ad-header-a
ad-header-b

2018 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

110 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by cheshiretaz after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I've been going to the Wisconsin FearGrounds for quite a few years. Every time I am blown away by the attention to detail of each attraction. The people working are dedicated and energetic. You respond to them, seems to give them more energy. This year is no different. Even with colder temperatures the rush of going through keeps the blood warm. Sincerely reccomend going here at least once. I cant wait to go back and try out the new escape room this weekend.

Summary

Worth the money for what you see.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Dominion of Terror

by PaigeBerrier (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 12, 2018 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dominion of Terror is absolutely one of my favorite haunts, and I was blown away with this year’s house! Located in a 3-story warehouse in Sheboygan, DOT operates as a non-profit, run and funded by the Sheboygan Jaycees and dozens of volunteers. Each year, they create an entirely new and terrifying haunt, and of course this year was no exception!

We arrived around 8:30PM and elected to buy the speed pass. We waited only moments to enter and while inside, we never encountered another group! Seriously prepare to be scared as you enter into this haunt, which is full of creative and memorable scenes. I particularly enjoyed a few medical scares throughout the haunt, including a padded room and a true fear – a dentist. DOT is full of talented actors, who utilize jump scares and misdirection to leave you constantly wondering when or even IF they will make a move. The monsters in this haunt use their props and intricate scenes to their fullest, taking advantage of any opportunity to lead you down a dark hallway, or follow a creature into the darkness.

With amazing scares, impeccable timing, and a super creative team, DOT continues to impress another year. Luckily I don’t have to wait too long until I can go again – DOT puts on an encore in April every year!

Signage / Visibility / Location


DOT is very easy to find via Google maps; with lots of signage on their building and lights.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


With the speed pass, we largely bypassed most of the line, but lots of actors were weaving themselves throughout the crowd.

Actors' Performance


The actors in DOT have amazing restraint! They know when to jump out, when to hold back, and when to use misdirection to their advantage. There is a huge variety of people and costumes as well!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Very varied, and lots that were very creative, using elements you wouldn’t normally think of as traditionally scary. These sets are also really detailed! They use mazes, inflatables, and light to disorient and confuse as well.

Length


Around 30 minutes, and over 3 floors.

Crowd Control


Awesome, especially as speed pass people – we hardly waited, and never encountered another group during our time in the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Two words – wall hands.

Summary

Dominion of Terror has outdone themselves again with a creative and detailed, full of terrifying scenes that will linger with you long after leaving. With a completely new layout for 2018, DOT utilizes their entire 3-story building for a long, winding, disorienting haunt. This haunt is an absolute must visit for the Halloween season!

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by BryanLapaz after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Love going to this haunted house with my friends. With the three different houses each one is a creepy and disturbing in their own way. We haven't made it through one house without jumping or screaming. Can't wait to see what they do next year!

Summary

Very fun. Very scary. Totally recommend.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by DGA after attending on Monday, October 15, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

One of the best for your money around. The sets are amazing and the actors are so much fun. Can’t ask for a better time.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 12, 2018 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

If you're reading this review you fall into one of three categories. (1) Never been to a haunted house before; (2) Been to a haunted house but not Abandoned; (3) you've toured Abandoned in that past.

For those of you in Category (1)...if you or someone in your group is under the age of 10 you may want to think twice before attending this haunt. For the first time in all my haunt going years I actually witnessed a dad and son walking back out the haunt ENTRANCE with the child in frightful tears. (...I would imagine this does happen periodically but this was the first time I was actually walking in as someone was walking out...what are the chances!?!) This haunt should not be taken lightly as you won't find a scarier haunt in Wisconsin!

For those of you in Categories (1) and (2), if you're capable of being scared (i.e. you're not 100% fearless) this haunt WILL scare you. If this haunt doesn't scare you, or at least make you jump on several occasions, it's very unlikely any haunt in Wisconsin will do that for you either. If you're a gore goer or techno-scare junky like me Abandoned will NOT disappoint you.

For those of you in Category (3), Abandoned’s scare tactics have not changed in 2018. (i.e. walk-through style in your face scares with brief encounters with ghouls) You'll be pleasantly surprised with how many new techno-scares await in Hysteria as well as a few new twists in Ambush. 2018 was my 3rd consecutive year visiting Abandoned and my most favorite edition yet!

Miscellaneous thoughts you might find helpful:

* Ever wondered how many ghouls await you at a haunt or what they all look like? If so, Abandoned gives you this chance every night at 6:45pm with "The Rising". Simply put "The Rising" will AMAZE you with how many elaborately made up monsters are onsite to scare you silly. Not to mention the spectacle of the parade is definitely worth the price of admission for it! (side note: viewing the parade is free but it's certainly worth checking out!)

* You may have read that Abandoned is comprised of 3 haunts (...named Hysteria, Ambush and Stalker) In my opinion, there are actually only 2 haunts here. The best way to describe Hysteria and Ambush is one haunt with an intermission in the middle. You can't pay for each of these haunts separately like you can Abandoned's Big Brother Haunt Burial Chamber. NOR, are you forced to get back in a long line after you complete Hysteria. While you may notice a slightly different theme between the two sections of the haunt the scare style remains the same.

* While the terrifying tours through Hysteria and Ambush are all inside the waiting area is not. Stalker's horrifying haunt includes both an outdoor creepy corn maze and demented dwellings. Definitely DO come dressed for the elements

* This haunt does NOT offer numbered tickets. To enter the haunts, non-FASTPASS haunt goers must wait in a very slow moving line that's exposed to the elements. (The wait line entertainment is the best I've experienced though!) If you'd rather have your toe nails slowly ripped off than stand in a slow moving line I definitely recommend purchasing the FASTPASS!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Construction has made this haunt less visible from I-94. The frontage road along I-94 is gone but the road directly east of Abandoned is freshly paved and will take you to the haunt entrance. Look for the bright blue flashing light that sits alongside the road at the parking lot entrance. The parking attendants will guide you in from there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Come dressed for the elements as portions of the wait lines for Ambush, Hysteria and Stalker are outside. As you near the entrance to Ambush and Hysteria the waiting lines are covered. A courtyard with ginormous movie screen, bumpin sound system and a concession stand along with a few costumed actors help to build your anticipation while you wait to enter the haunts. Be sure to arrive early and check out the parade of Ghouls which takes place nightly at 6:45pm. If you don’t like long lines and lengthy waits be sure to purchase a FASTPASS to take advantage of the shorter VIP lines.

Actors' Performance


The actors were very skilled at providing quick and unexpected scares. Only a few actors performed on sets that provided an opportunity for a theatrical display and in these situations they did not disappoint! I particularly enjoyed the introductory performances for Hysteria and Stalker.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Brilliant use of shadows and dimly lit hallways/rooms to maximize scare and creep factor. Set designs were very effective in immersing you into the theme of the haunt. Some (but not all) of the sets were among the most elaborately designed/decorated that I've experienced. All set designs were definitely better than the average haunt. Enjoyed some of the unique concepts and special effects. Trick floors, vibrating walls, tripped out laser lights….there’s a little bit of everything to keep you on your toes.

Length


Took my group 11 minutes to complete Hysteria and 18 minutes to complete Ambush for a total time of 29 minutes. (...not including the brief intermission between Hysteria and Ambush.) Stalker took 25 minutes to complete.

Crowd Control


Waiting lines for both Ambush/Hysteria and Stalker were clearly marked off along with the separate FASTPASS lines.

Most Memorable Moment


Several great scares...I particularly enjoyed the reoccurring 'vortex' passages that connected the themes found in Hysteria.

Summary

If you’re looking for a totally terrifying experience in SE Wisconsin this Halloween look no further than Abandoned. The scares in Ambush and Hysteria come early and often thanks to an amazing arsenal of gruesome gore and visual effects that maximize scare opportunities. For those who thirst for more thrills Stalker offers even more horrific haunted mayhem. (note: Fun Factor / Fear Factor rankings are in comparison to other haunts in Wisconsin...if you don't enjoy Abandoned you likely won't enjoy the other haunts in Wisconsin.)

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by wuzznme1 after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2018 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Well, this place never ceases to amaze me. A group of friends and I stopped in after the Brewers game on Saturday night. Crappy loss, but making a return trip to this haunted house took the sting away a little bit. Everyone in my group had a great time.

As a repeat customer I was amazed at all the changes that there were this year. This year's haunted houses consisted of Morgan Manor, their staple haunted house, Slaughterhouse, which replaced Unstable this year, and we see the return of Torment, an oldie but a goodie.

Morgan Manor is completely reconfigured this year which made for some great entertainment and some great scares on my friends. The make-up was above par this year as well.

Slaughterhouse, which replaces Unstable this year, really upped the ante so to speak. The mess that awaits you will make you question what goes bump in the night.

With return of Torment, you can't help but have fun in the dark. The new rooms are absolutely incredible and the ghouls keep you on your toes.

I hope everyone enjoys this haunted house staple as much as those in my group.

Summary

Loved every minute and so did the people in my group.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by kaseiberlich after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wow! One of the best haunted houses around! The ambiance in incredible the moment you get there. The houses are all super detailed and the actors are fantastic. Can't wait to go back!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Dilemma after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is the first year I've ever been to a haunted house and I have to say, this was the perfect one! We went to all three haunted houses and there was something for everyone in my group. All different kinds of scary stuff. It was so cool seeing the amount of work that went into it! Extremely impressive, top to bottom!!! I can't wait to come back next year and see what they have!

Summary

Big variety! Extremely well put together! Lots of fun!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by BrittanyAnnBula (Junior Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It has been about 4 years since I have been to Green Bay Fear and now after going this year again I feel like I have missed out on a great haunted attraction over the years. The acting and the performance of the actors is amazing. What is even more amazing none of the actors are paid; they are all volunteers. All the money they raise goes into redoing the attraction (small portion) and the local children's hospital.

When you enter you are able to choose which haunt you would like to attend first: Shawano Manor, Twisted Trail or Mr. Jingles Fun House. This is unique about Green Bay Fear and I believe this is why you never really wait in line to long. You are also able to take the attraction at your own pace. There is so much to do here you won't even know where to start. There is entertainment on the main stage, a fire pit, a gift store, and a whole lot of amazing sounding food at the food carts. You really can spend all night here if you choose.

Not knowing what the weather was going to turn out being and the drive home we opted for the fast pass since when we arrived the parking lot was full and seemed intimidating. Once we got inside the lines were short and didn't really have the need for the fast pass, which I feel is in big part to the options to take the attractions at your own pace and choose what one to do on your time.

We choose the Twisted Trail first. As you enter the trail your senses are overwhelmed with noise, characters and action. The trail is dimly lit and you really can't see to far ahead. The suspense is great. As you make your way through the trail you are greeted by characters and noise in all areas. The trail had a unique theme throughout it but it kept you guessing around every turn. The trail took about 15 minutes to finish.

After the Twisted Trail we went to visit the Shawno Manor. As you enter the Manor you are given a story about what is happening on Earth and why the Fearstein family is so mad. This really set the scene for the whole haunted house. The house is put together so well with no detail left untouched. The acting that was going on you would believe that these were paid actors. It was amazing! The theme was throughout the entire house. This is what most attractions fail to accomplish. Green Bay Fear topped the charts in this area. They think outside the box at this attraction and they don't have the basic haunted house rooms. You never know what to expect in an area. The characters are so fast and flexible they seem like they are from another planet!

The last but not least was Mr. Jingles Funhouse. This was my favorite part of the night. Even though it was short it was well crafted and the suspense and scare that was in this short haunt was amazing. The lights and smoke make it impossible to find your way out let alone know where the next carnie or freak was. It was a bit disappointing when we existed since it was so short, but so good in a short period of time. I hope that they make this part of the haunt longer and keep the theme throughout. There is huge potential for this haunt.

To end the night we took a stroll through the Odditorium. It's a small collection of weird items. Along the lines of a Ripley's Believe It or Not. Very strange, but interesting if you would like to take the time to read the history to the items

Overall, I would recommend this haunt to anyone who wants to see some killer performances with some pretty amazing sets! The time and dedication this crew does for this attraction is top notch!

Signage / Visibility / Location


There are lights and parking attendants directing you. Very easy to see while coming down the road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They have bands some nights and DJ on others. They also have a fire pit and food.They have many characters throughout running and chasing innocent bystanders. Makes for great people watching; if you are into that!

Actors' Performance


Top notch AMAZING!!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


No details are left out, lights sets and and scenes are great!

Length


We were here for about an hour with the Fast Pass.

Crowd Control


There really wasn't ever to bad of lines since you are able to take the haunts at your own pace; that helps out a lot.

Summary

I would highly recommend attending this haunt no mater who you are. This is one of the best haunts!

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by orders after attending on Monday, October 15, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is a great haunted house! You have to go with friends because the best part is watching them get scared by all the actors (and when they get you, too - you know it’s going to happen!). The actors are great - the interaction with us made it really creepy, especially when hey knew my friend’s name! The rooms are decorated really cool and everyone was awesome, but the last part was the best! Definitely will be back!

Summary

The best haunted house I have ever been to! Great actors, lots of screams and a really fun night with friends! A must see!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by juggl3s2013 after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have been coming here year after year and there is a reason I keep coming back. From the moment you enter the waiting area the ambiance of this place is incredible. The houses are really well done and so much detail and effort are put into each twist and turn. Entertaining from start to finish. Highly recommend!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by jonny11890 after attending on Monday, October 15, 2018 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wisconsin feargrounds is a great place to get thrills and chills!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by adelegwyndolen after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My friends and I come here almost every year. It's a great experience and its unique every year the actors are great. Will be back next year as well!!

Summary

Great place to go and great price!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by ktwining22 after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt is unparalleled and well worth the trip! The animatronics are first rate and the best you’ll see anywhere. They have an open wait line with concessions, paintball, and an escape room as well as movies to keep you entertained. The scenes are fantastic and the actors keep you on your toes. Without giving anything else away, let me just say that I highly recommend this haunt!!

Summary

Must see!!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by ktwining22 after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt is unparalleled and well worth the trip! The animatronics are first rate and the best you’ll see anywhere. They have an open wait line with concessions, paintball, and an escape room as well as movies to keep you entertained. The scenes are fantastic and the actors keep you on your toes. Without giving anything else away, let me just say that I highly recommend this haunt!!

Summary

Must see!!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016



December 12th, 2018 2:41 p.m. CST 1.5.1