ad-header-a
ad-header-b

2018 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

110 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by mberzill89 after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Best haunted house I’ve been to!! The actors are amazing and the scenes are fantastic I’d recommend to any and every one!! Keep up the great work!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Forest of Freaks

by Pronschinske after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

First time here in 2018 and you guys rocked it. I especially loved the fast pass and once we were in, it was no 5 minute thing. It was close to an hour and we totally got our money's worth. I would totally recommend to anyone!!!

View all Forest of Freaks reviews

Comments: (0)

Haunted Train Rides

by Pronschinske after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

We waited in line for 2 1/2 hours for something that was strictly geared towards children. The fear factor for adults would be a 0.

View all Haunted Train Rides reviews

Comments: (0)

Hill Has Eyes

by NicoleL after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

“Come with me… and you’ll see… a world of safety violations…”

What scared us were safety issues. When I sign a waiver, I have an expectation that the operators would still strive to make patron safety a priority. The moment we walked down the hill we had to navigate uneven footing on paths in outdoor haunts and then at “the finale” our safety fears were confirmed when a man 2 lift-chairs in front of us fell off the lift 2/3rds of the way up. (Yes, you read that right. A MAN FELL OFF THE SKI LIFT - at approximately 10:15p.m. on Saturday October 13th – with 5 witnesses). Here is our experience and it’s important to note we did the attraction SOBER:

The waiting area is probably one of the best – excellent DJ, fun eye-candy music videos and signs, a funny hillbilly actor working the waiting crowds, bonfires and 2 bars – one before you buy tickets and one in the tent/waiting area. While a bar is a revenue booster and can make the wait seem shorter for patrons, it’s a bad idea at an attraction with extremely rough paths and a ski-lift.

PATHWAYS: The uneven footing issues were SO BAD it took away from the show. I felt bad for us and the actors - actors were good, but we had to focus attention to watching our step, so we wouldn’t trip.

Everyone is told to turn off cell-phones and I can appreciate that – they ruin haunts. However, when can’t see where you should step because ground is so uneven, and it’s a problem. Majority of the time in outdoor haunts we could not figure out our footing – were we walking on stairs or a ramp? Some stairs on paths were deep/wide and the next one was short/narrow. Some stairs were packed with hay so much, it felt like a ramp and you couldn’t tell where the stair was. My friend’s son rolled is ankle. I fell forward onto my husband twice because I didn’t see the stair down within a haunt.

SHOCK PADS: Not a safety issue but not fun either. I walked into something that felt like I was smacked in the cheek and upper right bicep at the same time. This morning my upper arm is sore like I had a tetanus shot.

SKI LIFT: Lighting is very poor getting on to the ski lift. If there is a “speed control” they need to slow that b***ch down! It was so dark we didn’t even see (nor did the staff member remind) to pull the safety bar down. We aren’t ski-iers. There was some signage getting on but we didn't have time to read - plus it was dark and it was evident they were pushing as many through as fast as they could - it was a crowded. Then 2/3rds of the way up our chair suddenly starts bouncing up and down – at the same time we see a guy in a gray hoodie fall with a loud THUMP.

His girlfriend told the operator at the top and he didn’t seem to believe her until my friend’s son disembarked and yelled at them they needed to go down and get the guy. They then shut the lift down (we were still hanging there next in line to get off) and saw the whole scene from above I was disturbed by the lack of urgency by staff and the lack of flashlights. Luckily the man fell in a way where he was ok – I’m sure he’s hurting today. It could have ended tragically if he landed wrong on his neck or head.

The ski lift entry/exit points NEEDS TO BE WELL LIT.
The speed NEEDS TO BE SLOWED DOWN.
SAFETY BARS NEED TO BE PUT DOWN or people must be told to pull them down.

They were trying to move so many people through that it was a problem - it was rushed and lacked safeguards.

I’ve visited many haunts, but never have I felt unsafe or feared injury. It’s sad because I know there are good people involved in this attraction, and actors are working hard, but blatant safety concerns overshadow the entire show.

Signing a waiver should not be a pass for management to lax on the safety of patrons.

Summary

Safety issues combined with alcohol overshadows hard working actors. Most disturbing: Witnessed a man fall 2/3rd the way up the ski-lift.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by ProfessorMM after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dr. SCary's SCream Park haunted house was so much fun! Nice pace where you could take your time and take it all in. The actors did a stellar job. A few unique features that made it unpredictable and that is not an easy task! The wait was long, but they have a movie, music videos and an escape room to pass the time. They do have a food concession stand as well, but we did not partake. A magician walked around doing a few tricks and kept the people waiting entertained. This was a busy Saturday night but it went smoothly. Within this long wait, I did not see one person enter the escape room. I would think that perhaps they could give away a free try by calling a random number every so often. This might inspire others to give it a try. I love the idea of having the escape room, but it went unused which is a shame. They might also consider the canned food drive for the escape room instead of dollars off on a ticket. Also, it was hard to hear the numbers being called to enter the haunt. Maybe a lit up board with the numbers displayed would prevent people from constantly asking which numbers were called. Haunts are one of my favorite events and this one was one of the best I have been to in many decades. Highly recommended!

Summary

Highly recommended!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by timwiniars after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I love this place lots of dark areas filled with screams. The rooms were decked out floor to ceiling and their were actors everywhere.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Hill Has Eyes

by Exhaunter after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2018 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

This is the worst and most unsafe haunted house I have ever seen.

What happens when you serve people copious amount of drinks, have crap paths that are uneven, rails that aren't even attached and not safe, and then end with a ski lift with the staff not telling you there's a bar that can be pulled down going at mach 10 to get people through?

A drunk Wile E. Coyote falling off the ski lift in front of us tonight and being distracted up to that point by the the safety hazards and my wife getting nailed in the eye with a rope. This was $38/per person. How his haunt got the fire inspectors approval is beyond me. I don't know where to begin on what is wrong with this haunt. The actors are mediocre. But for me it was really several safety factors. From the uneven stair covered in hay so the steps were uneven, the paths muddy and untaken care of where one of our people twisted his ankle, to ZERO lighting in key areas where is was needed. I was unimpressed and felt they just wanted to make money. Safety was not a factor. Even the planks you walked across was weak and I felt David Gruber was needed to be called. This is a disaster waiting to happen.

When we got to the ski lift, little instruction was given. The Sky lift was going around fast. No instruction on the pull down front brace. Going up to the top I told my wife I felt like we could fall and it wasn't safe. 30 seconds later we saw a gray sweatshirt fall to the ground with a mighty thud. It was a man that fell two lifts in front of us. His girlfriend started yelling right away. The staff did not believe it and there was no urgency to see if he was okay. He must have fell 30 feet at least. It wasn't until one of our party said to get him help was there any action. He got up and said he was okay. There was no medical staff to check him out. Just staff to find his glasses. They stopped the lift and I wanted off while they helped him. As I got off they started it at mach 10 and my wife also almost got hit in the head with the lift. Then they gave us a flier detailing a accident on the ski lift that killed people and if we survived the haunt we would get a two for one Miller Lite. WTF!

We then got into the other line, and there was the guy who fell and he was intoxicated feeling no pain at that time. No one checked him out medically. Tomorrow, this guy will have issues. Guaranteed. If he is reading this remember: One call, that's all. Get a lawyer.

From there we got to exit and there was no well lit path. We didn't know where the exit was. This was the worst acted, safe, and managed haunt I have been to. Don't go here. There's better nearby.

Summary

Want a safe haunt with good value for the money? Don't go here. There will be more people falling off the skylift this haunt season. Mark my words.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Dwelling Of Despair

by NIGHTHAWK after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

They were great LAST YEAR. This year I was disappointed and wish I never went. Will not be back again in the future.

Summary

Never again. Not scary at all. Few monsters.

View all Dwelling Of Despair reviews

Comments: (0)

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by dubstyle_2k (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 12, 2018 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The most boring part of Abandoned Haunted House Complex, and my time as a member of this review crew is having to write year after year that Abandoned Haunted House Complex is THE BEST haunt in the area, and I'm including all of the Chicagoland area as well. I'm going to be honest with all of you, Abandoned Haunted House Complex is still the best, and might put more effort into making their haunt the best, or possibly they are just that good that they have to put very little effort into it, I don't know, I just know I never leave there feeling disappointed or even a little let down. The place is beginning to end sensory overload, combined with top of the line props, and a cast that plays it so cool, they deserve all of the credit they get. I will refrain from going too in-depth, I really encourage you all to check this place out and experience it for yourself.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex is split into 3 separate haunts, just like the last few seasons, Ambush, Hysteria, and Stalker. They also have a Shoot the Freak option for $5, but I've never checked that out. It seems to be just shooting a trash talker with possibly paintballs, but I haven't checked it out that closely. Ambush and Hysteria are both in the style of your normal haunt, both have multiple themes going on, and both are done as good, if not better than any other haunt in the area. These two haunts run back to back, one leading into each other. Suffice to say, going through both of these haunts you will run the gamut of what every haunt has to offer, all styles are represented. Please note, I say these run into each other, it makes for a lengthy experience. Even if you only attend for these two haunts, expect to spend an 45+ minutes inside the two haunts.

The third of the haunts at Abandoned Haunted House Complex is Stalker. Stalker was introduced a few years ago, and in my opinion has improved by leaps and bounds this season. Stalker takes you through a combination of haunted cornfields, and staged indoor areas that are very well done. There were significantly less actors in the outside areas, but I think that was done by design, walking through the corn itself is already kind of creepy, so the occasional actor jumping out makes you more on guard; when is it going to happen?! The areas where you go inside are all different themes, but all pretty great, with more top of the line actors.

I mentioned that writing reviews for Abandoned Haunted House Complex is becoming boring because they are always the best, I did however experience this with haunt with a dear friend of mine, one of my oldest friends, and she gave me a whole new appreciation for Abandoned Haunted House Complex! Let's just say that she's the jumpy, screaming type... It was a blast seeing someone experience it on that level. This being my 10th season reviewing (oh wow!), I attend these haunts and enjoy the pageantry and technical stuff more than I get spooked by them. I love it all, but I don't do much jumping, call it desensitization, or whatever, I enjoy these haunts for how much work they put into them. She made me realize just how scary this haunt really is. She told me several times throughout the night that it was indeed terrifying, I believe her, she jumped and screamed enough to prove it! We also met a father and his teenage daughter who drove up from Illinois. I talked with him for a while and he had nothing but praises for Abandoned. He recommended some south of the border haunts to me, but assured me that this was one of the best ones he had ever attended. Please do yourself a favor, experience Abandoned Haunted House Complex for yourself, you will not be disappointed!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Okay, so if you're from the Kenosha/Racine area, you know getting to Abandoned Haunted House Complex is going to be a headache. If you are not, just know the Abandoned is located right off of the I94... an interstate that is completely tore up and nothing short of a mess. To access Abandoned you have to enter via the frontage road, which is NOW located behind the haunt. They have it very well lit and not hard to find, however finding an exit to get to said frontage road might prove difficult. I came from the Kenosha area, so I came up highway 11 in Racine, and it met up easily with the frontage road, I can't speak for how it is coming from the north. Abandoned always has searchlights so it's easy to find, just know you will have to jump through some hoops!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area of Abandoned Haunted House Complex is pretty great. There are roaming actors interacting with everyone, and they still have the big screen where they show videos. Personally I wish they'd show more horror related videos and less viral videos, but it's whatever. They also have a concession stand made to look like a 50s style diner. You'll love this as the neon lights go out on the N and R in the word DINER changes to say DI E !

Actors' Performance


The best of the best! I know a lot of haunts hire high school kids to work, and a lot of them are very good at what they do. Abandon's actors are as good as it gets, and if they are high schoolers, my hat goes off to each and every one of them. Regardless of who these actors are, they love what they do, they know how to unnerve you, and they are all excellent!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The best in the business. I mentioned my friend I attended with. Well, she's a funeral director, and at one point while walking through a scene involving an embalming, she turned to me and told me that they had an authentic machine they use to embalm bodies! That's how good the props at Abandoned Haunted House Complex are, they are real embalming equipment good!

Length


Expect to spend a good 2 hours there if you do all three haunts.

Crowd Control


No issues, there are parking control, and employees all over there to help out.

Most Memorable Moment


Hard to say, seeing my good friend jump and scream the whole time is what I really took away from this! It's great from start to finish!

Summary

I'll say it again, Abandoned Haunted House Complex is the best haunt in the area. If you haven't been, it's a must, if you have, as I have every season they have been open, go again! It's that good!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by KatieWeissmann after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Every year I look forward to going to the Wisconsin Feargrounds. This year did not disappoint! I love the actors that wander through and interact with you when you wait! Indoors I might add, its nice with all the rain we've been having lately. The houses are detailed amazingly, and the makeup and costumes are awesome. Can't wait to see what they bring out next year!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by MirandaVasquez after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wisconsin fear grounds is one of a kind haunted house attraction, each house it’s self makes you scream uncontrollably! It feels like you’re in a movie of your own, definitely gives me the spooks!

Summary

Best haunted house attraction ever!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Jfranks after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This place is top notch!! Everything is very life like! Hands down the best haunted house I have seen. Would recommend this one to all my friends.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by fireinmyworld after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Oh.....My......Gosh! I’ve been to this place many times. But I’ve got to tell you that this year is off the charts. Morgan manor is the staple of this place and like I said I’ve been through it many times, however I feel like I’m walking into it for the first time this year. It’s totally changed up. This is a must see event ! But don’t take my word for it,go and see for yourself !

Summary

Just go people!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by bobbrieko after attending on Friday, October 12, 2018 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great haunted house. Our whole group enjoyed all aspects of this haunted house. From the actor's made us laugh to the actors that made us scream it was all awesome.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by richrieko after attending on Friday, October 12, 2018 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This place just keeps getting better year after year. There is always something new and different in each of the three haunted houses. I have been here year after year and continue to get scared and have a fun night. This is a must see every year.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016



December 12th, 2018 3:38 p.m. CST 1.5.1