Haunted Wisconsin

Your Halloween Guide

.Print Event Info

Contact Info

Phone: 920-727-4669
Email
Website
Facebook
Twitter

Event Calendar

Event Photos

Submitted: Aug 25, 2008
Updated: Aug 06, 2014

Managed by BurialChamber

Is this your event?
Click here to update it.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

Submit your review here.

Show: Helpful All

Showing 8 of 8 on this page.

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by jessiepribnow after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

My first year going and I do think the scare factor should be lowered. I didn't like how many people went in at a time but there was TONS of people who go to this attraction. I had a good time. I like when you stand in line, there are people dressed up to scare you. Its a good deal to go to three haunts for only $25.

Summary

It was good and fun,but fear factor was disappointing.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by wm (Review Crew) after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 10:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Burial Chamber is one of the largest haunts in Wisconsin, and hands down one of the best. It's great to see how this haunt has evolved over the years. These people are passionate about scaring the crap out of you! The Burial Chamber is comprised of 4 separate attractions and you can pick and choose which ones you want to go through. If you’re like me, you’ll want to go through all of them!

Adrenaline

Adrenaline is where the Burial Chamber all started, so it has a soft spot in my heart. It’s like a bad dream, where zombies take over and the military try to control the situation. They make great use out of air cannons and sound effects to get you jumping even when no actors are near you! Scares do not just happen in front of you either. Some will be from behind, others from above, and some even down by your feet!

Insanity

There were several things in Insanity that I instantly recognized from the previous year; making your way through narrow halls, the vortex, the uneven ground and the tight inflatable tunnel that you have to push your way through. I'm personally OK with some repetition from year to year as long as it’s not too much. There were several times where we hit a dead end and had to back-track to get through the dark and winding maze.

Phobia

This, for me, was the scariest part of the Burial Chamber. A walk in the woods at night can be creepy just by itself. With the moon-light providing eerie mood lighting and the natural noises of a woods... a twig snapping or leaves rustling can be enough to put you on edge. Phobia takes all the woods has to offer, and adds to it by appearances of their talented actors. Some of the noises coming out of these performers were NOT human! You really got the sense that there were people that lived in these woods, and they were not right in the head. They were creepy, and several were even humorous! One red-neck spook had me giggling as he yelled repeatedly 'GET UR HANDS OFF MA JUNK!' There was a point where an actor waited until we were actually past him, then quietly came up behind me and made a ghastly clicking noise in my ear. I screamed like a little girl. Then I laughed. Then I got the heck out of there. The rest of the walk, which was about 15 minutes long, had me looking over my shoulder the entire time.Phobia, a perfect name for a great haunt.

Although I did not try any of the four Burial Simulators, I have in the past. It’s a fun, yet claustrophobic trip to the grave that will have you thankful you were never buried alive.

Signage / Visibility / Location

It’s very easy to find the Burial Chamber. It’s not too far off Hwy 41, and there’s plenty of parking and workers waving you in.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I did not see any actors roaming around the lines other than the ones at the beginning of each attraction that take your ticket. I know normally there are. There’s several big screens playing videos, etc. And there’s also a gift shop and concession stand in the back.

Actors' Performance

The actors do a great job at the Burial Chamber. So much so that it makes me question if they have ‘scaring class’ before the season starts. I did not see any actor break character, even after we walked by. They go above and beyond to scare you! Again, the performances in Phobia were incredible. Like out of a movie!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX

The scenes and props at the Burial Chamber have always been top notch, and this year is no exception. They do a great job setting the mood with lighting, props, sounds, etc..

Length

Adrenaline and Insanity were about 20 minutes each. Phobia was around 15 minutes.The Burial Simulator will take about 5 minutes.

Crowd Control

There were a few times we bumped into the group in front of us through-out the night, but for the most part the Burial Chamber has each group paced out properly.

Most Memorable Moment

So many good moments, it's hard to choose just one. There was one scare in Adrenaline that came from above and completely caught me off guard. But it didn't end there. We were followed, from above. Hard to navigate around a dark maze in front of you when you're scared of something above of you!

Summary

Going to the Burial Chamber is ALWAYS a must for me every year. Quite simply, you get your money worth and they are good at what they do! I would highly suggest the Fast Pass ticket. The wait time for each attraction was about 60 to 90 minutes when I attended, so it's money well spend on a cold and dreadful night. People keep coming back, year after year, and THAT'S the sign of a great haunt.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by MajorXpsycho (Review Crew) after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

When you arrive at the Burial Chamber Haunted Complex, it doesn’t take long to realize that this attraction is clearly the most popular haunted attraction in North Eastern Wisconsin.  If you are looking for a guaranteed good time with lots of scares, then you must go to the Burial Chamber Haunted Complex. 

Parking was difficult as the lots were full of fellow “victims” and we were forced to park 4 blocks away.  The overfull lots may be seen as a negative, but in reality, they are just THAT GOOD.  The Burial Chamber Haunted Complex is the largest haunted attraction in Wisconsin and is home to over 125 of the best hand selected actors.  Aside from the main attractions, the Burial Chamber offers a large venue of meals, drinks and souvenirs.  You will have a selection that ranges from “boxers” (for those unlucky ones that may soil theirs) to amazing warm sugar coated donuts.  They wait is outside, so be cautious of rain and expect very long lines due to the popularity.  If you can afford it, I highly recommend a fast pass, it is only $2 more at $30 for three of four attractions and you can skip the long wait. 

There are 4 attractions at the Burial Chamber Haunted Complex and I will go over each separately as they are so different that they require separate reviews.  

Insanity was the first attraction that we entered.  The outside is very professionally done and the ghouls in line make you contemplate if it is possible that what you are about to experience could get any more frightening.  Crowd control inside of the house is very well maintained and you never have to worry about running into another group (unless of course someone from the group ahead of you is running back trying to get out, which did happen in this house).  Insanity is meant to make you doubt yourself and your surroundings.  The actors have no fear and they are certain to put the fear in you.  Hallways will shrink, floors will become unstable, ceilings may drop and your senses will be put to the test.  There is not an inch of this haunt that goes without a single intricate detail.  There are very few animatronics and the house is loaded with some of the best actors.  The animatronics that are in place will have you grasping the wall in order to escape.  The total time through this house was 24 minutes, but it felt more like a mind twisting hour!  If you prefer a haunt that is distinctively mind blowing, then Insanity is the haunt you must visit.

Phobia was the second haunted attraction that we visited.  Phobia is a haunted walk through a very dimly lit woods with several scenes and props professionally placed along the trail.  You must hold tight to those you are with or one of the actors will cease any moment they have to attack.  Phobia is loaded with great actors and has some of the very best of all four attractions.  You can smell the gas from chainsaws as they just barely graze past your limbs.  Phobia this year reminded me of a mix between the classic horror movie “Deliverance” and “Fargo”.  The total trail time was 19 minutes.  I am typically not a fan of haunted woods, but Phobia was so professionally done that I would recommend it as one of the best attractions at the Burial Chamber Haunted Complex.

Adrenaline was the last attraction at the Burial Chamber that we experienced.  After the mind blowing and heart thumping abuse we took from Phobia and Insanity, it is amazing none of us ended up in the ER after facing Adrenaline.  From start to finish, Adrenaline is in your face (literally) nonstop.  You must be certain to wear good shoes as you are guaranteed to jump several times.  I have won many bets taking individuals through Adrenaline as everyone is guaranteed to jump or shriek.  Even your toughest Army vets are sure to gasp and dodge.  The actors do not say much, but they don’t have to because their only jobs are to make sure you are fearing for your life and that you are still alive.  By the time you make it to the end, you will need to stop and use the facilities immediately.  The total haunt took 25 minutes, but at a heart racing pace it can feel like hours.  Imagine skydiving without a parachute … I would imagine that the feeling you have 10 seconds before you hit the ground is similar to what you will experience in Adrenaline.  If you prefer a haunt that offers surprises and in your face scares, then do not miss Adrenaline and make sure to bring friends as it is funny if you make it out ok. 

We did not experience the burial simulator this year, but I have tackled it in the past.  It is a once in a lifetime experience, and it is the only time in your life that you will make it out of a coffin alive. 

Summary

In summary, The Burial Chamber Haunted Complex is one of the most popular haunted attractions.  I look forward to bringing new individuals every year and I have never had an unsatisfied individual.  The price may be high and the wait may be long, but when you consider the quality and the quantity you really cannot afford to miss this attraction.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by HocusPocus (Review Crew) after attending on Friday, October 11, 2013 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Sensationally Scary!!  If you’ve never been to the Burial Chamber complex prepare yourself!  The sheer size of this complex is quite impressive and what lurks inside will take your breath away.   2013 was my actually my 4th visit to Burial Chamber in the past 5 seasons.  (I do believe this is Burial Chambers 6th season…) Over the past 5 years as a Review Crew Member I’ve been to many of the haunts in Wisconsin and I’ve yet to find one as massive as Burial Chamber.

Of course for all you Haunt Connoisseurs out there I don’t have to tell you that it’s not always the size of the haunt that matters.  When it comes to Burial Chamber, not only is this complex well endowed, it employs an amazing arsenal of creeped out corridors, crazy creatures and good ole’ fashioned in your face scares to maximize your ghoulish gratification.

Burial Chamber features two indoor haunts (Adrenalin and Insanity) that reside side by side and one (Phobia) that’s outside.  The layout of Adrenalin and Insanity are similar in that they are both comprised of a seemingly endless maze of cleverly crafted corridors consisting of a variety of themes.  The journey through both Adrenalin and Insanity progresses continuously without stoppages for elaborate skits.  Rooms here are more like themed corridors than rooms and your pace through these haunts is determined more by how quickly you walk than it is by the creatures lurking in the shadows. 

The pace of Insanity this year was fast and furious as the ghouls were unrelenting in their quest to scare each and every visitor regardless of their position within a group.  The ghastly ghoul encounters in Insanity this year were noticeably higher than in prior years.  Compared to Adrenalin, Insanity leaves little to the imagination.  Sets were lit effectively…dim enough to encourage you to keep your scare guard up but light enough so that you could appreciate the amazing attention to detail with the sets and costumed actors.  Gore and special effects were plentiful with several visual abominations that will torment your mind long after your exit.  Lazer lighting, black lit rooms, a vortex, strobe lights were just a few of the visual stimuli Insanity offered up.  For these reasons Insanity was my pick as top hell hound at Burial Chamber this year.

The lighting of Adrenalin was noticeably darker than Insanity but there was always just enough light for you to find your way without the worry of walking into a wall.  The maze of dimly lit hallways of Adrenalin did an exceptional job of building my anticipation of the scares that await but unfortunately made it challenging for the true haunt connoisseur in me to appreciate how elaborate the sets and creatures were.   Nonetheless, the seemingly endless tour of cleverly crafted corridors did an exceptional job of not only creeping me out but also included a few mind benders to totally screw with my head. 
While there may have been fewer creatures lurking in the shadows of Adrenalin than insanity there are still more than enough ghouls and techno-surprises to ensure that you get your scare on. 

While I did not tour Phobia last year I am told that this year’s edition contained 5-6 new structures.  Unlike Adrenalin and Insanity, Phobia resides completely outside and features a terrifying tour through the woods along with occasional petrifying passages through the eerie dwellings found along the way.  Rustling brush and sinister sounds in the distance heightened my anticipation of what was to come as I proceeded along the path.  Menacing, highly motivated and acrobatic ghouls did an exceptional job of appearing out of nowhere to scare the members of my tour group.  In fact, the scare at one point was so intense for a member of my tour group that I actually got stampeded!  Not surprisingly, this tour group member declared Phobia as Burial Chambers most terrifying experience. 

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find as it’s just a couple minutes from Hwy 41. The sheer size of this complex combined with several parking attendants flagging you into the parking lot make it nearly impossible to miss this place.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Come dressed for the elements as the wait lines for Adrenalin, Insanity and Phobia are all outside. Two large screens outside of Adrenalin and Insanity along with a few costumed actors help to build your anticipation. There's also a snack wagon parked out back to help satisfy your cravings for munchies.

Actors' Performance

The actors were very skilled at providing quick and unexpected scares. The actors that greet you outside of each haunt are very elaborately dressed and put on an amazing academy award type performance.  Inside the haunts the performances aren’t nearly as elaborate but in their defense these haunts weren't designed to provide an opportunity for a theatrical display. Occasionally the actors would flash a performance that may creep you out.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX

Brilliant use of shadows and dimly lit hallways/rooms to maximize scare and creep factor. Set designs were very effective in immersing you into the theme of the haunt. Not the most elaborate set designs I've seen but definitely better than the average haunt.  Enjoyed some of the unique concepts and special effects.  Trick floors, falling ceilings, vibrating walls, tripped out lazer lights….there’s a little bit of everything to keep you on your toes.  I particularly enjoyed the cleverly laid out lab maze in Adrenalin.

Length

Took our group 16 minutes to complete Adrenalin, 14 minutes for Insanity and 13 minutes for Phobia.

Crowd Control

Waiting lines for both Adrenalin and Insanity were clearly marked off along with the separate VIP lines.

Most Memorable Moment

Several great scares....especially just about everyone one in Insanity.  In my opinion this was the best year ever for Insanity!

Summary

If you’re looking to get totally freaked out this Halloween look no further than Burial Chamber.  Minute for minute Burial Chamber’s Adrenalin and Insanity haunts provide more scare opportunities per minute than any other haunt I’ve attended.  Adrenalin’s scares come early and often while Insanity showcases more gore and visual effects but still provides plenty of scare opportunities.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Cadaverella after attending on Tuesday, October 15, 2013 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Went through with a group of friends and this year was better than ever! We go every year and are never let down. There are monsters in every corner! There were a lot of cool scenes and props. Adrenaline and Insanity were amazing - very fast paced and in your face. The haunted woods are 'old school and very creepy. The changes that were made to the woods are very cool. We all had a great time and can't wait to come back again!

Summary

Easy to find with the spotlights and signs. Great outside entertainment. Good food. Fun time!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by riddick after attending on Saturday, September 28, 2013 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

the actors where amazing really good with the scares they where on top of everything and was awesome with the popping out of no where

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Rogjaz after attending on Saturday, September 28, 2013 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Everything was new and completely amazing! The crew did an amazing job this year. The staff is so great ... We had one small incident and it was resolved almost faster than it happened.

Summary

I highly recommend this haunt to everyone. My friends and I go every year to see the great changes and new things they have to offer

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

- +

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by burial_screamer after attending on Saturday, September 28, 2013 at about 11 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

For most people they know that I have been in the business for the last 15 years however this year I took a break for some personal reason, plus also to allow me to enjoy the business that I have been part of for so long. Burial Chamber is one of the top haunted house I was looking forward to. Due to the time that I arrived at the haunted house I was only able to attend two of the three haunted houses.

Summary

With arriving so late in the night I was able to enter both haunted houses right away. The first haunted house(woods) that entered was Phobia. I remember Phobia from the early days where the experience was good; however back then everything was very wide open. This year Burial Chamber made some big changes out in Phobia. What I will say is that this year will blow you away. At no given time could I tell where I was going and what was in front of me. This year Phobia became my phobia. After leaving Phobia I went to the original haunted house(Adrenaline.) Adrenaline is labeled the "old school haunted house" if you have entered this haunted house in the last year or two you can expect a lot of the same rooms. However this haunted house is all about the characters in the haunted house. Last night this is what made the haunted house as I was even caught off guard in some of the areas of the haunted house. Like Phobia this haunted house was very well put together.

Overall for this being the opening night of the year I was very impressed and as the season continues customers will be in for a great treat. I look forward to coming back and seeing the last haunted house(insanity)in a couple weeks.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0) | Add Comment

Reviews from other years: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002