider for waiting in line- it's chilly out there!

Summary

Honestly, best haunt we've been to in a good long while. Worth the hour drive from Milwaukee, even with the extra hour of being lost. (follow their directions- they really are in the middle of nowhere) People with sensitive hearing beware- you will get loud noises. INCREDIBLE PYROTECHNICS. Just, wow. Incredible amount of entertainment for your money, and they don't go for the cheesy factor either- they just straight out try to freak the heck out of you- it's awesome!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by Deanofthedead after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt is great! Friends of mine recommended this haunt last year, am I sorry I did not get here until this year. Just going to the haunt is unnerving especially when you cross the old wooden bridge at the entrance to the farm. They have a covered waiting area with all kinds of things to eat for sale. The wait was not long, they take large groups up the hill to the old mine shaft. It really feels like you are going down into a mine shaft. The laser vortex thing at the bottom of the shaft is great. There is a swamp like area that make you feel like you are sinking in. The actors scare you the old fashioned way, none of this breathing in your face which is just annoying. The mine shaft would almost be enough, but it is only the first of four parts to this haunt. After a short wait around a bonfire we were loaded on to a wagon with a soundtrack and special effects. We went way back into the dark woods (don’t ask me how the driver knew where he was going in the blackness). I loved all the pyrotechnics; you don’t see that in a haunted house. Even the expected chainsaw attack on the wagon was memorable. Sit on the left side to get the best effect. After a couple of miles on the wagon we were dropped off in the middle of a pine forest. Here the grave yard scene is spectacular. And don’t skip the abandoned cabin in the woods. The final part of this adventure is a trail through the corn field. As you would expect from this haunt it does not disappoint. By the time we were done it had taken more than an hour to complete this haunt. This is a great haunt for a group of friends because with the bonfires between the different elements it allows everyone to recount their favorite parts before taking on the next challenge. . They also have a corn maze that is open at night. I was sorry we arrived too late in the night to do the maze.

Summary

I don’t think you can find anything like this event anywhere else in the country. This should be a must see for all haunt enthusiasts. Check this one out with your friends you will not regret it.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by louiscyphre (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Ah, the Dark Side, how we love thee, let us count the ways. 

Set at an actual farm, the haunt is spread out over what looks like acres and acres of land, and made up of at least four different segments, an abandoned mine (with one heckuva cool, disorienting spiral staircase/vortex thingie), a hayride with an accompanying soundtrack, a haunted forest with some elaborate setups, and a haunted corn maze that kind of speaks for itself;  by the end you may feel almost entertained-out.  We loved the mine and the forest, but the hayride was kind of short on ghouls; perhaps H1N1 is hitting the ghoul community hard. 

Don't expect an over-arching theme or anything art-y or anything like that, but these guys are serious about what they're doing and they do it well.  There's some clever set-ups, for instance, with distracting you into looking at something that's slightly lit (what's that little fire over there about?), and then dazzling you with blazing flames (Fire Bad!), so your little retinas are overwhelmed and non-operational for a minute, and then a ghoul lurches out of the dark and slams his powersaw into the side of your haywagon, sending up sparks (yes, sparks!) and everyone screams, etc etc.  Is it wrong to think of this as fun?  Whatev. 

It does look like a lot of effort goes into this haunt, and it takes a long long time to get through, so give yourself an hour or more, at the very least, and savor the terror.  And it's all for just the one reasonable admission fee, so kudos to them.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Well, it's pretty easy to find, but it's more north of Ixonia than one might think for having an Ixonia address; Google worked great, though be aware that if you're coming from the west on 19, there is a detour around Watertown that takes you down to 94 or something and back up.  Once you get near the place, they have a lit-up sign off the main county highway that points you in the right direction, and it's pretty clear it's the farm with all the cars parked on the lawn with all the screams and weird lights emanating from it, anyway.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We honestly had very little wait, probably because it was so freaking cold on Saturday night; it looks like they have a covered barn area, and there are multiple outbuildings you could check out and portapotties for the gentlemen to enjoy and the ladies to recoil from. 

I think they sold little treats and stuff at the main building, but we were kind of rushing in.  Anyways, you line up on a hill and wait to get the high-sign from some ghouls to approach the entrance to the mine; when you reach the entrance, there's a witch who tells you the "Story of Glacier Rock Farms and Its Mad Owner."  I think the story has changed a bit since I was last there, but that's how legends grow, I suppose.  Actually, the waiting on the hill is kind of cool, with the stars all lit up behind the mine and over the ridge and farm as you look down over the whole place.... Some random ghouls kind of wander around, too, but my favorite part is that you still line up next to a real cow pasture, and so cows wander in and out of the scene, and they're kind of spooky, at least to city slickers like us, but I don't think they're vampire cows like the ones featured in the commercials for that Little Vampire movie (it came out in 2000, god help us, look it up on imdb if you're confused), although that would be interesting, I suppose, as long as I didn't have to have any kind of contact with that horrible gel-haired Jonathan Lipnicki kid.  Sorry, accidentally tapped into the decades-old rivalry between me and Jonathan Lipnicki there.   Curse you, Lipnicki!

Anyway, the wait is nice and pleasant and suitably atmospheric. 

Actors' Performance


Well, not a lot of characterization here, but that's fine, it doesn't appear to be one of those haunts where one depends on actors acting out scenes and interacting with guests too much, it's more of a scary chase-you-down-and-menace-you kind of thing.  I do love the witch at the bonfire at the entrance to the haunted forest, though, who uses the screaming of other guests to time her allowing your group into the forest.   She's pretty hilarious, too. 

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Sets look quite good, there's an impressive cemetery scene and an abandoned cabin, and the mine is quite convincing at points, with it really feeling like you're going down into a mine and now you're underground and the walls are starting to close in.  Some cool outdoor fire effects, and love the lights blinking off and on in the cornfield, all it needed was Mel Gibson's kids running around in their little tinfoil hats.

Length


Took us about one hour (or more) to get through all the different areas; this is one thing they do so well, you get a whole lot of hauntin' for your tiny little entrance fee.  Also, just so you don't get completely worn out, there are breaks between segments, with each being broken up by a bonfire you can stand around while you wait to be allowed into the next phase; this is a good time to eavesdrop on other guests and then make fun of them later amongst your group.  Just sayin'.

Crowd Control


Again, we had no wait, so -- terrific!  Actually, beyond the initial entrance, they had multiple strategies for spacing groups out, which really worked well; we never ran into anyone else, and felt like we had the haunts to ourselves most of the time.  There is some waiting in between different phases of the haunt, as above, but there's always a campfire and some form of ghoul to entertain you or keep the peace.

Most Memorable Moment


1)  Companion getting beaned in her "nether regions" by a fast-pitched corncob flung from the depths of the corn maze by some unnamed ghoul, who was lucky she didn't catch him, as his ghoulish ass would have been seriously kicked.  If one has a goalie or catcher's uniform, one might be advised to wear it; gentlemen, pack your jockstraps or codpieces.  (Actually, to be fair, I think the ghoul was aiming for a metal tub and missed; I guess it did add an element of danger to the proceedings in the end). 
2)  When you enter the abandoned cabin, give the bed a wide berth...that's a pun, sorry.
3)  Oh boy, if you can't stand enclosed spaces, you're going to have a hard time in one part of the mine.  It felt like we were being forced into a cattle slaughtering pen...seriously disturbing.


Summary

The Dark Side is a great "spooky working farm on a crisp fall night" haunt, with a varied approach and a whole lotta heart and energy.  The people working (both ghouls and staff) seem to be having a good time, and the whole thing has a very pleasant and chilling Wisconsin atmosphere to it.  It's really an evening's entertainment, and if you only have time, inclination, or fundage to go to one haunt this year, this would be well worth your investment.  Viva La Dark Side!


View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2009 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by JENNY1972 after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

first time through, never been there before, get effects throughout the mind shaft, and through the woods. Actors are into doing there job. Great atmosphere.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016



March 26th, 2019 5:27 a.m. CDT 1.5.2