Haunted Wisconsin

Your Halloween Guide

.Print Event Info

Contact Info

Phone: (414)529-7676
Email
Website
Facebook

Event Calendar

Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
Updated: Oct 18, 2013

Managed by algraettinger22

Is this your event?
Click here to update it.

The Hill Has Eyes

Warning: the event information you are viewing is from 2013!

Submit your review here.

Show: Helpful All

Showing 8 of 12 on this page (4 filtered).

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Hill Has Eyes

by algraettinger22 after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I came to this new attraction on Saturday night with a group of friends. Even though the wait time was long, we had a lot of fun hanging out in their waiting area as it was a fun, lively space. The waiting area is a large tent with a bar so you can grab a drink. There was also a dj who played great songs and two large bon fires that you could huddle around and chat with your friends.

There were three attractions total. You walk through two trails than go up a ski lift and at the top of the Hill is a maze. Overall was this new attraction very scary? No, it wasn't the scariest but there was still a really good fear factor. At one scene my friends and I were so taken off guard that we all fell over on the trail! It was hilarious than we got back up and out of nowhere we were blindsided again. We enjoyed the scenes and being taken off guard.

I recommend this attraction to anyone and everyone, especially if you are looking for a fun night out and looking to get into the halloween spirit. We also look forward to seeing what they do next year.

Summary

Overall my friends and I had a lot of fun at this event and created some great memories. As I mentioned before it wasn't the scariest haunted attraction but we still got scared a lot and had a great time. We really look forward to coming to this event next year.

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Hill Has Eyes

by bowler_90 after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

I have been hearing mixed reviews about this haunted attraction. I've read on here that it sucked or it was
the greatest thing ever! So I had to try this new attraction since it was only 10 mins away from my house.
I read that it was a Nuclear waste type thing so was excited, because more houses have just random things.

When we first got there, it was a group of 6 of us. None have ever been before because this is the first year that
these trails were open. There was somewhat of a long line which seemed not controlled. When we finally
made it down the hill to get tickets, which we couldn't find, we had to sign a wavier. I thought this
was going to be great! We got in line for the first one.

This first trail was wet, because it rained all day Friday, however they laid hay down, which was nice.
I didn't think the first trail was good. I thought the acting was par, but the costumes didn't relate
to the theme of the story. There was no interaction between the people and actors, just scenes. Also,
the girls screaming, not a fan of them yelling at you.

The second one was better than the first, but it still wasn't the greatest. There was one good scene that
had Pin head, but didn't even relate to the theme. This was just another trail with more scenes. There
was one good thing, the grave yard, but 1 out of 100 doesn't make it fun.

The scariest part to me was the lift hill. I'm just waiting for a drunk to go up that and fall. This haunted
attraction sells beer before and after the trails. I'm surprised that they do this because not many
haunted attractions will sell alcohol before their events because they risk the harm of their actors.

The final part was a small tent on the top of the hill, which can be seen from the streets. It was okay, but
still nothing was worth the $23. I heard that they were offering half off. Wish I would have known because
I rather have wasted my money on something else.

Summary

If you want to go to see if its good, don't. Unless you pay the half off. For the 11.50 it would have been
MAYBE worth it but not for the $23. For a first time haunted attraction, it looks like it.

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (1) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Hill Has Eyes

by Dave to the Grind after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

We've all heard the commercials for the Hill Has Eyes. A haunt is in it's first year located at The Rock in Franklin. The story of the haunt is an old landfill that became filled with toxic waste. This toxic sludge then turned the people living on the land nearby into a town of mutants. The Hill Has Eyes is home to 3 separate haunts, a beer tent and bon fires. It makes for a for a fun atmosphere.

The price for the entertainment is $23, $32 for a VIP pass, which I found pretty steep compared to other haunts. Though they pack a lot in for it. The beer tent available offers music and a few types of beer in the $4-$5 range. The tent has music playing for your enjoyment and an announcer that will let you know when it is your turn for the haunt. There's also a bon fire near the tent in a roped off area so you can warm up and enjoy a beer. There's also another bon fire going outside of the beer tent area to enjoy while you wait if you choose not to hang out by the beer tent. Word of caution: there are portable restrooms available by the entrance but there are are no restrooms available once you enter to the haunt. Plan ahead. Another word of advice - if it has rained recently you should wear old shoes. They do throw hay down on the trial which helps.

Once you're allowed to enter, you follow a path into a clearing in the woods. the area is littered with old cars, appliances and such giving you a feeling of entering an abandoned area. Each wait was around 10-15 minutes so it wasn't bad not having the VIP pass.

The first haunt Failed Escape sends you on a path into the woods. There's are a few structures and some of the villagers are out to torment you. Overall the majority of the scares are actors hiding and jumping out to startle you. There were a few scenes set up but nothing out of the ordinary that hasn't been done before. The haunt took about 15 minutes to get through and I was hoping to see more done with the toxic village story. It felt like an average outside haunt.

After the Failed Escape you exit back into the clearing and enter into the line for the Hunger Hollow haunt. The line moved quick and also had the VIP skip option. Once you enter through a small structure you begin a path through the woods. This haunt dealt with more of the after life. Just like the other haunt there were a few actors jumping out to scare you. There was a cool scene with pin head but it didn't fit the theme. The best part is you enter a clearing with a cemetery. This by far was the best part of the haunt with some awesome scares. This haunt seemed to go by pretty fast and was shorter than the first haunt.

The next event is the Scare Lift. Which takes you for a ride up the hill on the ski lift to the last haunt. The ride up the hill is a unique feature that is not offered at other haunts. Unfortunately there are no scenes to see or frights as you ride. The best thing we saw were bats flying around.

Once you reach the top, you're lead off into another line for the next haunt. This haunt is held in a large tent on the hill. This was different from the other two because you are in a confined space. You walk through narrow hallways, with different doors to chose from with various costumed actors jumping out to give you frights. This part lasted about 5 minutes. Once you exit you're finished with the experience and walk down the hill to the parking lot.

Overall, we all had a fun experience and it was different from other haunts we attended. Though people who are experienced with haunts will be disappointed. The Hill Has Eyes scares aren't very original and leaves a lot to be desired. I'd like to see more with the mutant village story, some more scenes and some unique surprises. It's their first year, so I'd expect in the future they'll add more. My advice would be to find a deal for a half price ticket, go check out the Hill Has Eyes, but for the regular $23 price you'll be disappointed with your investment.

Summary

We liked our evening at The Hill Has Eyes but those of us who experience several haunts a year were disappointed. This being it's first year I'd expect them to work on expanding the sets, stories, situations and frights. The actual haunts were fairly run of the mill and not original. We wished there would have been something cool done with the ski lift and more with the 2 haunts in the woods.

I'd check it out again next year to see if they expanded and changed but not for $23. Someone in my group bought a ticket at half price and on the way out said she was glad she paid under $15 for the experience.

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Hill Has Eyes

by beastlysyl after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The Hills Has Eyes I must say was worth the money I paid for it. I am a Halloween enthusiest and have a good perspective on what is and isnt a good haunt, and I must say that Hills Has Eyes did a pretty good job.
I bought my tickets for $11.50 because of a 103.7 offer. So i bought them on impulse and I'm very happy I did.
3 Haunts in one!
The First trail was roughly 15 minutes 20 if you really take your time. The set up and the organization was very good. The path had plenty of actors, most in masks and the haunt was mostly a "hide behind a tree and say boo, or scare you suddenly in some way" which made it ok. There were a few "scenes" which were off the path which was dissapointing because some of them were very interesting and I wanted to get a better look.
The second trail was roughly 12-15 minutes, a little shorter, but was less detailed but there were some good things about it (i wont spill the beans). Then they took you to a ski lift and rode up the hill which i thought was a fantastic twist! Ascended to a tent where there was a foggy haze and various lights. And it was a typical maze of doors and windows that people would pop out of.
The entertainment/music/bonfire before hand was a great idea and i think they should grow on that.

Summary

The haunt was a very good haunt for the first year. Honestly the $23 would be too steep for me to pay for it that I didnt think it would be worth it, but its definitly worth $12-15
The scare factor was relatively low but It was a fascinating haunt and a great idea that I know they will grow on.

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Hill Has Eyes

by nevermind4494 after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Very impressed!!! I probably attend between 5-10 haunted houses each season and I have to say this one has made it into my top 5!

Let's start with the beginning...we got to the event and parked, it was pretty easy to find as someone guided us to the lot. The part that sucked was walking down a steep, long hill to the bottom after raining all day. It took me about 20 minutes to get to the bottom because I kept slipping. It would have been nice to have some hay thrown down to make it easier (like you did on the trails) or have a wagon pick people up and drop em' off - just a thought for next year.

We make it down and there are 2 bonfires roaring and a dj/beer tent area. It was pretty cool and unlike any other waiting area - I was impressed. The wait seemed like nothing because we were able to sit around the fire and have a few drinks first. The 2 things I didn't like about the wait were 1) the porta pottys - they were DISGUSTING, and not like normal porta potty disgusting, they were well beyond. Many were missing toilet paper and all of them had sanitizer. They were also on a slant so it made you feel like you'd fall over. 2) The "bartenders". There were 3 girls serving beer and none of them could keep it together/were obviously highly intoxicated. We were ignored several times after flashing our money (and waiting in line) and they just kept their focus one area which was irritating. Ourselves and another unrelated group were irritated by this. They also charged us the incorrect prices and told us that our beers were "Bud Light" after we asked for "Spotted Cow"...this happened 2x. I don't care if people are having a few beers while doing this (the guys by the entrance points in the house were too but were completely composed and friendly) but keep it together. It just looks trashy.

So the wait goes by pretty quickly and we get in. I don't want to give anything away but the first 2 parts are pretty cool. The actors gave a good performance - jumping out of trees, running at you, sneaking up behind you and I LOVED that there were actual "people" from The Hills Have Eyes - totally cool!

We get to the ski lift and it was a really nice addition. It was pretty foggy out so it definitely added to it. The last haunt was fun as well. My only suggestions would be to make it darker and have actual rooms instead of a maze...more actors in that part would have been cool.

You give my favorite haunted house a run for their money! I will definitely be back next year!

Summary

Great haunt. Reasonably priced and the wait is great because they have a bonfire, dj, and beer tent! Well worth the money, I will be back again next year!

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Hill Has Eyes

by lovehalloween after attending on Friday, October 5, 2012 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Just had to give this haunt a try considering how much advertisement they have. We got there and worked our way down the hill to where you get tickets and had to sign a waiver. Never had to do that before so I just knew it had to be the best haunt ever! A few scary looking guys on our way to get in line for the first haunt. Went thru the first haunt and it was ok-could have used some more actors, but overall nice effects. When we were done, we headed over to the second haunt, which was a little better then the first one. The hellraiser guy in the tree was AWESOME. We had a few people following us thru there and I loved the cemetary scene. Very well done. The Scare Lift was great! When we got to the 3rd haunt, I was disappointed. That one was a complete waste of time. Hardly any props or characters in this tent.

Summary

Overall, for a first year haunt it was ok. If I would have paid full price, I would have been a little upset because I don't think it was worth $23 at this point. If they take comments and suggestions from people, I think they will do great as the years go on. They have an awesome location and lots of space to work with. The scare lift is a plus and you can do so much with it.

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Hill Has Eyes

by Chris12 after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt was well thought out with a great storyline, awesome props and had great actors – some playing a specific role, some “following” us, and some came out of nowhere. A group of us went around 9:00PM on Saturday to find out later in the night that they sold out around 10:30 – there were a ton of people there.

After spending some time in the beer tent and at the bonfire, we bought our tickets. While in line, we learned that there are really three different haunts that make up this attraction. The first haunted trail is “Failed Escape.” It reveals that trespassers become captured, tortured and eventually killed through cannibalism – the last scene is out of control! The second haunted trail is “Hunger Hollow.” This trail is a story of life after death – a lot of zombies, ghosts, and walking dead. The best part about this one is that it dumps you out at the base of the ski hill where you take the “Scare Lift” to the top of the hill. Once you get to the top, there is the final haunt. It’s a maze with real chainsaws, chaotic music, at least 8 actors and different doors for you to choose your path… it was AWESOME!

Summary

In summary, we had a great night and got scared! This is a unique haunt that provides three haunts for one entrance fee. In addition, they have a beer tent, a DJ and 2 huge bonfires to keep you warm. I would definitely recommend this haunt.

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Hill Has Eyes

by Robin13 after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I went to this event both Friday and Saturday, which I understand was their opening weekend and 1st year of operations. The Ski Hill has a eerie feel to it for sure. When you drive, park you are directed down the hill to a tent for tickets. They have a bon fire and a tent with beer and sodas and live music. Overall this was a great event considering their just opened. Saturday night was much better. Actors were more amped up and seemed more in to character. The event has 3 attractions - two trail walks and ride on a ski lift. The first trail had great scenes. The junk yard is a perfect touch. The second trail was well done too, but overall a bit better. Actors are really into their part. The ski lift is scary because its sold and it actually stopped for a bit. Not sure if that was part of the plan, but it was a high anxiety moment. At the end their was a classic chainsaw maze scene. 100 times better the second night.

Summary

Overall well done and unique (not a typical haunted house). I like the length and its worth the money. Great for a group event. If these guys and gals keep improving they will could have the best event around. Good luck Hill Has Eyes! Great ideas and well planned out.

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Hill Has Eyes

by apd2012 after attending on Friday, September 28, 2012 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

I went to this haunted Attraction on there first day of operation ever. Got there at 07:30pm on September 28th,2012. i went with 9 other people we all drove from Illinois. I plan a big Haunted House Trip Every year and this year since this was a new attraction wanted to check it out. when we got there it was hard to see the sign the only way i found it was my GPS and a big frankenstin on the side of the rode wsaying the hills have eyes open today. you have to drive on this creepy back road which is awsome, saw this i thought this was going to be a very creepy haunt, cause its set at a old Ski Hill, no lights in the parking lot very awsome atmosphere for a haunt.

To get your tickets and go to the attraction you had to go down this steep hill like a quarry, when you get closer to the tickt both, its get more of a creepy feeling atmosphere quiet cool creepy night. and they made you sign a waiver which i thought was interested thinking they could touch you the actors would be a more interested haunt but it was jus tin case you trip or hurt yourself on the trail you cant sure

alright we walked past a old set up of a junkyard heading into the first haunt, had to split us up 4 and 5, my group went in first went wth a bunch of people who get scared of haunted houses, when we finally got into the first attraction that when it went down hill. as soon as we walked in there was these two actresses in white dresses, played there parts well wasnt scary they were just fighting who is going to take this gorup then they went back into the spot, next scene was a semi truck, we didnt even reach the truck and this guys says "BOO" really not just tha tpopped out way to soon and had a masked got into one of the girl faces in my group saying boo and rawr, from from there i didnt see no other actors or actresses in rest of trail there were a few scenes but with no actors, u here them talking in the would regular voice, but it was more of a nature walk in the dark then a haunt, the trees were so close to the trail you could of planted so many actors i def would of got scared but no actors until a neaon light area but he just stood there and did nothing, first attraction 2 actors through out the whole trail.

when we got out of the attraction was approached by a staff memeber asking our gorup if we liked it i said there were absolutly no actors anywhere in the attraction just the two when you eneter and one behind the truck that it, he said they were a dozen or more actors in there but mus tof not been in there spot very disappointing.Hoping the next set of attraction was better.

next scene hungery hollow i think it was names, this was alittle better, few good scares and more actors in ther espot, a guy dressed up as hell raiser in the tree awsoem effect, and one acotr got me he was hiding between a to tree stumps in the dark and jump that got me,.

next scare lift, nice 10 min lif up a ski hill great view, when you ge tto the top, there one more attraction underneath a white tent and seriouse the acotrs in there where horrible talkign to each other saying ill scare them over here, and when them come avfte ryou they said rawr and boo and chased you with a battery chainsaw you buy at Sprit halloween,

Summary

Overall, i was very very disappointed with this haunt, they advistise is as being very creepy and in a middle of a quarry and its haunted trial cool night should if been creepier, but absolutly no actors prob no joke out of all three attractions i seriously only say 10 actors maybe even that 3 in the first 5 in the 2nd and 2 in the last, if they had more acotrs this haunt would be BADD ass since it is in a crepy wooded area, and ACTORS Really "BOO" AND "rawr". not scary at all, this place needs alot of work and need actors to stay in spots caus eyou can here thme talking and walking aroudn in the woods but not jumping out. DEF not woth 23.00 and def will not return

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (1) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Hill Has Eyes

by Villwoc6 after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Lets start off with the very beginning. Parking! So, when you first some in, there is no lights. Which is fine, but there is no signs either. Very confusing where to get tickets from and where to park/go. Just to mention, I went with a group of 9. So, after we finally find someone to talk to, he directs us behind a house and down a hill. We finally find the ticket booth! As some may know, it costs $23 to get in. As we purchase our tickets, we find out we have to sign a wavier in case of heart attack/tripping in the woods. I thought to myself, this should be great! We have to sign a waiver to get in, should be scary!

So, we go to the first Haunted Trial, "Failed Escape". If you like Haunted Attractions, you usually read up on them and read their back story. Well, this is suppose to be about an abandoned area that held nuclear waste. When we get to the front of the line, the lady asks how many. We say 9. She says, "Okay, groups of 4". We asks if a group of 4 and a group of 5 go through, and shes says that's fine. So my group goes first, and we instantly meet up with the group that was in front of us. Nothing better than seeing the freight before your turn! So we stop and wait. Finally we get to walking, and what the people were saying was humorous. "Boo", "Ahhh", and "Rawr". Last time I checked, those weren't scary. Also, there was no make up, just store bought masks. The theme of the haunt, nuclear waste site, and the theme of the masks didn't match. All of a sudden Pin Face was there... huh? Anyways, walking through the first trail, there was some good things, but mostly bad. It took us about 10 minutes to get through the first trail.

Anyways, onto the second trail! This one is called, "Hunger Hollow". We wait in line about 5-10 min, and the lady asks, "How many people". We say 9. Shes says, "groups of 4". We asks if we can do 4 and 5, like we did the last house. She says, "I don't know, I'm not really sure". So we decide to just do 3/3/3 in this trail. My group was first. This one was okay. Random noises in the woods. However I felt like I was walking through a museum. Instead of people scaring you, it was just scenes. A scene of a butcher, a scene of someone dying, a scene of someone getting their arm cut off. All the same. There were some characters in the woods. One particular laying dressed as shrubs did get us. By the end of the trail, my group of 9 were only 5 seconds apart. This trail took about 10 mins. to walk through. It leads you us to the final attraction...

Scare Lift. This is where you go up the ski hills lift hill. I felt this was the scariest thing for my so far! The sounds as it raddled and creaked, and plus no bar to strap you in. I'm just waiting for someone to fall, because this attraction offers a beer tent, before and after you go through the haunts. Anyways, we get to the top of the hill, its about a 4 min ride on the ski lift. And we see a tent on the top, this could be seen from Rawson Ave if you live in Franklin. As we wait in line, you hear the chain saw stop, its out of gas. It starts again, 5 min go by, and it is out of gas. Finally its our turn and we go in groups of 3 again. This was a fully enclosed tent, so when you walked inside, it was just gas fumes from the chainsaws and it was bad to walk through. There was some good scare moments, but it was just gas smoke and strobe lights with a few monsters behind the walls. This attraction took less than 3 min to go through. As we exited the attraction, they finally opened one end of the tent because it was so smokey in there.

After the last attraction, you walk down the hill, passing the beer tent, and to your car. Your done! As we were saying yesterday, $23 for 23 min of scares. Eh...

Summary

In summary, it is a new haunted attraction. With that being said, I wouldn't pay the full $23 dollars again. This haunt is maybe a 12-15 dollar haunt. There is some good scares, but it is mostly just scenes. There is no make up done, just store bought masks. The lines the actors were saying, weren't that great and the trails did have tripping hazards, but remember, if you fall, its at your own risk, you signed a wavier!

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (1) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Hill Has Eyes

by kjlamb after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

The hills has eyes was an enjoyable haunt, but not scary. The woods scenery was nice, the trails were awesome, junkyard props A+, but there was absolutely no scare factor. They try to scare you the same way everytime-the jumping out, and its always by a scene never between scenes, and by the 2nd or 3rd time its just not scary anymore. Most of the scenes were people yelling "help me" it was like i was watching the same scene over and over again. The ski lift was fun-would have been nicer if there were zombies runnine around under us or if we went over the haunt itself, and the lights were a different color and not so bright

Summary

It was a fun place, not worth the money I spent on it, but enjoyable. A 8yr old should be able to handle this. Not scary-the ski lift was the best part.

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (1) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2012 season rather than the current season.

The Hill Has Eyes

by JJrakman after attending on Saturday, September 29, 2012 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This is a truly awesome haunt, highly recommended. The trail through the woods was fantastic and winding enough where it'll be hard for separate groups to bump into each other. There was some really innovative scenes in the woods and the actors did mostly a great job with coming up with characters that didn't rely on the stereotypical "get out" trappings. The old trucks and plow equipment really added to a uniquely creepy environment. I was also glad not to have to smell gas or exhaust fumes which seems to be prevalent in these kinds of outdoor haunts. Who would have thought that the ski lift machinery could be so spooky? Great stuff!

*SPOILERS*

Here is some constructive criticism I have to offer. The haunt could use some better signage. As a skier, my first instinct was to walk into the chalet, but the actual trail to the haunt was off to the side with no lights and some really small signs. Also as a skier I'm used to signing the release form, but I can see where this might take some non-skiers by surprise. It might slow the line down if folks want to take the time to read every line. I would recommend perhaps putting up some large posters of the release form inside the ticket tent so folks can read it while they're waiting in line. This could help move the line better when it gets busier.

Some of the ushering staff and ski lift operators could use some haunting make up to help not break the illusion while standing in line or between haunts. Even the manager who seems to have been present giving directions could have used some make up to that end. While in the first trail there were a few empty spots on the trail that I thought could have benefited from having some miscellaneous zombies milling about, I do think that the 2nd trail suffered a bit from an overabundance of them. The boo! tactic of jumping out and getting that classic cheap scare works good the first time around, but it looses its impact by the 5th time. Also many of the actors doing this boo! routine were screaming at the top of their lungs. While I do appreciate the enthusiasm, I would warn that keeping up that kind of high energy all night will be challenging, and could ruin a person's voice box by the end of the night. Some simple soft groaning or even silence when someone jumps out or walks across the trail can be equally as effective if not more so, and a bit easier on the actor as well.

I was disappointed that there weren't any roaming zombies or burial grounds blow the scare lift. But we were one of the first people through so they may not have had that part ironed out yet. I think the scare lift could benefit from a few things. First, the lights on the lift itself would be awesome if they were changed to a red or blue light, either by changing the color of the light bulbs or by placing colored gels over the existing lights. Also, especially if the burial grounds and zombies are established below, it would be great to bathe the hill in some kind of fog, if such a thing is possible with some kind of large scale fog machine. You could also have occasional zombies taking the lift down and passing haunt goers on their way up. A bit of instruction on how to use the lift might be helpful at the bottom as I suspect this haunt will attract a lot of non-skiers.

These are mostly nitpicks. The only really area that could use a haunt make over would be the tent at the top of the hill after the scare lift. There's not much really going on here. One chainsaw in a haunt is always enough, more than that and they lose their impact particularly when they're all in a row. There were no scary decorations in this area either. The walls of the small maze under the tent just looked like they were sprayed with graffiti as the result of teenage mischief. These things can be easily rectified though.

I was also a bit disappointed that the chalet wasn't open, as I was a bit hungry and would definitely have bought a hot dog or a burger and a soda or a hot chocolate or cider. This could be an easy way for the haunt to squeak out a few more bucks, maybe even sell souvenir T-Shirts for the haunt.

Overall though a really great experience, can't wait to see how they improve over the years to come. Thanks for a great experience!

Summary

All in all a very good first year run, very enjoyable, definitely a must see. I think if they take some of my suggestions above and the suggestions of others that this could easily become a world class haunt no problem.

View all The Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

Reviews from other years: 2013 | 2012